Page 651 of 2118 FirstFirst ... 15155160164164965065165265366170175111511651 ... LastLast
Results 19,501 to 19,530 of 63517

Thread: Coronavirus

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    I agree , we are probably looking at nationwide restrictions now. I can’t help but feel we had a chance to avoid that.
    Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    Restrictions simply weren’t restrictive enough IMO.
    I fully agree with both points. The cases in Aberdeen came down rapidly when the more hardline rules came in, I can’t understand why the same thing wasn’t done in the west when their numbers started to go up.

The difficulty now is that we’re seeing increasing numbers of people who are becoming lax about social distancing and increasing numbers who just don’t give a monkeys about it so I suspect there will be pretty widespread numbers of the public who’ll simply not bother adhering to any changes that are made now anyway.

The only thing that will make a difference bar a vaccine is another full lockdown, which isn’t going to happen.
    Last edited by Barney McGrew; 19-09-2020 at 02:53 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    It was in reference to the post I quoted which said they weren't in favour of allowing the virus to rip through society to create herd immunity. All I was getting at was that we don't even know if herd immunity is a thing as we don't know how long a person is immune for after they get infected. It doesn't appear to be for life.

If we can't achieve herd immunity and we happen to never find a vaccine (despite the promising signs there's still no certainties on this) then what do we do? Restricting the daily lives of billions of people when we don't know if there is going to be a permanent cure isn't sustainable.

We can't keep people locked up forever, unfortunately the virus has happened and by all means do everything possible to protect the most vulnerable, hopefully we do a better job of that this time than we did six months ago, but there is only so much you can do without a vaccine or a magic cure.
    That is what I thought you meant and I agree, we dont know if herd immunity is going to be something we can ever get to.

While I agree that the current approach of restrictions has other implications, at this stage I dont see any real viable options. Doing nothing is a non starter and we have seen that people are breaching guidelines which is helping the spread. Maybe influenced by Dominic Cummings approach to the guidelines.

I think the next few weeks are a really challenging time and we need strong leadership and good decision making. Something that I think has been lacking in both the UK and Scottish government

Quote Originally Posted by Barney McGrew View Post
    I fully agree with both points. The cases in Aberdeen came down rapidly when the more hardline rules came in, I can’t understand why the same thing wasn’t done in the west when their numbers started to go up.
    Nicola feared upsetting her voters base !

@hibs.net private member Barney McGrew's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Skol View Post
    Nicola feared upsetting her voters base !

Shes going to have to upset a lot more of them if she wants to get back on top of the spread now.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    if we go into another 2 week lockdown, it will slow it down but then wait a few weeks and it will likely just start right back up again, do we lock down for 2 weeks every couple of months or so?

The likes of Edinburgh and Glasgow have far too many people coming in from outwith more so than Aberdeen, that can easily start it happening all over again

glad I'm not in charge of all this that's for sure

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    To be honest, I wouldn't be too bothered about another tight lockdown. I doubt it would be the full closure of everything but essential shops but strict numbers in shops which is not happening now, a restriction on numbers meeting as is happening. That sort of thing.

But then I'm happy with my own company, and I'm retired. Since March I have done 4 large supermarket shops, due to do one next week, I have been to 2 cafes and 1 pub, in that time I have met 2 relatives and less than 10 friends. You can keep in touch in other ways.

I have kept busy with gardening and other things around the house.

Am I typical? Definitely not, but I think people are worried unnecessarily.
    Last edited by Moulin Yarns; 19-09-2020 at 03:54 PM.

@hibs.net private member AugustaHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    To be honest, I wouldn't be too bothered about another tight lockdown. I doubt it would be the full closure of everything but essential shops but strict numbers in shops which is not happening now, a restriction on numbers meeting as is happening. That sort of thing.

But then I'm happy with my own company, and I'm retired. Since March I have done 4 large supermarket shops, due to do one next week, I have been to 2 cafes and 1 pub, in that time I have met 2 relatives and less than 10 friends. You can keep in touch in other ways.

