Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Allez Hibs View Post
    Not really

The game on Monday night is a tough game for us but one we should win.

Given how this season has gone and where we are in the league, it would be unacceptable to lose it.
    Not really
    It's never been unacceptable for any side to lose a tough game away from home
    It would be disappointing and no doubt piss me off but if QOTS play well and we play well and lose the match then that's fitbaw

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

It still wouldn't be acceptable though and big questions would be asked.
    But you have said it's a tough game? What questions would be asked for losing a tough game? If you think losing is unacceptable go support Man Utd or Man City

Quote Originally Posted by 147lothian View Post
    If you think losing is unacceptable go support Man Utd or Man City
    What does that even mean?

In what way would losing to Queen of the South ever be acceptable for Hibs?

it's a one-off cup game anything can happen, look how close heartz came to beating Brora

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    it's a one-off cup game anything can happen, look how close heartz came to beating Brora
    ....... and QOS in the league for that matter.

Anyone else’s programme arrived today?

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    ....... and QOS in the league for that matter.

or even Arbroath ;)

I can imagine the seethe on kickback if we go down there and pump them 3-0 and Stranraer beat Brora. The pressure on replay would be cranked up to 11.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I can imagine the seethe on kickback if we go down there and pump them 3-0 and Stranraer beat Brora. The pressure on replay would be cranked up to 11.
    LB, I’ll settle for the Hibs 3-0 victory

Watched QOS v Hearts and was impressed with QOS and the speed they counter attacked with.

They have a few good players on loan and wasn’t surprised they beat Hearts at PBS.

Expecting a tough game - like Alloa won’t be much in it - will be pretty annoyed if we lose though and would be the 3rd cup defeat in just over 6 months for Jack Ross!

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    LB, I’ll settle for the Hibs 3-0 victory
    Me too.

United we stand here....

😲 Not really

The game on Monday night is a tough game for us but one we should win.

Given how this season has gone (manner of the two semi final defeats) and where we are in the league, it would be unacceptable to lose it.
    If we lost, what will you not accept? I've seen many of these unacceptable games where we've lost them, and i'm not quite sure what unaccepting it did?

Your not having a good day are you, you contradict yourself by saying it's a difficult game but unacceptable to lose, anything can happen in one off cup games, all it would mean IF we lost it is that we lost a one off cup game. I would be pissed off but **** happen's.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    I think I know what he means and sort of agree.

As an individual game it is a tricky game. Plenty about it that is awkward and it is very "loseable".

That doesn't mean we should be losing it. We should be winning it, whichever way it happens.

As for accepting it - we're all agreed that third place in the league would be a great outcome and most would agree that Ross should not be under pressure based on league results and our current standing there.

What if we lose this game? We've been knocked out of 2 Scottish cups this season by lower league opposition and from the other cup at a time when we were hot favourites to win the trophy. None of that is acceptable. It's almost anti-Stubbs, whose cup performances masked some questionable league stuff at times.

So it's a tough game we've got no divine right to win. With a bit of context though, any loss is really unacceptable. In terms of what you do about it, what can you do in the current climate?

I tell you what it would do though. It would heap pressure on our manager, and probably rightly so, irrespective of how hard a place Palmerston might be to go.

Of course we expect to progress, but this is definitely not an easy fixture. QOS will be right up for it - as would any lower league side drawing Hibs in the cup. But Hibs should also be right up for it - as they should always be for any cup tie, because this is the first step of 5 towards one of the only two trophies we have a realistic chance of winning year on year. And with the memory of two cup semi exits still relatively fresh I would expect nobody in a Hibs shirt to be short of motivation for this one.

We of course have a far bigger budget and a squad that reflects that with plenty quality on paper compared to QOS - as ever with football though, Hibs still have to prove that on the day - and I think we will - 2-1.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnMcM View Post
    After all the laughs we’ve had at the expense of our pink chums these past few days, imagine what it would be like over there and on here if we were to lose this one.
    I’m so sorry folks. I had no idea my tongue in cheek post above would set you at each other’s throats. Sorry

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    I’m so sorry folks. I had no idea my tongue in cheek post above would set you at each other’s throats. Sorry
    It was a fair point and one worth making imo.

I'm calling it as a must win.

I'm calling it a big game, but only if we lose.

Otherwise it doesn't count.
    Mature, sensible signature required for responsible position. Good prospects for the right candidate. Apply within.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    It was a fair point and one worth making imo.
    Thanks, a wee bit counselling always helps

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    So are we supporting Celtic and Rangers in their Scottish cup games, given that them winning it could transform our club and finances? Or do we want them knocked out on the off chance that we could win it ourselves?

If we lost, what will you not accept? I've seen many of these unacceptable games where we've lost them, and i'm not quite sure what unaccepting it did?
    I won't accept it either if we get beat.
    I will go straight to bed fur a gid auld greet! Because that's what you do when you don't accept hibs losing.

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Pagan Hibernia View Post
    So are we supporting Celtic and Rangers in their Scottish cup games, given that them winning it could transform our club and finances? Or do we want them knocked out on the off chance that we could win it ourselves?
    Quite happy to play Rangers or Celtic in the final.

Normally I would want to see a team outwith Rangers, Celtic or Hearts winning it but not this season if we can finish third.

Must be due a Celtic v Rangers final, not been one since 2002. Longest without one in my living memory.

Thanks, a wee bit counselling always helps

How voz your relationship wiz your muzzer?

And wiz she a Jambo?

If you don't accept it, then the decision is apparently reversed by the SFA.

@hibs.net private member Lancs Harp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    Quite happy to play Rangers or Celtic in the final.

Normally I would want to see a team outwith Rangers, Celtic or Hearts winning it but not this season if we can finish third.

Must be due a Celtic v Rangers final, not been one since 2002. Longest without one in my living memory.
    Considering how long the Scottish Cup has been played for and the dominance of the OF in Scotland there have been surprisingly few OF Scottish Cup finals IMO. Think its 14 (did look it up but it was awhile ago) and there has never been consecutive OF finals.

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Lancs Harp View Post
    Considering how long the Scottish Cup has been played for and the dominance of the OF in Scotland there have been surprisingly few OF Scottish Cup finals IMO. Think its 14 (did look it up but it was awhile ago) and there has never been consecutive OF finals.
    it is surprising, especially as they never seem to get drawn against each other in the early rounds. Compare that to us and hearts, 4 times in the last decade!

Quote Originally Posted by StockholmHibs View Post
    I won't accept it either if we get beat.
    I will go straight to bed fur a gid auld greet! Because that's what you do when you don't accept hibs losing.
    FFS man up. 😁

Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    What big questions would be asked?
    Why oh why?

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    Obviously want us to win & think we will. Have very little interest in the cup this year & the only focus I have is us getting 3rd spot, everything else is a distraction.