Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Hibs Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    No they wouldn’t.

Remember Ron Gordon’s letter/email just before the cup final?

It was just a good piece of communication that was well received as it was done well.

Why would details of a new sponsor have attracted negativity? The only reason it has is because of how it was communicated.

I know you don’t see anything wrong with the initial tweet designed to create a bit excitement but you’re clearly an intelligent level headed person.

The club has to know their audience and they should have known that putting a tweet out like they did would have produced expectations of something exciting being announced.

Hibs created the expectation of something really exciting being announced, they maybe never meant to and maybe you don’t see why but it’s clear from the reaction they did.

FWIW I’ve got absolutely no beef with the Twitter person, I think the abuse before today and today was ridiculous. I think they read the room wrong today though.
    Something really exciting?

How do you get that from "1400 - It's a good news kind of day"?

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    I rarely even go the Club’s website, never mind anywhere else.There’s just nothing about it to grab my attention.

I come here for everything Hibs related online. There will be links to anything interesting elsewhere.

I’d imagine the club would love to have as much interaction as they see on here. The fact that we’re discussing it online and that Hibs.net is so popular shows that there is demand for Hibs online.

Keeps coming back to the point that it has to be done properly.

No they wouldn’t.

Remember Ron Gordon’s letter/email just before the cup final?

It was just a good piece of communication that was well received as it was done well.

Why would details of a new sponsor have attracted negativity? The only reason it has is because of how it was communicated.

I know you don’t see anything wrong with the initial tweet designed to create a bit excitement but you’re clearly an intelligent level headed person.

The club has to know their audience and they should have known that putting a tweet out like they did would have produced expectations of something exciting being announced.

Hibs created the expectation of something really exciting being announced, they maybe never meant to and maybe you don’t see why but it’s clear from the reaction they did.

FWIW I’ve got absolutely no beef with the Twitter person, I think the abuse before today and today was ridiculous. I think they read the room wrong today though.
    Agree with this. I don't bother with Twitter so hadn't seen any of this but right now a lot of fans are hurting and, whilst some of that may be OTT, that is the nature of football. Its an emotional game and football clubs make huge sums from fans that often can't afford it spending money on tickets, merchandise etc.

It's absolutely not a massive issue, and no one deserves abuse over it, but like you they read the room wrong. As a one off its not a huge issue but people are thinking about buying season tickets and the club need to connect with fans and make it clear they understand their hurt after the final.

i clicked on a link in an e-mail from the club that took me to the page for season tickets, wasn't interested so i clicked on the "back to main site" alas it just kept returning to the season ticket page....how hard is it to check links work, seriously ?

used to be so informative with results going back a few seasons now lucky if i look at the club main site every several months

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    i clicked on a link in an e-mail from the club that took me to the page for season tickets, wasn't interested so i clicked on the "back to main site" alas it just kept retuning to the season ticket page....how hard is it to check links work, seriously ?

used to be so informative with results going back a few seasons now lucky if i look at the club main site every several months
    I suspect the last 2 times I was on the main site were to buy my last 2 season tickets.

I may venture back on if they have a complaints form as they've ruined my weekend with their tweets today.
    Mon the Hibs.

First Team Breakthrough Hibs1969's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Honestly, I can't ever remember a time where so many Hibs supporters behaved like obnoxious wee brats.

People are moaning about everything but expect Ron & sponsors to plough in dosh regardless.

It reminds me of Kevin & Perry on Harry Enfield's show but without the humour.

Horrible!
    I agree. What a total overreaction by some fans to a total non story. It seems that since the cup final Hibs can’t do or say anything right for some folks, nothing is good enough. The same punters who were complaining bitterly last year that the club was a disgrace for failing to secure a major sponsor are now greeting like bairns that the big reveal isn’t big enough or good enough. Some folks are never happy.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Something really exciting?

How do you get that from "1400 - It's a good news kind of day"?
    Because I wouldn’t expect them to tweet something like that unless it was something worth generating excitement for.

That tweet was designed to create anticipation. I don’t see why you would do that for a relatively boring story considering the current atmosphere around Hibs just now.

I get why people who don’t get excited about that kind of thing don’t see the big deal, I also get why people were expecting something more exciting and knowing what people are like I also fully expected the reaction it got.

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    I suspect the last 2 times I was on the main site were to buy my last 2 season tickets.

I may venture back on if they have a complaints form as they've ruined my weekend with their tweets today.

i'm avoiding looking at the comments on twitter, i can only imagine the venom getting spouted from some, not what decent fans want to see directed at club staff

constructive criticism is fine imo

Because I wouldn’t expect them to tweet something like that unless it was something worth generating excitement for.

