Page 60 of 2118 FirstFirst ... 10505859606162701101605601060 ... LastLast
Results 1,771 to 1,800 of 63517

Thread: Coronavirus

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    I agree with not wanting misinformation spreading, but I think you need to give the original poster a bit of slack on this one.

They just posted a small factual detail, and even provided the - reputable - source.
    At a time where people are sharing doctored photos of army trucks coming to lock us all into our houses, the context of the article was very important yet for some reason not included. No link was provided and I searched for it myself prior to responding.

We should be questioning things by default and doing what we can to stop people turning this into mad max

Sent from my SM-G970F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by macca70 View Post
    Exactly, folk need to learn to post without being arrogant and condescending.
    People need to take more care when sharing information. We have shelves bare of the essentials in practically every shop, small businesses going under and the stock market is taking an absolute tanking. There will be civil unrest if this continues and people don't calm down. Part of that is providing a simple source of your information.

People are getting hysterical about the thought of the army coming to shut everything down and enforce quarantine. The context of the article was totally different.

Quote Originally Posted by Dinkydoo View Post
    Link?

People need to be reviewing evidence and making up their own minds. This ancedotal stuff is creating hysteria and getting shared far and wide by people that'd rather read a two second synopsis in place of verifying facts for themselves.

This will be the death of the economy, not coronavirus
    A fair few flew over my house in kirkliston about lunchtime on monday.

Last edited by degenerated; 19-03-2020 at 06:38 AM.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    At a time where people are sharing doctored photos of army trucks coming to lock us all into our houses, the context of the article was very important yet for some reason not included. No link was provided and I searched for it myself prior to responding.

We should be questioning things by default and doing what we can to stop people turning this into mad max

Look at the original post and then your reply. Your reaction was well over the top, not merely questioning things. It was only you - and maybe others - who decided to jump to the conclusion that army personnel meant lockdown akin to a nuclear fall out, the poster wasn't to know people would twist it into that.

The first words posted were "according to Sky News".. maybe the person watched it on the TV or read it earlier and wasn't on that webpage anymore. It's not their duty to furnish people with clickable links whenever they pass on some information. Not providing these links does not, as you claimed, make it fair game to suggest they are a troll.

The "doctored" photo was again a mistake, posted in confidence, and quickly retracted.

I don't even know why I'm posting all this, I didn't post anything about either of the topics. I just don't think you're being fair here and at the end of the day .net really should be a safe heaven away from condemnation where we can help and support eachother through some rather unprecedented times for us all.

Look at the original post and then your reply. Your reaction was well over the top, not merely questioning things. It was only you - and maybe others - who decided to jump to the conclusion that army personnel meant lockdown akin to a nuclear fall out, the poster wasn't to know people would twist it into that.

The first words posted were "according to Sky News".. maybe the person watched it on the TV or read it earlier and wasn't on that webpage anymore. It's not their duty to furnish people with clickable links whenever they pass on some information. Not providing these links does not, as you claimed, make it fair game to suggest they are a troll.

The "doctored" photo was again a mistake, posted in confidence, and quickly retracted.

I don't even know why I'm posting all this, I didn't post anything about either of the topics. I just don't think you're being fair here and at the end of the day .net really should be a safe heaven away from condemnation where we can help and support eachother through some rather unprecedented times for us all.
    You are entitled to your opinion.

I disagree.

There has been a monumental level of trolling going on - people, purposefully photo-shopping army vehicles to make out that the situation is far more sinister than it actually is.

If you're willing to share information that supports that position - via ommission of facts, not providing a source - you should expect scrutiny.

Maybe the original poster was unaware and in that case, yes I was being unfair. I'm not sure how that would be possible though, unless they hadn't read any of the thread over the past day and avoided all other forms of social media.

Let's not blow this all out of proportion too.

Last edited by Dinkydoo; 19-03-2020 at 06:55 AM.

How long has Italy been in lockdown for?

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    It should always be the onus of the person sharing news to provide verification, especially in times of panic like right now.

I did look for it myself first prior to responding though, I'm not a complete ******** ;)

Looks like troops are being utilisied to potentially support and assist public service, not lock us all in our houses nuclear fallout style. That would have been a nice caveat to add to the post.

Totally appreciate that people should be providing a source, but BB did name the source in their post. Obviously you've looked and not seen it at first, so I understand the reaction (as there's a LOT of falsehoods and speculation flying around just now).

I certainly know if I'm on my phone, and happen to read a news story on the BBC or Sky app, it can be a bugger to then find a way to provide a link to the story without having to go on to the actual news provider's website.

Don't think you're any kind of ******* for what it's worth

Can anyone with kids due to sit exams this year in Scotland let me know what their schools are saying and doing. While kids in England won't be sitting them this still hasn't been agreed up here and I've been told that the kids will be amongst those that are to keep going (just hearsay not fact).

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Can anyone with kids due to sit exams this year in Scotland let me know what their schools are saying and doing. While kids in England won't be sitting them this still hasn't been agreed up here and I've been told that the kids will be amongst those that are to keep going (just hearsay not fact).
    Something I saw last night on the news. Pupils studying for exams expected to continue, and submit classwork.

GMS this morning.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-51907797
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Can anyone with kids due to sit exams this year in Scotlid and let me know what their schools are saying and doing. While kids in England won't be sitting them this still hasn't been agreed up here and I've been told that the kids will be amongst those that are to keep going (just hearsay not fact).
    Nicola said yesterday that news on the exams would follow 'in due course'. I don't think there's any update yet.

