Page 405 of 474 FirstFirst ... 305355395403404405406407415455 ... LastLast
Results 12,121 to 12,150 of 14217

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    The cyclist in atholl road, Pitlochry yesterday who thought he didn't have to stop at a red light on a pedestrian crossing. Kept on coming as I was half way across. He's the one who took exception to me holding my arm out and cycling straight into the bag I was carrying full of empty egg cartons. Jumped off and came after me, threatening to call the police. Told him to go ahead as there were dozens of witnesses. What a prick!

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    The cyclist in atholl road, Pitlochry yesterday who thought he didn't have to stop at a red light on a pedestrian crossing. Kept on coming as I was half way across. He's the one who took exception to me holding my arm out and cycling straight into the bag I was carrying full of empty egg cartons. Jumped off and came after me, threatening to call the police. Told him to go ahead as there were dozens of witnesses. What a prick!
    What a tosser.

Not really a peeve as such as I'm sure there is a reason for it but the price of fish and chips in Scotland compared to England.

I was down south a couple of weeks ago. Had fish and chips with bread and butter and a cup of tea for £8.20. There was a sign on the wall stating the variety of potatoes and where they had been grown and also what fish was available and when and where it had been caught. If they were telling the truth then it was very fresh. Portion was huge and it was more than decent.

Last night I stopped for a fish supper on the way home at my local chippy. £11.50 for a pretty measly bit of fish and a portion of chips that were well past their best. No bread and butter or tea obviously.

I know times are tough for restaurants and take aways but there's a tipping point and I'm close to it now.

Oh and wee fuds in balaclavas firing rockets all over the shop and basically turning the area into a no go zone for a decent chunk of the local populace who will be scared of them.

Riot police out in Niddrie now, can literally hear running battles from half a mile away. Still it's just a laugh eh? Sooner fireworks are banned the better.

Totally agree - took the bairn out to see some fireworks as she was desperate to see some, watched a bunch of adolescent idiots firing rockets tv straight out of their hands (couldn’t tell if they had something to protect their hands as it was pitch black and about 70-80 yards away). Some of them were flying all over the place, and could easily have maimed them or someone else

Not really a peeve as such as I'm sure there is a reason for it but the price of fish and chips in Scotland compared to England.

I was down south a couple of weeks ago. Had fish and chips with bread and butter and a cup of tea for £8.20. There was a sign on the wall stating the variety of potatoes and where they had been grown and also what fish was available and when and where it had been caught. If they were telling the truth then it was very fresh. Portion was huge and it was more than decent.

Last night I stopped for a fish supper on the way home at my local chippy. £11.50 for a pretty measly bit of fish and a portion of chips that were well past their best. No bread and butter or tea obviously.

I know times are tough for restaurants and take aways but there's a tipping point and I'm close to it now.

I feel bad for takeaway owners just now, the cost of everything is much higher, and equally that’s the same for the customers, who have seen such a large increase for the cost of a meal, plus their own cost of living challenges, will see a fair amount of these businesses closing for good sadly. We’ve certainly noticed the costs of these going up, a Chinese that not long ago would have cost around £8-9, is now costing £14.50+.

You seen some of the videos going around on social media. Hopefully fireworks are banned soon like you said.

Fireworks are dangerous items. They should not be on sale to the public. They create fear among the elderly, the isolated and their pets.
    That's not good, is it?

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar

I don't think this is really a Scotland vs England thing, I think there's just a lot of regional variation. Where I live (south-east England, miles from the sea) the basic choice for a fish supper is moderately priced and crap or expensive and mediocre. Other places I've been in England (e.g. Hull, where tbf you'd expect them to be better at fish) are more like you describe, not too expensive and brilliant. There must still be places in Scotland where you can get good fish and chips for a reasonable price.

Why throw bricks at firemen? It's like attacking the bloke who comes to service your gas boiler.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Why throw bricks at firemen? It's like attacking the bloke who comes to service your gas boiler.
    'It's cause they are just working class lads from a scheme' seems to be the excuse of choice on social media today. Piss poor attitude imo, painting people from schemes as numbskulls who don't know any better.

I was brought up in a scheme, I bring my own bairns up about 5 minutes walk from where all that pish was going on last night and I know better than to fire fireworks at cars or peoples houses or to throw bricks at fire engines and I'll make ****ing sure my bairns do as well.

I see how crap things are in Niddrie, I see how much strain council cuts have put on people in the area and I see real poverty as well. I also see the low level intimidation some residents suffer at the hands of the police. It's an area that has suffered more than most from successive policy failures but you can't just say that excuses nonsense like last night. It was organised by adults and the vast majority of residents are better and smarter than that and shouldn't be tarred with the same brush.

