Page 177 of 558 FirstFirst ... 77127167175176177178179187227277 ... LastLast
Results 5,281 to 5,310 of 16724
    First Team Breakthrough Green Blood's Avatar

SPFL Rule

1. I have read through the SPFL rules to find out if there was a minimum number of games that had to be played before league positions were confirmed but there is nothing. However, I did find this rule under Board & Commissions....

J16.11 order the relegation of a Club to a lower Division and make such consequent orders as to promotion as it shall think appropriate
    2. So the SPFL have covered themselves here, basically saying that they can decide for whatever reason they deem is fit for purpose that they have the power to relegate or promote a club.

3. Assuming HMFC have signed to these T&C s then I can't see how they could challenge any demotion to lower league

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Said on the radio a few insurance companies are washing their hands with the situation classing it as an act of god
    I bet they are! It’s not tho!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ronniekirk View Post
    I think people are failing to grasp there is no vaccine and won’t be fir potentially a year according to Prof Jason Leitch Although hopefully it’s sooner
    The virus isn’t going to go away Hopefully the summer months see a vast reduction and we get a heat wave But the virus won’t have gone
    But it’s clear we can’t go back to normal in the next few months

It’s not going to go away but there are some positives starting to emerge in China; new cases reducing with the last hospital built for this ready to close, Apple announcing they are reopening all their stores there, their football now scheduled to resume in a month.

Some of those things might seem small, but it’s small steps and I hope the press are as keen to report on the small positives as they are the hypothetical negatives.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Blood View Post
    1. I have read through the SPFL rules to find out if there was a minimum number of games that had to be played before league positions were confirmed but there is nothing. However, I did find this rule under Board & Commissions....

J16.11 order the relegation of a Club to a lower Division and make such consequent orders as to promotion as it shall think appropriate
    2. So the SPFL have covered themselves here, basically saying that they can decide for whatever reason they deem is fit for purpose that they have the power to relegate or promote a club.

3. Assuming HMFC have signed to these T&C s then I can't see how they could challenge any demotion to lower league
    Hearts know they have no legal recourse. This is for the benefit of their fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Blood View Post

They should be thankful that I don't work for the SPFL. I'd have them in the lowest division possible and playing all of their games, home and away, in Ullapool.

Hearts just stopped training now but to report for gym duty twice a week in small groups
    https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...esumes-2481530

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Hearts know they have no legal recourse. This is for the benefit of their fans.

Indeed. Appease the hordes. That’s why Budge looked so despondent in her interview.

O and btw it’s no anyone else’s fault your skint bar your own!

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    I'm not sure about that. If we'd had a season like Hearts had I think most of us would accept we deserved to go down. Hearts have been stagnating for a few years now and remind me a bit of ourselves in 2014 when, in hindsight, getting relegated proved to be what we needed to rejuvenate as a club.

What CAN be guaranteed is that if Hamilton or St Mirren were sitting bottom just now, Hearts wouldn't give a jot about them being relegated despite Budge's holier than thou 'hand on heart' claims.
    Aye ..... 6 points off 10th place with 24 points still to play for having just beaten Rangers for the second time in the season to make the Scottish cup semi finals, aye right enough so we would. Not only accepting it we would be demanding that Hibs were relegated in those circumstances.

Anybody who seriously believes Hibs wouldn't be just as angry as Hearts and our fans wouldn't be in uproar is absolutely having a laugh. And you can chuck into the mix the fact that our owner comes from a country where litigation is almost a national pastime .. I can just see him sitting back and going 'oh well that's life' ...... not.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 17-03-2020 at 02:13 PM.

Hearts have been bottom or thereabouts for so long whilst Budge was strutting about the place telling everyone how it should be done and distracting the Duncans with concerts, stands, benny factor, the ownership trick and documentaries etc.

They've made bottom theirs and are there on merit. Time to put them out their misery.

Quote Originally Posted by A Hi-Bee View Post
    **** the hertz and the larger huns, the insurance widnie pay oot anyway. Its a ***** situation but all need to deal with it.
    ^^^like

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Said on the radio a few insurance companies are washing their hands with the situation classing it as an act of god
    Its got bugger all to do with god , it was an act of stupid humans

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Aye ..... 6 points off 10th place with 24 points still to play for having just beaten Rangers for the second time in the season to make the Scottish cup semi finals, aye right enough so we would. Not only accepting it we would be demanding that Hibs were relegated in those circumstances.

Anybody who seriously believes Hibs wouldn't be just as angry as Hearts and our fans wouldn't be in uproar is absolutely having a laugh. And you can chuck into the mix the fact that our owner comes from a country where litigation is almost a national pastime .. I can just see him sitting back and going 'oh well that's life' ...... not.
    You are correct but it still does not make it right. They should shut up until they have had the opportunity to discuss this with other key stakeholders and influence the decision like a proper community organisation.

@hibs.net private member hibeerealist's Avatar
    Is anybody able to confirm how many weeks have Hertz been bottom (over the 30 games played)?

