Page 53 of 55 FirstFirst ... 3435152535455 LastLast
Results 1,561 to 1,590 of 1626
    @hibs.net private member hibsforeurope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Hearts have done well from that market, Nisbet, Rowles, Atkinson and that other midfielder with the German sounding name came from Australia and they’re a million points above us this season.

St Mirren signed Baccus from Australia and possibly Ryan Strain too although I think he’s maybe from New Zealand?

There’ll be good and bad signings from there but it’s definitely not a market we can turn our nose up to.
    Hadn’t realised hearts had so many.
    Unlike meuller I wouldn’t pin all our hopes on nisbet coming in and making an immediate impact.

I guess I’m basing my judgement on jeggo and miller, who we could/have improve on.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsforeurope View Post
    I see a lot of chat about signing this nisbet from
    CCM. What’s the comparable standard of the A league?
    It’s hard to judge how good a player he is, not sure how good the standard of the league is.
    It has Chris Meuller vibes for me, much heralded as a good player in the MLS but wasn’t up to the required standard for Hibs.
    I think the main factor is not what the standard of the A League is, but what the standard of the player in question is.

Tom Rogic came from the same league…same club in fact, and didn’t do too badly, so ruling out everybody from a particular league because it’s considered of lesser quality than the SPL would be a bit counter productive.

Mo Saleh started playing in the Egyptian league, but if every club followed that philosophy he wouldn’t have been signed by anyone.

Big clubs judge a player on his performances and their coaching staff make a determination if he is capable of playing in the league their team plays in.

Of course there are no guarantees with any player signed from anywhere, but there are many players signed from the A League who are playing in Scotland and England regularly, so that should say something.

But again, it’s the quality of the player that matters…..and I’m pretty sure Nisbet’s agent will be fielding offers from not just Hibs.

FWIW I’d be a happy man if we signed Nisbet and his team mate Jacob Farrell.
    Last edited by Forza Fred; 02-05-2024 at 03:17 AM.

Hadn’t realised hearts had so many.
    Unlike meuller I wouldn’t pin all our hopes on nisbet coming in and making an immediate impact.

I guess I’m basing my judgement on jeggo and miller, who we could/have improve on.
    Hibs didn’t sign Jeggo from the A League though, they signed him from Belgium…….he did play in the A League earlier in his career true, but presumably they judged his worth mostly on his most recent performances, which as I say were in Europe not the A League…..which he last played in 5or 6 years earlier.

Similar story with Strain..who incidentally is the grandson of former Hibs centre forward Gerry Baker, brother of Joe.
    Strain was born in England, spent time in the youth teams of Aston Villa before his family moved to Adelaide and he spent a few years coming through the ranks of Adelaide United and did play for them in the A League.
    He then moved to Israel and played in the Israeli league for a season…and St Mirren signed him from the Israeli league.
    Last edited by Forza Fred; 02-05-2024 at 03:47 AM.

@hibs.net private member hibsforeurope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Hibs didn’t sign Jeggo from the A League though, they signed him from Belgium…….he did play in the A League earlier in his career true, but presumably they judged his worth mostly on his most recent performances, which as I say were in Europe not the A League…..which he last played in 5or 6 years earlier.

Similar story with Strain..who incidentally is the grandson of former Hibs centre forward Gerry Baker, brother of Joe.
    Strain was born in England, spent time in the youth teams of Aston Villa before his family moved to Adelaide and he spent a few years coming through the ranks of Adelaide United and did play for them in the A League.
    He then moved to Israel and played in the Israeli league for a season…and St Mirren signed him from the Israeli league.
    Jeggo was maybe slightly different example, he wasn't great here but has moved to one of the biggest clubs in the A-League. But your point is fair not to judge a whole league on the basis of a few example players.

His signing by Melbourne City was a surprise to lot of people.

Don’t want to bag the laddie, but his performances for City are no better or worse than his performances at Hibs, and just like at Hibs he’s considered a steady professional rather than some kind of star signing.

Melbourne City ARE one of the A League’s biggest clubs, as you pointed out, but they are having an atrocious season by their standards, and just limped into the championship play offs by finishing in sixth place on the league ladder.

