Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar

Shooting in Granton

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotla...gn=Social_Flow

All the usual disclaimers about full facts not being known but I wouldn’t bet against this being some sort of feud over supply of drugs.
    Prohibition is a disaster of a policy.

I'm not sure why the BBC are electing not to name the victim when other media outlets are?

I'll play it safe and refrain from doing so. I knew his brother many years back when I was at school and met the victims a few times as well. I always liked him, we are going back 20+ years though so I suppose people's lives can go in all sorts of directions in that time.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    The videos going about of him goading people to come try it obviously worked.

Maybe he didn’t think they’d actually come?

Killers still on the loose, think areas of Granton are still shut off as well.

Didn’t know the guy but know of the family and it’s safe to say they were always folk you knew to stay well clear of. Theres a couple of families in that area who are similar.

Sure both the brothers were also quite pally with Derek Riordan.

Regardless of why this all happened, it’s somebodies son/brother etc that has been senselessly killed. Very sad.

I'm not sure why the BBC are electing not to name the victim when other media outlets are?

I'll play it safe and refrain from doing so. I knew his brother many years back when I was at school and met the victims a few times as well. I always liked him, we are going back 20+ years though so I suppose people's lives can go in all sorts of directions in that time.
    His brother had the flat above mine for a while, although I don't think I ever saw him there. Apparently he was wanted for something at the time.

When there was a tip-off about him being there, about 20 police descended on the block. He wasn't there, but there was a cupboard full of nasty things, allegedly.

It was then pointed out to the police that he and a rival had been hiding in plain sight....swapping threats and phone numbers on Bebo.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Police also announce that a 39 year old man fighting for his life after being shot as well in same incident.

Police also saying this was an isolated incident and they don’t expect any repercussions. Really.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Police also announce that a 39 year old man fighting for his life after being shot as well in same incident.

Police also saying this was an isolated incident and they don’t expect any repercussions. Really.
    I'm never sure if the Police and press are just totally blind to what has been going on in Edinburgh for the last few years, are just trying to avoid panic in the areas unaffected by the ongoing events or are wilfully ignoring it for a more nefarious reason.

There were 6 machete attacks in less than a week within 10 minutes of my house last year and they barely merited a mention in the EEN. That seems a pretty big story for a local paper but someone who didn't know the area is probably unaware it ever happened. The police comment amounted to 'isolated incidents and no cause for alarm among the wider community'. Aye, apart from the fact one of the attacks happened outside a budget supermarket in broad daylight when bairns were walking home from school. A few bams setting off fireworks and we have wall to wall coverage, increased police presence and politicians of all shades sticking their oars in. It doesn't add up.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 02-01-2024 at 06:01 PM.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    And a murder in North Berwick of all places. Just round the corner from my mate. Appears to be a domestic.

I'm never sure if the Police and press are just totally blind to what has been going on in Edinburgh for the last few years, are just trying to avoid panic in the areas unaffected by the ongoing events or are wilfully ignoring it for a more nefarious reason.

There were 6 machete attacks in less than a week within 10 minutes of my house last year and they barely merited a mention in the EEN. That seems a pretty big story for a local paper but someone who didn't know the area is probably unaware it ever happened. The police comment amounted to 'isolated incidents and no cause for alarm among the wider community'. Aye, apart from the fact one of the attacks happened outside a budget supermarket in broad daylight when bairns were walking home from school. A few bams setting off fireworks and we have wall to wall coverage, increased police presence and politicians of all shades sticking their oars in. It doesn't add up.
    The police and press seem to be playing these incidents down but the are becoming far more frequent. I think they have lost control now.

Many moons ago, roughly about 30 yrs I was at a New Years party at Sighthill. My best mate brother in law was known for being one of the hardest in the area. I didn't realise I was in a house full of drugs & bampots. I like a game of cards & ended up playing £1 turnovers. I was about £60 down. My mate came over & said how you getting on. I cannae win £u3k all tonight I'm doon £60 ish. Now don't ask me what he done or how he done it but he dealt the cards. I got an Ace he got a King. My mate said to me let's get a drink & give the cards a miss for the rest of the night. Less than an hour later my mate says, I think it's time we leave. Outside he says you were playing cards with the wrong guy there. He stabbed someone in The Silver Wing over a game of cards & got sent to HMP. I'll never forget his name Jim Webley. They were even nutters back then.