Worried unnecessarily? Quite easy to say when you’re retired imo.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by DiscoDoidge View Post
    Worried unnecessarily? Quite easy to say when you’re retired imo.
    What level of lockdown do you expect?
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

That's great for you, but the majority of the population couldn't live like that; people aren't "worrying unnecessarily" about the effect another lockdown would have on their lives, jobs, and those of their friends and families - not to mention the country generally.

If you're joking, I think you need to make it more obvious...

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    What level of lockdown do you expect?
    I think we will get a lockdown which arrests things to an extent but come January, we will face a third wave - mixture of weather and climate, and people naturally coming together because of Christmas and New Year, plus the annual process of hospitals trying to free up capacity for the ‘normal’ winter illnesses by discharging people more promptly. Chuck in inadequate provision for social care and it is all looking very predictable. Hopefully we avoid the worst-case scenario.

I am like you to an extent, in not being concerned about a second lockdown. As things stand I can work relatively easily from home, I have garden space to chill out in, and a Sky box full of stuff I was always too busy to watch and a bookshelf with many, many books I never got round to reading

Also been the first year in the new house of planting and sowing, and observing the wildlife. I am a changed man!

Anyways, I won’t protest about a new lockdown, I genuinely don’t anticipate being asked to go to an office before spring next year, but if the broadband gets disrupted I will be out there with the face mask and the petrol bombs!
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

I find the whole 10pm curfew on pubs a bit strange if the suggestion is transmission is more of an issue in the home setting.

At 10pm if a couple of groups are kicked onto the street is the expectation people will go home and straight to bed? I would think it's far more likely they will pile back to a flat or house and carry on the sesh there, quite possibly as part of a bigger group. If they are breaking the rules in a home setting already then I can't see why a curfew would make any difference, all it does is remove people from a controlled environment and place them in one which is to all intents and purposes uncontrolled.

On a broader level I may be being totally pessimistic but I think the genie is out the bottle with regards to socialising now. I would find it hard to explain to a 16 year old the logic as to why they can see their mates at school all day, can see them at football training and so on but can't see them in the park on a Friday night so I don't envy parents of teenagers their task in the coming weeks. I just don't envisage a situation in which you get a majority of people complying with the rules around visiting each other in the way they did under the previous lockdown. I understand that it can easily be labelled as a selfish mentality but I can see why people may be tempted to ask 'what about me, what about my job, what about my mental health, what about my friendships, what about my education'. Dismissing that because it doesn't apply to you or isn't your primary concern is as much of an 'I'm alright Jack' mentality as asking the questions.

It's a really difficult situation we are in and I fear the next few weeks and months are going to get messy as people increasingly split into factions around the issue.

I find the whole 10pm curfew on pubs a bit strange if the suggestion is transmission is more of an issue in the home setting.

At 10pm if a couple of groups are kicked onto the street is the expectation people will go home and straight to bed? I would think it's far more likely they will pile back to a flat or house and carry on the sesh there, quite possibly as part of a bigger group. If they are breaking the rules in a home setting already then I can't see why a curfew would make any difference, all it does is remove people from a controlled environment and place them in one which is to all intents and purposes uncontrolled.

On a broader level I may be being totally pessimistic but I think the genie is out the bottle with regards to socialising now. I would find it hard to explain to a 16 year old the logic as to why they can see their mates at school all day, can see them at football training and so on but can't see them in the park on a Friday night so I don't envy parents of teenagers their task in the coming weeks. I just don't envisage a situation in which you get a majority of people complying with the rules around visiting each other in the way they did under the previous lockdown. I understand that it can easily be labelled as a selfish mentality but I can see why people may be tempted to ask 'what about me, what about my job, what about my mental health, what about my friendships, what about my education'. Dismissing that because it doesn't apply to you or isn't your primary concern is as much of an 'I'm alright Jack' mentality as asking the questions.

It's a really difficult situation we are in and I fear the next few weeks and months are going to get messy as people increasingly split into factions around the issue.
    It feels like they are trying to balance keeping the hospitality sector open , as well as bring some restrictions in....doesn’t feel like it will reduce infections...can understand it’s a difficult balance to manage...