There are no internal transfers permitted in the A League, and I think it was a case of the new MC coach who came in to replace the one who got the sack not long after the start of the season, looking around to see what WAS available mid season to try and bolster his squad, and as luck would have it for him and Jeggo…..Jeggo could sign after requesting a release from Hibs.
    There weren’t a lot of other options available.

Sydney Vs Macarthur in the elimination fin has a lot going on .
    1-0 Sydney just now against 10 man Macarthur

Melbourne Victory v Melbourne City in elimination game on now , 1-0 to City who have already missed a penalty (not taken by McLaren who is playing and captain) . Victory now down to ten men , Jeggo and McLaren have both been booked.

Jeggo misses the penalty in the shoot out that puts Melbourne City out, with Melbourne Victory going through.
    3-2 on penalties set after 1-1 after 90 mins

Jeggo misses the penalty in the shoot out that puts Melbourne City out, with Melbourne Victory going through.
    3-2 on penalties set after 1-1 after 90 mins
    TBF he was one of 3 to miss in the shoot out for MC . Plus the one the keeper saved in regulation time. Keeper made 4 penalty saves.

Asian Cup Final underway in Muscat, Oman

Half time 0-0 between Central Coast Mariners and Al Ahed of Lebanon.

Al Ahed side contains ex SPFL Lee Erwin.

Central Coast Mariners have won the AFC Cup.

They won 1-0.

Not a pretty game, but Alou Kuol’s nutmeg of the goalie in the 84th minute was enough.

Mariners now 2.3 million dollars better off, and jump on a plane tomorrow for their finals match against Sydney on Friday.

Super achievement for the wee club.

Central Coast Mariners have won the AFC Cup.

They won 1-0.

Not a pretty game, but Alou Kuol’s nutmeg of the goalie in the 84th minute was enough.

Mariners now 2.3 million dollars better off, and jump on a plane tomorrow for their finals match against Sydney on Friday.

Super achievement for the wee club.
    Maybe we should be looking at their manager 😉

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Maybe we should be looking at their manager 😉
    Replaced Monty, lost his first four games and everybody was calling for him to get the sack

Certainly turned things around.

He’ll win coach of the year.

Previously he’d been sacked by MK Dons.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...-trend-4611934

Bit of a nothing article in the Evening News but seems relevant to this thread.

Any of the players in that article likely to be of interest?
    I messaged McDermott about Oskar Zawada (last on that list) and he confirmed they are aware of him.

Big strong striker - we don’t have anyone like him just now.

Nisbet I’m not sure of. Seen him play very well and seen him less involved. He’s also smaller than Mickey Weir!

Quote Originally Posted by Dmas View Post
    Yeah I see your point, I do think you need to be weary though with young goalkeepers check the Andy McNeil example it just needs a high profile error or 2 and your done for, signing a young guy who is playing regular already might be different though as the confidence will be established
    Paulsen is a very confident guy. Big future.

I reckon he’d be better off with at least another season at the Phoenix though.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...-trend-4611934

Bit of a nothing article in the Evening News but seems relevant to this thread.

Any of the players in that article likely to be of interest?

I reckon the editor has said to young Ben…”Quick, we need to fill some space, comprise a list of A Leaguers and label it as ones Hibs might want to look at, but hurry up!

In summary, and again this is nothing more than my personal opinion which is likely to be as misplaced as the next man or woman….

There are 2 players in the A League who Hibs should consider signing in the summer window.

1 Josh Nisbet…who appears on this list and
    2 Jacob Farrell….who does not.

Look ‘em up on Google if you want.

One thing for certain though, whether you agree or disagree with either me or this list…we WILL see more signings from the A League over the next few years.
    Why? Because Bill Foley recently said in the launch of his new A League team that it’s part of his strategy to unearth young talent at Auckland FC and bring them to Hibs to develop them further.

I reckon the editor has said to young Ben…”Quick, we need to fill some space, comprise a list of A Leaguers and label it as ones Hibs might want to look at, but hurry up!

