Page 343 of 387 FirstFirst ... 243293333341342343344345353 ... LastLast
Results 10,261 to 10,290 of 11586
    Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    More than half of SNP MPs failed to vote on a flagship plan to suspend MPs who are arrested on suspicion of a serious offence, meaning Labour had to rely on votes from Tory politicians for it to pass through Westminster. It strengthens laws around the protection of vulnerable people at the House of Commons.

But despite the seriousness of this debate, only 21 Nat MPs came to the chamber to vote on the proposals, meaning 22 failed to even show up at all. This included the likes of Leader Stephen Flynn, his Depute Mhairi Black who has complained repeatedly about the toxic-ness of the UK Parliament, and Patrick Grady who was previously suspended by the party after being found guilty of sexual misconduct. 🤔🤔🤔 wonder why
    Bizarre they didn't. Labour got it through by 1 vote Natalie Elphicke voted with Labour

@hibs.net private member Andy Bee's Avatar
    More than half of SNP MPs failed to vote on a flagship plan to suspend MPs who are arrested on suspicion of a serious offence, meaning Labour had to rely on votes from Tory politicians for it to pass through Westminster. It strengthens laws around the protection of vulnerable people at the House of Commons.

But despite the seriousness of this debate, only 21 Nat MPs came to the chamber to vote on the proposals, meaning 22 failed to even show up at all. This included the likes of Leader Stephen Flynn, his Depute Mhairi Black who has complained repeatedly about the toxic-ness of the UK Parliament, and Patrick Grady who was previously suspended by the party after being found guilty of sexual misconduct. 🤔🤔🤔 wonder why
    I'm guessing it's because of the fact in this country you're innocent until proven guilty but I understand why you would disagree with that, you being a serial "Nat" hater and using any bollox excuse to try and undermine them. Quite pathetic really. Change the record and try and argue the case for the Union you so love instead of this perpetual negative bull**** you keep coming out with, it's just tiresome.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Good balanced reporting from The Daily Express there. No mention at all of why the 169 people who turned up and voted against the bill did so. Presumably quite a few of those were Tory MPs?

Good word, toxic-ness. I wonder what was wrong with the previous word, toxicity?

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Bizarre they didn't. Labour got it through by 1 vote Natalie Elphicke voted with Labour
    For 170, against 169. 170+169= 339, approximately half of the total number of MPs. So half of the Westminster parliament didn't bother to vote. But aye, SNP, seeking to destroy the country etc.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    For 170, against 169. 170+169= 339, approximately half of the total number of MPs. So half of the Westminster parliament didn't bother to vote. But aye, SNP, seeking to destroy the country etc.

Exactly, maybe Sunak was right, extremists the lorra them.

Did I say snp destroying the country ect, a bit tin foil hat. SNP and tories, mainly tories voted against. This would bring MPs in line with many other public jobs like teachers, childminders, police and doctors. It's for people arrested for the most violent or sexual offenses only. They would still get paid but its a protection measure as MPS have power and deal with constituents.

Not sure why anyone would be against it

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Did I say snp destroying the country ect,
    Not you, Sunak. Hamas and the SNP, like two completely similar things in a pod. The Daily Express happy to run with Sunak's inane SNP-bashing, and BH happy to run with The Daily Express.

Remember when the SNP regulariy took pictures of their group in a half empty chamber as evidence that they were the only party that cared in Westminster? It was lapped up by their supporters. That now looks like the sixth form stunt it was rather than grown up politics doesn’t it?

The Daily Express reporting is poor, singling out the SNP when MPs from all parties didn’t bother their backside is far from balanced. The legislation probably passed due to some unofficial pairing going on behind the scenes.

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    Not you, Sunak. Hamas and the SNP, like two completely similar things in a pod. The Daily Express happy to run with Sunak's inane SNP-bashing, and BH happy to run with The Daily Express.
    Picked the quote of Facebook… no idea that it came from the Express, however is is factually incorrect

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Remember when the SNP regularly took pictures of their group in a half empty chamber as evidence that they were the only party that cared in Westminster? It was lapped up by their supporters. That now looks like the sixth form stunt it was rather than grown up politics doesn’t it?

The Daily Express reporting is poor, singling out the SNP when MPs from all parties didn’t bother their backside is far from balanced. The legislation probably passed due to some unofficial pairing going on behind the scenes.
    Don't remember the photo stunts, no, but not surprised. The HoC chamber is a farmyard, and SNP members do some braying.

You're being generous to The Express describing what it pumps out as 'reporting'. Political propaganda, more like.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Remember when the SNP regulariy took pictures of their group in a half empty chamber as evidence that they were the only party that cared in Westminster? It was lapped up by their supporters. That now looks like the sixth form stunt it was rather than grown up politics doesn’t it?

It wasn’t whipped so no need for pairing. There are good arguments for and against this rule. Personally I’m happy it’s passed but I can also see why it should not have. Now that it has passed then important safeguards need to be put in place to allow arrested mp’s to vote at the very least.
    Given that’s it’s now about a year since NS has been arrested and no charge then that is a long time that her constituents would have no representation in parliament. That would be unacceptable. Let’s hope that such a situation could not arrive at Westminster.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    It wasn’t whipped so no need for pairing. There are good arguments for and against this rule. Personally I’m happy it’s passed but I can also see why it should not have. Now that it has passed then important safeguards need to be put in place to allow arrested mp’s to vote at the very least.
    Given that’s it’s now about a year since NS has been arrested and no charge then that is a long time that her constituents would have no representation in parliament. That would be unacceptable. Let’s hope that such a situation could not arrive at Westminster.

