Page 336 of 474 FirstFirst ... 236286326334335336337338346386436 ... LastLast
Results 10,051 to 10,080 of 14212

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    When Waverly changed to free use I assumed it was maybe part of a wider change that made all public toilets free to use.

I understand the flip side though - people won't look after them then they need to be maintained and that's pricey, someone has to foot the bill.
    I used to have to use disabled toilets which were always free. I'd have gladly paid to have them maintained. They were often far worse than any of the other toilets I've used.

Driving to work.

I've walked for the best part of the last 2 years but due to circumstances I'm having to drive for the next couple of weeks. I take my hat off to anyone who can do that every day in Edinburgh, it's an absolute ****ing nightmare.

42 minutes to travel just over 5 miles today, I can walk it in an hour. From the completely unfit for purpose roads around my house that have had zero infrastructure improvements despite the massive expansions at Fort Kinnaird over the years and thousands of new houses being built to the shambles that is trying to cross Leith Walk it was just about the worst possible way to start the day. I cannot wait to be able to leave the car at home again asap.

Driving to work.

I've walked for the best part of the last 2 years but due to circumstances I'm having to drive for the next couple of weeks. I take my hat off to anyone who can do that every day in Edinburgh, it's an absolute ****ing nightmare.

42 minutes to travel just over 5 miles today, I can walk it in an hour. From the completely unfit for purpose roads around my house that have had zero infrastructure improvements despite the massive expansions at Fort Kinnaird over the years and thousands of new houses being built to the shambles that is trying to cross Leith Walk it was just about the worst possible way to start the day. I cannot wait to be able to leave the car at home again asap.

Welcome to my daily struggles driving a taxi in Edinburgh, Scotland's largest permanent traffic jam/pothole dodging city.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Paying an online delivery fee of £4.99 for your goods to be volleyed to your doorstep from 3 miles away by a Hermes delivery driver is not peanuts!!
    My daughter just came in carrying a package. She said she found it in our front garden just lying there in the snow.
    No note through the door to say it had been delivered.
    Yip it was Hermes.
    Absolute welt of a delivery driver.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Welcome to my daily struggles driving a taxi in Edinburgh, Scotland's largest permanent traffic jam/pothole dodging city.
    I rarely drive by day now. Maybe do a couple of mornings but mainly nights now.

Was out this morning while it turned out decent. Brunstane to the ERI 35 mins for about 4 mile.

Thankfully back to my regular job next week so just have to suffer the bypass.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    The use of 'sign' instead of 'sing'

Bad enough on a football forum but the BBC scottish football gossip page says that Scott Brown was singed by Aberdeen as a coach.

😡
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    The use of 'sign' instead of 'sing'

Bad enough on a football forum but the BBC scottish football gossip page says that Scott Brown was singed by Aberdeen as a coach.

😡
    The sheep must be on fire after all.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Had to get to the foot of Easter Road today from Livingston. I'd have generally gone through town and crossed Leith Walk via Annadale St. The traffic backed up as you can't turn right into Ingles Green Road on the A71 meant Ferry Road was the only option I knew was open. Think there's blockages Broughto/ Bennington. Ferry Road wasn't too bad but Junction Street and the one way diversions were awful. Its why I use my bus pass to get to games

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Had to get to the foot of Easter Road today from Livingston. I'd have generally gone through town and crossed Leith Walk via Annadale St. The traffic backed up as you can't turn right into Ingles Green Road on the A71 meant Ferry Road was the only option I knew was open. Think there's blockages Broughto/ Bennington. Ferry Road wasn't too bad but Junction Street and the one way diversions were awful. Its why I use my bus pass to get to games

Livingston - By Pass - past Millerhill through Newton Village - over the Wisp down Duddingston Pk Sth, onto Duddingston Pk - onto Harry Lauder, then Seafield - along Leith Links and then Easter Rd.

Longer but quicker and misses all the hassle of the town.

Livingston - By Pass - past Millerhill through Newton Village - over the Wisp down Duddingston Pk Sth, onto Duddingston Pk - onto Harry Lauder, then Seafield - along Leith Links and then Easter Rd.

Longer but quicker and misses all the hassle of the town.
    Its definitely fd up when Sheriffhall & The Wisp are alternatives for Leith. Ill be using this route for the timebeing.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Folk who allow big dogs of the leashes on footpaths, I was bitten when I was young by a Alsatian and have always had a wee fear of dogs and I’m sure they can sense that, a Alsatian came at me yesterday and the owner was shouting it back and saying it safe as it’s a big softy, that doesn’t put my mind at rest, really bugs me.

That is a proper pet peeve.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Folk who allow big dogs of the leashes on footpaths, I was bitten when I was young by a Alsatian and have always had a wee fear of dogs and I’m sure they can sense that, a Alsatian came at me yesterday and the owner was shouting it back and saying it safe as it’s a big softy, that doesn’t put my mind at rest, really bugs me.

I could have written that! I have more than a wee fear of dogs as I’ve been attacked three times when I was younger, once actually on a footpath where one bit my arse.

“It won’t do anything” is the usual response, as you say. There’s folk in our street that obviously don’t believe in leads as their dogs are never on one. Firstly, that makes me nervous as someone who has a fear of dogs, but more so it is a nightmare when you are driving as they are just running freely on the road

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post

We were up in Inverness last year for a wee break and had a walk along the river, I'm generally very good with dogs (wife calls me the dog whisperer). There was a guy sat on a bench with a medium sized dog, I bent over to clap it and it snapped at me. He then says oh aye watch out he's a biter. Well then mate if he is then get a ****ing muzzle on him and tell people not to approach and try and clap him ffs.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    I could have written that! I have more than a wee fear of dogs as I’ve been attacked three times when I was younger, once actually on a footpath where one bit my arse.