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar

It is a tough one. I have a 15 year old and we've had this discussion many a time over the last few weeks. I'm quite lucky in that my teenager is quite a homebody and doesn't really enjoy spending time hanging around parks in big groups but he still can't get his head around why he can be in school all day with his friends but he's not allowed two friends over after school.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    They cancel kids football again and I will be joining the anti-mask wearing loons and getting prepared to storm holyrood. Same goes for the schools.

4422 cases and 27 deaths registered in the UK today.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    They cancel kids football again and I will be joining the anti-mask wearing loons and getting prepared to storm holyrood. Same goes for the schools.

Kids season due to start in two weeks, can you really in all honestly say you think it can be done safely with the nonexistent resources that we have at our disposal? I’ve got the wee man training every day at the moment to get him prepared but I can’t see it being possible when you look at the spike in cases. I doubt this sunny long weekend with the bank holiday is going to help matters. Virtually Every ****er I know is away camping or staying at a hotel this weekend. Tuesday will see new restrictions and I think Nicola will do a runner with the baw.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    https://twitter.com/itosettiMD_MBA/s...134560768?s=19

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Kids season due to start in two weeks, can you really in all honestly say you think it can be done safely with the nonexistent resources that we have at our disposal? I’ve got the wee man training every day at the moment to get him prepared but I can’t see it being possible when you look at the spike in cases. I doubt this sunny long weekend with the bank holiday is going to help matters. Virtually Every ****er I know is away camping or staying at a hotel this weekend. Tuesday will see new restrictions and I think Nicola will do a runner with the baw.
    There is very little evidence of kids causing outbreaks. Kids can get it but let’s face it, it’s adults who are transmitting the virus.

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    https://twitter.com/itosettiMD_MBA/s...134560768?s=19

150'000 people in Sweden now have had chronic covid-19 symptoms for more than 8 weeks (source: novus). That is approx 15% of those who were infected, estimating a million of infections with ifr 0.6% from almost 6000 deaths.Can Europe afford an army of people with chronic disease?

Tweet reply to the original tweet

I kept saying since months that Sweden may have issues and that COVID causes permanent damage to lungs and organs. One doesnt need more than to believe the thousands of reports about it. The world is not suffering because of a fake disease but because Coronavirus is dangerous!

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    There is very little evidence of kids causing outbreaks. Kids can get it but let’s face it, it’s adults who are transmitting the virus.

Are parents still not allowed to watch the games

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    I passed a under 10s maybe 11s game today and parents were a good distance away from the pitch but could still see the game perfectly well.. it got me thinking that that should be one of the things that remains after this pandemic has passed.

No. They do try to watch from over the fence etc but they are not allowed pitch side. It’s great for us coaches to be honest.

I refereed a match today at bonnyrigg. The parents all watched from a distance, probably 20 meters from the pitch. Restrictions say 4 meters. Everyone well distanced, and adhering to the rules. Let's hope the bairns football is kept going and they shut the pubs.

@hibs.net private member CallumLaidlaw's Avatar

PSN ID: Cal_hibby
    Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    I refereed a match today at bonnyrigg. The parents all watched from a distance, probably 20 meters from the pitch. Restrictions say 4 meters. Everyone well distanced, and adhering to the rules. Let's hope the bairns football is kept going and they shut the pubs.
    In fife we got an email from the secretary of the league saying refs had complained about parents trying to watch during the first round of friendlies and we’re going to pull out if it doesn’t improve. I’ve just stayed away from Alex’s first 2 games. Really don’t wanna jeopardise him getting to play.

Ronnie that’s great, presume it was walking football at your age😄
    Sorry, you’re a top man, but we need a smile every now and then

Ronnie that’s great, presume it was walking football at your age😄
    Sorry, you’re a top man, but we need a smile every now and then
    That made me smile Billy. 😃

Trying to keep up with the boys these days is a bit of a pain. That centre circle is becoming smaller. 😱

That made me smile Billy. 😃

Trying to keep up with the boys these days is a bit of a pain. That centre circle is becoming smaller. 😱
    As an aside, it’s so important the young ones can continue to play and enjoy their football. For most of them it’s the highlight of their week, and so crucial to their lives

English National Opera are doing a socially distanced La Boheme in the park at the moment. Sitting here with a 15 yo Speyburn and the windows open listening to it. Love a bit of Puccini! Worse ways to spend an evening.