Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Yeah, hard but not impossible. I was surprised when I seen some of the loads these bikes could carry.
    But seriously, you're looking at a final mile solution or a change of vehicle. It'd be ridiculous to cut yourself off from potential business when there are solutions out there.

Surely if the bike is pulling heavy loads the distance the bike could travel would be limited.

Are you sure it's legal for these ebikes to pull trailers.

As a motorcycle under 125cc is not allowed to pull a trailer. These ebikes can't be as powerful as a 125cc bike.

Quote Originally Posted by Itsnoteasy View Post
    What a ridiculous statement. Every vehicle was compliant till ULEZ was introduced into Scotland last year.
    Not at all.

First discussed for London in 2008 its naive to think other councils around the UK wouldn't be jumping on the money making bandwagon saying it's great for the environment.

The legislation process started in Scotland in 2016.

(U)LEZ being introduced was inevitable.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Not at all.

First discussed for London in 2008 its naive to think other councils around the UK wouldn't be jumping on the money making bandwagon saying it's great for the environment.

Accept your point but London Birmingham etc allow the purchase of day tickets for vehicles to enter if they need to, the straight to fines and excessive fines for breaches is draconian to say the least.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Not at all.

Yes 1st discussed, but look how long it has taken for it to be implemented. Surely its the vehicle manufacturers issue for not making the vehicles compliant earlier. Or will they say the same, that no definite date was given to start Ulez.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Yes 1st discussed, but look how long it has taken for it to be implemented. Surely its the vehicle manufacturers issue for not making the vehicles compliant earlier. Or will they say the same, that no definite date was given to start Ulez.
    My brother got a new van recently due to Ulez. He had known years ago it was coming but left it to last minute. Cost him £15k but he’s delighted with his new van. Had to go down to England to pick it up.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Surely if the bike is pulling heavy loads the distance the bike could travel would be limited.

Are you sure it's legal for these ebikes to pull trailers.

As a motorcycle under 125cc is not allowed to pull a trailer. These ebikes can't be as powerful as a 125cc bike.
    Absolutely legal for bicycles to have trailers.
    Bikes can also be bespoke built to carry loads. Please note these kegs are empty, but point remains.

Edited to add this solution probably isn't practical for BerwickHibby so the idea that will be moot.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by speedy_gonzales; 29-01-2024 at 10:11 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    The improvement in air quality will benefit everyone in the city though.

Worst air quality is in St John's Rd nowhere near the centre and due to commuters doing the daily drive. Closing off roads in the centre will only cause congestion and emission problems elsewhere, the LEZ is actually quite small an area. Oh BTW does the emissions from heavy traffic know not to float from Picardy Pl to the top of Leith St where the zone begins.
    Last edited by J-C; 29-01-2024 at 11:41 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Worst air quality is in St John's Rd nowhere near the centre abd due to commuters doing the daily drive. Closing off roads in the centre will only cause congestion and emission problems elsewhere, the LEZ is actually quite small an area. Oh BTW does the emissions from heavy traffic know not to float from Picardy Pl to the top of Leith St where the zone begins.
    And I think the ULEZ will expand once it’s in operation until it covers the whole city. And it will encourage people to use less polluting vehicles.

After being unable to work during pandemic, cost of living crisis, fuel crisis, tax rises, insurance going sky high this feel like another unnecessary kick in the stanes ….be better just sitting at home living on benefits than actually working.

Edinburgh Council can GTF

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    After being unable to work during pandemic, cost of living crisis, fuel crisis, tax rises, insurance going sky high this feel like another unnecessary kick in the stanes ….be better just sitting at home living on benefits than actually working.

Edinburgh Council can GTF
    For what it's worth, I have total sympathy with you here, and with the challenges you've had to face over the last few years.

I don't know what the solution is as doing nothing doesn't feel right, the day passes feel a bit tokenistic, and this feels excessive... presumably a better mix of support, grants, exemptions, etc that allows for this to be rolled out to an appropriate level without impacting so drastically on people like yourself.

I hope you find a solution to this that works for you.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    For what it's worth, I have total sympathy with you here, and with the challenges you've had to face over the last few years.

I don't know what the solution is as doing nothing doesn't feel right, the day passes feel a bit tokenistic, and this feels excessive... presumably a better mix of support, grants, exemptions, etc that allows for this to be rolled out to an appropriate level without impacting so drastically on people like yourself.

I hope you find a solution to this that works for you.
    Appreciate your understanding, my van is completely legal and compliant for the Road Traffic Act, as it’s taxed, business insured and has an MOT certificate. I have had to give up lucrative contracts and find work elsewhere due to the inflexible Edinburgh ULEZ legislation. The problem is the clients will end up paying a lot more for services if they choose a venue within the ULEZ zone.

