Page 20 of 739 FirstFirst ... 1018192021223070120520 ... LastLast
    At a gig in Glasgow, quick look to see the score, wtf happened there,new manager and ideas needed.

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    On the DART into Dublin City centre. Dreadful performance. No fight. Ireland wanted it more. Great travelling support of around 5K let down. No wonder I drink!
    You have earned it after that.

@hibs.net private member K-Zazu's Avatar
    McPhee and Naismith, there’s 2 of our problems right there

Kenny Cunningham and Gary Breen are a pair of pricks.🤣

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiberniankb View Post
    McPhee and Naismith, there’s 2 of our problems right there
    Michael Stewart just made the point about McPhee the set pieces coach - what tf was our defending at corners all about tonight?

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Cunningham keeps calling us Scotch

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SloopJB View Post
    The lose Irish player just proved they are better.
    On the night yes, dont think there is any debate, wouldnt say man for man they are better, and as a team scotland were awful. Pretty sure we are higher in the world rankings than ireland also(doesnt go for much i suppose)

@hibs.net private member Scottie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    On the DART into Dublin City centre. Dreadful performance. No fight. Ireland wanted it more. Great travelling support of around 5K let down. No wonder I drink!
    Nothing but admiration for you travelling supporters. Through thick and thin You deserve more from this bunch of imposters led but the gormless Clarke. Enjoy your night pal you’ve earned it after that display.

dunno why i'm watching the goal replays but at least i now realise that was thee most horrendous deflection for the irish 3rd goal and can't really blame gordon for that, the boy will probably never get a deflection like that in the rest of his career

@hibs.net private member cameronw-hfc's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    dunno why i'm watching the goal replays but at least i now realise that was thee most horrendous deflection for the irish 3rd goal and can't really blame gordon for that, the boy will probably never get a deflection like that in the rest of his career

You can. A deflection that completely changes the direction of the ball is fair enough, but it's hit from a distance that Gordon should be reacting to. Professionals train deflections, there's plenty of brilliant drills to help deal with them and whilst it was a wicked one, it doesn't change the flight path enough to excuse Gordon.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cameronw-hfc View Post
    You can. A deflection that completely changes the direction of the ball is fair enough, but it's hit from a distance that Gordon should be reacting to. Professionals train deflections, there's plenty of brilliant drills to help deal with them and whilst it was a wicked one, it doesn't change the flight path enough to excuse Gordon.
    Think it was more the power that beat him than anything, a stronger hand to it and he may have saved it but wasnt to be

Those Irish players just proved they are better.
    On paper I'd take our team over there's any time. They 100% deserved their win tonight but I would still say our squad is ahead of them if you look at club form and who they play for.

Unfortunately our manager and set up at national level is brutal.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Cunningham keeps calling us Scotch
    On the rocks?

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    Would appear some of our EPL stars are believing the hype. Mcginn included.

Think they can just turn up and stroll it

Well, after a wee while were there seemed to be a bit of hope for Scotland international fitba we seem to be back at square one.

That qualifies as one of the most inept performances of the last 20 years, FFS even the usually reliable SJM seems to have lost his mojo, missed two really good chances and both of them exactly the same as one he also missed in the last game. The only thing I would say is that the way SJM plays he is the sort of player who at some point has to get a rest or he will be burnt out by the time he's 29 ... at the moment he looks like he could do with that break in all honesty.

I suppose there isn't much hope defensively when at the very heart of it is a guy who was a regular in a Norwich defence that looked like it couldn't defend a set piece against a pub league team, not all his fault obviously, the defending at the first and second goals was woeful by any standard, bugger all anybody could have done for the third, that shot moved all over the place.

Its hard to see where we go from here, the fact is that apart for ( for some reason ) an ability to produce top notch left backs this country hasn't produced a stand out winger, midfield player* or striker ( especially striker ) for practically 30 years and we look no closer to doing that than we were 10 or 20 years ago ... that is surely reflected in the fact that I had barely heard of any of our late subs this afternoon.

If the SFA can't look at this state of affairs and admit that whatever it is they are doing to improve the standard of player produced by this country is falling woefully, ineptly and pathetically short of that aim then it is seriously time to get shot of the bloody lot of them. The very fact that they have never been able to admit that to have two governing bodies sooking money out of the game in a country of this size is ridiculous in the modern era says it all really.

