Don't know how you came up with that conclusion . Campbell's one of the hardest working players we have btw , couldn't it have been due to us being away from home and up against a team that's beaten both old firm team's that we simply opted for a more defense minded Midfielder to partner Newell in Jeggo rather than a attacking one in Campbell? . Who I thought had a good game and the normally excellent Joe Newell had a extremely poor game for his standards tbh . Said it before Midfields a problem . It was clear to see in the 2nd half .This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Thread: Josh Campbell
-
16-09-2023 05:32 PM #301
-
16-09-2023 05:34 PM #302This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-09-2023 05:39 PM #303This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-09-2023 06:11 PM #304This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-09-2023 06:40 PM #305
I think JC needs a move.
The lad appears to lack technical ability and pace. He looks cumbersome and leggy in midfield and I think we are better when he goes off and worse when he comes on.
I’ve seen it suggested that he is unfit. If that is the case though, why is he playing at all? We all want academy breakthroughs to succeed and my tolerance for such players - perhaps unfairly (on other players)
- is higher for that reason.
It’s a bit alerting when a midfielder looks bad in what I think is quite a poor Hibs midfield (I am counting Youan and Boyle as attackers / wingers when I say that).
-
16-09-2023 07:39 PM #306
It made no sense at all to play him there imo.
-
16-09-2023 07:43 PM #307This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Do think there's a player in there somewhere, he's shown there is, but needs to show it more consistently.
-
16-09-2023 07:47 PM #308
If he gets a move from Hibs it’ll be down the way to a Motherwell/St Mirren etc imo.Last edited by Paulie Walnuts; 16-09-2023 at 08:02 PM.
-
16-09-2023 08:00 PM #309
After what was quite a good first half for us the 2nd half wasn't nearly as good , we gave the ball away far to easy I thought and considering Campbell didn't come on till about the 66 minute , the first 20 minutes in the 2nd half we were also poor in as well though!
-
17-09-2023 12:34 AM #310
Look let's give the laddie a break don't know if he reads hibs.net or not but if he does he must wonder why so many fans are against him look he's a hibs fan first and foremost do people actually think he comes on and think ill be crap today just to wind the fans up course he doesn't he comes on and does his best to a lot of people that's not good enough that's there opinion but let's give him a break he one of our own if he wasn't a lot of fans would have him tarred and feathered by now give the guy a break.
-
17-09-2023 12:38 AM #311
[QUOTE=Stubbsy90+2;7469908]I’m not sure he needs a move. He’s fine as a squad player here. I just don’t think he’s good enough to be starting regularly.
If he gets a move from Hibs it’ll be down the way to a Motherwell/St Mirren etc imo.[/QUOTE
Agree he's no stand out and in 442 no starter
-
17-09-2023 01:26 AM #312
Seems some fans always need some player to blame wither it be Campbell , Stevenson , Rocky , Hanlon ! Youan's got it too at one stage , Doidge another ? Anymore ? Miller maybe ? It will probably be someone else next week
SAD REALLY WE NEED TO BLAME SOMEBODY EVERY WEEK 😞
-
17-09-2023 01:37 AM #313This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's a fan forum, player performances are going to be discussed and debated every single game. If not, what's the point in this forum? It's not a blame game, it's just folk voicing their opinion.
Some folk focus on the negative, some on the positive. It's just peoples nature, everyone is wired differently. I get each side of that pisses the other off, bed wetter vs happy clappers etc, but it's part of the fun of this place, as mental as it is.
-
17-09-2023 01:54 AM #314This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
17-09-2023 02:06 AM #315This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It's fine to have favourites, but surely as adults you can say when one of your favourite players has a bad game? Stevenson is my favourite ever Hibs player. But I'll be the first to admit when he's had a poor game. I actually think this is a season too far for him as a starter.
Newell is another favourite of mine. Absolute stinker today. As bad a performance as I can remember. I think maybe being captain is a bit too much for him right now.
I just don't think everyone saying they thought Campbell was poor today is out to get him or don't like him. He was just pants when he came on.
-
17-09-2023 02:23 AM #316
It is a fans forum of varying opinions.
If he is a good player and plays well, he wont get criticised. Pretty simple really.
-
17-09-2023 02:42 AM #317This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
17-09-2023 02:45 AM #318This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by Donegal Hibby; 17-09-2023 at 03:01 AM.
-
17-09-2023 03:38 AM #319
We have under acheived for years.
-
17-09-2023 06:07 AM #320This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
17-09-2023 06:23 AM #321This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
17-09-2023 06:54 AM #322
This is a very weird post given that you follow it up with a post laying into Joe Newell too.
-
17-09-2023 06:59 AM #323
I don’t think Campbell deserves any negativity from the game to be honest. He was chucked on up top (he’s nae striker) and given very little to work with.
He tried to chase down everything, but was mostly doing it on his own. Up the other end multiple Killie players were running down everything our defence tried to do, and it was causing mistakes.
-
17-09-2023 08:49 AM #324This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If you offer an opinion that’s got a degree of rationale behind it, you can sometimes engage in discussion.
If you only post when we lose, only post negativity with statements as opinions, you’re going to be noticed and get identified at very least as a sad miserable fud, or even worse, a Jambo.
I know which I’d rather be.
-
17-09-2023 09:01 AM #325This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Since 2016 there's been two non old firm clubs who have won the Scottish cup , us and st johnstone , the rest of the time it's been sevco once and Celtic 5 times . League cups been much the same with Celtic winning it 6 out of the last 8 years .
If following a team is just about winning cups for you then I'm afraid your following the wrong club . Try the old firm .
-
17-09-2023 09:03 AM #326
-
17-09-2023 09:04 AM #327This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I don’t believe any player ever steps on a pitch thinking ‘I’ll be crap today’ for any reason.
That said, he’s there as a professional footballer. Whether he’s a Hibs fan or not, he deserves to be critiqued on that basis. There’s thousands of people attend Easter road who are also Hibs fans, but aren’t good enough to play (definitely me included), being one of our own shouldn’t shield anyone from honest appraisal (I don’t mean any of the over the top hyperbole that sometimes gets directed at players).
We can’t be in the stands, the pubs, on here or anywhere else saying it’s not good enough, need to be doing better, should be winning these matches, and in the same breath saying ‘go easy on xyz, he’s one of us’. If they’re not up to scratch in a given game, then they should be discussed as such. If they’re not delivering over weeks and months, the should be dropped. If it goes on longer, they should be replaced.
-
17-09-2023 09:09 AM #328
If someone posts Josh Campbell is a great player, that’s clearly their opinion, although that post is a statement.
I’m sure everyone could add ‘imo’ to the end of every sentence, but I didn’t think people needed things to be spelt out so much to them.
-
17-09-2023 09:11 AM #329
Whatever the reasons, that’s being dropped. Surely folk cannae be arguing against that, whatever the reasons.
-
17-09-2023 09:13 AM #330This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote