Page 68 of 318 FirstFirst ... 1858666768697078118168 ... LastLast
Results 2,011 to 2,040 of 9525
    Quote Originally Posted by mcs****y View Post
    interesting insight from someone who is living with trump as their leader.

I'm interested to know more about the points above... Specifically:

What do democrats plan to do with the extra tax recovered from 'average joes'? free benefits for illegals, wipe out student loans, funding planned parenthood etc.

you say democrats welcome illegals with open arms, is this proven and backed up with impartial stats etc? take a look at the sanctuary cities where they protect illegals and demonize ice.

did trump and his people clean up the district, or is it just that that type of demographic happens to have more trump supporters than other areas? it just shows how people of a conservative persuasion take pride in their surroundings, unlike the democrat run areas that are left to rot.

how do you quantify "done a lot more for blacks"? lowest black unemployment ever, criminal reform that saw blacks released from prison who were given unfair, long sentences for non violent crimes.
    Answers provided next to each point.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I'm not going to argue with every point here - I disagree with what you say on many of them but you probably don't want to have a big battle on here over the merits or otherwise of the minutiae.

The point you make is actually a very fair one - in a two horse race, you might be prepared to turn a blind eye to some of Trump's more moronic tendencies if you dislike or disagree with the other horse enough, as many people will do. The recent "Boris Johnson or Jeremy Corbyn" battle had many people in a similar situation.

Personally I couldn't bring myself to ever vote for Trump under any circumstances but that's not a problem I'll ever have.

The whole world could do with the republican party coming up with a better quality of candidate in future though.

I've always been fascinated at how the global opinion of a president can contrast with the domestic one - Obama and Trump have probably been amongst the most extreme.

I'd be interested to know why you disagree.

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Been talking to my American friends who predict he is absolutely getting 4 more years. The prospect is unbelievably scary.
    If he loses it'll be unbelievably scary.
    Last edited by Haymaker; 15-05-2020 at 05:41 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    If he loses it'll be unbelievably scary.
    If he loses he will refuse to leave office. There isn’t a chance he will go quietly.

Quote Originally Posted by HFC_NYC View Post
    I've held off adding to this thread due to the fear of being labeled as some sort of "right wing nut job", but I can stay silent no more. I'm assuming that the majority of posters in this thread don't actually live in America, yet are quick to point out how things should be done stateside, so let me shed some perspective on the subject.

The main reason Trump still has a large support in America is not because he's a nice guy who thinks before he opens his mouth, it's because he's not a Democrat. Make no mistake, a huge portion of America puts up with the nonsense he spews because it's a lot more palatable than having a Democrat in charge. Do I think he's a swell guy? Absolutely not, but I can say that my life has improved with him as Commander In Chief.

- I'm very much an "average American" but his tax cuts saw me take home a great deal more in my Pay check. Democrats want to increase taxes for people like me.

- It has cost me in excess of $8000 to become a legal Citizen and a further $4000 for my wife's green card, yet Democrats welcome Illegals with open arms and provide them with benefits paid for by the tax payer. Am I an idiot for doing things the right way?

- Trump doesn't go in for the "politically correct" BS, which is a refreshing change. Look at Biden, he's promised his VP will be a woman......what ever happened to "best person for the job"?

- I live in the only district in NYC that Trump won, yet it's the cleanest, safest district.....is that just a coincidence? Why is it that all s^%t holes in America are run by Democrats?

- Trump has done a lot more for blacks than the previous president, yet he's constantly being labeled a racist. It seems that "racist" is the go to word when you don't agree with someone, and as a result, the true meaning of the word has become diluted.

In closing, I will concede that Trump is a blowhard who is full of his own self importance, but when faced will the alternative, he gets my vote every time.
    Trump is WAY worse than just a “blowhard”. WAY worse. His handling of this pandemic is one of the biggest scandals in US history, it beggars belief some can still defend him.

Operation “Warp Speed”

I've held off adding to this thread due to the fear of being labeled as some sort of "right wing nut job", but I can stay silent no more. I'm assuming that the majority of posters in this thread don't actually live in America, yet are quick to point out how things should be done stateside, so let me shed some perspective on the subject.

The main reason Trump still has a large support in America is not because he's a nice guy who thinks before he opens his mouth, it's because he's not a Democrat. Make no mistake, a huge portion of America puts up with the nonsense he spews because it's a lot more palatable than having a Democrat in charge. Do I think he's a swell guy? Absolutely not, but I can say that my life has improved with him as Commander In Chief.

- I'm very much an "average American" but his tax cuts saw me take home a great deal more in my Pay check. Democrats want to increase taxes for people like me.

- It has cost me in excess of $8000 to become a legal Citizen and a further $4000 for my wife's green card, yet Democrats welcome Illegals with open arms and provide them with benefits paid for by the tax payer. Am I an idiot for doing things the right way?

- Trump doesn't go in for the "politically correct" BS, which is a refreshing change. Look at Biden, he's promised his VP will be a woman......what ever happened to "best person for the job"?

- I live in the only district in NYC that Trump won, yet it's the cleanest, safest district.....is that just a coincidence? Why is it that all s^%t holes in America are run by Democrats?

- Trump has done a lot more for blacks than the previous president, yet he's constantly being labeled a racist. It seems that "racist" is the go to word when you don't agree with someone, and as a result, the true meaning of the word has become diluted.

In closing, I will concede that Trump is a blowhard who is full of his own self importance, but when faced will the alternative, he gets my vote every time.
    Wow he is basically a racist populist who panders to the base levels. Make America great he is doing the total opposite and is totally out of his depth and is a morally repugnant rich moron who bullies and is nepotistic. Republicans and democrats really aren't much different really are they. His corrupt behaviour with Russia in the last election again wow. Get him tae.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Wow he is basically a racist populist who panders to the base levels. Make America great he is doing the total opposite and is totally out of his depth and is a morally repugnant rich moron who bullies and is nepotistic. Republicans and democrats really aren't much different really are they. His corrupt behaviour with Russia in the last election again wow. Get him tae.
    Again, the accusation of racism, yet there's no proof of this. Being honest and politically incorrect does note make you a racist. As for the "corrupt behavior" with Russia, that myth has been completely dispelled and if anything, the corruption came from the left. I get it, you don't like Trump and as I already pointed out, he's far from being an ideal candidate, but sadly, the alternative would be much worse.

If there is one thing that is clear, it's that Donald Trump is not honest.

Quote Originally Posted by Estupendo View Post
    If there is one thing that is clear, it's that Donald Trump is not honest.
    I was meaning being honest as in saying what you mean without fear of upsetting someone.

Worse in that the Democrat candidate is worse or worse in that the Democrat ideology is worse? If it's the latter in what way was the US significantly worse under Clinton or Obama than Trump? It would be hard to make a case for either of the aforementioned as dangerous, radical lefties.

From an outside perspective I always think US elections must be a bit of a nightmare because you are basically choosing between the right and the slightly less right. The Democrats had the potential to change that this time around but.....

I wonder if there is another developed country in which criticisng the government for funding access to sexual health care and safe abortion would be anything other than a fringe position. It seems from your earlier post it is a legitimate concern among voters of your acquaintance.

Frequently racist language and behaviour. I take it you haven't been watching his recent press outings. His handling of the virus was expertly laid out in the article in the pages earlier utter shambles which have cost thousands of lives. Which bits of it's were wrong? Maybe he wasn't that bothered given the demographic of the most effected. Think you have been watching Fox News too much. No way was the Russian influence a myth as was clearly shown by the mueller investigation. All fake news of course.

Donald's racist views take your pick.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raci...f_Donald_Trump
    Last edited by JimBHibees; 15-05-2020 at 09:09 PM.

There was talk on here I think the folk that support Trump was like some kind of Cult. I'm seeing that in the folk who dislike him to be honest. I respect your views most on this as you live everyday on his decisions and if those have not impacted you negatively then so be it.

I don't live with his policies day to day I live with Boris Johnsons so to be honest I really don't care what he does. The biggest thing to happen in my lifetime all of this has to be up there at top here in UK and its got FA to do with Trump. If he is pish let his own countries voters worry about it.
    Last edited by Captain Trips; 15-05-2020 at 09:37 PM.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Answers provided next to each point.
    Point 1... Benefits like health care? If these aren't provided, what happens to the "illegals" when they get sick? Surely Emergency Rooms just become more and more busy? What's the solution? (Please don't say it's just "Send the buggers back...")

Point 2... I will take your word for as I don't even know which cities are designated 'sanctuary cities'

Point 3... This seems more of a swipe at people who aren't like you, but maybe I've just picked up your wording a bit wrong.