Edinburgh is becoming more like London every day. Guns and violence are only going to increase. The thought of gun violence was unthinkable 15 years ago.

I moved out of Edinburgh 6 years ago and I’m incredibly glad.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Still plenty police in the area earlier today as I couldn't drive that way going to ER

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar

Only London attracts more tourists than Edinburgh in the UK, I think it is played down by press and police for that reason, Edinburgh must rake in a load of money from tourists, you just have to look how gang violence is reported on in Glasgow, wall to wall gang wars, that never gets mentioned about what happens here even though everyone knows it’s happening, isolated incident, the police are taking the pee.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4185 View Post
    Edinburgh is becoming more like London every day. Guns and violence are only going to increase. The thought of gun violence was unthinkable 15 years ago.

The violence in Edinburgh is pretty much self contained within criminal groups. If you have no connection to that world then you’re not join to be on the wrong end of shooting or machete attack unless there is a horrible mix up.

London on the other hand is an absolute battlefield where anyone can be and frequently do end being up the victim on daily bases. The two are not comparable IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by Paul1642 View Post
    The violence in Edinburgh is pretty much self contained within criminal groups. If you have no connection to that world then you’re not join to be on the wrong end of shooting or machete attack unless there is a horrible mix up.

London on the other hand is an absolute battlefield where anyone can be and frequently do end being up the victim on daily bases. The two are not comparable IMO.
    Pretty similar to Liverpool where recent events have shown that anyone can be caught up in the wars between rival gangs.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar

That'll be Farmfoods then. Right across the road from my sister and her 10 year old boy.

Wow having just watched the videos he posted days before, he certainly goaded someone to come and get him. Whether the person the videos were aimed at is responsible for his demise remains to be seen.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Wow having just watched the videos he posted days before, he certainly goaded someone to come and get him. Whether the person the videos were aimed at is responsible for his demise remains to be seen.

Yeah that was reported in the DR and I found it weird.

As Silver and others have already mentioned, the number of these 'incidents' in and around Edinburgh has gone of the scale recently and it does look like the Police either aren't taking it seriously enough or have completely lost control.

Minutes before I think. He was posting on the night telling them where he was. Mental.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4185 View Post

It's been on the go for years

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    It's been on the go for years
    Yeah much longer than 15 years ago.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Pretty similar to Liverpool where recent events have shown that anyone can be caught up in the wars between rival gangs.
    Gunshots tonight outside a Liverpool cinema......

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/news...ocked-28386625

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Minutes before I think. He was posting on the night telling them where he was. Mental.

Was posted few days before according to the Evening News. The fact he had a go in one of the videos at a well known Edinburgh crime boss was what sealed his fate. The crime boss was linked to the new guy who was with Webley's ex ( which is what started the whole thing).

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Gunshots tonight outside a Liverpool cinema......

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/news...ocked-28386625
    Not a rare occurrence unfortunately, far too many carrying and using firearms with little or no regard as to the consequences. An AK47 was used apparently!
    Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 03-01-2024 at 11:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Was posted few days before according to the Evening News. The fact he had a go in one of the videos at a well known Edinburgh crime boss was what sealed his fate. The crime boss was linked to the new guy who was with Webley's ex ( which is what started the whole thing).
    Webley was due to stand trial for assaulting her at a kids' football match last year.

Just out of curiosity who’s the well known Edinburgh crime boss?

Daily Record reporting that there was a £20k bounty on Webley's heed. Also reporting that Police now have cctv footage of the gunman without his balaclava on.

£20k to be banged up for a long time isnt that great a deal really.

@hibs.net private member Greenworld's Avatar
    Since police scotland was formed its been a hopeless task.
    A return to localised police forces is required would be nice to have police stations open 24hrs . Lothian and Borders police did a good job in stopping a lot of this

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Greenworld View Post
    Since police scotland was formed its been a hopeless task.
    A return to localised police forces is required would be nice to have police stations open 24hrs . Lothian and Borders police did a good job in stopping a lot of this

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
    Crime is down since Police Scotland was formed.
    Beware of easy solutions, especially ones that hark back to a time and reality that never existed.
    Not a defence of Police Scotland.

I know a lot of the names involved in this are in the public domain but please avoid using them on here.

This is all a bit close to home and it's not something the admin team have any desire to have to deal with if there is fallout.