Page 393 of 474 FirstFirst ... 293343383391392393394395403443 ... LastLast
Results 11,761 to 11,790 of 14218

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

She's already been trying to get suppliers to give her credit using the new company name. More front than Blackpool.

It was her whole act last week denying reports of administration and calling them a 'data breach'. Anyone she owes money too could have produced a letter to show she was lying. She has had cash flow problems pretty much from the day she started trading and has burned her bridges with so many suppliers locally, always with a sob story or the odd claim of anti antisemitism thrown in, yet she pressed ahead with an expansion that she was never close to being able to finance.

There's a weird little clique of these types in Edinburgh (and I daresay elsewhere). Put on a big 'you are with me or against me' act and are excellent self marketers but end up leaving a trail of failed businesses in their wake whilst never seeming to suffer financially themselves.

I'm just glad the mask has slipped as she has been a bit of a darling of the Edinburgh press for a few years. A shame a lot of small businesses and potentially her employees will suffer as a result though.
    The taxpayer is getting shafted too. £400k at the last accounts in June 22, and it will probably be higher now.

HMRC don't dick about in situations like this. The new company will be on monthly VAT Returns, and monthly PAYE payments. Any default, and it will be straight back to the Court.

The bank will get paid, as they have security.

The galling thing is that, in March 23 when they published their latest accounts, they declared that they had enough finance to sustain them for the next 12 months.

There's also the small matter of the directors owing the company £58k at June 22, and maybe more now. That will have to be recovered before suppliers get anything back.

Gonks. Don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but they are very, very annoying looking. They’re everywhere now too, you can get Gonks for literally every occasion, why do we need Easter Gonks?

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Eldest has just gone into 2nd year. Said there are a few that have been smoking it since P7.

The amount of kids that are vaping as well is mental. Probably is a weed scented vape out there
    My brothers mate imports weed vapes from abroad, meant to be very strong by all accounts.

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    Gonks. Don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but they are very, very annoying looking. They’re everywhere now too, you can get Gonks for literally every occasion, why do we need Easter Gonks?

Had to Google gonk, had no idea what to expect! 😀

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    I'm not mad on the pile on with Lee Johnson and his 'quirky' chat' but I saw an interview with him yesterday where he described it as 'matchday minus one'. WTF is that all about? Just say 'the day before the game'.

I'm certain he won't be the only one saying it, horrific patter.
    I wonder if there is a longer schedule of "matchday minus X" that gets used to coordinate training/diet to be at optimum performance levels and how this just came into be.

I guess your point would still stand that they could say "three days before the game"...
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Had to Google gonk, had no idea what to expect!
    they were alright when they were only about at Xmas time, now they’re everywhere all year round. Annoying wee things.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    People who complain about price, not taking quality into the equation.

Was lamenting the demise of a local bar who did excellent burgers recently, and someone chimes in with “What did they think was going to happen? They were charging twelve quid for a burger and chips and McDonalds is five minutes walk away”.

There are times a Maccies does the job (although in recent years the low bar of quality they had has gone through the floor), but a really nice handmade burger in a good roll, with proper ingredients, nice cheese, well cooked, and proper chips on a plate is completely different from mass produced *****.

I kind of understand complaining about pricing in these times but it’s not the first time I’ve heard that total non starter of an argument.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

When a recipe video comes up online and it’s some impossibly annoying tosser who takes a forkful of their food then starts doing a stupid little dance. Nobody eats food like that you ****ing melt.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    When a recipe video comes up online and it’s some impossibly annoying tosser who takes a forkful of their food then starts doing a stupid little dance. Nobody eats food like that you ****ing melt.
    On an related note, recipe videos that say something like ‘make an amazing meal in just 10 minutes - aye, once you’ve spent 30 minutes pre-preparing all the ingredients, measured everything out ahead of time, and you’ve got a kitchen to rival a small restaurant

People who complain about the price of a meal in a restaurant or a takeaway and come out with “I can make it cheaper at home”.
    Of course it’s cheaper to stay in and cook at home, the same folk also tell you they can get a bottle of wine cheaper in the supermarket than a restaurant!

