Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
    @hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Moretti zero is really quite nice. It’s good to have viable options rather than the days of Becks blue being about the only option particularly as it wasn’t ever great.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Moretti zero is really quite nice. It’s good to have viable options rather than the days of Becks blue being about the only option particularly as it wasn’t ever great.
    Beck's Blue was definitely one of the poorest early efforts in the 'moderation' category. I remember Hibs being in a cup semi at Hampden around the time one of my kids was due to be born so I was off the drink in case I needed to drive back home. While the rest of our group were knocking back the pre-match pints I was having a Becks Blue with each round. Gave up after a couple.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    I remember Kaliber being the only alcohol free beer available locally

When I go out for a session I tend to drink quickly and just don't stop till the night ends or I feel like I'm getting too drunk. I might switch to a non alcoholic pint every few rounds rather than skipping the round. Feels as if I'm still drinking but don't get any more drunk

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I remember Kaliber being the only alcohol free beer available locally
    That was the first one I remember, truly awful stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    That was the first one I remember, truly awful stuff.
    Yeah it was chronic stuff 🤮

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I’d never been into the alcohol free beers (I’d assumed they were all pish) but had a couple after a game of golf a few years ago and was surprised how good they were.

That’s the ideal scenario for them, really - got the car but really feel like you want a beer.

I don’t have it often but will happily do so from time to time.

When the hangovers bite that bit harder as you get older they make more sense too.
    they aren't something i'll ever be able to get my head around. there are plenty of drinks that already don't contain alcohol without buying a drink pretending to be alcohol. i'd wager they aren't cheap either.

snake oil salesmen have a new product it seems.

Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    they aren't something i'll ever be able to get my head around. there are plenty of drinks that already don't contain alcohol without buying a drink pretending to be alcohol. i'd wager they aren't cheap either.

Some people like the taste of lager ipa gin whatever, but don't want to drink for whatever reason. They are becoming a big market and wouldn't be if people didn't like the taste. On the flight I mentioned drink was included, I could have chosen others but liked the Heineken 0% when I tried it.

The NHS will be thankful for the more and more people choosing not to drink

They're not pretending to be alcohol. That's the point. A beer doesn't need to have alcohol in it to be a beer.

The low or no alcohol beers and gins etc on the market these days are brewed and crafted with the intention of providing punters with a quality beverage. I'm not so sold on the spirits but many of the beers are good. Certainly not snake oil.

Bbc foods Best non alcohol beers 2022

https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/review/b...alcoholic-beer

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Bbc foods Best non alcohol beers 2022

https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/review/b...alcoholic-beer
    First time I've seen the Guinness Zero. I'd quite like to give that a go.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    First time I've seen the Guinness Zero. I'd quite like to give that a go.
    I got some for one of our friends who is a Guiness drinker. He said it was fine and quite enjoyed it.

It's really not that difficult. Some people like the taste of lager so they like to drink it but don't always want it to be alcoholic

Does anywhere in Edinburgh do a decent alcohol free on tap?

Vaguely remember this thread so looked. After 2 weeks of battering it far too hard on holiday I'm going to try and have a decent spell on the wagon and hopefully smash the gym until my body is one again. Hopefully a few months. How's the non alch beers looking in the years since this thread. Might try some at the weekend

I find some of the lagers/pilsners much alike taste wise, I was impressed with 00 Guinness though.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I find some of the lagers/pilsners much alike taste wise, I was impressed with 00 Guinness though.
    Guinness 0 is good. The only non alcoholic beer I've tried that I really like; it almost tastes like the real thing and it has the right texture and body to it which is the biggest issue I have with most non alcoholic lagers.

I'm still largely in the 'would rather just have a coke' camp but now and then I'd take a Guinness 0.

Guinness 0% is excellent as is William Bros Joker IPA and Augusta’s Lager. As is Brewdog Wingman I PA

Brew Dog Wingman session IPA, Punk IPA and Hazy Jane are also favourites of mine.

Estrella Dam, San Miguel and Peroni all decent too.

All about what you like tbh but anything by Days in my opinion anyway tastes terrible.

Good luck btw and I hope you find something you like.

Good luck to you on getting off the drink.

Amazing cheers I'll defo try the Guinness as I've seen it on draft a few places and I've realised my plan will overlap hibs in the Qualifiers but then again last time I was off it most bars had a decent selection of NA. Will try a few of the above also and report back, thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Tambo View Post
    Good luck to you on getting off the drink.
    Cheers. Was on a huge family holiday with dozens and it was full on but post it i feel pretty ashamed at how much of the bairns time was around drink and how little I spent with my wee one. Got me thinking to Sundays when I can't be bothered doing much else but watching a film with her, because I've been out the Saturday. They are only wee once and I guess no one has ever said i really wish I drank more last weekend, but the will say i wish I done more.

See how it goes

First Team Breakthrough Hibspur's Avatar
    Look out for Lucky Saint. They do a lager (blue can) and an IPA (orange can). The lager also comes in bottles. Not sure if they've rolled it out on draught yet. Probably the first no/low alcohol beer I've found that is a genuine pleasure to drink and you don't feel you're compromising. They only brew low alcohol beers, so I think they have an advantage over the big brewers who are trying to replicate their core brands in non-alcoholic form.

Of the big brands I'd say Guinness 0.0 is very good. Heineken 0.0 is also okay.