I have this week been contacted by a bride who has moved her wedding to another venue as both I, the cake maker, Photo Booth and light up dance floor have increased our prices to accommodate van hire.

My family Audi a4 estate which averages 48mpg is banned but my Mercedes SL and my Daimler double six V12 are exempt so not all bad 🤣🤣

Happy to do my bit and leave the Audi at home

My 20yr old Golf is OK to drive in the town but the 9yr old taxi I drive isn't.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    My 20yr old Golf is OK to drive in the town but the 9yr old taxi I drive isn't.
    Which obviously makes sense to some dimwit at the Council but not to everyone else

My brother got a new van recently due to Ulez. He had known years ago it was coming but left it to last minute. Cost him £15k but he’s delighted with his new van. Had to go down to England to pick it up.

What make & model did he get for that price? & just oot the wrapper.

2nd hand Mercedes 2018 model I think.

So he got himself a new vehicle that is used 👍🏻

Or one that's new to him 😁

So he got himself a new vehicle that is used
    It’s new to him and Ulez compliant. That’s all he cares about.

Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    Which obviously makes sense to some dimwit at the Council but not to everyone else
    Would an estate car not do the job, be cheaper too.

Congestion charges and low emission zones

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4185 View Post
    My family Audi a4 estate which averages 48mpg is banned but my Mercedes SL and my Daimler double six V12 are exempt so not all bad

Happy to do my bit and leave the Audi at home
    Following this theme maybe the way forward is buying a classic van which is already exempt, would look cool turning up to a job in this which is for sale in Bonnyrigg and under £10k!

These are also exempt from road tax and MOT.

https://www.carcavescotland.co.uk/cl...nsit-mk1-lhd-0

Quote Originally Posted by hibee View Post
    Following this theme maybe the way forward is buying a classic van which is already exempt, would look cool turning up to a job in this which is for sale in Bonnyrigg and under £10k!

These are also exempt from road tax and MOT.

https://www.carcavescotland.co.uk/cl...nsit-mk1-lhd-0
    That does look good, but nae power steering I'm guessing. How would this be exempt from Ulez charges?

Aye get to a classic car auction and pick up a retro van!

That does look good, but nae power steering I'm guessing. How would this be exempt from Ulez charges?
    Anything over 30yr old is exempt as it’s classed as historic.

Must be to satisfy the toffs in the new town with their old Rollers and E Types. It's mental. Also showmans vehicles must be to not discriminate against a community because how can some professions be told to modernize and others not

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Must be to satisfy the toffs in the new town with their old Rollers and E Types. It's mental. Also showmans vehicles must be to not discriminate against a community because how can some professions be told to modernize and others not
    These cars should be protected, you can’t just scrap an E-Type because it doesn’t comply with modern regulations!

It’s not just toffs that run classics, I had an old Porsche as a second car for 8 years, it was cheap to buy and cheap to run and I sold it for a profit when it was 33 years old. Over 70% of all Porsches ever made are still on the road today, they may only do a couple of thousand miles a year so surely better on the planet than scrapping them and building a new car.

These cars should be protected, you can’t just scrap an E-Type because it doesn’t comply with modern regulations!

It’s not just toffs that run classics, I had an old Porsche as a second car for 8 years, it was cheap to buy and cheap to run and I sold it for a profit when it was 33 years old. Over 70% of all Porsches ever made are still on the road today, they may only do a couple of thousand miles a year so surely better on the planet than scrapping them and building a new car.
    I have a miniscule amount of sympathy for classic cars being in the centre than someone's motor that their livelihood depends on.

Plus no one is saying scrap then just don't take them in the city centre you'll still have 99.9% of Scotland to roam. You could also get them converted if you need to be in the centre

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    I have a miniscule amount of sympathy for classic cars being in the centre than someone's motor that their livelihood depends on.

Plus no one is saying scrap then just don't take them in the city centre you'll still have 99.9% of Scotland to roam. You could also get them converted if you need to be in the centre
    Fair enough, I personally don’t have any need to ever take a car into the city centre but if you happen to live within the LEZ then you’ve not got much choice other than moving or selling the car.

Just read the latest road closures that will come into effect for 2025. Half the centre of toon, mound, bottom of cowgate outside parliament etc being pedestrianised 🙄

They are trying to copy the car free centre Ghent brought in.
    https://www.simagazin.com/en/si-urban-en/topics-urban/urban/gent-the-car-free-city/

After ghent created car free centre and no through traffic car use in the city went from 55% to 27%
    Bike traffic went from 22% to 35%
    Public transport from 20% to 31%, they used the extra money from public transport to create more routes and decrease price
    Pedestrians in the centre grew 5%
    Air pollution dropped 25%

Biggest positive was businesses flourished in the centre. Bankruptcies down 20% in food and drink industry and 7% more new businesses in the centre. I think people must want to be in the city centre more when it's focused on people and not cars