I know it wasn’t whipped. That’s why I said unofficial pairing. Im trying not to be too cynical and going with MPs just not caring about this.

I agree with the rest of your post..

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Bee View Post
    I'm guessing it's because of the fact in this country you're innocent until proven guilty but I understand why you would disagree with that, you being a serial "Nat" hater and using any bollox excuse to try and undermine them. Quite pathetic really. Change the record and try and argue the case for the Union you so love instead of this perpetual negative bull**** you keep coming out with, it's just tiresome.
    "Change the record" Quite apt for DJ Pollution.

Don't remember the photo stunts, no, but not surprised. The HoC chamber is a farmyard, and SNP members do some braying.

You're being generous to The Express describing what it pumps out as 'reporting'. Political propaganda, more like.
    I’m in a caring sharing mood today.

She wouldn't be barred as like doctors or childcare workers they would only be put on leave for serous violent or sexual crimes. Its about safeguarding people they come in contact with, its not about punishing people before a guilty verdict.

Your tiresome with this absolute love in with all that’s SNP …other employments get suspended after being arrested for serious crimes ..why should MPs be excluded and why did the SNP not support this

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Your tiresome with this absolute love in with all that’s SNP …other employments get suspended after being arrested for serious crimes ..why should MPs be excluded and why did the SNP not support this

THE SNP SUPPORTED IT

Every vote cast by the SNP was in favour, every vote against was conservative with the exception of 1 Christine Jardine Liberal Democrat!!

Why did 42% of labour MPs not vote?

https://www.theyworkforyou.com/debat...3b.69.0#g104.1
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    THE SNP SUPPORTED IT

Every vote cast by the SNP was in favour, every vote against was conservative with the exception of 1 Christine Jardine Liberal Democrat!!

Telt!

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    THE SNP SUPPORTED IT

Then shame on all MPs that voted against it and those that did not attend to vote regardless of party

Tbh, there are many votes in Westminster where dozens don't turn up due to one thing or another so difficult to blame them. The 169 who voted against though are a different matter. Absolutely no conscience or morals in any of them

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Tbh, there are many votes in Westminster where dozens don't turn up due to one thing or another so difficult to blame them. The 169 who voted against though are a different matter. Absolutely no conscience or morals in any of them
    A few above were defending voting against because they thought that was the SNP position. Anyone without an excuse that didn't vote is wrong imo, MPs should be treated like everyone else

It’s not about the MP and his employment rights, it’s about the disenfranchisement of his constituents.

My main point wasn't about the bill, as others have said there's pro's and cons. My main point was that you wrongly singled out one party because of your unhealthy little hatefest for anything "NAT". As for my "love in" for the SNP, I suggest you read some of my posts on that matter, I'm far from loving the SNP.

Maybe you should take a wee break from this bitterness, maybe a wee weekend away in one of our neighbouring Independent Scandinavian countries, Denmark is apparently the happiest country in the world to live, maybe see if some of that happy juice will rub off on you, naw?

My main point wasn't about the bill, as others have said there's pro's and cons. My main point was that you wrongly singled out one party because of your unhealthy little hatefest for anything "NAT". As for my "love in" for the SNP, I suggest you read some of my posts on that matter, I'm far from loving the SNP.

Maybe you should take a wee break from this bitterness, maybe a wee weekend away in one of our neighbouring Independent Scandinavian countries, Denmark is apparently the happiest country in the world to live, maybe see if some of that happy juice will rub off on you, naw?
    Read the name of this thread …might help

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/p...ended-32819420

Another good bit of work by the SNP.

Freezing council tax is a populist disaster especially as it isn't remotely costed, council cuts disproportionately harm those most in need. An awful policy that is the exact opposite of the wonderful Scottish child payment scheme

https://archive.ph/6xNoA

Scots councils making £400m of service cuts face new £780m budget black hole

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/p...ended-32819420

Another good bit of work by the SNP.

This is good news, I worried it would go along with the Bute house agreement. Not only does it lower fares, it makes buying tickets much easier, no more worrying about what time trains you can return on.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    This is good news, I worried it would go along with the Bute house agreement. Not only does it lower fares, it makes buying tickets much easier, no more worrying about what time trains you can return on.

Though if they're serious about meeting their climate change targets, they'd permanently scrap them and incentivise people to use the national railway system by bringing costs in line with many European nations, increasing the number of people using them and leaving their cars behind.
    It's hard to stitch my own back with these shaky hands
    But even harder to accept the scars you left were planned

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post

Though if they're serious about meeting their climate change targets, they'd permanently scrap them and incentivise people to use the national railway system by bringing costs in line with many European nations, increasing the number of people using them and leaving their cars behind.
    SG has a fixed budget that can change at the whim of Westminster. They can’t offer permanent.

The Government owns ScotRail don’t they? . The profits that used to go to shareholders etc can now be used to subsidise things like this surely? An increase in travellers should go some way towards funding it as well. If they can’t run the railways better than the private companies then what was the point in taking it back in to public ownership?
    It’s not always Westminsters fault.