Page 176 of 558 FirstFirst ... 76126166174175176177178186226276 ... LastLast
Results 5,251 to 5,280 of 16724
    Can we sue them for spending money they didnt have and going into admin, whilst stopping us winning a Scottish cup that could have been ours? No we cant.
    They can have their tainted cup.

Can they sue anyone for being relegated for being bottom when a league campaign went pop due to much more important health issues?
    No they cant.
    They can claim their relegation is tainted if thats how they feel.

Mrs Budge has embarrassed herself yet again with threats of legal action. The world is heading for economic meltdown with a potential for a depression. Hundreds of thousands of people are going to die but she thinks it’s appropriate at this time to talk about legal action about her club going down a division when no decision has been made. But her admission that Hearts don’t have business disruption insurance made me chuckle. They area multi million pound business but can’t even organise their insurance. Hearts fans really take action over her shocking way she’s run their club with their money once this pandemic is over.

Did Budge confirm it was them that didn’t have the disruption insurance, Lucky?

Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    Mrs Budge has embarrassed herself yet again with threats of legal action. The world is heading for economic meltdown with a potential for a depression. Hundreds of thousands of people are going to die but she thinks it’s appropriate at this time to talk about legal action about her club going down a division when no decision has been made. But her admission that Hearts don’t have business disruption insurance made me chuckle. They area multi million pound business but can’t even organise their insurance. Hearts fans really take action over her shocking way she’s run their club with their money once this pandemic is over.
    Are they the team without insurance?

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Not so long ago clubs voted for Sevco to start life in the lowest league rather than wave them into the Championship, which was definitely an option on the table, thus denying top flight clubs the income that a visit from Rangers brings for (as it turned out) four years. That indicates that self interest isn't always the priority.

We've also had Rangers, Hibs and Hearts playing outwith the top flight in recent years and the game has survived.

From a TV deal point of view all that really matters to the broadcasters is that Celtic and Rangers are in the top league.

The only club here putting self interest above all else is Hearts. As the global pandemic continues to wreak havoc around the world, their narrow-minded bleating about maybe having to suck up a season in the a lower league is embarrassing. Budge's 'sporting integrity' rationale about there 'still being 24 points to play for' is desperate stuff when talking about club which has amassed a paltry 23 points in 30 games.
    That was actually a rare victory for fan power and the clubs were most definitely acting in their own self interest. Fans of virtually every SPL (as it then was) club were threatening to boycott games if the new club got preferential treatment. Admission to the fourth tier was a pragmatic compromise.

On another tack, I'm sure I heard Dr Budge talking about the weekend's cancellations costing them £1m but they were due to play Ross County away so they wouldn't have had any income from the game even if it had been played. In fact they saved on travel costs and appearance payments. Likewise, as it stands half of the clubs have missed out on a single home game - that could have happened because of a bad spell of wethur - and the other half haven't missed out at all. Next week's cancellation will more or less affect the other half by the loss of a single game. There's no doubt this is going to cost clubs a lot over the duration but right now no clubs should be suffering particularly badly.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by sean04 View Post
    Pretty sure she said they did have insurance but it would not cover everything.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...ership-2480465
    Fan ownership postponed. Shock.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

I have a feeling a lot of businesses are going to find they're not covered for this. Business interruption cover tends to relate to building damage or contamination not to general global events.

Edit: I see in the link you've just posted she's talking about that £1m loss again - because an away game at Ross County has been cancelled?
    Last edited by Caversham Green; 17-03-2020 at 11:40 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

They must have my travel insurance, then.

Apologies if already posted but heard its Ross county.

Hearts have been existing hand to mouth for many years, and that's with the ridiculous amount of donations and shedding debt through administration. There won't be many football clubs run as badly as it has been. They should seriously consider going part time in order to survive and start living within their means.

I think people are failing to grasp there is no vaccine and won’t be fir potentially a year according to Prof Jason Leitch Although hopefully it’s sooner
    The virus isn’t going to go away Hopefully the summer months see a vast reduction and we get a heat wave But the virus won’t have gone
    But it’s clear we can’t go back to normal in the next few months

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Estupendo View Post
    Hearts have been existing hand to mouth for many years, and that's with the ridiculous amount of donations and shedding debt through administration. There won't be many football clubs run as badly as it has been. They should seriously consider going part time in order to survive and start living within their means.
    Great post. I'm on board.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by Estupendo View Post
    And yet Hearts and The Rangers have both trotted out statements saying nothing can be decided. Now Quoting Sporting Integrity They have a ****ing cheek

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    If Hibs had been in Hearts position, I can guarantee we'd be looking into any legal issues concerning a league finishing as is with relegation . Yes they are at the bottom of the league but only 4 pts from play off and 6 pts from safety, with 8 games still to play they are well within touching distance to survive, so they do have an argument to null and void the league standings.

