Quote Originally Posted by WeAreHibs View Post
    Never seen them so subdued.

Were they there?

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Were they there?
    In much smaller numbers

Back in their usual place in the east. The difference is blatantly obvious now.

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post
    In much smaller numbers

OK, cheers

Unfortunately I was stuck with audio commentary only.

Quote Originally Posted by LewysGot2 View Post
    In much smaller numbers
    Everywhere was much smaller numbers!

Bit of a shame given the heroics of Thursday. On the other hand fewer to witness a poor game.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    They're mostly all youngsters so I'd imagine with all these 'bigger' games happening cash flow will hit them harder than some of us.

At least most of them went. A lot of the usual support didn't bother

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Back in their usual place in the east. The difference is blatantly obvious now.
    I don't think their levels of enthusiasm today were anything to do with where they were situated. They'd have been just as quiet anywhere in the ground.

First Team Breakthrough green.oracle's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    I don't think their levels of enthusiasm today were anything to do with where they were situated. They'd have been just as quiet anywhere in the ground.
    Correct Matty, I find it amazing how the majority in favour of moving them permanently behind the goals seem to think it becomes the yellow wall of Dortmund.
    The previous 2 european games proved it didn't.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green.oracle View Post
    Correct Matty, I find it amazing how the majority in favour of moving them permanently behind the goals seem to think it becomes the yellow wall of Dortmund.
    You don't think there was an improved atmosphere in those 2 games? Like really?

The reason that they were subdued today was probably more to do with loads of them feeling the after effects of 3 heavy days in Switzerland.

Well firstly their numbers were commensurate with the actual crowd size, only the presence of around 1500 Raith Rovers fans stopped it being under 7000. I agree with the other poster who pointed out that given their comparative age demographic the cost of so many games in a row not on season tickets has to be taking it's toll.

What I simply can't agree with is the suggestion that having them behind the goals for the European games didn't make a difference, it absolutely did, you must have been at different European games than the ones I was at, especially the Luzern one, where IMO having them behind the goals made the east more engaged because the whole stand could see and hear them.

As for the 'Yellow wall' comment, geeza break mate. Nobody is suggesting what we are going to end up with is the Anfield Kop or the aforementioned Yellow wall. The idea is a steady growth in numbers until you get around 13 to 16 hundred in the FF lower for most games and fill it for the bigger ones.
    For bloody years now Easter Road has been a stadium lacking in atmosphere even with crowds of 16,000 and more at league games, with the large gaps and lack of animation in the FF lower undoubtedly contributing to that. Yet the second a serious attempt is made to do something about it all some folk seem to want to do is pick fault with and deride something that is in its infancy. A mere two games into it FFS.

None of this is a defence of breaking seats, smoke bombs or any other unacceptable behaviour, either at Easter Road or any other stadium. As I said in another thread whoever is organising Block 7, or any other 'ultras' group, that want to make the FF lower what most of us would like to see it become needs to nip that pish in the bud PDQ or they will lose the support of many of us who are sympathetic to their cause. If that happens the FF lower singing section is not going to happen and they had better understand that before its too late.

But that being said ... IMO its far far too soon to negatively judge what the FF lower's potential might be, especially considering what in many folks opinion ( not yours obviously ) has been a pretty successful trial period.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Well firstly their numbers were commensurate with the actual crowd size, only the presence of around 1500 Raith Rovers fans stopped it being under 7000. I agree with the other poster who pointed out that given their comparative age demographic the cost of so many games in a row not on season tickets has to be taking it's toll.

What I simply can't agree with is the suggestion that having them behind the goals for the European games didn't make a difference, it absolutely did, you must have been at different European games than the ones I was at, especially the Luzern one, where IMO having them behind the goals made the east more engaged because the whole stand could see and hear them.

As for the 'Yellow wall' comment, geeza break mate. Nobody is suggesting what we are going to end up with is the Anfield Kop or the aforementioned Yellow wall. The idea is a steady growth in numbers until you get around 13 to 16 hundred in the FF lower for most games and fill it for the bigger ones.
    For bloody years now Easter Road has been a stadium lacking in atmosphere even with crowds of 16,000 and more at league games, with the large gaps and lack of animation in the FF lower undoubtedly contributing to that. Yet the second a serious attempt is made to do something about it all some folk seem to want to do is pick fault with and deride something that is in its infancy. A mere two games into it FFS.

None of this is a defence of breaking seats, smoke bombs or any other unacceptable behaviour, either at Easter Road or any other stadium. As I said in another thread whoever is organising Block 7, or any other 'ultras' group, that want to make the FF lower what most of us would like to see it become needs to nip that pish in the bud PDQ or they will lose the support of many of us who are sympathetic to their cause. If that happens the FF lower singing section is not going to happen and they had better understand that before its too late.

