Harp on the main stand

What was the story surrounding the Scottish Cup curse?

The story was that the story about a curse was a load of guff.

It was a totally made up story about a Gypsy's curse.

There are other clubs that have similar stories (including Birmingham City)

But we won the Cup only after Hibs put the badge (with Harp) on the Main Stand... which was quite a coincidence

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    It was a totally made up story about a Gypsy's curse.

There are other clubs that have similar stories (including Birmingham City)

But we won the Cup only after Hibs put the badge (with Harp) on the Main Stand... which was quite a coincidence

...and the Harp was taken down in the early 50's by which time it had been 50 years since we had won it. That harp had been put up in the early 20's, so the last time we won it there wasn't a Harp up there.

It is huge coincidence that we won the season the Harp went up, though.

@hibs.net private member JohnMcM's Avatar
    [QUOTE=Kato;6120370]...and the Harp was taken down in the early 50's by which time it had been 50 years since we had won it. That harp had been put up in the early 20's, so the last time we won it there wasn't a Harp up there.

Or was it more than simple coincidence?

Da da da da daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
    😱👻😱👻

[QUOTE=JohnMcM;6120389]
    Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    ...and the Harp was taken down in the early 50's by which time it had been 50 years since we had won it. That harp had been put up in the early 20's, so the last time we won it there wasn't a Harp up there.

Or was it more than simple coincidence?

Da da da da daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!
    Aye. The myth is way better than whatever the truth might be. Gypsy curse though? Raven On The Wing wouldn't like that

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by bernz View Post
    What was the story surrounding the Scottish Cup curse?
    The story from an Irish point of view

https://www.irishpost.com/sport/the-...n-broken-90065

The Harp is back on the wall of the Main Stand the Scottish Cup is in the bag

Whats not to like?

Nope,

The hibernian badge containing the harp was put on the west stand (two) and then a couple of months later we won the cup.

Not guff at all.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greencore View Post
    Nope,

The hibernian badge containing the harp was put on the west stand (two) and then a couple of months later we won the cup.

Not guff at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Greencore View Post
    Nope,

Not guff at all.

How many of the other Gypsy's Curses on football clubs are real?

I definitely believe the Birmingham City one.

"During the Eighties, Ron Saunders put crucifixes on the floodlight pylons and painted the soles of the players' boots red; a decade later, Barry Fry decided the best course of action was to urinate in all four corners of the ground. Neither worked."

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Whats not to like?
    Great article, almost in tears. Some American Celtic fud tried to tell me JC nit interested in football. A Celtic supporting friend from Broomhouse used to chide about the harp being taken down.

Quote Originally Posted by FilipinoHibs View Post
    Great article, almost in tears. Some American Celtic fud tried to tell me JC nit interested in football. A Celtic supporting friend from Broomhouse used to chide about the harp being taken down.

I ain’t afraid of no ghost

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Whats not to like?
    A super article and rightly sympathetic to Harry Swan. I'm not so sure there was a plethora of tricolours in the Hibs support that day, but a spattering for sure, most flags were green & white and many of the green & white saltire type I like.

Whatever folks opinions it was a poor show that the harp was missing from the clubs shirt for so long, never mind the stand. It's reappearance at the start of this century was long overdue and made all the better for being part of a badge that represents all of Hibs geography and history.
    Last edited by NAE NOOKIE; 17-03-2020 at 01:30 PM.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    A super article and rightly sympathetic to Harry Swan. I'm not so sure there was a plethora of tricolours in the Hibs support that day, but a spattering for sure, most flags were green & white and many of the green & white saltire type I like.

Whatever folks opinions it was a poor show that the harp was missing from the clubs shirt for so long, never mind the stand. It's reappearance at the start of this century was long overdue and made all the better for being part of a badge that represents all of Hibs geography and history.
    i'm amazed at how willing some Hibs fans are to regurgitate all the Harry Swan stuff on Facebook pages about Scottish football. There was a recent spate of Harry Swan stuff, he wanted to change the name/colours/blah, blah....

Glad the harp has it's rightful place on our crest and our stadium.

Not now Kato!

Sorry always wanted to do that - carry on folks ;)
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by KirkyBergkamp View Post
    Not now Kato!

Sorry always wanted to do that - carry on folks ;)

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk