Page 27 of 42 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast
    Of course they've also muddied the waters re offside with the daft ruling that if a defender touches the ball when not sure if a player is offside it plays him onside. The defender is supposed to let the ball past him and trust he's got it right.

Quote Originally Posted by hibeejeebies View Post
    Why is a toe poke considered an inferior action? Genuine question 🤷🏻
    Messi or Ronaldo does it and it’s genius, a player in Scotland does it and it’s a different story.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Motherwell, jeez they’re really in the ****.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Motherwell, jeez they’re really in the ****.
    Wouldn't mind seeing them relegated , Or Killie again , Don't think Motherwell have been down in my lifetime ! Punching for years

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Wouldn't mind seeing them relegated , Or Killie again , Don't think Motherwell have been down in my lifetime ! Punching for years
    Couldn’t give a **** about Killie, don’t mind Motherwell as a club though.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Other than the OF, Hearts and Aberdeen there are no teams in the league that I want to go down. It's a shame I'll be disappointed!

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Last time they were in the 2nd tier was 1985-86. About time they had a wee adventure

Any team with a plastic pitch can **** off down to the championship as far as I'm concerned.

I've not read comments yesterday on this thread and am just watching Sportscene now, so sure this has been said but if so it deserves to be said many times - Livi v Killie????? Amateur hour. BBC just dialing in their Scottish fitba coverage.

And who is McGaedie?
    Last edited by Glory Lurker; 05-02-2023 at 08:46 PM.

Like the boy who did the comms for the Livi game though.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Any team with a plastic pitch can **** off down to the championship as far as I'm concerned.
    Absolutely. Diddy club stuff.

Should be a requirement of a professional club.

Sir Alex Ferguson

A professional club should be able to play on a plastic pitch, instead of using it as an excuse for a piss poor performance.

‘Great to see Lewis beat Pat Stanton’s record’

Neil McCann

It was Arthur Duncan’s record of most League appearances for the club

They are not really interested in Hibs are they?

No due diligence or even a wee bit research

No respect

I suppose he did beat Pat Stanton as well ��
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 05-02-2023 at 10:16 PM.

@hibs.net private member Ryan91's Avatar

If Killie go down this season, then the rest of the clubs have to take the chance to implement a ban on plastic pitches in the Top Flight, the pitches at Rugby Park and Almondvale are not conducive to good-looking football

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    ‘Great to see Lewis beat Pat Stanton’s record’

Neil McCann

It was Arthur Duncan’s record of most League appearances for the club

They are not really interested in Hibs are they?

No due diligence or even a wee bit research

No respect

I suppose he did beat Pat Stanton as well ��
    Aye. Another shocker in one show.

And Michael Stewart yesterday. 'Hearts have been in the last three SC finals but did not win it.' He must have known that St J and Hibs contested the final in that time frame and StJ won it.
    Maybe is's a wind-up with a deliberate mistake and I've fallen for it.

I was thinking the same the other day - Motherwell's record of Premier League survival has been impressive over my years on this Earth too. I started watching football in the late 70s and in all that time I'm pretty sure Motherwell have been the only team to have remained in the top flight outwith Aberdeen and Celtic - quite an achievement then! They have probably been in Europe almost as often as us over that time FFS - despite being a smaller club. I'm sure that period has included at least one bankrupcy event though - and if I'm not mistaken they were saved by reconstruction once(?). So Yes - a genuine bunch of flukey *******s and woud be greatly amused to see them go down

First Team Breakthrough Broxburn Greens's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan91 View Post
    If Killie go down this season, then the rest of the clubs have to take the chance to implement a ban on plastic pitches in the Top Flight, the pitches at Rugby Park and Almondvale are not conducive to good-looking football
    Don’t think it’s as easy as that now since the creation of the SPFL which merged the SPL & SFL so I’m pretty sure the lower leagues get a vote on it as well.

I’m also sure that it was tried before but the Owner of Hamilton managed to “bully” some of the smaller clubs into supporting plastic pitches.

That’s a pretty vague recollection mind so could be wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by HarpOnHibee View Post
    A professional club should be able to play on a plastic pitch, instead of using it as an excuse for a piss poor performance.
    Disagree entirely. Plastic pitches change games, bounce off the ball and are a bigger injury risk for players.