In summary, and again this is nothing more than my personal opinion which is likely to be as misplaced as the next man or woman….

There are 2 players in the A League who Hibs should consider signing in the summer window.

One thing for certain though, whether you agree or disagree with either me or this list…we WILL see more signings from the A League over the next few years.
    Why? Because Bill Foley recently said in the launch of his new A League team that it’s part of his strategy to unearth young talent at Auckland FC and bring them to Hibs to develop them further.
    3…Zawada

I do expect Auckland FC will be a bit of a damp squib. They have tried there already with A League teams and they never got the support or backing to make it worthwhile.

The Nix are a well established team in NZ, and do bounce around the country a bit with home games so have developed a more than just city based following. I guess this means more games at the cake tin at least from next season!

Overrated league . Players and managers

Quote Originally Posted by Hibiza View Post
    Thanks for your input 🤣

True but they always seem to do reasonably well in making World cups and doing ok in them

Well thought out statement backed up by indisputable evidence.

I’m not sure though that you could name 20 Australian players, so not sure how you can include players in your statement.

Can you tell me who the player is who was born outside the British Isles and has the most EPL appearances?

What!?

He comes from there?

Can’t be!

Moral of the story….just as you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, so you shouldn’t judge an individual player by the country he comes from.

First of two legged semi final to decide who goes through to…..and hosts ….the Grand Final, played in pouring rain in Sydney.

Sydney FC 1 v Central Coast Mariners 2

Sydney went ahead after 25 minutes but the effervescent Josh Nisbet equalised with the last attack of the first half.

Mariners went ahead through a penalty and then the wheels fell off Sydney’s wagon.

Jack Rodwell was deservedly shown a straight red for a lunging ‘tackle’ that connected with a Mariner’s shin, and later another defender was shown a second yellow meaning Sydney finished with 9 men.

Josh Nisbet was awarded MOM.

Second leg at Gosford a week on Saturday.

First of two legged semi final to decide who goes through to…..and hosts ….the Grand Final, played in pouring rain in Sydney.

Sydney FC 1 v Central Coast Mariners 2

Sydney went ahead after 25 minutes but the effervescent Josh Nisbet equalised with the last attack of the first half.

Mariners went ahead through a penalty and then the wheels fell off Sydney’s wagon.

Jack Rodwell was deservedly shown a straight red for a lunging ‘tackle’ that connected with a Mariner’s shin, and later another defender was shown a second yellow meaning Sydney finished with 9 men.

Josh Nisbet was awarded MOM.

Second leg at Gosford a week on Saturday.
    Nisbet looked good once again

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    Nisbet looked good once again
    Aye.

Saw him earlier saying how he was hoping to go to Europe and that Spain or Netherlands probably suited his style of play.

Dunno how he’ll take to Dingwall on a Wednesday night in November.😂

3 Macarthur A League players arrested and charged with corruption charges related to SouthAmerican organised crimes.

Da Villa their Mexican captain accused of being instructed by crime lords to ensure yellow cards issued when required.

Early news is that he offered players $10,000 to get yellow cards on demand.

Appearing in court later today

Certainly makes a change to see fitba leading the afternoon news bulletins!

3 Macarthur A League players arrested and charged with corruption charges related to SouthAmerican organised crimes.

Da Villa their Mexican captain accused of being instructed by crime lords to ensure yellow cards issued when required.

Early news is that he offered players $10,000 to get yellow cards on demand.

Appearing in court later today

Certainly makes a change to see fitba leading the afternoon news bulletins!

More on the story here

https://www.theguardian.com/football/article/2024/may/17/a-league-players-arrested-alleged-betting-corruption-soccer-football-south-west-sydney-club

One of the players charged is the elder brother of St Mirren’s Baccus

Wellington Phoenix 1 v 2 Melbourne Victory ( 1-2) ET

Play off Extra Time being played

Second half still to come

TNT Sports

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Wellington Phoenix 1 v 2 Melbourne Victory ( 1-2) ET

Play off Extra Time being played

Second half still to come

TNT Sports
    i'm watching this , Is this a semi final to get to a cup final or is this the weird set up where any off the top 4 can win the League ?