Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
    https://www.britishairways.com/en-gb...-world/bamagic

It's a bit schmaltzy and corporate, but some of the stories on here would bring a tear to a glass eye.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/enterta...mpression=true

One that the doom and gloom era need to read. Some pretty good links in the story as well.

https://megaphone.upworthy.com/p/bra...quaden-bullied

Social media is an absolute nest of vipers sometimes, but here's when it can do some real good.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    https://megaphone.upworthy.com/p/bra...quaden-bullied

Social media is an absolute nest of vipers sometimes, but here's when it can do some real good.
    Sometimes I think I'm emotionally broken and nothing much gets to me but that story broke my heart, lots of WWE superstars are wanting to take him to wrestlemania too, hope he has a ball

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    This is a brilliant story. The likes of Bill Gates and Warren Buffet talk a good game but this guy is an absolutely incredible role model.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar

Having just moved into a new house last month I’m now moving jobs. All at the ripe old age of .....well fairly Auld. Instead of commuting along the bypass each day the new job is less that 5 miles up the road. Less hours although constant nights. Monday to Friday and the best bit a considerable raise in salary to go with the small fortune I’ll save in transport costs. There’s life in the old dog yet.😎

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Having just moved into a new house last month I’m now moving jobs. All at the ripe old age of .....well fairly Auld. Instead of commuting along the bypass each day the new job is less that 5 miles up the road. Less hours although constant nights. Monday to Friday and the best bit a considerable raise in salary to go with the small fortune I’ll save in transport costs. There’s life in the old dog yet.😎
    Congrats, A
    This is how it feels

Good piece in The Times about Lou Macari who is doing good work with the homeless in Stoke. He seems like a genuine person.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Hark! A Christmas Angel

I have a huge admiration for the kind and selfless lady who spends her Christmas each year making sure those less fortunate are fed.

God bless you Mo, you are a beautiful human being.

https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/...eGJ5OGpDVczvX4
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by stu in nottingham; 25-12-2020 at 01:14 PM.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Congrats, A
    Cheers JC

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Smashing tune there!

I don't understand the advert at the end. What's available from 12 March?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Smashing tune there!

I don't understand the advert at the end. What's available from 12 March?
    It'll be available to download with the proceeds going to Doddie Weir's charity. I'll post the link when I get it.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Decent tune, hope it's a great success.

I've always wondered how these online collaborations work, every video software I've ever used has always had a slight delay which must make the rhythm timing difficult. I've recorded 3 albums on multitrack recording equipment in the studio and some tunes are immensely difficult to get the timing right on the different tracks, it must be a nightmare online.
    Last edited by Hibrandenburg; 10-03-2021 at 06:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Decent tune, hope it's a great success.

I've always wondered how these online collaborations work, every video software I've ever used has always had a slight delay which must make the rhythm timing difficult. I've recorded 3 albums on multitrack recording equipment in the studio and some tunes are immensely difficult to get the timing right on the different tracks, it must be a nightmare online.
    They're all recorded individually, to a click track and probably in this case to a recording of Bruce & Anna (fiddle & guitar) playing the tune. Then it's all lumped together and mixed at the end.

My mate's son has made quite a name for himself doing stuff like this during lockdown.

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp...YdgKnLKEo76KxM

They're all recorded individually, to a click track and probably in this case to a recording of Bruce & Anna (fiddle & guitar) playing the tune. Then it's all lumped together and mixed at the end.

My mate's son has made quite a name for himself doing stuff like this during lockdown.

That makes sense, thanks. Tunes in the hoose is a great idea, just gave it a wee watch on YouTube, I'll have a closer look later.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    That makes sense, thanks. Tunes in the hoose is a great idea, just gave it a wee watch on YouTube, I'll have a closer look later.
    Even though it's well played I can only take the music in small doses, however the idea and the spirit behind it are excellent.

Didn't want to say that but same here.

We usually get invited to a Folks Festival near Wolfsburg and we get accommodated in a farmyard, 40 folks musicians playing various versions of diddly diddly dee for hours on end is enough to drive you insane.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

Check out Anna Massies Black isle correspondent on YouTube

https://youtu.be/7_K41Ayw5cA
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Check out Anna Massies Black isle correspondent on YouTube

https://youtu.be/7_K41Ayw5cA
    Great humour.

Some might suggest that this is simply cynical marketing, but the idea is excellent.

https://www.scotsman.com/read-this/h...y-mean-3168901

'Happy to Chat' badges have become permanent for Asda delivery drivers - this is what they mean

Asda has announced that its Happy to Chat initiative has been extended into a permanent feature for delivery drivers.

Delivery drivers have the option to wear a badge on their uniform, and it allows customers to know that they’re happy to have a chat with them whilst their shopping is being delivered.

‘Positive response from customers’
    Vice President of Online Grocery at Asda, Simon Gregg, said: “As Covid restrictions begin to lift but many still feel the impact of the last year without regular contact with friends and family, it felt right to make our Happy to Chat badgers a permanent fixture to our drivers’ uniforms.

“We’re incredibly proud of all the work they do - and this badge is a symbol of their continued friendly and approachable service which can make such a difference to those who don’t have much contact with others.”

Delivery driver, Geoff Norris, said: “We’ve had such a positive response from customers since we introduced the badges, you can tell that even a five minute chat with someone whilst you’re delivering their shopping can have such a positive impact on their day.”

‘Challenging time for those experiencing loneliness’
    The badges were originally launched at the end of November 2020 and, at the time, Anna-Maree Shaw, CCO of Asda, said: “It’s a challenging time for everyone, especially those experiencing loneliness.

“While Asda colleagues have always made an effort to have a quick chat and raise a smile, we want to make sure that whether it’s in our stores, at the doorstep or in the community - we’re here for customers.”

Vice President of Online Grocery at Asda, Simon Gregg, added: “We’ve always been proud to have some of the friendliest drivers here at Asda, and never more so than this year.

“The Happy to Chat badges are a symbol of the great work they do - delivering a little kindness along with their groceries to someone who may be lonely or isolated.”

The initiative had been developed following a study which showed that almost a quarter of people (23 per cent) were only interacting with someone else once a week - many of whom were delivery drivers.

One in four people also said that they looked forward to seeing the drivers just so that they could have someone to talk to.

According to research done by the Royal Voluntary Service last year, 13 per cent of people said they were experiencing loneliness, with over a third (39 per cent) unable to see friends and family, and a quarter (25 per cent) left without support nearby.

The badges were designed for the 42 per cent of people who said that they shy away from starting a conversation because they don’t want to be a burden, and the 25 per cent of people who would be happy to start a conversation if they knew the other person was happy to talk as well.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Nice 👍

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    You can just imagine how chuffed the bairn was. What a nice touch from an amazing man.

This is how it feels