Page 59 of 739 FirstFirst ... 949575859606169109159559 ... LastLast
Results 1,741 to 1,770 of 22155
    Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    Quality and experience throughout the spine of the team, with Mulgrew, Levitt and Fletcher, alongside younger players with good SPFL experience like Middleton and McGrath. And of course a very good manager.
    100% agree with this. Levitt is very tidy on the ball. Good control, looks up and trying to get Dundee Utd going forward. Reminds me of McGeouch when he was at Hibs.

United have gone for players proven this level. Whereas, well we haven't. We have had a punt on several players who have only had a handful of first team game.

Time will tell who has got it right.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Ross has got Utd looking a decent team on this early showing.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    When Youan bangs in 2 in the first half on Sunday can we stop fawning over Fletcher who we “should have signed”? He doesn’t fit our style of play and that’s presumably why LJ didn’t identify him.

We already have Doidge for when we’re struggling late in games.

Ultimately time will tell as Hibees1973 says.

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    They strike you as a club who know what they're doing right now.

It seems simple and rarely is, but they just seem to be making decent decisions and seeing them through.
    Absolutely mate .

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    Will he get them to third, like he did with us?

Don't see it

@hibs.net private member Unseen work's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    No surprise really, he’s a good manager and showed that with us.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post

Don't see it
    With the second coming of Messi and Ronaldinho in midfield feeding the SPFLs answer to Zlatan I can’t see them finishing lower than 3rd…

Give a good manager decent backing and it usually gets decent results.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post
    100% agree with this. Levitt is very tidy on the ball. Good control, looks up and trying to get Dundee Utd going forward. Reminds me of McGeouch when he was at Hibs.

United have gone for players proven this level. Whereas, well we haven't. We have had a punt on several players who have only had a handful of first team game.

We'll see by the end of the season, hopefully our plan works out better than I think it will.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibees1973 View Post

When United signed Levitt last season he had barely played any football. Certainly nowhere near proven at any senior level of the game.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    McFadden is an absolute slaver ......

Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    When United signed Levitt last season he had barely played any football. Certainly nowhere near proven at any senior level of the game.
    He is proven now though....

By next weekend Utd will be out of Europe and four or five points behind us in the league, IMO.

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Unseen work View Post
    No surprise really, he’s a good manager and showed that with us.
    Not in his last 9 games he never.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    He is proven now though....
    Correct. So their strategy of signing a young, unproven player in midfield has worked out nicely for them. Hopefully the same for us with a couple we’ve signed this summer.

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post

Don't see it
    He'll probably hope not... he'll get the sack!

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    What would you say constitutes "proven"?

He was outstanding for them over a full season last season and should be reasonably expected to kick on and improve as a result of his exposure to first team football.

If Hibs were to sign someone who had been their best player the previous season, even if it had only been for that season on loan, then I'd consider that player to have proven himself to be up to playing at that level.

Testimonial Due The Harp Awakes's Avatar
    Aye but any time he's played, he's looked class.

Levitt and McGrath are very good footballers.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    What would you say constitutes "proven"?

He was outstanding for them over a full season last season and should be reasonably expected to kick on and improve as a result of his exposure to first team football.

If Hibs were to sign someone who had been their best player the previous season, even if it had only been for that season on loan, then I'd consider that player to have proven himself to be up to playing at that level.
    Sorry, I meant before United signed him last season. He’d barely kicked a ball before they got him on loan.

AZ decide to start playing with 5 mins left.

Full time 1-0 Dundee Utd.

Fully expect them to go out next week but that's a great result for them.

Probably bitter, but from what I've seen AZ have been pish. United look decent, similar to what we looked like in the covid season, difficult to break down, but not very attacking.

Made up for the utter embarrassment Motherwell gave us. Great result.

Well done,United. Thought they'd pay not scoring from their early pressure but they really deserved that.

Correct. So their strategy of signing a young, unproven player in midfield has worked out nicely for them. Hopefully the same for us with a couple we’ve signed this summer.
    Yes but they actually supplemented minimal unproven signings with more proven players with good SPFL and above experience. If Levitt didn't workout as a loan it wouldn't have mattered too much. Once he was proven, they actually signed him permanently.

We did sign McGeady and Marshall, but they have signed a lot more players who have proven they can cut it.

It could still work out for us, but the early signs haven't been good.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Sorry, I meant before United signed him last season. He’d barely kicked a ball before they got him on loan.
    Ah, ok.

I guess the point might be made that his credentials upon arriving at United were roughly the same as the raft of players who have just arrived at Easter Road?

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Can't even enjoy watching another teams game without folk moaning about hibs.

@hibs.net private member Libby Hibby's Avatar
    Mikey Stewart - Erse

Quote Originally Posted by Souter96Mac View Post
    Probably bitter, but from what I've seen AZ have been pish. United look decent, similar to what we looked like in the covid season, difficult to break down, but not very attacking.
    AZ will be a different side at home. Still lots to do for Du.
    Cougars!!!