“It won’t do anything” is the usual response, as you say. There’s folk in our street that obviously don’t believe in leads as their dogs are never on one. Firstly, that makes me nervous as someone who has a fear of dogs, but more so it is a nightmare when you are driving as they are just running freely on the road

I'm really sorry, I laughed out loud at that .

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    We were up in Inverness last year for a wee break and had a walk along the river, I'm generally very good with dogs (wife calls me the dog whisperer). There was a guy sat on a bench with a medium sized dog, I bent over to clap it and it snapped at me. He then says oh aye watch out he's a biter. Well then mate if he is then get a ****ing muzzle on him and tell people not to approach and try and clap him ffs.
    I remember from many years back from attending a course in animal care at the Dick Vet. The instructor told us to never approach a dog you don’t know with an open hand and to only offer the dog a tightly clenched fist. The reason is two fold, every dog it’s first instinct is to get your scent so you let them sniff you, secondly if the dog is a “biter” then it is more difficult for it to bite you as you haven’t got any fingers or a flat hand exposed that it can easily latch onto.

Quote Originally Posted by Alfiembra View Post
    I remember from many years back from attending a course in animal care at the Dick Vet. The instructor told us to never approach a dog you don’t know with an open hand and to only offer the dog a tightly clenched fist. The reason is two fold, every dog it’s first instinct is to get your scent so you let them sniff you, secondly if the dog is a “biter” then it is more difficult for it to bite you as you haven’t got any fingers or a flat hand exposed that it can easily latch onto.
    I understand that, my point was if the dog is a known biter, why not have it muzzled and also let people who approach know what the dog's like, he did neither.
    Last edited by J-C; 02-03-2022 at 06:23 PM.

When forum posters go on to clearly titled threads, which they allegedly have no interest in, to announce one or more of the following:

This is meant to be a hibs site.

Who cares?

Close the thread.

I understand that, my point was if the dog is a known biter, why not have it muzzled and also let people who approach know what the dog's like, he did neither.
    The owner should be on a leash as well as the dog.

Quote Originally Posted by WeeRussell View Post
    When forum posters go on to clearly titled threads, which they allegedly have no interest in, to announce one or more of the following:

This is meant to be a hibs site.

Who cares?

Close the thread.
    Along with: can't stand them; about as funny as a punch in the nuts; never watched it...

People who have no ability to retain information.

There is an ordering process in my work called 'back to back'. Basically if a large order of non core stock items is for one customer you can process the sales order so that it automatically creates and sends a purchase order to the relevant supplier. It's a real time saver and so simple, it literally involves ticking one box and selecting 'consolidated' from a drop down box.

There is a woman in my office who has been here longer than me and every single time she does this I have to show her how it's done. She has written it down, I've walked her through it, she's been shown by everyone in the office at least 5 times each but every single time you hear the huffing then the muttering and the finally the 'can someone help me with this?'

Does my head in.

People who play their music loud on a bus without earphones.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    It’s always pish music too.

A very ‘chav’ move in my experience.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    One bus journey later on at night we tried drowning out their pish with Daniel O’Donnell, Enya, Dido and the like. Very enjoyable 😂

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    One bus journey later on at night we tried drowning out their pish with Daniel O’Donnell, Enya, Dido and the like. Very enjoyable 😂

Tradesmen. I’ve got 2 in the now, the gardener gets stuck in and will have the job finished on time, the painter turns up, drinks all my coffee and ****s off after a couple of hours saying he can’t do anything until whatever bit dries or he’s sealed something. He’s doing a good job, but my god he’s going to be here for weeks at this rate.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Tradesmen. I’ve got 2 in the now, the gardener gets stuck in and will have the job finished on time, the painter turns up, drinks all my coffee and ****s off after a couple of hours saying he can’t do anything until whatever bit dries or he’s sealed something. He’s doing a good job, but my god he’s going to be here for weeks at this rate.
    ....... the proverbial ‘watching paint drying’. I hope you’re not paying him an hourly rate.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    ....... the proverbial ‘watching paint drying’. I hope you’re not paying him an hourly rate.
    Thankfully not.

United we stand here....

This new orange-coloured (vitamin c?) advert that surrounds hibs.net and stops you actually clicking on threads while it’s up.

Been plenty of ads for a while but this is first one I’ve ever noticed that actually interrupts your browsing… other than inadvertently making you click on them as the screen jumps around.

Note - just a pet peev, not an official complaint or dig at admins 😁

Children being entertained by phones/ipads in restaurants often with volume on. Fair enough McDonald's for a short period but not in restaurants over a three course meal with other diners. Lazy, selfish, parenting.

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Children being entertained by phones/ipads in restaurants often with volume on. Fair enough McDonald's for a short period but not in restaurants over a three course meal with other diners. Lazy, selfish, parenting.
    When we were in London last weekend, we were amazed by the amount of folk that took young children to quite child-unfriendly restaurants, often going in quite late, e.g. kids that must have been no older than 7, wandering into a high-end (formerly Michelin starred) Indian restaurant at 9.15pm. We don’t have kids but if we did, we’d be basing our dining choices around the kids’ schedule and requirements, not our own - or get a babysitter for the odd treat.

On another note, I think any sort of dress code has gone out the window since covid. Folk in trackies in nicer places, etc.
    Last edited by overdrive; 14-03-2022 at 10:26 AM.