Page 10 of 16 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: New Boyle Bid?

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I’m going to go against the grain here and say if Boyle wants to **** off to a backwater like Saudi Arabia for big money then good luck to him, but he’s no better than the other mercenaries that go out there to earn a few quid. Right now he’s a guy living the dream playing for a big team in Scotland and about to play in a World Cup. It’s not like he’s on a pittance at hibs, he’ll never have to work again if he stays here and sees out his contact. He could stay here and become a legend, he’d get a testimonial and earn even more money. It’s not a cut and dry decision imo.
    Do you honestly think Boyle could live for the next possible 40 years on the back of what he earns at Hibs? You must be joking right?

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Wouldn't have taken 10 million for him after watching us without. Desperately need real pace and drive to replace him. Muller might give us some. Cadden a bit. No one else at all though.
    Agree 100%.

Make a fuss about hiring an exciting young manager and the first thing we do is sell his top scorer, penalty taker and main threat from under him.

Welcome to Hibs Shaun. Lacking ambition since 1973!!

Quote Originally Posted by HoboHarry View Post
    Do you honestly think Boyle could live for the next possible 40 years on the back of what he earns at Hibs? You must be joking right?
    No I’m not joking. If he’s sensible with his money and gets a testimonial he will be set for life without wasting his career going to Saudi Arabia. No one in their right mind would choose to go over there in the prime of their career, it’s a horrific career move.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by RIP View Post
    Agree 100%.

Make a fuss about hiring an exciting young manager and the first thing we do is sell his top scorer, penalty taker and main threat from under him.

Not enough people are saying this for some reason. Letting our best player walk out the door is never going to be a positive move. I don’t care how much he deserves his move, I care about us struggling without him.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Juniper Greens View Post
    We already have Hendo on loan from celtic, so not sure we can have any others
    We had Hendo (1) and Stokes at the same time.

Quote Originally Posted by hibee316 View Post
    I'm sure it was ring-fenced for a Rod Petrie statue.
    £3m not even close to coving the cost. Might cover the cost of the tash part but that’s all 🤨

Agree 100%.

I don't think it's a lack of ambition. All teams sell players. Ambition is different to just selling one guy. We're clearly ambitious based on our signings.

Selling Boyle just takes all unpredictably out of the side. I think we'll be a more boring side for this and I'm not sure maloneys tactics will help. Not that I think he's boring, but more that zero pace with slow build up football will be boring.

I don't think it's a lack of ambition. All teams sell players. Ambition is different to just selling one guy. We're clearly ambitious based on our signings.

Selling Boyle just takes all unpredictably out of the side. I think we'll be a more boring side for this and I'm not sure maloneys tactics will help. Not that I think he's boring, but more that zero pace with slow build up football will be boring.
    We've been boring lots of times with him in the side. We're talking about Boyle here not Cruyff.

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchie View Post
    We've been boring lots of times with him in the side. We're talking about Boyle here not Cruyff.
    Relative to our opposition, Boyle is Cruyff. He'll be a big loss, no doubt about that.

You're a funny guy I'll give you that.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Not enough people are saying this for some reason. Letting our best player walk out the door is never going to be a positive move. I don’t care how much he deserves his move, I care about us struggling without him.
    How are we meant to fund improving our squad if we don’t sell our assets and then reinvest in the squad?

Also makes things harder to attract players if we get a reputation for refusing to sell players.

Wee bit simplistic to suggest we should always just keep our best players until they turn pish then discard them.

Im sure hibs would've been 100% upfront with SM and he was aware of the Boyle situation, I'm also confident he would've been promised money from the sale to reinvest in the squad. Am I gutted Boyle is going defo but as said before I think this is a good move for both parties were getting 3M for a 29yr old and we can replace with good young players. Now we will see what kind of player SM has an eye for and we will be less one dimensional in regards to always using Boyle as an out and being less predictable!

Would be madness to turn down 3 million for a 29 year old that wants the move to happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchie View Post
    You're a funny guy I'll give you that.
    Okay. 33 g/a a year are seriously brilliant numbers. You make lazy statements like "he isn't Cruyff" in some attempt to downplay that but he's going to be as hard to replace as anyone.

Quote Originally Posted by FilipinoHibs View Post
    Britain contributes to that bloody money. We sell them 8 billion pounds worth of arms on an annual basis.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Oh **** off.
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

All the best martin and maybe we will see you back in a few years.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Quote Originally Posted by CB_NO3 View Post
    Britain contributes to that bloody money. We sell them 8 billion pounds worth of arms on an annual basis.
    Aye but that's us that's doing it

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

No I’m not joking. If he’s sensible with his money and gets a testimonial he will be set for life without wasting his career going to Saudi Arabia. No one in their right mind would choose to go over there in the prime of their career, it’s a horrific career move.
    He wouldn’t be set for life btw. Anyone In Their right mind would go out there for say a couple years earn 30k a week tax free whilst he still can. Who’s to say that offer will be there in a few years time? Football isn’t a long career for these guys they have to take these chances when they get them unfortunately for us.

Agree 100%.

Maloney will have known about the interest in Boyle before he signed his contract.

His best player, who wasn't his player, just earned the club £3m which will be put to good use.

A superb piece of business by Hibs, from recruiting him 7 years ago for nothing, then developing him so well that he is the first name on Australis's team sheet, to moving him on for a £3m profit.

Good luck Martin Boyle. No doubt you'll be back at Easter Road in some guise or another sometime.

We’ve been lucky to keep Boyle over the past few years as he has been on the rise… Good luck to him and look forward to seeing him back in Scotland in a couple years.

I'm very surprised that no Championship club down south have taken a serious interest in signing him. He is probably not good enough for the Premier League but I'm sure he could have done well in a lower league. Anyway I hope he does well and at least when he is called up for International duty in future it won't affect us.

Definitely, if he scrimps and saves and stays in a modest semi-detached keeping the thermostat low, and his holidays infrequent, he'll probably definitely have enough to keep his family alive until his pension comes along when he's 70 or whatever age it is by then.

Quote Originally Posted by Supermac View Post
    I'm very surprised that no Championship club down south have taken a serious interest in signing him. He is probably not good enough for the Premier League but I'm sure he could have done well in a lower league. Anyway I hope he does well and at least when he is called up for International duty in future it won't affect us.
    I think he could manage in the Premier League despite it's hype.

They dont' half have some dross in that league.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    We’re going to have to recruit very well to replace or compensate for Boyle. The last few years we’ve been the Martin Boyle team, it’s sobering to think about our creativity struggles in a team without Boyle going forward.

On the plus side hopefully Melkerson and Mueller are the collective replacements and we can use the money to finally fix the midfield issues.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar

See the Marcos dinnesty is still thriving in your place.

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/01/17/w...-election.html

Great bit of business by the club, for Martin Boyle I'm not so sure it is except in a financial sense but for me there would be so many more things to take into consideration when contemplating a move to live and work in somewhere like Saudi Arabia - this isn't just like moving to France or Italy and having to learn another language.

Good luck to him though, even although it wouldn't be for me he obviously thinks he can make it work. I'd be surprised if he's there any longer than 12 months.

The main reason people wanted Ross out was his boring football, if my memory is right, Boyle played in that team.

As for him being unpredictable, he was anything but, we knew and the opposition knew if we gave him the ball, he'd run at them, that was/is his game.