The old grey cells may be playing tricks but I remember a game at Easter Road, late 1960's we played them in a friendly and we had a good team at that time seem to remember them giving us a bit of a lesson and we had Peter Cormack going into goals as the goalie at the time had to go off. Think we got cuffed 1-4.
We may have played them at a later time but I dont remember.
-
21-08-2023 05:21 PM #1
Last time we played Villa at Easter Road
-
-
-
21-08-2023 05:30 PM #4This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
-
21-08-2023 06:14 PM #7This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-08-2023 06:28 PM #8This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show QuoteMature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.
-
-
21-08-2023 07:10 PM #10This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
21-08-2023 07:12 PM #12This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Was there as a young lad, with my Hibs and Liverpool supporting father who thought all his dreams had come true with Kenny in a Hibs kit.
-
21-08-2023 07:12 PM #13This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-08-2023 07:24 PM #14
I know it was a friendly but If TV coverage of the testimonial game was ever to appear.
The youngsters would get to see what one semi retired world class player can do to an opposition, it was astonishing.
Keithy boy couldn't believe his luck with the service, as others have said,Kenny from the centre circle dropping defence splitting passes on a sixpence.
-
21-08-2023 07:26 PM #15This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-08-2023 07:45 PM #16
my memory is very sketchy and i really can't remember if it was one of the first games my auld man took me to but for some reason i just remember a 1-4 against villa, but not the last one, it was before that, it certainly wasn't the Alan Sneddon one, hammered 4-1
stood just outside the coo shed with auld man and his mates :)
i think
-
21-08-2023 07:46 PM #17This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-08-2023 07:52 PM #18This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-08-2023 07:52 PM #19This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-08-2023 08:30 PM #20This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
1969-70 - Aston Villa.jpg
As mentioned we also played them in 1991-92 (Sneddon Testimonial) - won 4-2 and I have programmes for 2 other games:
1991-92 - Aston Villa.jpg
1989-90 - lost 1-0
1989-90 - Aston Villa.jpg
1949-50 - lost 5-2.
1949-50 - Aston Villa.jpg"The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.
-
21-08-2023 08:35 PM #21
-
21-08-2023 08:55 PM #22This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Hibs took to playing friendlies that early part of the season as our poor league performances 1968/9, left us in what was an unusual position, for then, with us not having qualified for Europe, we also played Gornick, who had the majestical Włodzimierz Lubański, just after they had just put Rangers out of the cup winners cup, with the Polish side winning both legs [3-1]. Willie Mac gave a debut to the player he brought from Stirling Albion with him and Shades made sure it was a debut to remember, by following through a tackle on a Polish player and clattering straight into Peter Cormack, who he then watched being carried of the pitch! [Gornick won 2-1]. No wonder Mr Cormack had departed the club before that season ended, the fear of playing in anymore friendlies for us!
-
21-08-2023 09:03 PM #23This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
21-08-2023 09:34 PM #24This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
i was far too busy Marvelling at the huge East Terracing and swinging on the crash barrier with my mate
-
22-08-2023 02:04 AM #25This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I saw ye , I was up a bit doing the exact same thing ,swinging on the crash barriers jeez that takes me back, all the barriers were painted red so the blood of all the kids who bumped their heid d running aboot didn't show, the place was enormous, if you stood at the very top you`d better have yer parka on it was awfi cauld, even in the summer, it would be a brave kid to go that far up wi shorts on freeze yer doodahs off ,
ah, the grey gravel, great view mind ..
I was at this game , seeing the floodlights on made it extra special, the buzz of the crowd the smell of Bovril , everyone thinking we were going to absolutely skoosh it ,
the anticipation, the roar when the Hi Hi`s came running out in the famous green and white , it was magical, it my very first night game, I`d be 9/10 the excitement the tension, up to high doh ,then ,then , , we got absolutely blitzed.��
I cant remember Cormack in goal , 1-4 sort of rings a bell, jeez the old grey matters just kicked in , another reason that I remember this game was because a girl in my class at school`s older brother was the Villa goalie, guy named Knowles , god knows where I pulled that from.
Who managed Hibs for that game ,jeez it was that long ago . ??Last edited by cad; 22-08-2023 at 02:14 AM.