Page 14 of 385 FirstFirst ... 412131415162464114 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Mcbizz1998 View Post
    Yeah well, that was actually my point in the first place. The SNP accusing Britain of not taking in enough Jewish refugees, 80 years ago, is pathetic and unfounded.

So I brought up something that is also unfounded (although I suspect may well be true) about the SNP.
    What makes you suspect it is true? What is your research on this, what evidence have you seen that others may not have? What is it that you have seen that the might of the British state and their security services didn't and led them to release Donaldson with no charge?

1. Don’t know
    2. I never said it did and no I don’t have proof. I, on balance, believe it probably did. That’s all.

Cheers.
    Would it be fair to say the “on balance” but isn’t really what you mean, and you just want to believe it happened?

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    1. Don’t know
    2. I never said it did and no I don’t have proof. I, on balance, believe it probably did. That’s all.

Cheers.
    This all sounds very familiar.

What was your previous user name again?

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Would it be fair to say the “on balance” but isn’t really what you mean, and you just want to believe it happened?
    Mostly, Proud Scots with an alternative view couldn’t care less whether it’s true or not, it’s a great smear.

Bit like all the Big Jock Knew stuff.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Trolls.back out from.under.its Bridge it seems.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    What makes you suspect it is true? What is your research on this, what evidence have you seen that others may not have? What is it that you have seen that the might of the British state and their security services didn't and led them to release Donaldson with no charge?
    As I said above, I made the point after reading about the SNP claiming Britain didn’t take in enough Jewish refugees, 80 years or so ago. So I made a similarly unfounded point.

Whether I believe it to be true or not is my personal opinion.

Mainly its due to Donaldson and the SNP’s sympathies of the time, MI5 clearly believing it and deciding he needed interned, the informant who said it happened, the quotes from Donaldson at the time (“ The government would leave the country and England’s position would be absolutely hopeless, as poverty and famine would be their only reward for declaring war on Germany. Scotland, on the other hand, has great possibilities”) and my total disdain for the SNP in general. To be clear, I’m not saying it happened.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    This all sounds very familiar.

What was your previous user name again?
    Haha - nope not me! I presume it’s someone else you didn’t agree with?

I have been a member on here for a few weeks after being a long term reader of the main forum. Think I will just stick to that one going forward

Cheers.

As I said above, I made the point after reading about the SNP claiming Britain didn’t take in enough Jewish refugees, 80 years or so ago. So I made a similarly unfounded point.

Mainly its due to Donaldson and the SNP’s sympathies of the time, MI5 clearly believing it and deciding he needed interned, the informant who said it happened, the quotes from Donaldson at the time (“ The government would leave the country and England’s position would be absolutely hopeless, as poverty and famine would be their only reward for declaring war on Germany. Scotland, on the other hand, has great possibilities”) and my total disdain for the SNP in general. To be clear, I’m not saying it happened.
    Hold on…

What you believe isn’t your opinion, and you’re not saying it happened but your opinion is it did happen because you hate the SNP?!

The SNP should keep quiet about that particular war. You know, considering their plan at that time….
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    That's pathetic.
    Is it aye? Why’s that?
    To be clear, I’m not saying it happened.

You literally did say that it happened I quote "I on balance believe it probably did happen"

What you have copied is a quote from the British MI5 agent that has never been corroborated by anyone. You are presenting it here as if it was a direct quote from Donaldson that you can prove he said. You cannot prove he ever said anything like that

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    Hold on…

What you believe isn’t your opinion, and you’re not saying it happened but your opinion is it did happen because you hate the SNP?!
    Did you read the post you quoted mate?

I can believe something happened and not categorically say that it 100% did (as I don’t have the proof).

And I gave lots of other reasons for why I believe it (probably) happened other than not liking the SNP haha.

You literally did say that it happened I quote "I on balance believe it probably did happen"

What you have copied is a quote from the British MI5 agent that has never been corroborated by anyone. You are presenting it here as if it was a direct quote from Donaldson that you can prove he said. You cannot prove he ever said anything like that
    Nope - there is a difference between saying I believe something probably happened (which is my opinion only) and saying something definitely did happen (which is a statement of fact).

Ok - I will take your word for that. I thought that was a direct quote. Thanks for clarifying.

I can believe something happened and not categorically say that it 100% did (as I don’t have the proof).

And I gave lots of other reasons for why I believe it (probably) happened other than not liking the SNP haha.
    I did. You said that whether you believe it to be true is not your opinion.

Left by mutual consent! majorhibs's Avatar

Nope - there is a difference between saying I believe something probably happened (which is my opinion only) and saying something definitely did happen (which is a statement of fact).

