Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
This could equally fall into the standard Pet Peeves but our wee block of flats where I live have been an ice rink recently - we have two flats in our block of six occupied by elderly people and the path directly outside is a slope down to a car park - also on a slope - where the communal bins are. I've been making it my job each morning to head to the grit bin and grit around the bins and up the path so they can head out, walk their dogs and not be in danger. I've even gritted the pavement around the grit bin so people can use it safely if they need to.

Across the car park there's another block of six flats that have a similar path that leads up to the main road and bus stop. This morning when I was out doing my thing a mother of three kids who communicate entirely in screaming, she's only ever really seen wearing a dressing down, grass out the front overgrown and toys strewn all over the place had a go whilst hanging out of their window saying "Aye, dinnae see you gritting over at our path do we" in her trademark bellow. After pointing out that I don't work for the council and we have elderly people in our block, she bellows back "yeah but I have to go to the shops and the paths a ****ing danger and you're too ****ing lazy to do it".

I'm not one to swear at people at all but just had to reply "What's stopping you from getting off your arse and doing it then?" to get another mouthful back. Popped out to the bins earlier and seen that nobody's thought of gritting it there.

I can understand having a go at the council - though I can imagine that this year has been more difficult to plan things as they normally would - but spent the day staggered about some peoples laziness and lack of gratefulness.
I'm not sure I could be so eloquent and polite given the circumstances.
Unsure if it's the isolation, but I've noticed a lot of folk not clearing the paths outside their properties around the Corstorphine area.
It used to be a pride thing, make sure the snow was cleared before it was compacted and then grit the path, but this year has been really poor.
I was out early on the 27th, clearing the snow off the path on my side of the street, I cleared outside 5 houses before I popped in for a cup of tea. I had barely took my boots off when the door went, a neighbour across the way asked if I was going to do their side.
I could only utter 'fraid not before closing the door. I was fuming because the neighbour has obviously been watching me and came across in the hope I'd carry on.
I've since heard she's pee'd & moaned and even questioned my "community spirit"???