The cyclist in atholl road, Pitlochry yesterday who thought he didn't have to stop at a red light on a pedestrian crossing. Kept on coming as I was half way across. He's the one who took exception to me holding my arm out and cycling straight into the bag I was carrying full of empty egg cartons. Jumped off and came after me, threatening to call the police. Told him to go ahead as there were dozens of witnesses. What a prick!
Results 12,121 to 12,150 of 14217
Thread: Pet Peeves IV
-
05-11-2023 03:22 PM #12121
-
05-11-2023 06:08 PM #12122
-
05-11-2023 06:54 PM #12123
Not really a peeve as such as I'm sure there is a reason for it but the price of fish and chips in Scotland compared to England.
I was down south a couple of weeks ago. Had fish and chips with bread and butter and a cup of tea for £8.20. There was a sign on the wall stating the variety of potatoes and where they had been grown and also what fish was available and when and where it had been caught. If they were telling the truth then it was very fresh. Portion was huge and it was more than decent.
Last night I stopped for a fish supper on the way home at my local chippy. £11.50 for a pretty measly bit of fish and a portion of chips that were well past their best. No bread and butter or tea obviously.
I know times are tough for restaurants and take aways but there's a tipping point and I'm close to it now.
-
05-11-2023 07:19 PM #12124
Oh and wee fuds in balaclavas firing rockets all over the shop and basically turning the area into a no go zone for a decent chunk of the local populace who will be scared of them.
-
05-11-2023 08:05 PM #12125This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
05-11-2023 08:58 PM #12126This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Totally agree - took the bairn out to see some fireworks as she was desperate to see some, watched a bunch of adolescent idiots firing rockets tv straight out of their hands (couldn’t tell if they had something to protect their hands as it was pitch black and about 70-80 yards away). Some of them were flying all over the place, and could easily have maimed them or someone else
-
05-11-2023 09:01 PM #12127This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I feel bad for takeaway owners just now, the cost of everything is much higher, and equally that’s the same for the customers, who have seen such a large increase for the cost of a meal, plus their own cost of living challenges, will see a fair amount of these businesses closing for good sadly. We’ve certainly noticed the costs of these going up, a Chinese that not long ago would have cost around £8-9, is now costing £14.50+.
-
05-11-2023 09:18 PM #12128This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLess talk, more gifs.
-
05-11-2023 11:45 PM #12129
Fireworks are dangerous items. They should not be on sale to the public. They create fear among the elderly, the isolated and their pets.
That's not good, is it?
-
06-11-2023 10:17 AM #12130This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
06-11-2023 10:28 AM #12131
Why throw bricks at firemen? It's like attacking the bloke who comes to service your gas boiler.
-
06-11-2023 11:12 AM #12132This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I was brought up in a scheme, I bring my own bairns up about 5 minutes walk from where all that pish was going on last night and I know better than to fire fireworks at cars or peoples houses or to throw bricks at fire engines and I'll make ****ing sure my bairns do as well.
I see how crap things are in Niddrie, I see how much strain council cuts have put on people in the area and I see real poverty as well. I also see the low level intimidation some residents suffer at the hands of the police. It's an area that has suffered more than most from successive policy failures but you can't just say that excuses nonsense like last night. It was organised by adults and the vast majority of residents are better and smarter than that and shouldn't be tarred with the same brush.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
06-11-2023 05:13 PM #12133
The talk on the radio was that the youtz were encouraged by adults. Which kin dog makes you think it's a bit of "keep the polis busy over there while we do some stuff over here"
-
06-11-2023 05:28 PM #12134This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteLess talk, more gifs.
-
06-11-2023 05:50 PM #12135This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
My first job after Uni was in Kirkcaldy, about 20 odd years ago. I remember being told that at that time there were 3 streets in Kirkcaldy where the emergency services weren’t able to attend without a police escort.
So not exactly a modern phenomenon but an absolutely idiotic one nonetheless.
-
06-11-2023 09:06 PM #12136This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-11-2023 12:12 AM #12137This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
The my organised a riot so they could ram raid an Iceland?!?
-
08-11-2023 05:18 AM #12138This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
08-11-2023 05:57 AM #12139
https://news.stv.tv/east-central/twelve-arrested-as-emergency-services-attacked-with-fireworks-petrol-bombs-and-bricks-on-bonfire-night
In the Niddrie area of the city, an officer sustained a minor cut to their lip after bricks were thrown at a police vehicle which resulted in a smashed window.
A Farmfoods store in the area was also targeted, with windows smashed and items strewn across the shop floor.
-
08-11-2023 06:57 AM #12140This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteFollow the Hibs podcast, Longbangers, on Twitter (@longbangers)
https://www.patreon.com/user?u=18491...rshare_creator
https://youtube.com/@longbangers?si=N9JL5Ugx2l2aKEC8
-
08-11-2023 07:21 AM #12141
-
08-11-2023 09:24 AM #12142
This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteThis quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by grunt; 08-11-2023 at 09:28 AM.
-
08-11-2023 09:27 AM #12143This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Thats a disgrace."...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
08-11-2023 09:35 AM #12144
-
08-11-2023 09:39 AM #12145This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
08-11-2023 09:55 AM #12146This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's not even remotely convincing, before I even read all the social media uproar I thought it looked recognisably central or eastern Europe.PM Awards General Poster of The Year 2015, 2016, 2017. Probably robbed in other years
-
08-11-2023 10:47 AM #12147
but this must be a resignation letter by the current person in charge.
Next !
-
08-11-2023 01:06 PM #12148
https://x.com/edinburghpaper/status/...188730951?s=20
The image used on the front page of today's Edinburgh Evening News to illustrate disturbances in Niddrie was not taken locally. A picture from our files was mistakenly used. We apologise for our error.
-
08-11-2023 06:18 PM #12149
They thought perhaps they could get away with it until their owners pulled them up. At least they apologised to be fair.
-
08-11-2023 06:42 PM #12150