Page 17 of 64 FirstFirst ... 7151617181927 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Magpie View Post
    Ronald Koeman sacked by Barcelona.
    That's what big clubs do; failure means the sack. Meanwhile, over at Old Trafford.....

Peter Grant finally punted by Dunfermline. Capitulating at Arbroath after being 2-0 up the final straw.

Looks like Nuno is getting punted at Spurs according to Sky. That will be a big job for someone, not least sorting out Kane

Quote Originally Posted by Scorrie View Post
    Looks like Nuno is getting punted at Spurs according to Sky. That will be a big job for someone, not least sorting out Kane
    Unfortunately Spurs think they're better than they are, don't pay the dosh and are a midtable side right now, should've stayed at Wolves where the fans loved him.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Unfortunately Spurs think they're better than they are, don't pay the dosh and are a midtable side right now, should've stayed at Wolves where the fans loved him.
    He was “mutually consented” by Wolves before he got the Spurs gig…..

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Yep, which made the Spurs appointment even stranger. Wonder who they’ll go for now, not many obvious candidates

Must be worth a fortune in payouts

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Peter Grant finally punted by Dunfermline. Capitulating at Arbroath after being 2-0 up the final straw.
    Kenny Millar thrown his name into the hat for the Pars job, thought he was contracted to an Aussie team?

Ten league games! Disgraceful.

Oh aye, forgot about that, just had a quick read about it and it looked like it was his decision to leave.

I think he was 4th choice for the Spurs job as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Ten league games! Disgraceful.
    Absolute joke.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Absolute joke.
    Yes. If Hibs sacked a manager after ten games, I'd be questioning the board who appointed him. How could they have gotten it so wrong, and what are the consequences for them?

Would also be questioning not giving the guy a proper chance. I know some of their performances have been poor however not sacking form imo.

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    Managers must love getting punted in the EPL. They get paid £millions for failure.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Would also be questioning not giving the guy a proper chance. I know some of their performances have been poor however not sacking form imo.
    Absolutely. It's impossible to judge a manager on ten games. I wonder if the Spurs board is reacting to the way the Spurs fans turned on Nuno and the team last night. Making him the fall guy deflects the heat away from them.

Was he able to sign any players?

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Good question. Nae idea.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    Should’ve punted Kane for 150m that City offered. Could’ve probably got a couple of decent replacements with that

That’s exactly what’s happening. The board thought enough of him to give him the job, but after a few bad results they’ll pull the trigger before the heat gets turned towards them. They’re sitting in 9th place and have won 5 and lost 5 and they’re star striker has barely kicked a ball so far. The premiership is a horrid money driven monster that is so far removed from the football I grew up watching and fell in love with. In this country we seemed determined to try and copy them when we should be marketing our league as being the opposite of what’s going on down there.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Oh aye, forgot about that, just had a quick read about it and it looked like it was his decision to leave.

I think he was 4th choice for the Spurs job as well.
    Will mean Cathro will be out of a job too ..he’s with him at Spurs

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Aston Villa possibly sacking their manager.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Aston Villa possibly sacking their manager.
    That would be a mental decision. He’s been great for them. Losing Grealish has been the problem for them

They spent about £91m on 3 players, Ings, Buendia and Bailey.

Incredible if that is the case.

@hibs.net private member Stuart93's Avatar
    You think? I think he was the right manager for them and what they needed at the time but I reckon they’re now in a position where they could benefit from having a better/bigger manager in charge to take them to the next level

I do agree with your point about Grealish. Not an easy player to replace

Breaking News

Nuno Espírito Santo sacked by Tottenham Hotspur

BBC Sport

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Breaking News

BBC Sport
    Conte apparently replacing him.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Breaking News

BBC Sport
    The buck always stops with the manager but i think at times the players need to be held accountable. Is Kane acting like a captain for instance? The manager cant cross the white line.

I think it's shameful cowardice by the Spurs board. They appointed the man, panicked, and sacked him after ten league games. At the first sign of fan discontent they have crumbled. You can't judge anybody from ten games and four months in the job.

I hope he gets millions from them in pay off.

@hibs.net private member Coco Bryce's Avatar
    No manager will be successful at Spurs

Owner is a complete fud and also far too tight for a Premiership Chairman.