View Poll Results: Should Jack Ross remain in charge or should he be sacked?

337. You may not vote on this poll
  • I don't want him sacked

216 64.09%
  • I want him sacked

38 11.28%
  • I don't want him sacked, but wouldn't be overly bothered if he were to leave

79 23.44%
  • I want him sacked, but wouldn't be overly bothered if he was to remain in charge

4 1.19%
Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    Finish 3rd in the league and there's a poll asking if he should be sacked.

A section of our support have went mad.
    Have you read the poll or looked at the results of it?

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by H18 SFR View Post
    Amount of doubters? 85% want him in post.

This puts the issue to bed for me.
    Your arithmetic is slightly out on this one.

40% either want him out or wouldn't care much if he were to leave.

Chances are Ross will be gone by the end of October next season.

Quote Originally Posted by Partyraiser View Post
    Theres no way we should be thinking about sacking a manager whos just taken us to our best league position in 15 years, its mental. Saturday was awful and I concede it's not the first time it's happened under Ross but he needs to be given the opportunity to build on the foundations laid this season. If offered 3rd place, 2 semis and a final at the start of the season I'd have taken it and been delighted
    This. Hearts fans hounded out Neilson and that started a decline which led them to the Championship. Ross has got us the results to put us in a very strong position and it give us the opportunity to improve further. The style hasn't been great at time and there have been some very disappointing results but at the end of the day we had out best finish in years.

Fair enough if we finished 9th and lost the cup final I'd like to see him replaced but he is quite clearly doing something right if we finished 3rd and made 2 semis and a final under him.

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    Speaking with a mate a wee while ago and he raised a reasonable point.

Going back years ago visits to Hampden were few and far between but say since 2012 they have been frequent and averaged easily over one a season.

Does anyone think that because it is more regular fans are that bit more impatient for success? Familiarity breeds contempt kind of idea.

I have no gripe with the poll and actually think it is a good thing and it will be interesting to compare it to the one which I think was after the League Cup semi.

One last thought, is it the younger people that have nothing but regular visits to Hampden that are more keen to have him removed?
    That's a very good point, I'd imagine it is mainly the younger generation in the get him out camp.

This topic is only up for debate because the ones that want him out are doing the most shouting.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    Jack Ross hasn't got it in him to win a trophy, beat either of the old firm or even provide football that's even close to entertaining. But yeah, it's great to see our fans love being mediocre.
    Agreed. I hate our mediocre (third placed) finish in the league, our mediocre (third best) games won statistic, our mediocre (third best) games lost statistic, our mediocre (third best) goal difference..

I hate our mediocre front 3 that have scored 36 goals between them.

I hate our mediocre 20,000 seat stadium and our mediocre training center.

I hate our mediocre owner with big (probably mediocre) plans for us.

We were 1 game away from winning the Scottish cup for the second time in 5 years. We played horrific, I think the tactics were wrong and I blame Ross for that, do I want him gone on the back of it? No.

We’ve just finished third for the second time in my life and people are acting like we’re a team that’s just been relegated.

So a fair few thus far would want to sack the manager who has just led us to our highest placed finish in 16 years, highest season win percentage since the 70s, most away wins ever in the top flight and to Hampden three times?

Considering some of the awful seasons I've witnessed over the last 30 odd years of supporting Hibs I find it baffling this is even being proposed.

Give the guy a chance to at least try and build on what has, overall, been a good season!

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve20 View Post
    Jack Ross hasn't got it in him to win a trophy, beat either of the old firm or even provide football that's even close to entertaining. But yeah, it's great to see our fans love being mediocre.
    The exact opposite actually. Which is why I want to keep the manager that took us to 3rd for the first time in 16years and our first final in 5 years.

A bit like the referendum take it or leave it. Poor show. By the way some cant even use the poll so not a true reflection. Still doubt. How about a poll , do you like JRs brand of football?

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by ahibby View Post
    A bit like the referendum take it or leave it. Poor show. By the way some cant even use the poll so not a true reflection. Still doubt. How about a poll , do you like JRs brand of football?
    How about we accept that we’ve lost and the moment is gone now (and that doesn’t mean that we have to be happy about it) rather than flooding the site with poll after poll?