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    People who complain about the price of a meal in a restaurant or a takeaway and come out with “I can make it cheaper at home”.
    Of course it’s cheaper to stay in and cook at home, the same folk also tell you they can get a bottle of wine cheaper in the supermarket than a restaurant!
    I was pleasantly surprised at the prices at Edinburgh Street Food when I was there between fringe shows. It shows what can be done with simple food, probably half the price for the same thing in a pub.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Screen touchers.

My boss is dreadful for it. Comes in to my office to discuss something and will prod at my screen to the point that the monitor jiggles about on the stand.

It's infuriating and there's absolutely no need for it.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    My wife did freak out slightly when she saw the price of whispering angel in Scott's. 😂😂

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Probably been done before but folk that reserve loads of sunloungers at the pool on holiday but don’t use them for most of the day.

I’m away just now and there’s two pools where we are staying. The nicer one that doesn’t stink of burgers and onions all day is quite small with about 20 sunloungers. It also doesn’t open until 11. Yesterday we were lucky to get beds for the two of us there at 11 but there were a couple with books reserving them that didn’t get used until about 5pm.

This morning, we rocked up a bit before it opened and we looked like we were fourth in the queue. There was a woman with a child, a family of 3 and a woman on her own. We ended up getting the last two beds. The woman with the child and the woman on her own reserved the other beds. At least more people turned up 2 mins later for the ones reserved by the woman and child. The woman on her own has 7 beds reserved over and above her one. Nobody has turned up and I suspect they won’t for quite some time.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    Probably been done before but folk that reserve loads of sunloungers at the pool on holiday but don’t use them for most of the day.

I’m away just now and there’s two pools where we are staying. The nicer one that doesn’t stink of burgers and onions all day is quite small with about 20 sunloungers. It also doesn’t open until 11. Yesterday we were lucky to get beds for the two of us there at 11 but there were a couple with books reserving them that didn’t get used until about 5pm.

This morning, we rocked up a bit before it opened and we looked like we were fourth in the queue. There was a woman with a child, a family of 3 and a woman on her own. We ended up getting the last two beds. The woman with the child and the woman on her own reserved the other beds. At least more people turned up 2 mins later for the ones reserved by the woman and child. The woman on her own has 7 beds reserved over and above her one. Nobody has turned up and I suspect they won’t for quite some time.
    I'm the last guy to look for confrontation when on holiday, but if I'm in a hotel where there are empty, but "reserved" sun beds, I neatly fold their towels and place under the sun bed and replace when I'm leaving.
    If I'm honest, I struggle to lie down for more than an hour, would rather walk about.
    But, if the reservation-ists return before I leave I politely explain that the other beds were occupied and I'm just about to leave. If "they" get humpty, my departure becomes procrastinated. In my experience, sun bed reservations are frowned upon in most places and I'll happily point that out, especially if the bed was reserved before breakfast but the large extended family only turn up to use them after their all-day boat trip 🙄

Edited to add; it's partly because of this behaviour I won't go to big hotels with limited pool facilities. I prefer villa holidays where the only idiots are your family members, or, small independent apartments and I then use the paid for beach facilities or patronise a nearby quiet, amenable hotel, where poolside amenities can be used along with their bar.
    Last edited by speedy_gonzales; 19-08-2023 at 12:54 PM.

That you can only buy normal spuds in a supermarket in 2kg plus bags.

I just want half a kilo of Maris pipers for a particular recipe. Used to be able to buy them loose. Now need a big hulking bag it’ll take me ages to get through.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Jambos on my bus

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

WARNING

Picked up a packet of pickled onion monster munch this morning opened the packet to find normal crisps!! Devastated!!!

Same colour packet, everything. Just never noticed it said crisps

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    When someone praises an opposition team/player/manager and suddenly it's a "Hibs.net love-in".

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    WARNING

Picked up a packet of pickled onion monster munch this morning opened the packet to find normal crisps!! Devastated!!!

Same colour packet, everything. Just never noticed it said crisps
    They also have (I think) wotsists and chilli heatwave dorito flavour walkers now as well

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post

We recently went to tenerife and there was a very strict no reserve policy.
    Anything left before 10am when the pool opened were removed by the lifeguards, and a note left to collect their things from reception/the lifeguard hut.

