Page 107 of 128 FirstFirst ... 75797105106107108109117 ... LastLast
Results 3,181 to 3,210 of 3831
    Not a driving pet peeve as such but has anyone else seen a big hike in their car insurance this year?

Got my renewal quote today and it's about £160 up on last year. Had a look at the usual comparison sites and a few places direct and not finding much cheaper. Still the same car, no claims in the last year so no claims in unaffected, no new drivers added etc etc.

Bit of a pain in the erse.

yes, mine was looking at an increase of 130-250 from the various quotes. It does my head in, the car is a year older so worth less, another year no claims, no changes to mileage/drivers/etc.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Not a driving pet peeve as such but has anyone else seen a big hike in their car insurance this year?

Got my renewal quote today and it's about £160 up on last year. Had a look at the usual comparison sites and a few places direct and not finding much cheaper. Still the same car, no claims in the last year so no claims in unaffected, no new drivers added etc etc.

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    yes, mine was looking at an increase of 130-250 from the various quotes. It does my head in, the car is a year older so worth less, another year no claims, no changes to mileage/drivers/etc.
    Yep, it's everywhere apparently: https://www.theguardian.com/money/20...-petrol-diesel

Ours (Admiral) wanted about 50% more than the previous year. Managed to find the same cover for close to the old price elsewhere.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar

Mine isnt due for a couple of months but my understanding from the insurance brokers I deal with at work is a general tightening of the insurance marker in general so not too surprising.

My house insurance renewal came in and whilst I've been quite happy with AXA they wanted to bump it up by £150, a 60% increase. It took a bit of hunting around but finally found the "no thanks" button and progressed through all their pleads and reassurances that they were the best insurance company etc. Compare the market found me a quote that was only £20 more and so saved £130.

Presumably enough people just allow the autorenew to happen that it's worth losing customers who'll do a wee search. Although I thought there were new rules about that.
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    Mine isnt due for a couple of months but my understanding from the insurance brokers I deal with at work is a general tightening of the insurance marker in general so not too surprising.

My house insurance renewal came in and whilst I've been quite happy with AXA they wanted to bump it up by £150, a 60% increase. It took a bit of hunting around but finally found the "no thanks" button and progressed through all their pleads and reassurances that they were the best insurance company etc. Compare the market found me a quote that was only £20 more and so saved £130.

Presumably enough people just allow the autorenew to happen that it's worth losing customers who'll do a wee search. Although I thought there were new rules about that.
    My car insurance renewal info included a line to the effect of "you might find cheaper elsewhere". Not sure if that's the extent of what they're required to do or if there's more to it.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    People who don't use the right turn lanes in supermarket car parks and make all the traffic wait until all the traffic exiting has gone before manoeuvring. Every bliddy time...

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Fuel prices back on the rise. Stabilised got a wee minute around mid 140s but back over 150 per litre for a diesel again

Was in NI over the weekend and theres as much as 20p a litre difference. Drove past an asda at 134.7p

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    Tesco Musselburgh car park.

Pothole galore as you drive into it!

@hibs.net private member Hibs90's Avatar
    Taxi/Uber drivers deliberately driving slow to increase their fares and holding up traffic.

Idiots.

Mine had an astronomical increase this year. No matter what comparison site I used or any amount of haggling worked. They were all the same. I think I calculated it at around a 110% increase. Caveat of an open claim where I may or may not be found at fault but still an absolute joke of an increase. It got to the point where no matter what car I put into the quote engines the quotes were all the same.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs90 View Post
    Taxi/Uber drivers deliberately driving slow to increase their fares and holding up traffic.

Idiots.
    Uber is a set price once the journey is confirmed???

@hibs.net private member EH6 Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Uber is a set price once the journey is confirmed???
    Add to that, taxi’s are charged on mileage unless you’re stopped in traffic for a certain amount of time so no matter what speed they drive it will cost the same.