Nah.

Morally and practically, their argument is very weak. Legally, it hardly looks strong either (although we shall see).

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post
    I have a feeling a lot of businesses are going to find they're not covered for this. Business interruption cover tends to relate to building damage or contamination not to general global events.

Edit: I see in the link you've just posted she's talking about that £1m loss again - because an away game at Ross County has been cancelled?
    It is quite standard for businesses that have a catering function and/or involved in the entertainment business to extend their Business Interruption Insurance to cover the risk of being closed down by the Local Authority in the event of a notifiable disease being declared. It would be quite negligent if a football club did not have the cover in place. In some cases the notifiable diseases will be defined but some businesses will have blanket cover.

It normally costs buttons in relation to the overall cost.

Quote Originally Posted by Caversham Green View Post

She was misquoted. Here's what she actually said...

“On Friday morning when that decision [to suspend football] was made, we had four home fixtures. In terms of income for the club, that is well over £500,000.

“We had a [Scottish Cup [semi-final]. In terms of income to the club, again well over £500,000. So, in the blink of an eye, £1m that we anticipated having as income in April has gone.

Quote Originally Posted by G B Young View Post
    Not so long ago clubs voted for Sevco to start life in the lowest league rather than wave them into the Championship, which was definitely an option on the table, thus denying top flight clubs the income that a visit from Rangers brings for (as it turned out) four years. That indicates that self interest isn't always the priority.

We've also had Rangers, Hibs and Hearts playing outwith the top flight in recent years and the game has survived.

From a TV deal point of view all that really matters to the broadcasters is that Celtic and Rangers are in the top league.

The only club here putting self interest above all else is Hearts. As the global pandemic continues to wreak havoc around the world, their narrow-minded bleating about maybe having to suck up a season in the a lower league is embarrassing. Budge's 'sporting integrity' rationale about there 'still being 24 points to play for' is desperate stuff when talking about club which has amassed a paltry 23 points in 30 games.
    My mummy always said I should tell the truth so here it is. As a Hibs fan anything that makes the Gorgie gunts sweat gives me a guid laugh, but here's the thing about this situation:

Is it not true that your highlighted statement here can be turned on its head? Is it any less narrow minded or tasteless to be revelling in Hearts situation which leaving their crap form aside has been brought about by that very same global pandemic ...... I love Hibs I love football, but as a human being I just can't turn off my natural inclination to think that Hearts, or any club for that matter, shouldn't suffer as a result of what is nothing less than a natural disaster.

Maybe it is Karma and maybe they do deserve a huge dose of bad luck .... but I would rather it was entirely self inflicted, or even better inflicted by Hibs, than by something like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    It is quite standard for businesses that have a catering function and/or involved in the entertainment business to extend their Business Interruption Insurance to cover the risk of being closed down by the Local Authority in the event of a notifiable disease being declared. It would be quite negligent if a football club did not have the cover in place. In some cases the notifiable diseases will be defined but some businesses will have blanket cover.

It normally costs buttons in relation to the overall cost.
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post

“On Friday morning when that decision [to suspend football] was made, we had four home fixtures. In terms of income for the club, that is well over £500,000.

“We had a [Scottish Cup [semi-final]. In terms of income to the club, again well over £500,000. So, in the blink of an eye, £1m that we anticipated having as income in April has gone.
    I stand corrected on both counts and quite relieved about the first one.

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post

How is this situation unique to Hertz yet they are they only ones bleating about it.