That tweet was designed to create anticipation. I don’t see why you would do that for a relatively boring story considering the current atmosphere around Hibs just now.

I get why people who don’t get excited about that kind of thing don’t see the big deal, I also get why people were expecting something more exciting and knowing what people are like I also fully expected the reaction it got.
    Thing is though it's not a boring story to secure a good jersey sponsorship deal in these trying times.
    That extra money could help fund a new signing or a contract extension.
    The people who abuse the club after almost every tweet were doing it long before the Cup Final.
    These are probably the people who would have been trying to assault other Hibbies had we all been at Hampden.

Do you agree that a new main sponsor is a major announcement?

And is it not good news that they're putting hundreds of thousands of pounds into the club?

Nobody will ever convince me that there was anything wrong with today's tweets.

Quote Originally Posted by flash View Post
    Thing is though it's not a boring story to secure a good jersey sponsorship deal in these trying times.
    That extra money could help fund a new signing or a contract extension.
    The people who abuse the club after almost every tweet were doing it long before the Cup Final.
    These are probably the people who would have been trying to assault other Hibbies had we all been at Hampden.
    I think the people who abuse the club are fannies and they’re not worth bothering about. I think there’s a middle ground though that can see the club aren’t getting social media right without abusing them.

When you saw that tweet today, you knew it needed to be something good at 2pm or the Twitter person would get dogs abuse didn’t you?

I think the Twitter person had to see that as well when posting the first tweet, the fact they never shows a lack of awareness IMO.

I’m not sure if emotional intelligence applies to social media but if it does, the club doesn’t have it.

Do you agree that a new main sponsor is a major announcement?

And is it not good news that they're putting hundreds of thousands of pounds into the club?

Nobody will ever convince me that there was anything wrong with today's tweets.
    I think it was obvious the first tweet was designed to great anticipation or excitement and I think it’s obvious the second tweet wasn’t going to satisfy that excitement.

Why do you think they bothered with the first tweet? Do you not agree, whatever the purpose of it was, hasn’t worked?

Regardless of the rights and wrongs of people being idiots or brats or whatever, if that first tweet never went out, it would have been a good news story, instead the story being discussed is the Hibs Twitter person getting it wrong.

I thought new kit or shirt sponsor right away. New signing teasers are always followed up pretty quickly.

I think the people who abuse the club are fannies and they’re not worth bothering about. I think there’s a middle ground though that can see the club aren’t getting social media right without abusing them.

When you saw that tweet today, you knew it needed to be something good at 2pm or the Twitter person would get dogs abuse didn’t you?

I think the Twitter person had to see that as well when posting the first tweet, the fact they never shows a lack of awareness IMO.

I’m not sure if emotional intelligence applies to social media but if it does, the club doesn’t have it.
    First paragraph sums it up for me.

I’m not about to go and tweet that I hope the Twitter admin loses their job. Equally, there are multiple instances in the last few weeks that they’ve not helped themselves.

I thought new kit or shirt sponsor right away. New signing teasers are always followed up pretty quickly.
    Aye, but you knew if it was just going to be the sponsorship story the place would go mental didn’t you?

Think you even said it at the time.

If you knew it, I knew it and plenty other folk knew it, the Hibs Twitter person had to know it too.

This is such a close-season thread.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Aye, but you knew if it was just going to be the sponsorship story the place would go mental didn’t you?

Think you even said it at the time.

If you knew it, I knew it and plenty other folk knew it, the Hibs Twitter person had to know it too.
    I did say it because it happens literally every time Hibs tweet.
    I also predict the Tories will remain in power regardless of how corrupt they are.
    I hate both of these facts but I know they are going to happen.

I think it was obvious the first tweet was designed to great anticipation or excitement and I think it’s obvious the second tweet wasn’t going to satisfy that excitement.

Why do you think they bothered with the first tweet? Do you not agree, whatever the purpose of it was, hasn’t worked?

Regardless of the rights and wrongs of people being idiots or brats or whatever, if that first tweet never went out, it would have been a good news story, instead the story being discussed is the Hibs Twitter person getting it wrong.
    The first tweet was to say that there would be some good news announced at 2.00pm.

I don't understand why you say it didn't work. There was a fair bit of good humoured banter on 2-3 different threads on here about what the announcement might be.

It worked.

The fact that a bunch of no marks can't behave themselves doesn't change that.

The first tweet was to say that there would be some good news announced at 2.00pm.

I don't understand why you say it didn't work. There was a fair bit of good humoured banter on 2-3 different threads on here about what the announcement might be.

