Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    Just in case anyone else is chasing easyjet for a refund, they finally responded to their web contact form:

The only alternative is to get through to them on the phone but they don't let you queue, it just plays a recorded message and hangs up. I tried a few dozen times but decided life is too short. I've got email evidence that I've contacted them so if I don't get anything back for a week or 2 I'll file a claim with my credit card.
    With over 260 000 refunds per day of this crisis to deal with, I guess they'll be playing catch up for quite some time to come. They have a dynamic computer based booking system that can deal with that kind of workload easily for bookings, however the refunds are a different kettle of fish and will be done manually.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Just in case anyone else is chasing easyjet for a refund, they finally responded to their web contact form:

The only alternative is to get through to them on the phone but they don't let you queue, it just plays a recorded message and hangs up. I tried a few dozen times but decided life is too short. I've got email evidence that I've contacted them so if I don't get anything back for a week or 2 I'll file a claim with my credit card.
    Thanks for that.
    Mon the Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Denmark and Poland are refusing to give bailouts to companies that are registered in tax havens. If only the Scottish and U.K. governments would follow suit.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    Denmark and Poland are refusing to give bailouts to companies that are registered in tax havens. If only the Scottish and U.K. governments would follow suit.
    Aye, good one.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    To take advantage of the furlough help, an employer has to be registered in the UK. The portal, which just opened this morning, asks for the employer's Unique Tax Reference.

For the Local Government help (the SG money), you have to be registered as a ratepayer in the area in which you are claiming.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 20-04-2020 at 10:58 AM.

Not commenting either way on this as his complex company structure makes it very difficult to reach an informed judgment on whether the content of his "open letter" is true or not but I do think it's only fair to read it before condemning him too strongly (it's embedded in a tweet in the article).

Richard Branson offers Caribbean island as collateral for bailout

https://www.theguardian.com/business...avirus-support

Quote Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
    Not commenting either way on this as his complex company structure makes it very difficult to reach an informed judgment on whether the content of his "open letter" is true or not but I do think it's only fair to read it before condemning him too strongly (it's embedded in a tweet in the article).

Richard Branson offers Caribbean island as collateral for bailout

https://www.theguardian.com/business...avirus-support
    It is a difficult one. On the one hand, his companies make a huge contribution to the economy. On the other, he doesn't personally.

And if, as reported, he's willing to put up Neckar as security against a Government loan, why can't he do that in the same borrowing market as everyone else?

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    It is a difficult one. On the one hand, his companies make a huge contribution to the economy. On the other, he doesn't personally.

And if, as reported, he's willing to put up Neckar as security against a Government loan, why can't he do that in the same borrowing market as everyone else?
    Because he'll be able to run rings round the government like he's done with franchises he's enjoyed in the past.

In the times of austerity we've endured and are about to endure I'd rather UK government (tax payers) money wasn't tied up in this sort of assett. Other avenues are open to him and he could always risk some of his personal wealth, he is after all a capitalist.

Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    Because he'll be able to run rings round the government like he's done with franchises he's enjoyed in the past.

In the times of austerity we've endured and are about to endure I'd rather UK government (tax payers) money wasn't tied up in this sort of assett. Other avenues are open to him and he could always risk some of his personal wealth, he is after all a capitalist.

Marina Hyde on top form here. First paragraph particularly funny
    https://www.theguardian.com/commenti...ranson-bailout

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I think this was my favourite part:

'If he ends up being unable to fly passengers, I almost feel he could personally heft every single one of Earth’s promotions girls across the oceans, like an alarmingly veneered St Christopher.'

Got my easyjet flights refunded to my card today, so the [email protected] email route seems to work, despite no response to the email.

The monopoly metaphor worked surprisingly well right through there.

Good article.

There should be a lot more like it but no doubt the Virgin media and lobbying machine will now go into overdrive

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Got my easyjet flights refunded to my card today, so the [email protected] email route seems to work, despite no response to the email.
    I tried it the other day. Got a reply saying the mailbox isn’t monitored anymore.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    I tried it the other day. Got a reply saying the mailbox isn’t monitored anymore.
    Seemingly there is a refund form on the website now but it’s quite well hidden.

Quote Originally Posted by TrinityHibs View Post
    Burrell bought at the bottom of the market yet we love his museum.

And Adolf Hitler was a Vegetarian.

Ryanair, unsurprisingly, have been a nightmare. Evasive and making it as hard as possible to communicate and get in touch. Saying they will offer a refund and then sending a voucher. If you then want a refund instead you back to the end of the queue.

Airlines (imo) are absolutey goosed anyway. Most won't see out the next few months. So if you don't get a refund soon then you'll probably never see it at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    Ryanair, unsurprisingly, have been a nightmare. Evasive and making it as hard as possible to communicate and get in touch. Saying they will offer a refund and then sending a voucher. If you then want a refund instead you back to the end of the queue.

Airlines (imo) are absolutey goosed anyway. Most won't see out the next few months. So if you don't get a refund soon then you'll probably never see it at all.
    If you paid by credit card then you can raise a claim with the card provider who are jointly liable with the airline for you paying for something you didn’t get. They will expect you to have tried to claim a refund from the airline first but if you don’t get anywhere they should refund you.

That was started this morning

That's the way I'm going. RBS have taken their time in dealing with it, but there's probably thousands doing the same.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    The PPE business is going to be a very interesting one to watch over the next wee while.

My supplier has run out of masks. When they next get them in, the price of a box of 50 home brand masks is going to rise from £3.30 plus vat to £20 plus vat. These masks cost the supplier less than £1, so that's quite a mark-up they are going to be getting. A single FFP3 mask is set to be about £6.

There are fairly hefty warnings flying about my profession about checking that any equipment used meets rigorous safety standards as there are going to be all sort of temptations to cut corners and use cheap materials that aren't fit for purpose. My e-mail inbox is awash with all sorts of dodgy offers from dodgy places.

That batch of gowns from Turkey is probably being flogged off at a market somewhere by one of Boris Johnson's school pals as we speak.

At a time when public/ patient safety is going to be paramount I just hope professional integrity can hold out.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post

Just raised a claim with American Express. They are paying me my refund and going after Ryan Air.

Pleased that’s the end of it TBH.

If they had have payed me my refund within 7 working days (as stated in their email) that would have solved the issue weeks ago.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    https://www.nbcnews.com/business/bus...tacks-n1201791

Frontier Airlines have been forced to drop a policy that had allowed someone buying a ticket to pay $39 for an empty "middle" seat next to them.

Can I nominate Elon Musk be added to the list.

Has there ever been anyone easier to imagine as a real life Bond villain?

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    Has there ever been anyone easier to imagine as a real life Bond villain?
    Always been between Musk and Assange for that title with me