The talk on the radio was that the youtz were encouraged by adults. Which kin dog makes you think it's a bit of "keep the polis busy over there while we do some stuff over here"

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    The terrible jokes and forced laughing on STV News at Six between I'm John MacKay in Glasgow and I'm Kelly Anne Woodland in Edinburgh.
    Another terrible joke on STV news tonight.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    This phenomenon (attacking the emergency services) is quite easily the most idiotic thing in present day UK.

My first job after Uni was in Kirkcaldy, about 20 odd years ago. I remember being told that at that time there were 3 streets in Kirkcaldy where the emergency services weren’t able to attend without a police escort.

So not exactly a modern phenomenon but an absolutely idiotic one nonetheless.

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    The talk on the radio was that the youtz were encouraged by adults. Which kin dog makes you think it's a bit of "keep the polis busy over there while we do some stuff over here"
    This is what I heard too, last year it was Iceland that got ram raided, I wonder where last night.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    This is what I heard too, last year it was Iceland that got ram raided, I wonder where last night.
    What?

The my organised a riot so they could ram raid an Iceland?!?

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    What?

The my organised a riot so they could ram raid an Iceland?!?
    Pretty sure it was Iceland, maybe the memory not as it was but it was something like that, these scenes are just a diversion tactic to keep the police busy while they do other stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Pretty sure it was Iceland, maybe the memory not as it was but it was something like that, these scenes are just a diversion tactic to keep the police busy while they do other stuff.
    Farm Foods mate, where former Marshall Arms was

https://news.stv.tv/east-central/twelve-arrested-as-emergency-services-attacked-with-fireworks-petrol-bombs-and-bricks-on-bonfire-night

In the Niddrie area of the city, an officer sustained a minor cut to their lip after bricks were thrown at a police vehicle which resulted in a smashed window.

A Farmfoods store in the area was also targeted, with windows smashed and items strewn across the shop floor.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Farm Foods mate, where former Marshall Arms was

https://news.stv.tv/east-central/twelve-arrested-as-emergency-services-attacked-with-fireworks-petrol-bombs-and-bricks-on-bonfire-night

In the Niddrie area of the city, an officer sustained a minor cut to their lip after bricks were thrown at a police vehicle which resulted in a smashed window.

A Farmfoods store in the area was also targeted, with windows smashed and items strewn across the shop floor.
    There were about 4 carloads of items stolen in the raid, the insurance claim was about £35.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    There were about 4 carloads of items stolen in the raid, the insurance claim was about £35.
    *******s, thats why I couldn't get my curry spring rolls !! Those ***** have no consideration for fat greedy *******s 🤬

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    You seen some of the videos going around on social media.
    Here's the front page of today's Evening News. Looks awful doesn't it? It is awful, but it's not Edinburgh. This photo is from riots in Kyiv in 2014. The Evening News should be fined for this front page.

Last edited by grunt; 08-11-2023 at 09:28 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Here's the front page of today's Evening News. Looks awful doesn't it? It is awful, but it's not Edinburgh. This photo is from riots in Kyiv in 2014.
    The Evening News should be fined for this front page.

You're kidding?

Thats a disgrace.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    You're kidding?
    https://app.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...paper_editions

Who the **** thought they'd get away with that?
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Here's the front page of today's Evening News. Looks awful doesn't it? It is awful, but it's not Edinburgh. This photo is from riots in Kyiv in 2014. The Evening News should be fined for this front page.

How the **** did they think they would get away with that?

It's not even remotely convincing, before I even read all the social media uproar I thought it looked recognisably central or eastern Europe.

How the **** did they think they would get away with that?

It's not even remotely convincing, before I even read all the social media uproar I thought it looked recognisably central or eastern Europe.
    This is a really sad indictment of the News today: cheap sensationalism of the Sun variety. I don't know how many ' editors ' the paper has had over the last few years

but this must be a resignation letter by the current person in charge.

Next !

https://x.com/edinburghpaper/status/...188730951?s=20

The image used on the front page of today's Edinburgh Evening News to illustrate disturbances in Niddrie was not taken locally. A picture from our files was mistakenly used. We apologise for our error.
    Apology posted at 1:48pm. How long has the paper been on sale for and how long has there been discussion online about the picture?

https://x.com/edinburghpaper/status/...188730951?s=20

Apology posted at 1:48pm. How long has the paper been on sale for and how long has there been discussion online about the picture?

They thought perhaps they could get away with it until their owners pulled them up. At least they apologised to be fair.

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    They thought perhaps they could get away with it until their owners pulled them up. At least they apologised to be fair.
    I give them no credit for that at all. This was a huge photo splash on the front page. There's no way that went out without someone saying,"hey are we sure that photo is from Niddrie, it doesn't look like it?". They all knew what they were doing. The apology cuts no ice whatsoever. The editor should resign or be sacked. Anyone else with oversight should resign.