Point 4... So the massive fall in unemployment amongst blacks under Obama is irrelevant I assume? You think black people feel safer with Trump in charge, peddling and therefore legitimising sometimes casual, and often overt, racism? I think we'll have to disagree on that one.

Sent from my HRY-LX1 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Trips View Post
    There was talk on here I think the folk that support Trump was like some kind of Cult. I'm seeing that in the folk who dislike him to be honest. I respect your views most on this as you live everyday on his decisions and if those have not impacted you negatively then so be it.

I don't live with his policies day to day I live with Boris Johnsons so to be honest I really don't care what he does. The biggest thing to happen in my lifetime all of this has to be up there at top here in UK and its got FA to do with Trump. If he is pish let his own countries voters worry about it.
    what a crock that is.

Deleted

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    what a crock that is.
    No the vociferous dislike of him is almost as strong as the people who support and voted for him, at least though they live in that country. I would say the dislike of him when he isnt even our leader is far more cult like, and the utter contempt held for anyone who dares suggest any even crumb of something you agreed with Trump with is the exact behavior of the pro Trump I am reading about who jump to his defence.

Trump supporter if you even dare to suggest something not anti Trump or the utter garbage "trolling" pish or "whataboutery" that will get thrown in if you have the audacity just to maybe agree with 1/100 things he has done. Thats the cult behaviour.

If the general opinion on the other threads is anything to go by our very own leader has actually caused 1000s of unnecessary deaths on our own doorstep. I am quite surprised there isnt 2000 pages on our own PM who has caused untold carnage.
    Last edited by Captain Trips; 15-05-2020 at 10:07 PM.

@hibs.net private member Radium's Avatar

If I am honest, you describe the America that I see. Self interested, an absolute belief that individual responsibility is supreme, that government should have as little impact on your life as possible and a surprising lack of self awareness.

100 years ago you were still at war with First Nation peoples, you have political interference in your court appointments, you coined gerrymandering as a political tactic and apparently it’s okay to jump into your pick-up and chase down joggers.

So given the above, I have absolutely no trouble believing that Trump is popular and may get re-elected.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    No the vociferous dislike of him is almost as strong as the people who support and voted for him, at least though they live in that country. I would say the dislike of him when he isnt even our leader is far more cult like, and the utter contempt held for anyone who dares suggest any even crumb of something you agreed with Trump with is the exact behavior of the pro Trump I am reading about who jump to his defence.

Trump supporter if you even dare to suggest something not anti Trump or the utter garbage "trolling" pish or "whataboutery" that will get thrown in if you have the audacity just to maybe agree with 1/100 things he has done. Thats the cult behaviour.

If the general opinion on the other threads is anything to go by our very own leader has actually caused 1000s of unnecessary deaths on our own doorstep. I am quite surprised there isnt 2000 pages on our own PM who has caused untold carnage.
    Ouch.

To be fair, this thread started in January 2017, as far as I remember Boris Johnson only became PM in the Summer last year.

That aside, you'll find plenty of posts despairing at the UK, and indeed the Scottish, government's apparent lack of action during this crisis.

I think any reasonable person can see that Trump is completely unhinged. If declaring that is cult-like, then I'm guilty as charged, your honour!

NB the whataboutery comment was me, and I stand by it. People were discussing how badly Trump is doing, and your point was "aye, but that Chinese guy is worse." Not the most coherent or well put together argument in Trump's favour, is it?

Last edited by McSwanky; 15-05-2020 at 11:19 PM.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    "did trump and his people clean up the district, or is it just that that type of demographic happens to have more trump supporters than other areas? it just shows how people of a conservative persuasion take pride in their surroundings, unlike the democrat run areas that are left to rot."

Eh, right.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by McS****y View Post
    Ouch.

To be fair, this thread started in January 2017, as far as I remember Boris Johnson only became PM in the Summer last year.

That aside, you'll find plenty of posts despairing at the UK, and indeed the Scottish, government's apparent lack of action during this crisis.

I think any reasonable person can see that Trump is completely unhinged. If declaring that is cult-like, then I'm guilty as charged, your honour!

