Page 17 of 26 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    Remember he scored a wonder goal beating half a dozen smelic players in from the left hand side doon the slope, think we ended up getting beat 3-5 in an amazing game, they had the European cup winning team I think.
    Big crowds and very open games although we played more in hope most of the time, but got some good results against them.
    I was near to 15 yrs old in the Dunbar End. 1966 and all that !
    McBride and Jinky took us to the cleaners.
    Over 40.000 at the Holy Ground that day.
    Celtic on the road to 2 European Cup finals and 9 in a row from that season.
    Dixie Deans would later take over from Joe McBride at Celtic,and would give us Hibees Hampden nightmares.
    At least it wasnt 6 that day. It was on others,against Stein's Celtic.

A couple of weeks before that was the 6-5 game against The Pars at East End Park.
    Again,i was behind the goal when Jim Scott's late winner slowly trundled into the net in the mud (iirc)

Older fans will recall that the Forth Road Bridge was only a couple of years old then and getting to Fife, Perth,Dundee, etc. by coach and car became all the more quicker.
    The long and only alternative was the Kincardine Bridge. (or the ferry!)

Match report on that Celtic game and other interesting stuff !!

Hibs scorers that day.
    Peter Cormack ,Allan McGraw and Joe Davis (The Penalty King,as he was known)

8 October Celtic H 3–5 Davis (pen.), Cormack, McGraw 43,526

https://www.thecelticwiki.com/1966-1...ue-division-1/

A couple of stunning photos showing the crowd on this link
    A packed Cave which would have witnessed some "nonsense" that day.
    No "brotherly love" in those days,either.
    Maybe Billy or someone can "open" it up showing them for a "name the player" challenge.

https://www.thecelticwiki.com/the-ph...on-1-pictures/
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 14-07-2023 at 09:19 AM.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by beensaidbefore View Post
    The original Rocky
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    What was the occasion?

Friendly at Leicester? Hairy trip.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post

👍

One for the auld yins

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    One for the auld yins

Before my time but Stanton, O'Rourke in there. High probability of Joe Davis John Fraser possibility of Allan McGraw and Peter Cormack or Peter Marinello

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Before my time but Stanton, O'Rourke in there. High probability of Joe Davis John Fraser possibility of Allan McGraw and Peter Cormack or Peter Marinello

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
    Stan Vincent

One for the auld yins

Jock Stein's time at Hibs i think. Just before he left for Celtic

Neil Martin Jim Leishman? Willie Wilson
    Jim Scott Willie Hamilton John Fraser John McNamee
    J.O'Rourke Jimmy Stevenson Stan Vincent and Pat Stanton

Line up ?
    Fraser Leishman
    Stanton McNamee Stevenson(J)
    Scott O'Rourke Vincent Hamilton Martin

4 of that forward line would solve the current number 9 debate

And the footballing genius that was the late great Willie Hamilton would lay many of them on.
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 15-07-2023 at 11:58 AM.

Well remembered Mick. Agree with all of your line up - but it was Tommy (Leishman).

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp View Post
    Well remembered Mick. Agree with all of your line up - but it was Tommy (Leishman).
    lol, of course it was "Big Tam"
    not The Pars Leishman

Hence i put the ?
    We also had 3 Stevensons at the club at that time .
    Yes i remember the fore names !

No ...Lewis wasn't one of them
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 15-07-2023 at 01:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mick O'Rourke View Post
    lol, of course it was "Big Tam"
    not The Pars Leishman

Hence i put the ?
    We also had 3 Stevensons at the club at that time .
    Yes i remember the fore names !
    No ...Lewis wasn't one of them
    Ha ha Yeah, Eric, Maurice and Jimmy.
    Was Jimmy Stevenson your cousin Mick?