* That isn't to disrespect SJM, he is very good at what he does, the problem is that what he does should make him the workhorse in our midfield, not the bloody standout go to player in practically every game he plays in.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 11-06-2022 at 06:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuart93 View Post

McGinn was pitiful in the Ukraine and Rep of Ireland games (I didn't see the Armenia game).

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    McGinn was pitiful in the Ukraine and Rep of Ireland games (I didn't see the Armenia game).
    He was ok there but Hibs could’ve given Armenia a good game.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Those Irish players just proved they are better.
    Ireland don't have better players than us. I can't think of many of their players who would get in our starting 11.

Using that logic when Scotland beat France all those years ago we had better players then them.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Well, after a wee while were there seemed to be a bit of hope for Scotland international fitba we seem to be back at square one.

That qualifies as one of the most inept performances of the last 20 years, FFS even the usually reliable SJM seems to have lost his mojo, missed two really good chances and both of them exactly the same as one he also missed in the last game. The only thing I would say is that the way SJM plays he is the sort of player who at some point has to get a rest or he will be burnt out by the time he's 29 ... at the moment he looks like he could do with that break in all honesty.

I suppose there isn't much hope defensively when at the very heart of it is a guy who was a regular in a Norwich defence that looked like it couldn't defend a set piece against a pub league team, not all his fault obviously, the defending at the first and second goals was woeful by any standard, bugger all anybody could have done for the third, that shot moved all over the place.

Its hard to see where we go from here, the fact is that apart for ( for some reason ) an ability to produce top notch left backs this country hasn't produced a stand out winger, midfield player or striker ( especially striker ) for practically 30 years and we look no closer to doing that than we were 10 or 20 years ago ... that is surely reflected in the fact that I had barely heard of any of our late subs this afternoon.

If the SFA can't look at this state of affairs and admit that whatever it is they are doing to improve the standard of player produced by this country is falling woefully, ineptly and pathetically short of that aim then it is seriously time to get shot of the bloody lot of them. The very fact that they have never been able to admit that to have two governing bodies sooking money out of the game in a country of this size is ridiculous in the modern era says it all really.
    TBH I couldn't believe it when I learned there that we still have another game to go. I'm fed up with football and desperately keen for there to be a spell without a game for me to give 2 hoots about.

It can't be easy to still be having to raise your game at this stage after a full season.

The Ireland players didn't seem to have any trouble doing it right enough.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuart93 View Post

McGinn doesn't strike me as guy who just thinks he can turn up and stroll it. He's not played well last few games but let's not start slandering his character.

Quote Originally Posted by OldEast View Post
    Mine was never on. No pleasure in watching Scotland.
    You dont watch them, no pleasure etc but here you are moaning about them. A lot on here complaining about how bad Scotland are (they were tonight), then say they have no interest anyway. Okay then...

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Even at Hibs he was capable of a dip in form and that's clearly the case just now. As I said in my other post IMO he is approaching burn out and it's showing up in him losing challenges you would normally expect him to win, his passing being below par and his finishing worse. He is beyond needing a rest IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by Lago View Post
    On the rocks?
    And wry?

wales 1 belgium 0 4 mins

VAR checking, chalked off for offside

0-0

great attitude from the welsh players early doors
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 11-06-2022 at 06:54 PM.

@hibs.net private member 500miles's Avatar
    Still nae decent centre forwards or centre halfs. It means we always have to be on absolute top of our game to win games and as soon as we drop off a bit, we struggle.

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Even at Hibs he was capable of a dip in form and that's clearly the case just now. As I said in my other post IMO he is approaching burn out and it's showing up in him losing challenges you would normally expect him to win, his passing being below par and his finishing worse. He is beyond needing a rest IMO.
    Yeah, that’s pretty much how I see it tbh.

It would always be a bold move for Clarke to leave McGinn out but it might have been in the better interests of the player, manager and team if he’d been used more sparingly throughout this sequence of games.

@hibs.net private member Leith Green's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post

That Garys Breens co commentary was awful. Came across as if he was sitting shouting at the television in a packed dublin boozer. Ranks up there as most cringeworthy commentator of all time

How’s the England game empty??

Quote Originally Posted by darwenhibby View Post
    How’s the England game empty??
    Punishment for Euro final problems

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Anticipating a few call-offs for the trip to Armenia.