Page 108 of 164 FirstFirst ... 85898106107108109110118158 ... LastLast
Results 3,211 to 3,240 of 4912
    First Team Breakthrough Tommy75's Avatar
    Very good performance from a very good England side.
    Last edited by Tommy75; 03-07-2021 at 09:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    On the basis that Wembley was the best venue to host the Semis and the Final? I don’t think many would have seen England getting that far before the tournament. A wee bonus for them now though.
    Why not other venues for the semi? Seems odd they have both semis and final.

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    The Danes will give them a game.
    Aye, they should, but England should beat them at home.

Quote Originally Posted by Tommy75 View Post
    Very good performance from a very good England side. The only people suggesting otherwise are Scottish or know nothing about football (or both).
    Terrible post.

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Very good performance from a very good England side. The only people suggesting otherwise are Scottish or know nothing about football (or both).
    Player for player other than maybe France, maybe, they have the best squad in the tournament. And they look to be starting to turn it on.

Still blows my mind that Sterling is only 26.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Aye, they should, but England should beat them at home.
    Yep, but it'll be closer than some think.

First Team Breakthrough Tommy75's Avatar
    Terrible post.
    On reflection you're probably right mate. Amended the post as I wouldn't want to cause offence.

I think Italy are the best hope against the forces of darkness. The prospect of an Italian hand of god moment gives me the horn.

On reflection you're probably right mate. Amended the post as I wouldn't want to cause offence.
    👍

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by 660 View Post
    I think Italy are the best hope against the forces of darkness. The prospect of an Italian hand of god moment gives me the horn.
    At Wembley as well 🤤🤤🤤

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    It's a bit of both. Aye England have looked good, but how would they have faired with a group containing say 2nd seed France and 3rd seed Portugal, Or had to play games in several different countries. Probably no coincidence all the semi finalists, Italy, Spain, England and Denmark have played most of their games 'at home' unlike say Belgium or France who played all their games away.

I have to admit the thought of Italy absolutely ****housing their way to victory at Wembley is quite appealing.

I wasn't really that bothered about England winning it until my fiance started with the 'it's coming home' pish tonight. Now I hope they get pumped because I'm petty like that.

Pickford seemed to be losing the plot in that second half, still the best source of England imploding 😁

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Loving it

I have to admit the thought of Italy absolutely ****housing their way to victory at Wembley is quite appealing.

I wasn't really that bothered about England winning it until my fiance started with the 'it's coming home' pish tonight. Now I hope they get pumped because I'm petty like that.
    Be careful or there will be no pumping for you 😁

England have some decent players and a very solid defence and they clearly have a decent chance of winning the tournament. They have however had a fortuitous draw and if they do win it, playing all but 1 game at Wembley with a negligible opposition support will have been a huge advantage.

I reckon England will make the final and if they play Spain they will win it. If they play Italy though, they will lose as Italy are a better team.

Why would you cause offence? It's just your opinion so stick with it.

In fairness, a 4-0 victory in international football is very good. Phenomenal is a bit ott for me though.
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    No, northern Scotland!

My dads side of the family are English and I know it’ll make him happy so can remain reasonably objective in these games. It’s a very good squad they have.
    ….. no malice intended, I can live with an English win ……… as long as it doesn’t become a habit.

Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    England have some decent players and a very solid defence and they clearly have a decent chance of winning the tournament. They have however had a fortuitous draw and if they do win it, playing all but 1 game at Wembley with a negligible opposition support will have been a huge advantage.

I reckon England will make the final and if they play Spain they will win it. If they play Italy though, they will lose as Italy are a better team.
    Italy have been brilliant stuttered a bit against Austria but England more than any other team have the ability to turn Italy over.

It’s absolutely petty but I’d take a 1-0 Italian last minute insigne hand ball over a a 4-0 Italia win. Denmark will give them a decent game though.

My oldest daughter has spent the last 2 weeks in Newcastle working for her boyfriends parents company as part of a Uni work experience. She has little interest in football since being a Hibs kid about 10 years ago but wanted England to get beat tonight and is dreading going back down next week for her last week. We said to her. Don't you want your boyfriend to be happy. Not if it means they win, no. 🤣 That's my girl.

Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    Italy have been brilliant stuttered a bit against Austria but England more than any other team have the ability to turn Italy over.
    On what basis? Italy should destroy England based on performances in this tournament so far.

lol based on me being English and you being Scottish. We'll see fella.

If only Scotland had a half decent home stadium where they got results.

Instead we have Hampden and doesn’t do the team any favours or make the Dan experience very enjoyable.

Anyway it’s hard to not like Southgate - compare him to some other managers who treat players really badly.

Doesn’t bother me if England win this tournament - England have pumped a load of money into a stadium, St George’s Park, managers / coaches - structure / youth teams and women’s football..

I do think though aren’t any any really strong international teams just now - think of famous teams and quality in sides over the years..don’t feel England are this level but they do have a very chance to win this tournament and be fondly remembered.
    Last edited by GreenCastle; 03-07-2021 at 10:03 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post

Instead we have Hampden and doesn’t do the team any favours for fans or players.

Anyway it’s hard to not like Southgate - compare him to some other managers.

Doesn’t bother me if England win this tournament - England have pumped a load of money into a stadium, St George’s Park, managers / coaches - structure / youth teams and women’s football..

The one thing I would say though are there any really strong international teams just now - think of famous teams and quality in sides - don’t feel England are this level but they do have a very chance to win this tournament.
    Spot on, and agree re Southgate there's non of the loud mouth stuff from him, quiet and modest, doing an excellent job.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post

Instead we have Hampden and doesn’t do the team any favours for fans or players.

Anyway it’s hard to not like Southgate - compare him to some other managers.

The one thing I would say though are there any really strong international teams just now - think of famous teams and quality in sides - don’t feel England are this level but they do have a very chance to win this tournament.
    I don't mind Southgate tbh. He seems like a decent bloke and not unlikeable like some of the English managers in the past. England won the World Cup when it was played in England, Football was coming home in 1996 when it was in
    ..England. This year? It's their best chance as the Semis and Final are played in England.

Given the teams who have won the Euros in recent years, Denmark, Greece and Portugal, England SHOULD fancy their chances. Maybe they will win it this year, though I'd still fancy one of the bigger hitters, Italy to do it

Quote Originally Posted by AFKA5814_Hibs View Post
    I don't mind Southgate tbh. He seems like a decent bloke and not unlikeable like some of the English managers in the past. England won the World Cup when it was played in England, Football was coming home in 1996 when it was in
    ..England. This year? It's their best chance as the Semis and Final are played in England.

Given the teams who have won the Euros in recent years, Denmark, Greece and Portugal, England SHOULD fancy their chances. Maybe they will win it this year, though I'd still fancy one of the bigger hitters, Italy to do it
    England v Italy you would think would be a great final.

Denmark beat and drew England recently though so that should be interesting game. Home advantage definitely important though.

Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    England stuttered against Scotland. At Wembley.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Venue debate aside, it's hard to not see quality throughout this young England side. Aye, Ukraine are garbage and the English media will no doubt want to crown them at full time, but no mistake about it they deserve their win. Very accomplished looking young team who'll be in with a serious shout at winning this.
    Correct. I was really impressed with their disciplined performance against Germany and I thought they were a pleasure to watch tonight. Southgate deserves a lot of credit. I honestly wouldn't have a problem with them winning the thing.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    England stuttered against Scotland. At Wembley.
    Most definately dont think you will finsd any England fans say anything differently, the only team so far to give England a game. teams grow into tournaments but if it suits you to think England are crap then fair enough. Dont think anyone down south actually cares.