It worked.

The fact that a bunch of no marks can't behave themselves doesn't change that.
    Aye, but I’m no talking about them, keep up man 😂

Every Hibs fan I know across 2 group chats were underwhelmed when the announcement at 2pm came. To my knowledge not one of them abused anyone at the club but the perception was one of disappointment as they thought something better was coming.

Doing a tweet to create anticipation for that announcement hasn’t worked, if you think it has you’re off yer heid IMO.

@hibs.net private member CapitalGreen's Avatar

Nobody will ever convince me that there was anything wrong with anything Hibs have done ever.
    There you go, fixed that for you.

Quote Originally Posted by CapitalGreen View Post
    There you go, fixed that for you.
    Funny guy!

Who knew the Hibs support was rammed full of e-communication strategy experts who simultaneously have enough time on their hands to follow Hibs twitter feed minute by minute.

It's good news, of which there has been precious little on the commercial side of late.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Who knew the Hibs support was rammed full of e-communication strategy experts who simultaneously have enough time on their hands to follow Hibs twitter feed minute by minute.

It's good news, of which there has been precious little on the commercial side of late.
    First part of that is a daft post.

You don’t need to be an expert to know they got it wrong. That’s the point, it’s the public they are trying to engage with, not e-communication strategy experts, the public are clearly saying they got it wrong, hence all the debate around it.

FWIW you maybe missed it but if you look up on this thread a bit you will see there actually is a professional in this field saying they got it wrong. Sorry, can’t remember the name of the poster.

Your last sentence is spot on, that’s why it’s annoying the social media person misjudged the earlier tweet.

Not sure why the shirt reveal wasn’t done on the same day. Could’ve done a more exciting reveal of the sponsor as well. Can only hope a signing is in the pipeline so they can model the kit.

Imagine the scenes if the reveal on the kit was without a player wearing it and it was just revealed piece by piece from socks, to shorts to shirt. Big news at 12…big news at 2…huge news at 4. Add to that Aberdeen revealing Griffiths in their new kit (which is better than ours) and it will be utter pandemonium.

Exactly. We are pandering to absolute morons with this one.

It was good news, nothing wrong with a single tweet earlier in the day suggesting good news was to follow.

There was no similarity at all to any previous way we have teased a signing or contract renewal.

Quote Originally Posted by madhatter View Post
    Not sure why the shirt reveal wasn’t done on the same day. Could’ve done a more exciting reveal of the sponsor as well. Can only hope a signing is in the pipeline so they can model the kit.

Imagine the scenes if the reveal on the kit was without a player wearing it and it was just revealed piece by piece from socks, to shorts to shirt. Big news at 12…big news at 2…huge news at 4. Add to that Aberdeen revealing Griffiths in their new kit (which is better than ours) and it will be utter pandemonium.
    I don’t think a new player being revealed with a new kit has ever happened. Doesn’t stop it being expected every time it seems.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I don’t think a new player being revealed with a new kit has ever happened. Doesn’t stop it being expected every time it seems.
    There was talk of the new kit being revealed soon actually, so at least we'll get the new signing at that point.

@hibs.net private member stantonhibby's Avatar
    First part of that is a daft post.

You don’t need to be an expert to know they got it wrong. That’s the point, it’s the public they are trying to engage with, not e-communication strategy experts, the public are clearly saying they got it wrong, hence all the debate around it.

FWIW you maybe missed it but if you look up on this thread a bit you will see there actually is a professional in this field saying they got it wrong. Sorry, can’t remember the name of the poster.

Your last sentence is spot on, that’s why it’s annoying the social media person misjudged the earlier tweet.
    What are you basing ' the public clearly saying they got it wrong' on? The whinging halfwits on twitter and a few posters on here?

My guess is that most rational adults would have seen a tweet saying good news at 2pm.....and funnily enough there was good news.

If folk were expecting earth shattering transfer news or something then more fool them.

Mountains and molehills spring to mind.

If you’re genuinely annoyed / disappointed that the club put out *one* tweet saying there’d be good news at 2pm, then announced a new sponsor, then honestly, I don’t know what to tell you.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    You are missing the point entirely. It isn’t about expecting a player to be modelling it. It’s expecting the kit reveal to be a big thing now because sponsor and kit announcements have been staggered. That’s the obvious intention of these teases so outside of the abuse on Twitter I see no issue with fans raising expectations.

Also, fyi based on the size of our fan base almost every action or comment ever made by an individual can be filed in the “expected every time it seems” category. The expectation of a player revealing the kit has been, as expected, shot down by you. It seems you would do this each time it happens.