Ok - I will take your word for that. I thought that was a direct quote. Thanks for clarifying.
    Oh my & I thought they were gettin back on top of these lying brexit russki lying types, with they’re trolling disinformation & influencing! Schoolboy error!

Ah, the old defence of saying "allegedly " when accusing someone and thinking that means you didnt ,actually accuse them!!

Yes, what you have tried to pass off as quotes from Donaldson were actually what the MI5 officer alleged in his report. Never backed up by anyone else and again never believed by the then secretary of state or the police and therefore Donaldon was released without charge

Quote Originally Posted by majorhibs View Post
    Oh my & I thought they were gettin back on top of these lying brexit russki lying types, with they’re trolling disinformation & influencing! Schoolboy error!
    Maybe I’m tired or something but I don’t get this post?

Am I being called a liar? What have a lied about in either of those posts?

Ah, the old defence of saying "allegedly " when accusing someone and thinking that means you didnt ,actually accuse them!!

Yes, what you have tried to pass off as quotes from Donaldson were actually what the MI5 officer alleged in his report. Never backed up by anyone else and again never believed by the then secretary of state or the police and therefore Donaldon was released without charge
    But I didn’t do that?? I am just telling you what I believe to be true. You seem to be upset that I personally believe something.

I have conceded I can’t prove it and told you what my opinion is based on. But I believe it just like people believe in lots of things they can’t prove. Not something to get upset about.

Sorry if I have offended you in some way.

Maybe I’m tired or something but I don’t get this post?

Am I being called a liar? What have a lied about in either of those posts?
    Personally I don't think you're lying, I think you are mistaken and have bought into a myth that keeps getting used by unionists to try to prove some kind of neo nazism in the SNP, allied to your dislike of the SNP you are happy to believe the myth

Ok well thanks for that. I’m not accusing the SNP of being neo-nazis either btw.

I seem to be getting accused of being a troll, a liar and someone else who presumably posted on here previously.

I’ve maybe misjudged what can and can’t be posted - will stick to hibs topics to avoid hassle in future.

But I didn’t do that?? I am just telling you what I believe to be true. You seem to be upset that I personally believe something.

I have conceded I can’t prove it and told you what my opinion is based on. But I believe it just like people believe in lots of things they can’t prove. Not something to get upset about.

Honestly not offended in the slightest. The written word often doesn't come across well in a debate. One of my dearest friends is a unionist and nothing will ever persuade him otherwise. I would never fall out with him nor take offence at his stance. I don't agree with him but it's his right to his beliefs and I respect him for that. So no offence taken at all

How many times? OCD or what? What ye tryin to prove & who to? Who do you work for? How long since you last slept? Any chance postin summat sensible instead of what you obv know will be devisive here due to past posts? Or better still go oot & have a pint or find a girlfriend.

Honestly not offended in the slightest. The written word often doesn't come across well in a debate. One of my dearest friends is a unionist and nothing will ever persuade him otherwise. I would never fall out with him nor take offence at his stance. I don't agree with him but it's his right to his beliefs and I respect him for that. So no offence taken at all

The SNP should keep quiet about that particular war. You know, considering their plan at that time….

https://www.scotsman.com/news/mi5-fi...an-2512735?amp
    I'm not the SNP so have no problem talking about it. My very early memories of the SNP as a political party are from the 1970's when they seemed to be represented by some real cranks, a tiny amount of earnest students and some honest to goodness weirdos. Not even beneath the surface was a lot of Anti-English sentiment. I've no particular love or passion for the SNP so can see discuss the article.

In your link Arthur Donaldson had this as his plan.

"The government would leave the country and England's position would be absolutely hopeless, as poverty and famine would be their only reward for declaring war on Germany. Scotland, on the other hand, has great possibilities," Mr Donaldson is recorded as saying.

"The movement in Scotland must then be able to show the German government that it is organised and has a clear-cut policy, that it is not with England in the war.

"The German government will give them every possible assistance in their early struggle, and when fire and confusion is at its height in England the movement can start in earnest."

That's disgusting. To seek to make political capitol from a neighbouring countries misfortune is the thought process of an absolute weirdo. It just goes to show though, fascism isn't anything to do with governing a country, its plain gangsterism as it was in Nazi Germany and as it is now in Russia. Power grabs and stroking egos with cash while using any old local petty bigotry to get a foothold. There's a book out there "Fascism In Scotland" which describes a "new form of bigotry trying to make a name for itself in an already crowded market" but all it does is use old ones to stoke division.

The SNP spokeman's answer is pathetic and they shouldn't keep quiet about it, the should talk about this guy as an example of how dangerous personalities can seek power.

If its true.