Teams with plastic pitches can learn their pitch and train on it regularly to give them an unfair advantage.

And they’re terrible for the environment.

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    While you can say people may use the plastic pitch as an excuse for a poor performance, it has to be acknowledged that there are rarely any good games of football on one. Certainly on the any of the ones we’ve had in Scotland at least.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    While you can say people may use the plastic pitch as an excuse for a poor performance, it has to be acknowledged that there are rarely any good games of football on one. Certainly on the any of the ones we’ve had in Scotland at least.
    Best game I've seen all season was Edinburgh vs Alloa 4-3!

It had everything.

Disagree entirely. Plastic pitches change games, bounce off the ball and are a bigger injury risk for players.

Teams with plastic pitches can learn their pitch and train on it regularly to give them an unfair advantage.

But if a team is training on a plastic pitch regularly, would that not then disadvantage them on a non-plastic pitch when playing away from home? Also, what is to prevent other clubs from adopting some plastic pitch training into their program?

I'm personally not a fan of plastic pitches either. But a professional club should be able to deal with them when necessary in my opinion. We may not like the rules that allow these pitches, but they are the rules.

Quote Originally Posted by Glory Lurker View Post
    I've not read comments yesterday on this thread and am just watching Sportscene now, so sure this has been said but if so it deserves to be said many times - Livi v Killie????? Amateur hour. BBC just dialing in their Scottish fitba coverage.

And who is McGaedie?
    I've also heard John Collins pronouncing McGeady that way. But as he still thinks we have a "Nesbit" in our team I wouldn't trust his insider knowledge.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Arth@talk View Post
    And Michael Stewart yesterday. 'Hearts have been in the last three SC finals but did not win it.' He must have known that St J and Hibs contested the final in that time frame and StJ won it.

He also hertz need a couple of midfielders . Obviously 12 ain't enough

I agree that they should be dumped but there have been several investigations into the risk factor and they found no cause for concern on that front.

Quote Originally Posted by Arth@talk View Post

Sorry. Went over this again on iplayer. He was accurate after all -
    To be fair to him, he presented favourable stats about Hibs and recent LC and SC semi and finals on last year's programme (unlike one of his co-pundits who got it all wrong).
    'Hearts have been in 3 of the last 4 SC finals' is what he said on Sunday night's show.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    I know this isn’t a Sportscene production but it’s BBC Jambo fawning over Doctor Budge again.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64554917

Do you know she spent £2.5 million of her own money buy HoMFC out of administration and then signed her shares over to Foundation of Hearts ?

No mention that FoH repaid the £2.5 million plus 6% or something interest on top.

The Budge love in continues , never mind the new stand shambles, relegation, suing the Scottish League etc.

But if a team is training on a plastic pitch regularly, would that not then disadvantage them on a non-plastic pitch when playing away from home? Also, what is to prevent other clubs from adopting some plastic pitch training into their program?

I'm personally not a fan of plastic pitches either. But a professional club should be able to deal with them when necessary in my opinion. We may not like the rules that allow these pitches, but they are the rules.
    Not really because they can play on grass and on astro, but the astro they play on is their own and its not very often they come across another astro pitch they're not used to. For example, Livingston play Kilmarnock 4 times, twice on their own and twice on Kilmarnocks. 2 games on a pitch they aren't "used" to. We play both teams 8 times, 4 times on pitches we aren't "used" to. So 4 games a season we have to play at a disadvantage, whereas Livi and Kilmarnock play ALL their home games on pitches they are "used" to, that other teams are not.

I think with grass there are fewer variables and there's less opportunities for home clubs to "learn" their pitch because they can't train on as it will wear it down quicker. Most pitches will be worn in the winter and in far better nick at the start and towards the end of the season and that's a pattern that repeats across top flight stadiums. Top flight is relevant because generally the stadiums are a lot bigger and the pitches get less light.

Sir Alex Ferguson

Sportsound before the kick off. Do you see any shock results today? Pundits -No I don’t think so.

Quote Originally Posted by Brunswickbill View Post
    Sportsound before the kick off. Do you see any shock results today? Pundits -No I don’t think so.
    You could replace them all with sacks of spuds with faces drawn on them and would get better insight a d analysis!

It's a race to the bottom as to who looks and sounds the most glaikit and inbred of the bunch