https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotla...gn=Social_Flow
All the usual disclaimers about full facts not being known but I wouldn’t bet against this being some sort of feud over supply of drugs.
Prohibition is a disaster of a policy.
Thread: Shooting in Granton
-
01-01-2024 10:53 PM #1
Shooting in Granton
-
02-01-2024 08:10 AM #2
I'm not sure why the BBC are electing not to name the victim when other media outlets are?
I'll play it safe and refrain from doing so. I knew his brother many years back when I was at school and met the victims a few times as well. I always liked him, we are going back 20+ years though so I suppose people's lives can go in all sorts of directions in that time.
-
02-01-2024 09:58 AM #3
The videos going about of him goading people to come try it obviously worked.
Maybe he didn’t think they’d actually come?
-
02-01-2024 10:15 AM #4
Killers still on the loose, think areas of Granton are still shut off as well.
Didn’t know the guy but know of the family and it’s safe to say they were always folk you knew to stay well clear of. Theres a couple of families in that area who are similar.
Sure both the brothers were also quite pally with Derek Riordan.
Regardless of why this all happened, it’s somebodies son/brother etc that has been senselessly killed. Very sad.
-
02-01-2024 11:51 AM #5This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
When there was a tip-off about him being there, about 20 police descended on the block. He wasn't there, but there was a cupboard full of nasty things, allegedly.
It was then pointed out to the police that he and a rival had been hiding in plain sight....swapping threats and phone numbers on Bebo.
-
02-01-2024 05:41 PM #6
Police also announce that a 39 year old man fighting for his life after being shot as well in same incident.
Police also saying this was an isolated incident and they don’t expect any repercussions. Really.
-
02-01-2024 05:58 PM #7This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
There were 6 machete attacks in less than a week within 10 minutes of my house last year and they barely merited a mention in the EEN. That seems a pretty big story for a local paper but someone who didn't know the area is probably unaware it ever happened. The police comment amounted to 'isolated incidents and no cause for alarm among the wider community'. Aye, apart from the fact one of the attacks happened outside a budget supermarket in broad daylight when bairns were walking home from school. A few bams setting off fireworks and we have wall to wall coverage, increased police presence and politicians of all shades sticking their oars in. It doesn't add up.Last edited by Pretty Boy; 02-01-2024 at 06:01 PM.
-
02-01-2024 06:21 PM #8
And a murder in North Berwick of all places. Just round the corner from my mate. Appears to be a domestic.
-
02-01-2024 06:25 PM #9This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
02-01-2024 06:42 PM #10
Many moons ago, roughly about 30 yrs I was at a New Years party at Sighthill. My best mate brother in law was known for being one of the hardest in the area. I didn't realise I was in a house full of drugs & bampots. I like a game of cards & ended up playing £1 turnovers. I was about £60 down. My mate came over & said how you getting on. I cannae win £u3k all tonight I'm doon £60 ish. Now don't ask me what he done or how he done it but he dealt the cards. I got an Ace he got a King. My mate said to me let's get a drink & give the cards a miss for the rest of the night. Less than an hour later my mate says, I think it's time we leave. Outside he says you were playing cards with the wrong guy there. He stabbed someone in The Silver Wing over a game of cards & got sent to HMP. I'll never forget his name Jim Webley. They were even nutters back then.
-
02-01-2024 07:47 PM #11
Edinburgh is becoming more like London every day. Guns and violence are only going to increase. The thought of gun violence was unthinkable 15 years ago.
I moved out of Edinburgh 6 years ago and I’m incredibly glad.
-
02-01-2024 08:40 PM #12
Still plenty police in the area earlier today as I couldn't drive that way going to ER
-
02-01-2024 10:17 PM #13This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2024 07:03 AM #14
London on the other hand is an absolute battlefield where anyone can be and frequently do end being up the victim on daily bases. The two are not comparable IMO.
-
03-01-2024 02:55 PM #15This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2024 03:26 PM #16This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2024 06:38 PM #17
Wow having just watched the videos he posted days before, he certainly goaded someone to come and get him. Whether the person the videos were aimed at is responsible for his demise remains to be seen.
-
03-01-2024 07:13 PM #18This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Yeah that was reported in the DR and I found it weird.
As Silver and others have already mentioned, the number of these 'incidents' in and around Edinburgh has gone of the scale recently and it does look like the Police either aren't taking it seriously enough or have completely lost control.
-
03-01-2024 07:35 PM #19This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2024 08:26 PM #20This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2024 08:34 PM #21This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2024 10:53 PM #22This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/news...ocked-28386625
-
03-01-2024 11:09 PM #23This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
03-01-2024 11:23 PM #24This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by Scouse Hibee; 03-01-2024 at 11:25 PM.
-
04-01-2024 07:47 AM #25This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-01-2024 10:17 AM #26
Just out of curiosity who’s the well known Edinburgh crime boss?
-
04-01-2024 10:54 AM #27
Daily Record reporting that there was a £20k bounty on Webley's heed. Also reporting that Police now have cctv footage of the gunman without his balaclava on.
£20k to be banged up for a long time isnt that great a deal really.
-
04-01-2024 11:16 AM #28
Since police scotland was formed its been a hopeless task.
A return to localised police forces is required would be nice to have police stations open 24hrs . Lothian and Borders police did a good job in stopping a lot of this
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
-
04-01-2024 11:21 AM #29This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Beware of easy solutions, especially ones that hark back to a time and reality that never existed.
Not a defence of Police Scotland.
-
04-01-2024 12:19 PM #30
I know a lot of the names involved in this are in the public domain but please avoid using them on here.
This is all a bit close to home and it's not something the admin team have any desire to have to deal with if there is fallout.