It was 60 years ago he was Leader of the SNP. It was niche partisan outfit. Politics change, in 1960 there were Tory politicians who came round to realising having a state owned power grid and railway could actually have a good effect on the economy.

At the moment for me the SNP or Indyref2 and arguing the whys and wherefores of is small fry compared to what is happening around us and what is within our country.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Kato; 15-03-2022 at 10:26 PM.

Kato obv untouchable or even an admin????
    Absolute not what posted before to your obv amusement. Not amusing

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Some hilarious stuff on here tonight.

Absolute not what posted before to your obv amusement. Not amusing
    Knock yourself out.

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    I'm not the SNP so have no problem talking about it. My very early memories of the SNP as a political party are from the 1970's when they seemed to be represented by some real cranks, a tiny amount of earnest students and some honest to goodness weirdos. Not even beneath the surface was a lot of Anti-English sentiment. I've no particular love or passion for the SNP so can see discuss the article.

In your link Arthur Donaldson had this as his plan.

"The government would leave the country and England's position would be absolutely hopeless, as poverty and famine would be their only reward for declaring war on Germany. Scotland, on the other hand, has great possibilities," Mr Donaldson is recorded as saying.

"The movement in Scotland must then be able to show the German government that it is organised and has a clear-cut policy, that it is not with England in the war.

"The German government will give them every possible assistance in their early struggle, and when fire and confusion is at its height in England the movement can start in earnest."

That's disgusting. To seek to make political capitol from a neighbouring countries misfortune is the thought process of an absolute weirdo. It just goes to show though, fascism isn't anything to do with governing a country, its plain gangsterism as it was in Nazi Germany and as it is now in Russia. Power grabs and stroking egos with cash while using any old local petty bigotry to get a foothold. There's a book out there "Fascism In Scotland" which describes a "new form of bigotry trying to make a name for itself in an already crowded market" but all it does is use old ones to stoke division.

The SNP spokeman's answer is pathetic and they shouldn't keep quiet about it, the should talk about this guy as an example of how dangerous personalities can seek power.

If its true.

It was 60 years ago he was Leader of the SNP. It was niche partisan outfit. Politics change, in 1960 there were Tory politicians who came round to realising having a state owned power grid and railway could actually have a good effect on the economy.

At the moment for me the SNP or Indyref2 and arguing the whys and wherefores of is small fry compared to what is happening around us and what is within our country.

Spot on Kato, but what is not being considered was the political climate during the late 30s was that owning a Daschund made you a quisling. I have read elsewhere that Donaldson would have liked to have worked with Nazi Germany had they succeeded in invading Great Britain, however imho he and his few members at this time would have been nothing but a nuisance rather than any credible threat. Real spies and agitators would have been of much more importance.

Quote Originally Posted by Berwickhibby View Post
    Spot on Kato, but what is not being considered was the political climate during the late 30s was that owning a Daschund made you a quisling. I have read elsewhere that Donaldson would have liked to have worked with Nazi Germany had they succeeded in invading Great Britain, however imho he and his few members at this time would have been nothing but a nuisance rather than any credible threat. Real spies and agitators would have been of much more importance.
    Absolutely, 100%, spot on completely, what I uselessly attempted last night with no eyes left, fingers thumbs, brain at -10% although may have mixed last 3 up, is how, nowadays, with alleged enlightenment, how decisions or actions in history can ever be related to actions now, when we all know decisions made by people in power today do NOT result in death/elimination of said person/family/nation but decisions & actions made in history did! Obviously excepting current Ukrainian situation, which seems to draw many comparisons with barbaric history. As far as the frankly disgusting deflection such a headline to this thread creates while the similar headlined thread was about pointing out ever yet more lies from a current government who imo must be by so far you couldn’t measure the biggest lying govt the UK has ever known, well that individual got WAY too much attention from me due to me stupidly thinking that it was a poster from long ago I’d liked, green & glaikit. Apologies to old time quality poster G & G, & I won’t be spending too much future time wasting on etonian wannabees like your near namesake.

History is there to learn from.

I like Vodka, Chekov's short stories, Gogol's novels and the idea of having a samovar with an endless brew. I'm not expecting either a medal from Putin or a tap on the door from MI5. If I'd been born in Russia, been allowed by their dictator to come to this country with a few billion in my pocket and sought to destabilise the UK economy, political institutions and relationships with the near neighbours I'd expect both. At the end of ww2 they had a programme of de-Nazification, sadly they didn't do it here.

The difference between you & me, my friend, is I have a rope around my neck, & you, do not! (c/o Tuco), the other big difference wi me is the bigger the lying politician, the bigger I dislike them! Why is it I feel pretty unique in this nowadays?

History, in all its horror & brilliance, is ruined nowadays by zealots who think they are anything.