Page 67 of 318 FirstFirst ... 1757656667686977117167 ... LastLast
Results 1,981 to 2,010 of 9525
    Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Then don't, Trump is an absolute racist pr!ck, a liability with no grasp of any sensible ideas or facts
    Why you pointing out to me what the last 200 pages show as if that is some sort of revelation your opinion? I do not disagree with most folks thoughts but I can still find it strange. I wont so cheers. Im not stuck in thee house because Trumps a prick.

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Trips View Post
    We can all agree or not I find the obsession with how bad Trump is totally bizarre when in many many countries just because we have no real links with them there are some horrendous things been going on.

So indeed probably not the ideal thread for me to post on.
    It's less an obsession than a recognition that what happens in the US usually has an effect (politically, culturally, financially) on the rest of the World, particularly in Europe.

"When America sneezes, the rest of the world catches a cold"

Why you pointing out to me what the last 200 pages show as if that is some sort of revelation your opinion? I do not disagree with most folks thoughts but I can still find it strange. I wont so cheers. Im not stuck in thee house because Trumps a prick.
    Oh chill out, you always come across as angry about stuff. Again, if I have offended you I apologise but the chill out comment stands

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    It's less an obsession than a recognition that what happens in the US usually has an effect (politically, culturally, financially) on the rest of the World, particularly in Europe.

"When America sneezes, the rest of the world catches a cold"
    Well I don't know how much all your lives have changed here in UK since he took over mine hasn't and I have been to USA twice on holiday since he took over. Has that stopped others visiting?

My post didn't mention Trump. It spoke about the reality of the effect of the US on the World.

He's the leader of that country. Ergo it's of interest.

Quote Originally Posted by wpj View Post
    Oh chill out, you always come across as angry about stuff. Again, if I have offended you I apologise but the chill out comment stands
    "Then don't, Trump is an absolute racist pr!ck, a liability with no grasp of any sensible ideas or facts"

That comes across as? I'm perfectly chilled thanks.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    We can all agree or not I find the obsession with how bad Trump is totally bizarre when in many many countries just because we have no real links with them there are some horrendous things been going on.

So indeed probably not the ideal thread for me to post on.
    I think it would be only reasonable and valid for a thread about Donald Trump to have someone on here defending the guy. We shouldn't necessarily downplay the fact that he managed to get enough people in a nation of 328 million to vote him in as president, so somebody somewhere must like what he is doing.

As far as I can see your defence of him is "aye, but what about China" which is about the best he can normally come up with himself. It's not really much of a defence for the reckless, distasteful and downright dangerous words he often chooses to use to go about his business but clearly quite a lot of people are content with it.

My post didn't mention Trump. It spoke about the reality of the effect of the US on the World.

He's the leader of that country. Ergo it's of interest.
    Indeed but I still ask what has occurred to us due to his leadership then as individuals?

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I think it would be only reasonable and valid for a thread about Donald Trump to have someone on here defending the guy. We shouldn't necessarily downplay the fact that he managed to get enough people in a nation of 328 million to vote him in as president, so somebody somewhere must like what he is doing.

As far as I can see your defence of him is "aye, but what about China" which is about the best he can normally come up with himself. It's not really much of a defence for the reckless, distasteful and downright dangerous words he often chooses to use to go about his business but clearly quite a lot of people are content with it.
    Who is defending him? I said there are others out there as well. When did I say he is doing OK or I support him? Once again you say something not necessarily anti Trump and your in support of him. Utter nonsense and totally irrational.
    Last edited by Captain Trips; 15-05-2020 at 03:21 PM.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    Is anyone claiming that UK USA have done a good job? Im not I am saying Chinas handling of the incident in the first place has caused us far more trouble than Trump ever will here. So counties that were prepared for a terror attack well done but if our security fail then blame them firstly and not the actual source?
    If they knew well in advance of the impending terror attack and know exactly the form it would take - yes, I'd say our security forces failed.

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Callum_62 View Post
    If they knew well in advance of the impending terror attack and know exactly the form it would take - yes, I'd say our security forces failed.