They were also out during the day and if they spotted towels on loungers, but no people for around an hour the same thing g happened.
    There was obviously a few arguments over this, which was great to watch, but it was the best holiday I have had. Could get up about half 9, go for breakfast and down to pool for half 10 11ish and had plenty loungers to choose from. Even went out for lunch and a wander a few times and came back around 3pm and still didn't have a hassel getting one.
    I do think a lot of hotels from Reading reviews are cracking down on this.

Years ago in Tenerife we came back one night drunk, all the sunbeds had towels on them, so I went round gathering them up and tossed them all in the pool, so satisfying 😁

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by j-c View Post
    years ago in tenerife we came back one night drunk, all the sunbeds had towels on them, so i went round gathering them up and tossed them all in the pool, so satisfying ��

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    We recently went to tenerife and there was a very strict no reserve policy.
    Anything left before 10am when the pool opened were removed by the lifeguards, and a note left to collect their things from reception/the lifeguard hut.

They were also out during the day and if they spotted towels on loungers, but no people for around an hour the same thing g happened.
    There was obviously a few arguments over this, which was great to watch, but it was the best holiday I have had. Could get up about half 9, go for breakfast and down to pool for half 10 11ish and had plenty loungers to choose from. Even went out for lunch and a wander a few times and came back around 3pm and still didn't have a hassel getting one.
    I do think a lot of hotels from Reading reviews are cracking down on this.
    If you want to go on holiday and lie on a sun lounger then going to Reading seems an odd choice.

Is it just me that gets slightly frustrated that there’s not one, but two gdpr type pop up boxes on Hibs website that need to be cleared before you can do anything?

And occasionally if its on the phone, one of the pop ups appears behind the other, but needs to be cleared first (which you can’t because the other one is blocking it)

I always find the sun lounger things bizarre.

When we were away in the summer we were lucky in that we had a ground floor room with a sun terrace overlooking the pool so if we didn't get a lounger then it wasn't a huge deal. The loungers were stacked and locked up at night and then unlocked about 8.30am. Every morning from about 7.40 there were people hovering about, trying to stake their claim for spaces and when the locks got turned it was a free for all. People literally shoving each other out the way to get a lounger.

First 2 or 3 morning my bairns were waking at their usual time so I was up anyway, I'd go out about 8.40, grab a couple of loungers, spend 40 minutes or so with my book then head back and get everyone ready. After the 3rd day the late nights caught up so they were sleeping until later and no way I was getting up early on holiday for the sake of a lounger. There was no need though, well after 10 I was strolling out, getting a couple of loungers no bother and was surrounded by dozens of empty loungers with towels on them. I took to sitting on the terrace at about 9ish watching the daily royal rumble with a mixture of amusement and bemusement. Not once did I fail to get at least 2 loungers.

I always find the sun lounger things bizarre.

When we were away in the summer we were lucky in that we had a ground floor room with a sun terrace overlooking the pool so if we didn't get a lounger then it wasn't a huge deal. The loungers were stacked and locked up at night and then unlocked about 8.30am. Every morning from about 7.40 there were people hovering about, trying to stake their claim for spaces and when the locks got turned it was a free for all. People literally shoving each other out the way to get a lounger.

First 2 or 3 morning my bairns were waking at their usual time so I was up anyway, I'd go out about 8.40, grab a couple of loungers, spend 40 minutes or so with my book then head back and get everyone ready. After the 3rd day the late nights caught up so they were sleeping until later and no way I was getting up early on holiday for the sake of a lounger. There was no need though, well after 10 I was strolling out, getting a couple of loungers no bother and was surrounded by dozens of empty loungers with towels on them. I took to sitting on the terrace at about 9ish watching the daily royal rumble with a mixture of amusement and bemusement. Not once did I fail to get at least 2 loungers.
    I've been looking at booking Tenerife for next year and some of the hotels actually advertised full time pool attendants who will remove any towels if nobody has returned within an hour. Mental it's come to that.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    If you want to go on holiday and lie on a sun lounger then going to Reading seems an odd choice.
    👍🏼Sounds about right to me.

Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    I've been looking at booking Tenerife for next year and some of the hotels actually advertised full time pool attendants who will remove any towels if nobody has returned within an hour. Mental it's come to that.
    The hotel we stay at in Adeje doesn’t allow any reserving of Sun beds, all towels are removed by attendant.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post