Page 86 of 387 FirstFirst ... 3676848586878896136186 ... LastLast
Results 2,551 to 2,580 of 11598
    Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    Former Ferguson boss Jim McColl has claimed.

The government said Mr McColl's proposal breached EU state aid rules.

Ends.
    According to the article McColl has presented legal advice that the proposal did not breach such rules.

I very much doubt this saga is anywhere near at an 'end'.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    According to the article McColl has presented legal advice that the proposal did not breach such rules.

Aye. Very much he said she said. If that floats your boat. 🚤

You very much hope, I'm sure you mean.

https://twitter.com/AuditorGenScot/s...HmcNARtPQ&s=19

It will be interesting to see the results of this. I suspect moving the date for the sake of being different to the rest of the UK will play a significant part.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by James310 View Post
    https://twitter.com/AuditorGenScot/s...HmcNARtPQ&s=19

It will be interesting to see the results of this. I suspect moving the date for the sake of being different to the rest of the UK will play a significant part.
    In September 2018 we published Plans for Scotland's Census 2021. Since we published the document, the census was moved to 2022 due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic

https://www.scotlandscensus.gov.uk/about/2022-census/background/#:~:text=In%20September%202018%20we%20published,of %20the%20COVID%2D19%20pandemic.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    In September 2018 we published Plans for Scotland's Census 2021. Since we published the document, the census was moved to 2022 due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic

https://www.scotlandscensus.gov.uk/about/2022-census/background/#:~:text=In%20September%202018%20we%20published,of %20the%20COVID%2D19%20pandemic.
    Yet England, Wales and NI ran the Census in 2021 when the impact of Covid was much more impactful and they had higher response rates.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar

https://www.scotlandscensus.gov.uk/a...D19%20pandemic.
    Also in England, I’m pretty sure I read somewhere that although they had higher returns they are also having problems due to its inaccuracy now. They did it at a time when lots of people were not where they normally are due to the lockdowns and this may cause them problems with service delivery in future. Probably lessons for both sides here.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Yet England, Wales and NI ran the Census in 2021 when the impact of Covid was much more impactful and they had higher response rates.
    I'm just reporting the fact that the census was moved due to the pandemic not so that Scotland could be different.

Yep, I posted the truth, get over it.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

I'm just reporting the fact that the census was moved due to the pandemic not so that Scotland could be different.

Yep, I posted the truth, get over it.
    Calm down! No need to get so upset.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-63780998

Deaths in Scottish prisons at record high.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-63780998

Deaths in Scottish prisons at record high.
    I’m happy to admit that this is a failure of the SG. Our prisons are far too over crowded with people who don’t have to be there. And I’m sure Scotland has a higher prison population than the rest of the UK. There is very little rehab work done in prisons.
    We need to be making far more use of home detention. It’s a lot cheaper and the money saved can be put into education programs to help offenders rejoin society.
    Scotland has done well in getting our crime figures miles lower than the rUK but we need to stop using prison for all but the most serious crimes.
    I’m not even sure if this is a deliberate policy choice of the SG or just something that has evolved over the years in the Scottish justice system.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    I’m happy to admit that this is a failure of the SG. Our prisons are far too over crowded with people who don’t have to be there. And I’m sure Scotland has a higher prison population than the rest of the UK. There is very little rehab work done in prisons.
    We need to be making far more use of home detention. It’s a lot cheaper and the money saved can be put into education programs to help offenders rejoin society.
    Scotland has done well in getting our crime figures miles lower than the rUK but we need to stop using prison for all but the most serious crimes.
    I’m not even sure if this is a deliberate policy choice of the SG or just something that has evolved over the years in the Scottish justice system.

The Scottish Parliament legislated in 2010 (IIRC) for a presumption against short custodial sentences - basically if it was going to be prison for less than three months then courts should use another form of disposal. The three months became 12 months a year or two before lockdown. On the whole it attracts ceoss-party support, as far as I know, though the SNP were in overall power and they should be acknowledged for that.

There are pros and cons (I side with the pros generally). There is evidence that supports the argument that those who serve short (12 months or less) sentences in custody are more likely to reoffend than those who are given community payback orders (a range of non-custodial options such as unpaid work, supervision, treatment for substance misuse etc).

There is also an inherent instability for people caught in a loop of offend/custody/liberation/offend that traps people and impacts massively on them, people around them and people they come into contact with.

One of the downsides is that the legislation is for a presumption, so the sheriff has the final say, which can make it inconsistent in its application. Probably the biggest issue is the amount of additional and under-resourced work it creates for local authorities. Their criminal justice social workers routinely prepared reports to court to inform the sentencing process but were not adequately resourced for a big increase in community payback orders, each one requiring an allocated social worker to supervise. Releasing prisoners with no supports or structures simply drives up reoffending.

There are also big, big issues for prisoners with longer sentences. The Prison Service has eye-wateringly bad sickness rates, which means any work to gear people up for post-release gets sacrificed to free up officers to do core tasks. Prisoners also then have less time for recreation, which takes a huge toll on their wellbeing and ability to cope.

I get that most people think prison should be about punishment and protecting the public, with maybe a small element of progression or rehabilitation. Tackling reoffending means making and taking unpopular decisions though. And tackling prison deaths means dropping all the Daily Mail pish about cushy lives inside.

In the past I've had the opportunity to spend some time in different parts of the prison system (on a professional basis). At its worst, which it ofen is, it's not about punishment and protection - it's far, far worse. It feels like the banal, steady and remorseless erosion of people's souls.