Jock Stein's time at Hibs i think. Just before he left for Celtic

Neil Martin Jim Leishman? Willie Wilson
    Jim Scott Willie Hamilton John Fraser John McNamee
    J.O'Rourke Jimmy Stevenson Stan Vincent and Pat Stanton

Line up ?
    Fraser Leishman
    Stanton McNamee Stevenson(J)
    Scott O'Rourke Vincent Hamilton Martin

4 of that forward line would solve the current number 9 debate

And the footballing genius that was the late great Willie Hamilton would lay many of them on.
    Good team and good days for sure at Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Pat Mcginlay , Quite simply the best box to box player i have seen in my time following Hibs
    👍
    If only we could find another like him nowadays

When Jimmy O joined Hibs,it wisnae to great... Avoided relegation.
    But most of the sixties,we were not too bad.
    Under Stein,then Bob Shankly, we played some real good football and some memorable European nights.
    Napoli for one !..... or FIVE past Zoff!
    Oh... and 4 nil in front after 8 minutes played at Tynecastle v them was unbelievable .
    Fans were still coming through the turnstiles .........Then many went right back oot !!
    They couldnt even drown there sorrows, cos pubs were shut mid afternoon back then !!
    2.30 till 5.00pm

Ha ha Yeah, Eric, Maurice and Jimmy.
    Was Jimmy Stevenson your cousin Mick?
    No
    But the two Jimmys were good pals,being roughly the same age... Mid teens.
    Gerry Baker and Eric Stevenson would have been two they looked up to. Football and fashion wise ,not socialising !!

Jimmy once told me that Tommy Preston was his mentor .I asked what that meant.
    He said "I clean his boots" !!

Nice one Mick. Tommy was a good looking dude. He was a part-time male model. I still remember the cries from the terracing when he was having a bad game ...
    "Away back tae C&A's windae."

Quote Originally Posted by bod View Post
    👍
    If only we could find another like him nowadays
    He really was a brilliant player for Hibs , IMO underrated by many

Nice one Mick. Tommy was a good looking dude. He was a part-time male model. I still remember the cries from the terracing when he was having a bad game ...
    "Away back tae C&A's windae."
    I shared a pint or 3 any time i bumped into Tommy over the years.
    Last i saw him is when he stayed at the Annfield in Newhaven .
    I was in the Annfield after a funeral.
    Lovely man . Loved the Hibernian.
    Great company he was ,putting up wae me efter a few !!
    Other guys who would have kept the youngsters right in early 60s would be the likes of John Grant,Joe McLelland and the underrated and true Hibs man .John Fraser.

https://fb.watch/lOHTOww8rq/
    An interview with Neil Martin, sure he had almost a goal per game ratio for us. Had many an interesting conversation with him as a neighbour.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post

Was at that one

I shared a pint or 3 any time i bumped into Tommy over the years.
    Last i saw him is when he stayed at the Annfield in Newhaven .
    I was in the Annfield after a funeral.
    Lovely man . Loved the Hibernian.
    Great company he was ,putting up wae me efter a few !!
    Other guys who would have kept the youngsters right in early 60s would be the likes of John Grant,Joe McLelland and the underrated and true Hibs man .John Fraser.
    John Fraser was a couch/trainer when I was there a great human being until wee Bertie and totally treated him crap in my opinion just wanted him gone

This is a great thread,Billy.
    Particularly when you put up "auld Hibs stuff"
    Jogs the memory of us veterans of the old terracings ,and stories get swapped here.
    Things come back that seemed long forgotten.
    Like the trams !
    Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 15-07-2023 at 09:29 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    John Fraser was a couch/trainer when I was there a great human being until wee Bertie and totally treated him crap in my opinion just wanted him gone
    Hibernian stalwarts don't come any bigger, or better, than John Fraser. A great player, captain and coach during his time at Easter Road, and a thoroughly nice guy to talk to.
    John was the first Hibs captain I ever saw lift a trophy (the Summer Cup at Pittodrie in '64). Could have done with a few more like him over the years.

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post

Benji

Benji
    Cup winning legend

A fine example of a player who struggled to be a starter but won everyone over starting with his goal against Hearts insisting on celebrating at their end

Cup winning legend

A fine example of a player who struggled to be a starter but won everyone over starting with his goal against Hearts insisting on celebrating at their end

I don't think we ever lost a game he scored in , Unlucky not to get a hattrick in the League cup final

He was unplayable in that final.

What a game that was

Every season of the year in 90 minutes

Don’t forget Steven Fletcher wand of a left peg

Got to admit never saw that coming against a decent Killie side

The ups and downs of being a Hibs supporter