But that being said ... IMO its far far too soon to negatively judge what the FF lower's potential might be, especially considering what in many folks opinion ( not yours obviously ) has been a pretty successful trial period.

Hear Hear. I'm in favour of them having the area behind the goals. The kids all seem to love it and they can grow their own culture provided they don't go over the top. Mine are a wee bit too young atm to join them but they adore all the noise/displays etc.

Quote Originally Posted by Torto7 View Post
    Hear Hear. I'm in favour of them having the area behind the goals. The kids all seem to love it and they can grow their own culture provided they don't go over the top. Mine are a wee bit too young atm to join them but they adore all the noise/displays etc.
    Which is one of the things I've mentioned as being a benefit of this. Having this section behind the goals will not only enthuse the young kids who already go to Easter Road, IMO it will encourage kids who have yet to pick a team to pick Hibs if they see a colourful and noisy support either on the telly, or the first time a friend or relative takes them along to ER.

@hibs.net private member Brooster's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    You don't think there was an improved atmosphere in those 2 games? Like really?

The reason that they were subdued today was probably more to do with loads of them feeling the after effects of 3 heavy days in Switzerland.
    How many Block 7 do you think were in Switzerland?

How many actual members of Block 7 are there?

Maybe some more smoke bombs and flares would make it closer to the Yellow Wall. Oh wait folk would moan about that too.

Less a Block 7 thing, but I'm struggling to see how a headcount of the Hibs support reaches well over 6,000...

Block 7 had 6 guys in Switzerland and maybe 15 in Andorra. How many tickets will they miraculously get for Villa Park?

Quote Originally Posted by Brooster View Post
    Block 7 had 6 guys in Switzerland and maybe 15 in Andorra. How many tickets will they miraculously get for Villa Park?
    Strange so few how would you know who was and who wasn't

@hibs.net private member the_ginger_hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Strange so few how would you know who was and who wasn't
    They all wear B7/UH t-shirts, have UH tattoos & stand together.

How many Block 7 do you think were in Switzerland?
    Why does that matter. They are mainly teens so highly unlikely to afford to go. Made a huge difference at Luzern game and maybe just helped the team with that 2nd half performance.

The trial period was excellent, my point initially was that it didn’t matter yesterday where they were.

I do think also that we need to consider that they want to have that area behind the goals, so there’s an incentive for them to make that trial work. To that end, I fully expect we’d be having the same discussion about the trial being a success if they’d wanted the section they’re in now to work.

That is no sleight on Block 7, by the way. I’m all for what they do (the good bits, not so keen on them moving other fans out their seats etc).

I'll be surprised if we ever get to a point where we have a >2K section of fans bouncing up and down behind the goals for 90 mins at the prospect of playing Raith Rovers in a last 16 tie. Most just want to get behind the team and watch such a game in a decent atmosphere but cant really be arsed going overboard vs what we are watching.

Not a game to judge this on, after what has been a successful trial of them behind the goals.

Quote Originally Posted by DIXIHIBS View Post
    Why does that matter. They are mainly teens so highly unlikely to afford to go. Made a huge difference at Luzern game and maybe just helped the team with that 2nd half performance.
    My point is that they will get 100 tickets or so for Villa Park without having to go through the same channels as the rest of us.

If they were there in smaller numbers that is more than usually turn up for early round League Cup matches. I wasn't their yesterday due to work but that would have been a real test if they were asked to create an atmosphere in a lesser attended low profile game. Plenty Ultras in the Championship manage that in far smaller crowds week in week out

My point is that they will get 100 tickets or so for Villa Park without having to go through the same channels as the rest of us.
    Most of them will be season ticket holders and most of them will have each others references etc...

So surely it wouldn't be that big a surprise if they are there in bigger numbers?

Unless you're saying that they get preference before ordinary st holders?

Is that a fact. I presume some of them will be in teh membership scheme and will deserve their tickets as much as anyone in that scheme. They don't deserve a ticket next to each other any more than anyone else and they should be treated exactly the same as other supporters away from home

Is this a fact that they get a direct allocation from the club for away games or just the latest burgeoning .net myth that's in danger of becoming an accepted truth if enough folk repeat it?

@hibs.net private member Arch Stanton's Avatar
    especially the Luzern one, where IMO having them behind the goals made the east more engaged because the whole stand could see and hear them.
    I doubt the East could hear them - I certainly couldn't in the West. It seemed to me that the East came alive in response to the away support who were totally dominating the stadium.

Also, Block 7 don't do chants that anyone else joins in with which makes it a bit pointless in my view.