Idiots.
    Taxis are done on distance and is the same price no matter how slow you go, Uber is a set fare so again the time taken means nowt.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Getting caught on Manse Road, that camera must be making a fortune, I thought about appealing as signs have been spray painted, 2.50 was my time caught at on Friday afternoon, when did they start having different peak times. £30 paid.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Getting caught on Manse Road, that camera must be making a fortune, I thought about appealing as signs have been spray painted, 2.50 was my time caught at on Friday afternoon, when did they start having different peak times. £30 paid.
    I hadn't realised it had been reinstated, it was vandalised/cut down a few weeks back.
    FWIW, it would be simpler if they (The Council) just made it a full time bus gate like Prestonfield Ave and the Jewel. They obviously want to stop traffic using it as a short cut (Ladywell Ave to Clermiston Rd and Saughton Rd Nth to Drum Brae Sth). Let's ignore the fact that no buses use the road during operational times 🙄

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    I hadn't realised it had been reinstated, it was vandalised/cut down a few weeks back.
    FWIW, it would be simpler if they (The Council) just made it a full time bus gate like Prestonfield Ave and the Jewel. They obviously want to stop traffic using it as a short cut (Ladywell Ave to Clermiston Rd and Saughton Rd Nth to Drum Brae Sth). Let's ignore the fact that no buses use the road during operational times 🙄
    They must have had it back up within days, as you say just as well closing it off to cars, and the council need to get the signs fixed as well, it’s a nightmare in that area just now, roadworks at the school for the next 3 weeks and another burst pipe on Glasgow road which seems to be taking a while to get fixed.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    They must have had it back up within days, as you say just as well closing it off to cars, and the council need to get the signs fixed as well, it’s a nightmare in that area just now, roadworks at the school for the next 3 weeks and another burst pipe on Glasgow road which seems to be taking a while to get fixed.
    Think you mean St John's Rd but I agree, hole in the road, bollards narrowing lanes and no workers to be seen, different department for filling the hole which might take another week or so to fix.

Idiots.
    You're on thin ice. Most of the posters on here are taxi drivers!

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar

Idiots.
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    And probably obeying 20mph speed limits, feels like you’re going backwards if you’re a passenger.

Quote Originally Posted by Alfiembra View Post
    And probably obeying 20mph speed limits, feels like you’re going backwards if you’re a passenger.
    Oh yes they always observe 20mph speed limits. Always.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post

And getting worse, nearly got rammed into the kerb earlier by a pothole dodger. There will no doubt be temporary repairs which will last a week...

Quote Originally Posted by hibee_girl View Post

Sounds like a woke Bond Girl.

It’s a nightmare round there now. I went to pick my mother in law up from Featherhall Place, which is just behind Iceland on Manse Road, and i ended up having to drive down almost to Carricknowe to drive back to St John’s Rd then turn in at the Centurion. What a waste of time.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post

It's not a dig at anyone on here obviously. Just an observation.

Neighbour leaves his car running for 10/15 mins before his wife gets in it. Who doesn't like a warmed up car!

Voice notes, was watching athletics last night mrs not completely interested so messing on her phone 8min voice note from her pal moaning about her boyfriend then she’s recording a reply…..just phone her and scoosh upstairs so I don’t need to listen too it

FaceTime as well….one phone call whole house needs to freeze so whoever doesn’t see u running around in ur Y’s or getting out the shower etc

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    It’s a nightmare round there now. I went to pick my mother in law up from Featherhall Place, which is just behind Iceland on Manse Road, and i ended up having to drive down almost to Carricknowe to drive back to St John’s Rd then turn in at the Centurion. What a waste of time.
    Why didn’t you go along Manse Road and turn left before Iceland?

I really wish people learned how to drive the burnshot road properly. Your car is not a tank so stick to your own side of the ****ing road!!

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    I really wish people learned how to drive the burnshot road properly. Your car is not a tank so stick to your own side of the ****ing road!!
    I hate driving on that road. I think the hedges make it feel narrower than it actually is, and combined with folk battering down the middle I almost feel like I’m going to go off the edge.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    I hate driving on that road. I think the hedges make it feel narrower than it actually is, and combined with folk battering down the middle I almost feel like I’m going to go off the edge.
    I feel sorry for those coming out from the standing stane road as if they look right they can't see **** as too overgrown

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    I feel sorry for those coming out from the standing stane road as if they look right they can't see **** as too overgrown
    Oh aye, that’s a nasty junction to come out of, thankfully it’s only occasionally I need to use it. Any time I do it’s a case of edging out carefully.