I'm all too aware that people do bad things and therefore serious things must happen to them, but the current set-up doesn't do that and it will mean continuing high rates of prison deaths.
    Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 30-11-2022 at 08:26 AM.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    I thought you unionists frowned upon comparing ourselves to other parts of the UK.

Calm down! No need to get so upset.
    He basically make you look a little foolish so you've spat the dummy with that response.

This thread never changes 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    The Scottish Parliament legislated in 2000 (IIRC) for a presumption against short custodial sentences - basically if it was going to be prison for less than three months then courts should use another form of disposal. The three months became 12 months a year or two before lockdown. On the whole it attracts ceoss-party support, as far as I know, though the SNP were in overall power and they should be acknowledged for that.

There are pros and cons (I side with the pros generally). There is evidence that supports the argument that those who serve short (12 months or less) sentences in custody are more likely to reoffend than those who are given community payback orders (a range of non-custodial options such as unpaid work, supervision, treatment for substance misuse etc).

There is also an inherent instability for people caught in a loop of offend/custody/liberation/offend that traps people and impacts massively on them, people around them and people they come into contact with.

One of the downsides is that the legislation is for a presumption, so the sheriff has the final say, which can make it inconsistent in its application. Probably the biggest issue is the amount of additional and under-resourced work it creates for local authorities. Their criminal justice social workers routinely prepared reports to court to inform the sentencing process but were not adequately resourced for a big increase in community payback orders, each one requiring an allocated social worker to supervise. Releasing prisoners with no supports or structures simply drives up reoffending.

There are also big, big issues for prisoners with longer sentences. The Prison Service has eye-wateringly bad sickness rates, which means any work to gear people up for post-release gets sacrificed to free up officers to do core tasks. Prisoners also then have less time for recreation, which takes a huge toll on their wellbeing and ability to cope.

I get that most people think prison should be about punishment and protecting the public, with maybe a small element of progression or rehabilitation. Tackling reoffending means making and taking unpopular decisions though. And tackling prison deaths means dropping all the Daily Mail pish about cushy lives inside.

In the past I've had the opportunity to spend some time in different parts of the prison system (on a professional basis). At its worst, which it ofen is, it's not about punishment and protection - it's far, far worse. It feels like the banal, steady and remorseless erosion of people's souls.

I'm all too aware that people do bad things and therefore serious things must happen to them, but the current set-up doesn't do that and it will mean continuing high rates of prison deaths.
    Pretty much agree with all that. I don’t see that prison should be about punishment beyond denial of liberty. That can be done outside the prison setting for most. And when prison is needed, it needs to be more than just locking people up in small rooms 23 hours a day.

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar

The reason while Scotland’s crime figures are lower than the rest of the UK is not the tackling of crime but the manner in which crime is recorded. The Criminal Justice System in the UK including Scotland is an absolutely shambles, the cuts to budgets, introduction of PCSO’s , poor vetting, dropping of standards in education to join, appearance and spending too much time dealing with mental health issues and facebook crimes 🙄 . How often do you see officers patrolling on foot and how many people know their local Neighbourhood Officer.

The courts and punishments are pathetic when people regularly get custodial sentences for petty theft where crimes of violence seem to avoid this.

Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    The reason while Scotland’s crime figures are lower than the rest of the UK is not the tackling of crime but the manner in which crime is recorded. The Criminal Justice System in the UK including Scotland is an absolutely shambles, the cuts to budgets, introduction of PCSO’s , poor vetting, dropping of standards in education to join, appearance and spending too much time dealing with mental health issues and facebook crimes . How often do you see officers patrolling on foot and how many people know their local Neighbourhood Officer.

The courts and punishments are pathetic when people regularly get custodial sentences for petty theft where crimes of violence seem to avoid this.
    What’s the difference in the manner that crimes are recorded?

The Scottish system removed many offences that were previously recordable offences. Not wrong in my opinion as I also considered them civil offences but still considered crimes with RUK recording.

Auditor general puts the boot into Scottish government accounts:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-63831950

Puts the boot in or offers mild pointers for the future?

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Puts the boot in or offers mild pointers for the future?

I too was interested in the "puts the boot in" take on that piece. It's an auditor's job to point out weaknesses surely. Has anyone ever undergone an audit where the auditor has turned round and gone, "aye, everything's grand, carry on" - maybe I'm just crap at my job?

Obvuiously there are things that could be done better here, but it's not exactly a huge takedown as far as I can see...

Impressively relentless

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Impressively relentless
    Medals don't get handed out for any old thing.

Quote Originally Posted by McSwanky View Post
    I too was interested in the "puts the boot in" take on that piece. It's an auditor's job to point out weaknesses surely. Has anyone ever undergone an audit where the auditor has turned round and gone, "aye, everything's grand, carry on" - maybe I'm just crap at my job?

Obvuiously there are things that could be done better here, but it's not exactly a huge takedown as far as I can see...
    I'd say it was more the knife of the skilled surgeon....... with a couple of wee twists.

(that's the "I" that was probably the world's worst auditor )

This popped up on Facebook….I will wait for screams off do you search the internet for sexual abusers that are SNP https://www.glasgowlive.co.uk/news/g...5tQVADg-GbeTR0

You posted that same story when it first came to light.

Nope I posted about the Edinburgh SNP councillor …who was a sex pest

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    It’s crass to use a story like that for petty points scoring. The story has nothing to do with politics.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    It’s crass to use a story like that for petty points scoring. The story has nothing to do with politics.
    I agree. We get the same in the Tories thread too.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Impressively relentless

Obsession