I was near to 15 yrs old in the Dunbar End. 1966 and all that !This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
McBride and Jinky took us to the cleaners.
Over 40.000 at the Holy Ground that day.
Celtic on the road to 2 European Cup finals and 9 in a row from that season.
Dixie Deans would later take over from Joe McBride at Celtic,and would give us Hibees Hampden nightmares.
At least it wasnt 6 that day. It was on others,against Stein's Celtic.
A couple of weeks before that was the 6-5 game against The Pars at East End Park.
Again,i was behind the goal when Jim Scott's late winner slowly trundled into the net in the mud (iirc)
Older fans will recall that the Forth Road Bridge was only a couple of years old then and getting to Fife, Perth,Dundee, etc. by coach and car became all the more quicker.
The long and only alternative was the Kincardine Bridge. (or the ferry!)
Match report on that Celtic game and other interesting stuff !!
Hibs scorers that day.
Peter Cormack ,Allan McGraw and Joe Davis (The Penalty King,as he was known)
8 October Celtic H 3–5 Davis (pen.), Cormack, McGraw 43,526
https://www.thecelticwiki.com/1966-1...ue-division-1/
A couple of stunning photos showing the crowd on this link
A packed Cave which would have witnessed some "nonsense" that day.
No "brotherly love" in those days,either.
Maybe Billy or someone can "open" it up showing them for a "name the player" challenge.
https://www.thecelticwiki.com/the-ph...on-1-pictures/
Thread: Name the Hibs players
-
14-07-2023 08:30 AM #481
Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 14-07-2023 at 09:19 AM.
-
14-07-2023 08:36 AM #482This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller
-
14-07-2023 08:37 AM #483This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
-
-
-
15-07-2023 10:48 AM #486This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
-
15-07-2023 11:15 AM #487
-
15-07-2023 11:41 AM #488This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Neil Martin Jim Leishman? Willie Wilson
Jim Scott Willie Hamilton John Fraser John McNamee
J.O'Rourke Jimmy Stevenson Stan Vincent and Pat Stanton
Line up ?
Fraser Leishman
Stanton McNamee Stevenson(J)
Scott O'Rourke Vincent Hamilton Martin
4 of that forward line would solve the current number 9 debate
And the footballing genius that was the late great Willie Hamilton would lay many of them on.Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 15-07-2023 at 11:58 AM.
-
15-07-2023 12:27 PM #489
Well remembered Mick. Agree with all of your line up - but it was Tommy (Leishman).
-
15-07-2023 01:10 PM #490This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
not The Pars Leishman
Hence i put the ?
We also had 3 Stevensons at the club at that time .
Yes i remember the fore names !
No ...Lewis wasn't one of themLast edited by Mick O'Rourke; 15-07-2023 at 01:14 PM.
-
15-07-2023 02:09 PM #491
Was Jimmy Stevenson your cousin Mick?
-
15-07-2023 02:50 PM #492This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-07-2023 03:13 PM #493This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
If only we could find another like him nowadays
-
15-07-2023 03:16 PM #494This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
But most of the sixties,we were not too bad.
Under Stein,then Bob Shankly, we played some real good football and some memorable European nights.
Napoli for one !..... or FIVE past Zoff!
Oh... and 4 nil in front after 8 minutes played at Tynecastle v them was unbelievable .
Fans were still coming through the turnstiles .........Then many went right back oot !!
They couldnt even drown there sorrows, cos pubs were shut mid afternoon back then !!
2.30 till 5.00pm
-
15-07-2023 03:21 PM #495This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
But the two Jimmys were good pals,being roughly the same age... Mid teens.
Gerry Baker and Eric Stevenson would have been two they looked up to. Football and fashion wise ,not socialising !!
Jimmy once told me that Tommy Preston was his mentor .I asked what that meant.
He said "I clean his boots" !!
-
15-07-2023 06:48 PM #496
Nice one Mick. Tommy was a good looking dude. He was a part-time male model. I still remember the cries from the terracing when he was having a bad game ...
"Away back tae C&A's windae."
-
15-07-2023 07:10 PM #497This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
15-07-2023 07:42 PM #498This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last i saw him is when he stayed at the Annfield in Newhaven .
I was in the Annfield after a funeral.
Lovely man . Loved the Hibernian.
Great company he was ,putting up wae me efter a few !!
Other guys who would have kept the youngsters right in early 60s would be the likes of John Grant,Joe McLelland and the underrated and true Hibs man .John Fraser.
-
15-07-2023 07:44 PM #499This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
An interview with Neil Martin, sure he had almost a goal per game ratio for us. Had many an interesting conversation with him as a neighbour.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
-
15-07-2023 07:45 PM #500
-
15-07-2023 07:58 PM #501
-
15-07-2023 09:25 PM #502
This is a great thread,Billy.
Particularly when you put up "auld Hibs stuff"
Jogs the memory of us veterans of the old terracings ,and stories get swapped here.
Things come back that seemed long forgotten.
Like the trams !Last edited by Mick O'Rourke; 15-07-2023 at 09:29 PM.
-
15-07-2023 10:30 PM #503
John was the first Hibs captain I ever saw lift a trophy (the Summer Cup at Pittodrie in '64). Could have done with a few more like him over the years.
-
-
-
16-07-2023 06:49 AM #506This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-07-2023 07:03 AM #507This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
A fine example of a player who struggled to be a starter but won everyone over starting with his goal against Hearts insisting on celebrating at their end
-
16-07-2023 07:11 AM #508This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
I don't think we ever lost a game he scored in , Unlucky not to get a hattrick in the League cup final
-
16-07-2023 07:16 AM #509This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
16-07-2023 07:24 AM #510
What a game that was
Every season of the year in 90 minutes
Don’t forget Steven Fletcher wand of a left peg
Got to admit never saw that coming against a decent Killie side
The ups and downs of being a Hibs supporter