They did what about the terrorists though forget about them? As we didn't do good enough?

Indeed but I still ask what has occurred to us due to his leadership then as individuals?
    4 suggestions:-

The worsening of the relationship with China and Russia has, IMO, made the world less safe. That affects us all.

The facilitation of right-wing views has validated the rise of similar behaviour in this country. For people in marginalised communities, that is very worrying.

His encouragement of Brexit has helped to contribute to what is an uncertain economic future.

His refusal to accept the widely-held view of climate change is very worrying for those of us who care about the future of our families.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 15-05-2020 at 03:31 PM.

There are plenty of countries at conflict as well that could do same.

Point 2 source.

We voted Brexit all others are irrelevant.

I accept point 4.

Anyone on here still visit the states out of interest? Or is this defending him.

@hibs.net private member Callum_62's Avatar

Wii Code: 0083-4364-6418-4974
    They did what about the terrorists though forget about them? As we didn't do good enough?
    The terrorists in this case is a virus we can't even see

Some of these are very nasty questions

There are plenty of countries at conflict as well that could do same.

Point 2 source.

We voted Brexit all others are irrelevant.

I accept point 4.

Anyone on here still visit the states out of interest? Or is this defending him.
    1. none with the economic and military clout of the US.

2. simple example would be the proposed protests taking place in the UK this weekend, organised by the Britain First people. They are, IMO, following the example of similar protests in the US. Trump's rhetoric enables and emboldens these people.

1. none with the economic and military clout of the US.

2. simple example would be the proposed protests taking place in the UK this weekend, organised by the Britain First people. They are, IMO, following the example of similar protests in the US. Trump's rhetoric enables and emboldens these people.
    Lame tbh, anyway very nasty points.

There is no point in asking me stuff I suggest you ask China and with that I storm off this thread.

I always had Donald Trump down as a hun but maybe he's one of us?

I've held off adding to this thread due to the fear of being labeled as some sort of "right wing nut job", but I can stay silent no more. I'm assuming that the majority of posters in this thread don't actually live in America, yet are quick to point out how things should be done stateside, so let me shed some perspective on the subject.

The main reason Trump still has a large support in America is not because he's a nice guy who thinks before he opens his mouth, it's because he's not a Democrat. Make no mistake, a huge portion of America puts up with the nonsense he spews because it's a lot more palatable than having a Democrat in charge. Do I think he's a swell guy? Absolutely not, but I can say that my life has improved with him as Commander In Chief.

- I'm very much an "average American" but his tax cuts saw me take home a great deal more in my Pay check. Democrats want to increase taxes for people like me.

- It has cost me in excess of $8000 to become a legal Citizen and a further $4000 for my wife's green card, yet Democrats welcome Illegals with open arms and provide them with benefits paid for by the tax payer. Am I an idiot for doing things the right way?

- Trump doesn't go in for the "politically correct" BS, which is a refreshing change. Look at Biden, he's promised his VP will be a woman......what ever happened to "best person for the job"?

- I live in the only district in NYC that Trump won, yet it's the cleanest, safest district.....is that just a coincidence? Why is it that all s^%t holes in America are run by Democrats?

- Trump has done a lot more for blacks than the previous president, yet he's constantly being labeled a racist. It seems that "racist" is the go to word when you don't agree with someone, and as a result, the true meaning of the word has become diluted.

In closing, I will concede that Trump is a blowhard who is full of his own self importance, but when faced will the alternative, he gets my vote every time.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post

I always had Donald Trump down as a hun but maybe he's one of us?
    Orange pus. Mother fae wee-Free country.

Deffo not

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HFC_NYC View Post
    I've held off adding to this thread due to the fear of being labeled as some sort of "right wing nut job", but I can stay silent no more. I'm assuming that the majority of posters in this thread don't actually live in America, yet are quick to point out how things should be done stateside, so let me shed some perspective on the subject.

