Page 50 of 55 FirstFirst ... 404849505152 ... LastLast
Results 1,471 to 1,500 of 1626
    Quote Originally Posted by CCM4LIFE View Post
    You don't think Nizzy would get smashed in this league?
    Think any discussion now is purely academic.

Recent statements from Monty tend to suggest there will be no movement for anyone in Oz.

Maybe in the summer window

Quote Originally Posted by Forza Fred View Post
    Guess we’ll have to wait and see if there is a move for either…..although while the transfer window is now open in Scotland, it doesn’t open in Australia until 11 January…so presumably we’ll have to wait until at least then.
    I think we could sign him and register him as soon as our window opened, the one in Aussie will also be just for signing new players and not impact on those departing.

Quote Originally Posted by Iain G View Post
    I think we could sign him and register him as soon as our window opened, the one in Aussie will also be just for signing new players and not impact on those departing.
    Yep, it was explained earlier.

But as I say…….it’s pretty Acamedic now anyway, judging by Monty’s recent comments if there is any transfer activity of ours in Oz, it’s much more likely to be in the summer window than this one.

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    Yep, it was explained earlier.

But as I say…….it’s pretty Acamedic now anyway, judging by Monty’s recent comments if there is any transfer activity of ours in Oz, it’s much more likely to be in the summer window than this one.
    Where are these comments? Not saw anything where he’s alluded to that?

Watching CCM Vs Melbourne Victory and Nisbet looking decent again. I wonder where he will end up playing next season.

Also been impressed with Ballard the last couple of times I have seen him play.

Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    Where are these comments? Not saw anything where he’s alluded to that?

Monty has emphasised on a few occasions that while he would like to bring players in this window, it can only be what the budget will allow.

My interpretation is that there isn’t much dosh available this window..and again my interpretation is that while I’m pretty sure Monty would like to buy Nisbet this window, the money the Mariners would want just wouldn’t be sanctioned.

Of course I could be wrong, but that’s my interpretation from his repeated mentioning of ‘the budget’

Monty has emphasised on a few occasions that while he would like to bring players in this window, it can only be what the budget will allow.

My interpretation is that there isn’t much dosh available this window..and again my interpretation is that while I’m pretty sure Monty would like to buy Nisbet this window, the money the Mariners would want just wouldn’t be sanctioned.

Of course I could be wrong, but that’s my interpretation from his repeated mentioning of ‘the budget’
    What would Nisbet cost ?

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    What would Nisbet cost ?
    Good question, out of contact in 5 or 6 months time. He's going to be 25 this summer so no longer just a young player. No caps at senior level although a few at U23 and under 150 appearances for the CMM 1st team.

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar

What're your thoughts on josh nisbet and how he'd transition to life in Scottish football?

From what I've seen he's tidy in the ball but not a standout in the league and he puts himself about a wee bit but I'm not convinced that he'd be able to mix it here.

Anyone know if the Australia v India game is being broadcast over here, if so, what channel?

@hibs.net private member Big90inOz's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee-boys View Post
    Anyone know if the Australia v India game is being broadcast over here, if so, what channel?
    Watching in Oz, first 45 is a bore fest. Australia getting numerous corners but very poor delivery into the box.
    We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence,therefore, is not an act but a habit.

Quote Originally Posted by Johnny_Leith View Post
    What're your thoughts on josh nisbet and how he'd transition to life in Scottish football?

From what I've seen he's tidy in the ball but not a standout in the league and he puts himself about a wee bit but I'm not convinced that he'd be able to mix it here.
    You are entitled to your opinion, although I disagree with you.

@hibs.net private member Johnny_Leith's Avatar
    You are entitled to your opinion, although I disagree with you.
    Yeah of course, do you see him as a stand out in the A league then? Believe he'd be a good signing at Hibs then?

First choice in our midfield? Genuine questions, you've likely seen more of him than the 10 games or so I've seen him play.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee-boys View Post
    I’ve been watching it on the bet365 app

Quote Originally Posted by Johnny_Leith View Post
    Yeah of course, do you see him as a stand out in the A league then? Believe he'd be a good signing at Hibs then?

First choice in our midfield? Genuine questions, you've likely seen more of him than the 10 games or so I've seen him play.
    Yes, yes and possibly.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    What would Nisbet cost ?
    The impossible question!

He is deemed almost irreplaceable by the home support who have seen literally more than half a team sold since the end of last season’s championship winning season.

Just as Scotland does not get what it should for players due to pre conceived bias …think John McGinn going to Aston Villa for only 2-75 million and his true value now, so does Oz.(And, no I’m not suggesting Nisbet is anywhere near as good as McGinn, just giving an example of the biased thinking of the EPLtowards players in Scotland).

There is an increasing cry in Oz for clubs not to sell players for what is seen as ‘peanuts’.

Oz doesn’t have an internal transfer system, so things like how long a player has on his contract don’t really resonate with supporters
    to any degree….they simply see it as a player being sold.

Then they read that Jordan Bos went to Westerloo in Belgium from Melbourne City for close to 2 million dollars, and Marco Tillio from the same club went to Celtic for over a couple of million dollars…and they ask themselves……’why would we sell Nisbet for less, if they can get that for them’?