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    You are correct but it still does not make it right. They should shut up until they have had the opportunity to discuss this with other key stakeholders and influence the decision like a proper community organisation.
    Ach, I wouldn't try for a second to defend the Hertz right to take the moral high ground on anything, that ship sailed long ago, even if they would never admit it. But given that I'm not prepared to pretend that how they are reacting would be any different to how any club, including us, would in the same situation.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    If Hibs had been in Hearts position, I can guarantee we'd be looking into any legal issues concerning a league finishing as is with relegation . Yes they are at the bottom of the league but only 4 pts from play off and 6 pts from safety, with 8 games still to play they are well within touching distance to survive, so they do have an argument to null and void the league standings.
    No we wouldn't- we've never competed with 'Charity Thieves FC' when it comes to rabid, self-interest !. I can't recall an occasion when we've opposed any decisions the SFA/SPL have made !

@hibs.net private member WhileTheChief..'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    whilst Budge was strutting about the place telling everyone how it should be done
    This is the bit that gets me.

She's been an absolute failure with everything she's touched and yet somehow still thinks she knows best!!

If Hearts were sitting in 3rd or 4th place right now you can guarantee they would want the league to be declared as it is so they could get Europe.

Whilst I do think it would be unfair for them to be relegated, I hope to hell they are and that they bang on about the unfairness of it all for years to come.

Quote Originally Posted by hibeerealist View Post
    Is anybody able to confirm how many weeks have Hertz been bottom (over the 30 games played)?
    10 weeks out of the 30 apparently according to the SPL site
    "The power of accurate observation is frequently called cynicism by those who don't have it" - George Bernard Shaw.

My mummy always said I should tell the truth so here it is. As a Hibs fan anything that makes the Gorgie gunts sweat gives me a guid laugh, but here's the thing about this situation:

Is it not true that your highlighted statement here can be turned on its head? Is it any less narrow minded or tasteless to be revelling in Hearts situation which leaving their crap form aside has been brought about by that very same global pandemic ...... I love Hibs I love football, but as a human being I just can't turn off my natural inclination to think that Hearts, or any club for that matter, shouldn't suffer as a result of what is nothing less than a natural disaster.

Maybe it is Karma and maybe they do deserve a huge dose of bad luck .... but I would rather it was entirely self inflicted, or even better inflicted by Hibs, than by something like this.

It’s not bad luck.

If the decision is made to wrap up this season and promote Dundee Utd then some club needs to be relegated from the top division.

That club is Hearts.

Ach, I wouldn't try for a second to defend the Hertz right to take the moral high ground on anything, that ship sailed long ago, even if they would never admit it. But given that I'm not prepared to pretend that how they are reacting would be any different to how any club, including us, would in the same situation.
    Agree almost all clubs would be the same. That doesnt make it right though.

If it was Hibs, I would say it was our own fault, id feel a bit hard dont by, and i would try and channel that indignation (righteous or not!) into getting ourselves sorted.

The league is there to judge teams against each other. It has done so and we have played over 3/4s of games, and Hearts are a two game swing away from even the relative safety of a playoff spot, with the form suggesting their rivals were more likely to increase the gap than they were to narrow it.

Its harsh and its imperfect, but it is their own fault and it is the fairest, simplest and most logical outcome.
    Last edited by James Stephen; 17-03-2020 at 02:55 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by makaveli1875 View Post
    I'm just waiting on the nutters claiming its gods revenge on LGBT folks 🤪🤪

How about we just end the season now and then everyone starts next season on the same points as they ended on this season?

Just a suggestion I saw on Twitter somewhere and thought it would be interesting, although there are obvious pluses and minuses as with every other idea

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    How about we just end the season now and then everyone starts next season on the same points as they ended on this season?

Just a suggestion I saw on Twitter somewhere and thought it would be interesting, although there are obvious pluses and minuses as with every other idea
    Im not sure what that idea would solve?

@hibs.net private member hibeerealist's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobo View Post
    Thanks Bobo, what are the details for the other 20 weeks if you can access this?

Quote Originally Posted by James Stephen View Post
    Im not sure what that idea would solve?
    I don’t know really? I suppose it would mean that this seasons fixtures have actually been meaningful in some way but won’t be relegating etc when there are still games left.

As I said, was just an idea I had read to go alongside everyone else’s

Quote Originally Posted by Sudds_1 View Post
    I'm just waiting on the nutters claiming its gods revenge on LGBT folks
    I'm an atheist but I'm definitely crediting Budge, doctor football and Desperate Dan for Hearts forthcoming relegation.

The season needs to be completed. If that impacts next season then that’s what should happen. If we can’t get playing till Oct/November we finish it then. Players come and go in any case. If their contracts are up they are up. Clubs will still be able to field teams with existing or new players but the season should be finished. We can scrap the cup and share the prize money 4 ways.
    Next season play each other twice.

How ****ing hilarious would it be if the season resumed some time in the future and Hearts got relegated anyway. I'd drown In tears of laughter and probably my own seaman.

Quote Originally Posted by Bobo View Post

lets not forget their form since November 2018. Its been the worst in the topflight.

@hibs.net private member MrSmith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by makaveli1875 View Post
    Would love to see them prove an act of god 😂👍

Quote Originally Posted by hibeerealist View Post
    They were bottom at the seasons end, thats what counts.