The main reason Trump still has a large support in America is not because he's a nice guy who thinks before he opens his mouth, it's because he's not a Democrat. Make no mistake, a huge portion of America puts up with the nonsense he spews because it's a lot more palatable than having a Democrat in charge. Do I think he's a swell guy? Absolutely not, but I can say that my life has improved with him as Commander In Chief.

- I'm very much an "average American" but his tax cuts saw me take home a great deal more in my Pay check. Democrats want to increase taxes for people like me.

- It has cost me in excess of $8000 to become a legal Citizen and a further $4000 for my wife's green card, yet Democrats welcome Illegals with open arms and provide them with benefits paid for by the tax payer. Am I an idiot for doing things the right way?

- Trump doesn't go in for the "politically correct" BS, which is a refreshing change. Look at Biden, he's promised his VP will be a woman......what ever happened to "best person for the job"?

- I live in the only district in NYC that Trump won, yet it's the cleanest, safest district.....is that just a coincidence? Why is it that all s^%t holes in America are run by Democrats?

- Trump has done a lot more for blacks than the previous president, yet he's constantly being labeled a racist. It seems that "racist" is the go to word when you don't agree with someone, and as a result, the true meaning of the word has become diluted.

In closing, I will concede that Trump is a blowhard who is full of his own self importance, but when faced will the alternative, he gets my vote every time.
    If you live in NYC, you must have been at least a wee bit worried about Covid-19. Did you inject yourself with Dettol as a precaution?

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    If you live in NYC, you must have been at least a wee bit worried about Covid-19. Did you inject yourself with Dettol as a precaution?
    I didn’t need to as I’m smart enough to know when someone is thinking out loud as opposed to telling me to do something. And yes, I agree it was an extremely stupid thing to think out loud.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    I didn’t need to as I’m smart enough to know when someone is thinking out loud as opposed to telling me to do something. And yes, I agree it was an extremely stupid thing to think out loud.
    Do you think, in general, that, although he's beneficial to you economically, Trump is stupid?

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar

Interesting insight from someone who is living with Trump as their leader.

I'm interested to know more about the points above... Specifically:

What do Democrats plan to do with the extra tax recovered from 'average joes'?

You say Democrats welcome illegals with open arms, is this proven and backed up with impartial stats etc?

Did Trump and his people clean up the district, or is it just that that type of demographic happens to have more Trump supporters than other areas?

How do you quantify "done a lot more for blacks"?

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Do you think, in general, that, although he's beneficial to you economically, Trump is stupid?
    Yes, I already stated that he’s a blowhard that opens his gob before engaging his brain.

I'm not going to argue with every point here - I disagree with what you say on many of them but you probably don't want to have a big battle on here over the merits or otherwise of the minutiae.

The point you make is actually a very fair one - in a two horse race, you might be prepared to turn a blind eye to some of Trump's more moronic tendencies if you dislike or disagree with the other horse enough, as many people will do. The recent "Boris Johnson or Jeremy Corbyn" battle had many people in a similar situation.

Personally I couldn't bring myself to ever vote for Trump under any circumstances but that's not a problem I'll ever have.

The whole world could do with the republican party coming up with a better quality of candidate in future though.

I've always been fascinated at how the global opinion of a president can contrast with the domestic one - Obama and Trump have probably been amongst the most extreme.

4 suggestions:-

The worsening of the relationship with China and Russia has, IMO, made the world less safe. That affects us all.

The facilitation of right-wing views has validated the rise of similar behaviour in this country. For people in marginalised communities, that is very worrying.

His encouragement of Brexit has helped to contribute to what is an uncertain economic future.

His refusal to accept the widely-held view of climate change is very worrying for those of us who care about the future of our families.
    Agree with those and would add that it appears our politicians have learned from him just how far they can push lies and gaslighting and get away with it.

Until recently I worked on the same team with dozens of Americans from right down the East Coast and California for a number of years. I didn’t discuss Trump with every single one of them but, of the fair number I did, the overwhelming view was that he was a narcissist, a racist, an idiot and was doing far more damage to the country than good.

You’d probably expect that of the people involved but it demonstrates how divided your nation is right now. In America’s defence, we’re not much more united here.