Quote Originally Posted by Sioux View Post
    Average points per game as of now;

St J - 1.241

Hibs - 1.233

If average points was the final indicator, over 38 games that would give St J 47.15 points, Hibs 46.85. St J would end up above us.
    no one cares

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    My mummy always said I should tell the truth so here it is. As a Hibs fan anything that makes the Gorgie gunts sweat gives me a guid laugh, but here's the thing about this situation:

Is it not true that your highlighted statement here can be turned on its head? Is it any less narrow minded or tasteless to be revelling in Hearts situation which leaving their crap form aside has been brought about by that very same global pandemic ...... I love Hibs I love football, but as a human being I just can't turn off my natural inclination to think that Hearts, or any club for that matter, shouldn't suffer as a result of what is nothing less than a natural disaster.

Maybe it is Karma and maybe they do deserve a huge dose of bad luck .... but I would rather it was entirely self inflicted, or even better inflicted by Hibs, than by something like this.
    clubs will suffer Leeds and WBA have invested heavily to get out the league they wont be able to do the same next year. on a smaller scale same applies to D Utd Raith Falkirk etc

Quote Originally Posted by 660 View Post
    How is this situation unique to Hertz yet they are they only ones bleating about it.
    Is it because there's no other club like them?

We would lose more than hearts if you count the bottom 6 crowds. We would potentially have rangers and Aberdeen coming to Easter road. Aswell as Celtic before the split

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4185 View Post
    I’ve seen hibs fans a couple if times saying that they don’t want hearts relegated because hibs will loose income. Instead of 3,500 yams, we will only get 700 Dundee Utd fans.

Incredible. A loss of 2800 fans a game. 5600 in total. Approximately £150,000.

We have 14.000 season ticket holders.

I’ll start the ball rolling. When hearts get relegated as they should, I’ll happily pay an extra £11 to hibs to cover the short fall whilst I laugh my arse off at all my family yams and every single one of them.
    Its not the be all and end all mate and I never suggested it was, it's just one thing in the financial balance important to all clubs. Also, what you are forgetting is that if this plays out to its worst conclusion Hibs are going to take a massive financial hit. If the cup is cancelled we have already lost probably close to a million quid if we had made the final. We will lose a significant sum from lost revenue on the cancelled league games and we have no guarantees that the take up of ST's for next season will not be hammered if folk lose their jobs in this crisis and others are reluctant to spend hundreds of pound for games they have no idea will ever get played, or if they are when they will be played.

My concern is entirely about the impact of any decision on Hibs rather than just looking to put the boot into Hearts. And BTW we have just under 13,000 ST holders, not 14,000.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 17-03-2020 at 12:55 PM.

Maybe their cash reserves to see them through are lower?

No surprise there

Quote Originally Posted by Sammy7nil View Post
    no one cares

clubs will suffer Leeds and WBA have invested heavily to get out the league they wont be able to do the same next year. on a smaller scale same applies to D Utd Raith Falkirk etc
    I know. Which is why any decisions made should be aimed at making the impact as light as possible on as few clubs as possible. There is already talk of expanding the EPL to 22 teams next season to allow Leeds and West Brom promotion and allow the bottom EPL clubs survival into next season. Even if that doesn't happen I would imagine the compensation payments to single clubs would be huge. No prospect of that in Scotland, so ensuring as many clubs as possible, not to mention the league itself, can just keep trading to their maximum potential is where we have to go IMO.

For me that means if the league is cancelled then it has to be a 14 team premiership next season ... its not just about survival, its ensuring that we continue to have as many full time clubs as possible ..... there's no competition for Celtic now with every club in the premiership full time, imagine how bad it would be if half our full time clubs ended up part time? which could happen if this goes on for too long, some are teetering on the brink as it is.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    **** the hertz and the larger huns, the insurance widnie pay oot anyway. Its a ***** situation but all need to deal with it.

Said on the radio a few insurance companies are washing their hands with the situation classing it as an act of god

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    If Hibs had been in Hearts position, I can guarantee we'd be looking into any legal issues concerning a league finishing as is with relegation . Yes they are at the bottom of the league but only 4 pts from play off and 6 pts from safety, with 8 games still to play they are well within touching distance to survive, so they do have an argument to null and void the league standings.
    I'm not sure about that. If we'd had a season like Hearts had I think most of us would accept we deserved to go down. Hearts have been stagnating for a few years now and remind me a bit of ourselves in 2014 when, in hindsight, getting relegated proved to be what we needed to rejuvenate as a club.

What CAN be guaranteed is that if Hamilton or St Mirren were sitting bottom just now, Hearts wouldn't give a jot about them being relegated despite Budge's holier than thou 'hand on heart' claims.