A Mariners support base would scream if Nisbet was sold for what they would regard as a pittance, and Hibs supporters would call for Kensell’s sacking if they paid what I think they would need to satisfy the locals.

The ‘relative values’ of the two clubs are beyond coming to a compromise imho.

Nisbet’s contract ends in June, and I would think it is likely, although have no inside knowledge, that Hibs will try to sign him then, thus avoiding a transfer fee.

Mind you, pretty sure other clubs will too.
    Last edited by Forza Fred; 21-01-2024 at 09:12 AM.

Clayton Taylor playing for Newcastle Jets this morning. There is supposedly a Scottish club looking at him.bAberdeen fans confident it's them.

Surely wouldn’t be more than 200k

Interesting development in the A League today. My team, Perth Glory, are in all sorts of financial trouble (as is the whole league) - the previous owner relinquished control, the deal for new owners to take over fell through and the short term running of the club is being done by the Australian Professional Leagues (I think they're an equivalent of the SPFL). Anyway, they've been instructed today, by the APL, to loan one of their better players, Salim Khelifi, to another A league team, identity, as yet, unknown.

Quote Originally Posted by ChilliEater View Post
    Interesting development in the A League today. My team, Perth Glory, are in all sorts of financial trouble (as is the whole league) - the previous owner relinquished control, the deal for new owners to take over fell through and the short term running of the club is being done by the Australian Professional Leagues (I think they're an equivalent of the SPFL). Anyway, they've been instructed today, by the APL, to loan one of their better players, Salim Khelifi, to another A league team, identity, as yet, unknown.
    The A league is in all sorts of bother.
    Perth and Newcastle in dire financial straits, the " unite " round was massive failure, the women's games in unite round barely registered 12,000 attendance over 6 games.

The APL have laid off 50% of staff and have dumped a digital platform that cost them $40 million to implement.

I believe there was talk of A league coming back under FFA control but the FFA want no part of it

Quote Originally Posted by Brightside View Post
    Surely wouldn’t be more than 200k
    Celtic allegedly paid close to 10 times that for Tillio, so I don’t think the Mariners would be selling him for what most of their fans would consider ‘peanuts’.

Even Miller cost more than that a couple of years ago, and he was only 21 and still unknown to many.

I think the Mariners would put a a much, much larger value on him.

Quote Originally Posted by ChilliEater View Post
    The A League has been a financial basket case since it kicked off tbf.

As someone who has followed Oz fitba since even pre NSL times…..talk of ‘financial crisis’ is just another case of deja vu.

Newcastle are in exactly the same boat as Perth….haven’t had an owner for a while now and not allowed to sign any players, and I reckon Western United and Macarthur play to ACTUAL crowds, not reported ones, that wouldn’t even match Forfar’s crowds most weeks.

Not one club operates at a profit…and I can’t think of a time when any did.

It costs an estimated 12 million dollars or so a year to run a club, and tv revenues go no where near that.

The A League commenced in 2005 with much fanfare about having the clubs all ‘full time’, but I admit I am amazed they have managed to keep doing that while a succession of owners throw millions at the clubs.

Not sure it can last for ever.
    Last edited by Forza Fred; 20-01-2024 at 02:40 AM.

It's an odd one with the low crowds given how popular football is. Esp with the young kids. Although tbh they are all fans of the global superstar players rather than the local clubs

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar
    Celtic allegedly paid close to 10 times that for Tillio, so I don’t think the Mariners would be selling him for what most of their fans would consider ‘peanuts’.

Even Miller cost more than that a couple of years ago, and he was only 21 and still unknown to many.

I think the Mariners would put a a much, much larger value on him.
    Does he not only have 5 months remaining on his contract?

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    Does he not only have 5 months remaining on his contract?
    He does, but that doesn’t mean a huge deal in Oz, where there are no internal transfers.

The Mariners chairman is already under fire for selling half of the title winning squad, and it’s not just Hibs fans who don’t understand the harsh financial realities of football…..there would be pitchforks and torches out at Gosford if Nisbet was sold for what would be deemed to be a pittance.

I think it’s more than likely that Nisbet is going to move on when his contract expires…but the Mariners have made the decision to hold on to him until the end of the season unless a ‘too good to refuse’ offer is received.

Hibs on the other hand, if interested in him, ……and I don’t know if they are…..would already have made it known to him they will sign him when he comes off contract….and pay nowt.

Central Coast Mariners 2 v Melbourne City 1

Man of the Match awarded to………..Josh Nisbet

Central Coast Mariners 2 v Melbourne City 1

Man of the Match awarded to………..Josh Nisbet
    He looked good again on the ball, can do everything tackle, break the lines, carry the ball and he's got some engine on him, up and down the park in that heat. I do wonder where he will end up next season.

Some stramash near the end as well 😁

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    He looked good again on the ball, can do everything tackle, break the lines, carry the ball and he's got some engine on him, up and down the park in that heat. I do wonder where he will end up next season.

Aye..the Mariners sub was red carded…then came back on at full time looking for a square go!

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post

Sounds exactly what we need but right now.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Sounds exactly what we need but right now.
    Aye, but seems there is no dosh in the transfer kitty.

Makes you wonder what picture was presented to Monty in regard to available money for reinforcements when they went through the interview process.