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Quote Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw View Post
    The exact opposite actually. Which is why I want to keep the manager that took us to 3rd for the first time in 16years and our first final in 5 years.

In isolation looks alright but ignores the other teams situations this year compared to other years snd standard of football on display.

Quote Originally Posted by GRA View Post
    So a fair few thus far would want to sack the manager who has just led us to our highest placed finish in 16 years, highest season win percentage since the 70s, most away wins ever in the top flight and to Hampden three times?

Considering some of the awful seasons I've witnessed over the last 30 odd years of supporting Hibs I find it baffling this is even being proposed.

Give the guy a chance to at least try and build on what has, overall, been a good season!
    Four times. Three semi-finals and a final.

You're spot on though. No Hibs owner in their right mind would even consider sacking a manager with a record which, on paper, is very good indeed - and one which most other clubs would bite your hand off for. It's the gloom and frustration caused by Saturday's shocking no-show at Hampden, coupled with the belief that we should have done better in the other Hampden games which is causing fans to vote with their heart rather than their head.

Ross has comfortably earned himself another season at least.

Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    How about we accept that we’ve lost and the moment is gone now (and that doesn’t mean that we have to be happy about it) rather than flooding the site with poll after poll?
    I didnt want another poll. It was rhetorical.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby

The Jack Ross Poll

In isolation looks alright but ignores the other teams situations this year compared to other years snd standard of football on display.
    Does it? Or do we give some leeway for the reduction in staff at Hibs too, no fans etc in the middle of a pandemic.

End of the day we vastly improved our points tally. A points tally that in 17 of the last 20 years was more than the team in 4th place.

It’s a miracle we managed to avoid whatever situation every other team in the league faced except us.

Hes got to go.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Aye, a bit like that except there are four quite distinct options on offer.

Poll seems like a sensible idea to me. An interesting gauge of the Hibs.Net users feelings and it's showing a decent majority want Ross to continue.

I didnt want another poll. It was rhetorical.
    I just wish that some on here would get the delusion that grandeur out of our head that we should be winning any non OF cup final as it would seem.

We played a very good team, they stifled us completely and we didn’t play well. There have been plenty bright spots in the season to look back on too.

Anyone voting for “Ross out” simply doesn’t understand football. I can’t respect that opinion whatsoever.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

Anyone voting for “Ross out” simply doesn’t understand football. I can’t respect that opinion whatsoever.
    I can respect it, some folk can’t take to him and think we can do better, that’s fine.

I can’t respect the hyperbolic pish that gets thrown around by some folk that poke their heads out once every few months and act like we’re the worst team in the league.

Quite happy for him to stay for now as we did well to finish 3rd but next season's a big one for him after our Hampden nightmares this season.

We need some big performances and results in the derbies as well.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Is there already a post on Kickback highlighting this thread? It's just inviting Yam fuddery.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

Out of interest, what is it that’s made you draw your final conclusion? You genuinely think he’s more likely to not be our manager come November?

I just wish that some on here would get the delusion that grandeur out of our head that we should be winning any non OF cup final as it would seem.

We played a very good team, they stifled us completely and we didn’t play well. There have been plenty bright spots in the season to look back on too.

Thats your opinion how would you feel if others said they dont respect it?

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    This is basically a poll to find out if the majority of hibs fans are deluded idiots. Another rubbish thread.

Being of the same opinion, i wouldn't care, because the opposing opinion is so utterly absurd and self defeating.

We know that Jack reads the forum too. Well done everyone.

Couldn’t care less, if they think a manager who has done more good than bad for us should be fired then their opinion is of no value to me.

Quote Originally Posted by superfurryhibby View Post

I see it has dropped from 85% to 84% who don't want him sacked either way so you are indeed correct, my numbers are wrong!

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    Quite happy for him to stay for now as we did well to finish 3rd but next season's a big one for him after our Hampden nightmares this season.

We need some big performances and results in the derbies as well.
    This is reasonable skepticism IMO. No one, i think, who doesn't want him sacked, also thinks he's not got something to prove.

Quote Originally Posted by AgentDaleCooper View Post
    Being of the same opinion, i wouldn't care, because the opposing opinion is so utterly absurd and self defeating.
    Thats your opinion. Conclusions without premise are invalid arguements.