More people have recovered from it than been diagnosed with it each day for a month in China and after weeks of declining statistics have just announced a day of zero new domestic cases(edit: possibly only for Wuhan) .

Definitely positive news I'd say.
    Last edited by danhibees1875; 19-03-2020 at 08:04 AM.

I think the chances of a full lockdown are higher rather than lower. People not taking it seriously enough. That means continued spreading of virus. That means more deaths. That means collapse of health and other associated services.

Only answer is lockdown I’m afraid. I would guess within a week. Possibly next few days. Imo.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Nicola said yesterday that news on the exams would follow 'in due course'. I don't think there's any update yet.
    We will hear today.
    Three choices are delay the exams, sit them with less kids in each room or scrap them and go with course work.
    They should go with less kids in each room. With the schools closed you have all the teaching staff available and all the class rooms to hold the exams.

More people have recovered from it than been diagnosed with it each day for a month in China and after weeks of declining statistics have just announced a day of zero new domestic cases(edit: possibly only for Wuhan) .

Definitely positive news I'd say.
    It is positive news. It would be really positive for us if we adopted the methods used to decrease the spread which seems to be mass testing and isolation. Our Govt do seem to think that they can think up their own way of doing things, moving from discussing "Herd Immunity" one week to ***** knows what now.

Link?

For what purpose? Lockdown, or because people are panicking like idiots?

There's so much utter ***** flying around right now, terrifying people and causing at the very least social media unrest, you're going to have to provide a source for that sort of claim or be labelled a troll.

You need to calm yourself down. You come across as a bit of a welt.

Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    It is positive news. It would be really positive for us if we adopted the methods used to decrease the spread which seems to be mass testing and isolation. Our Govt do seem to think that they can think up their own way of doing things, moving from discussing "Herd Immunity" one week to ***** knows what now.

Our ponderous start to this should be, and will be, heavily criticised afterwards I'm sure. We're at least moving more towards those things now though.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    You need to calm yourself down. You come across as a bit of a welt.
    Let's move on.

I'm not going to apologise, you're not going to like it and I still maintain the original stance.

Let's move on.

I'm not going to apologise, you're not going to like it and I still maintain the original stance.

Aye nae bother.

Quote Originally Posted by macca70 View Post
    Chinook Helicopters arriving into Edinburgh with troops tonight.

Guessing it will be to support/enforce a complete lockdown and protect sites that need need high level security and keep the city streets and businesses secure
    Just a guess, thank goodness the army are on standby to help in any case of emergency, such as transporting fuel and logistics.

Quote Originally Posted by Betty Boop View Post
    According to Sky News 20,000 troops are on standby.
    What are they on standby for? We now know that it is to support and provide logistics and transport and not a lockdown that some were jumping to the conclusion to.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    What are they on standby for? We now know that it is to support and provide logistics and transport and not a lockdown that some were jumping to the conclusion to.
    I wouldn't mind if it was for a lockdown. Plenty people not understanding the need, how else they going to comply?

Things ramping up here in New Zealand. Only 28 cases, all brought back from overseas, but one hour from now the border will be completely closed to anyone that’s not a permanent resident or citizen. Same in Australia too.

Mass gatherings of over 100 (indoor) also banned from today.

Total lockdown seems days away at this point.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby Bairn View Post
    I think the chances of a full lockdown are higher rather than lower. People not taking it seriously enough. That means continued spreading of virus. That means more deaths. That means collapse of health and other associated services.

Only answer is lockdown I’m afraid. I would guess within a week. Possibly next few days. Imo.

It's starting to feel like a voluntary lockdown.
    Road traffic is reducing each day as well as pedestrians.
    It's getting a little eerie.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    We will hear today.
    Three choices are delay the exams, sit them with less kids in each room or scrap them and go with course work.
    They should go with less kids in each room. With the schools closed you have all the teaching staff available and all the class rooms to hold the exams.

Decision at 2pm. I can't see any exams going ahead.

My local pharmacy is operating a 1 in 1 out policy today. It means there is a queue in the street though.

Literally if you type "Sky News army" into Google there's dozens of links to the story that come up.

If anything it's Sky News you need to complain to if you're unhappy with the story.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post
    Literally if you type "Sky News army" into Google there's dozens of links to the story that come up.

If anything it's Sky News you need to complain to if you're unhappy with the story.
    As no context was given in the posts saying troops were being deployed, it only seems right to give the opening paragraph.

Up to 20,000 service personnel will be put on standby to help combat the coronavirus, with troops gearing up to drive oxygen tankers, support the police and boost hospital capacity.
    No mention of troops patrolling every street corner.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    I was wondering about E-cigarettes. We all know that the virus is spread via droplets. Vapour is nothing more than tiny droplets, so are people who are infected who also vape not just spewing out millions of potential vapour virus paratroopers every time they exhale?

Quote Originally Posted by Sir David Gray View Post

The sky news article is listed on Google as being 11 hours ago. I believe my original comment was at 11pm last night.

Maybe the Sky news mobile site didn't have it listed when I looked, maybe it wasn't sorted onto the front page... I have no idea.

When threads get into nit picking, point scoring and stupid squabbling people stop reading them. Can we make an extra effort just now to try and not let that happen. People want discussions, chat, info and advice and dont want to be trawlling through post after post of nit picking squabbles to get there.

Please