Indeed I do but to be honest what has gone on here in last 2 months in UK with the likelihood bad leadership has caused 1000s to die in UK blows everything from 2017 on here right oot the water. Saying he is unhinged is not the point thats fine but folk get rounded on if think another way and lots are not just saying unhinged though its voiciferous some of it.
    Last edited by Captain Trips; 15-05-2020 at 11:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Higgo View Post
    If he loses he will refuse to leave office. There isn’t a chance he will go quietly.
    That is my point. It will not end well.

BBC News - Coronavirus: Trump says US reopening 'vaccine or no vaccine'
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-52685487

Warp speed 😅

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

If the general opinion on😥😜😕😁🎅🏻😊🤞😊🤞😊😊 the other threads is anything to go by our very own leader has actually caused 1000s of unnecessary deaths on our own doorstep. I am quite surprised there isnt 2000 pages on our own PM who has caused untold carnage.
    Trump is an absolutely despicable human being. People in general tend to react negatively towards despicable people. Bearing in mind Trump's high public profile, you shouldn't be too surprised that a lot of people express disgust towards his despicable behaviour. If you try and defend Trump then you really shouldn't be surprised if people "mistake" his values for your values. It's hardly cult like.

@hibs.net private member Future17's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    BBC News - Coronavirus: Trump says US reopening 'vaccine or no vaccine'
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-52685487

Warp speed 😅
    "That means big and it means fast".

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Trump is an absolutely despicable human being. People in general tend to react negatively towards despicable people. Bearing in mind Trump's high public profile, you shouldn't be too surprised that a lot of people express disgust towards his despicable behaviour. If you try and defend Trump then you really shouldn't be surprised if people "mistake" his values for your values. It's hardly cult like.
    It's not defending Trump though is it? If you can't make out if a person says he has a point on 1 aspect of something he may have done is supporting everything that's on you then. Who has ever shown on here they have the same values as him? I think Sturgeon has made some good points but I don't hold her same ideas, same with others.

So yes if it is cult like to follow Trump and agree with everything then it's kind of the same doing the total opposite especially the rationale you have used "If you try and defend Trump then you really shouldn't be surprised if people "mistake" his values for your values"

So yes there is this almost amazement if you think Trump is right about something or even partly right you then use your above rationale to then assume person is also therefore racist, sexiest along with all the rest of his traits.

Saying I think a certain Hearts player is a good player does not make me a Hearts fan, exact same as saying Trump is correct on something or even just thinking he might have meant something else does not make you a Trump fan, if you cannot work that out then it's on you not me or whoever else. So yes I find it strange that some posters like yourself who are not daft can think in that manner on somebody saying something not negative about him.

It's not defending Trump though is it? If you can't make out if a person says he has a point on 1 aspect of something he may have done is supporting everything that's on you then. Who has ever shown on here they have the same values as him? I think Sturgeon has made some good points but I don't hold her same ideas, same with others.

So yes if it is cult like to follow Trump and agree with everything then it's kind of the same doing the total opposite especially the rationale you have used "If you try and defend Trump then you really shouldn't be surprised if people "mistake" his values for your values"

So yes there is this almost amazement if you think Trump is right about something or even partly right you then use your above rationale to then assume person is also therefore racist, sexiest along with all the rest of his traits.

Saying I think a certain Hearts player is a good player does not make me a Hearts fan, exact same as saying Trump is correct on something or even just thinking he might have meant something else does not make you a Trump fan, if you cannot work that out then it's on you not me or whoever else. So yes I find it strange that some posters like yourself who are not daft can think in that manner on somebody saying something not negative about him.
    At the risk of invoking Godwin's law, I'd like to point out that Germany has excellent Autobahns.

Quote Originally Posted by McS****y View Post
    Ouch.

NB the whataboutery comment was me, and I stand by it. People were discussing how badly Trump is doing, and your point was "aye, but that Chinese guy is worse." Not the most coherent or well put together argument in Trump's favour, is it?

Why is it in Trumps favour? Me saying he is worse as is Johnson here does not alter Trumps traits or decisions. So my point is we have some worse stuff done here in UK by our own IMO, also IMO cloak and dagger behaviour from the Chinese which has contributed to the massive death toll.

I understand in isolation this is a Trump thread but all threads can have varied POV pointing to aspects outwith original subject. So hence why I find it as cult like the concentration on him when probably we have some worse actions that have caused death out there.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    At the risk of invoking Godwin's law, I'd like to point out that Germany has excellent Autobahns.
    I will take that as owned. 👍😂

Glad I managed to make a point. There's hope for us yet.