Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The big screen

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar

The big screen

Is it wrong that this is what I'm most excited about?

Naw cannae wait

Slo mo action replays of Big Portos tackles Scotty’s through balls Rocky’s spectacular saves and wall to wall HIBS goals

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Hoping they release some images ASAP of what we can expect from the big screen and lighting etc. How sad is that
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

All this talk of screens has me hankering for the days of the coo shed and that wonderfully rubbish scoreboard of yesteryear.....

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Hearts’ BBC documentary will look superb on it.

Can a screen show footage from a game whilst it is ongoing? Something at the back of my mind says it can't.

@hibs.net private member malcolm's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    All this talk of screens has me hankering for the days of the coo shed and that wonderfully rubbish scoreboard of yesteryear.....
    Yes but did that not involve some forward thinking clever marketing - to know for sure the teams at letter A that were 2-2 at half time did you not have to buy a program? I’m all nostalgic about but not hankering for the good old days of waiting for a pink paper van outside the newsagent on a Saturday night to read reports and scores or standing outside the window of the tv shop to see the scores flash across the teleprinter on screen.

Can a screen show footage from a game whilst it is ongoing? Something at the back of my mind says it can't.
    It was certainly a rule at one point. Not sure if it continues though.

Where would it go ? Between the east and famous 5 ?

@hibs.net private member _hucks_'s Avatar
    They can show live, but then if the feed source goes to a replay, they tend to stick a logo over the screen instead. Stops unintended VAR essentially.

1986 footage in 30 foot high glory please. Jambos leaning on terraces crying, Albert Kidd, lingering close ups of locked Dundee Cludgie with Craig Leveins car parked up outside...

My laddie went to Bayern they were showing goals from other live League games that were ongoing and highlights from the Stadium offsides VAR issues as they happened all whilst enjoying a watered down pint

Maybe different rules in the UK right enough?

Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by _hucks_ View Post
    They can show live, but then if the feed source goes to a replay, they tend to stick a logo over the screen instead. Stops unintended VAR essentially.

When we’re at Hampden the game is on the screens but there’s no replays etc.

@hibs.net private member GordonHFC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Laced1875 View Post
    Between East and South I believe.

@hibs.net private member Greenworld's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    No it's not the new board and ribbons strips round the ground will be fantastic ...and bring a huge new marketing opportunity for our people involved in advertising .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

Surely what's going on the big screen is more important? My concerns around the plans is - you need to have spaces to put additional advertisements on etc. but without the desire for companies to get involved we could end up with redundant tech. I dont think this will happen especially if we push for it as companies tend to want to get their names everywhere and in front of 13k+ people every couple of weeks is a decent prospect. Television is still what holds us back though, you need your stadium to be reaching more people.

I'm still excited about all these plans but time will tell whether they become reality, and a positive reality at that.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenworld View Post
    No it's not the new board and ribbons strips round the ground will be fantastic ...and bring a huge new marketing opportunity for our people involved in advertising .

Reckon this means the TV cameras for filming at our games will go back to being in the East stand looking onto the West if that's where the digital ribbons will be for maximum coverage? Assuming theyll just be going between the two tiers which obviously isnt an option in the East

Don't they show replays of home goals at Ibrox?

Quote Originally Posted by Laced1875 View Post
    Pixture last night showed it between the East and South.

Makes sense as we are never likely to fill in that corner due to the away fans.

Its a matter of regret that this 'big screen' is going to render redundant all those fascinating 'Fill In The Corners FFS Petrie!' threads on here. For shame.

@hibs.net private member Greenworld's Avatar
    Did ron say screen or screens I'm hoping 2 screens at least so all fans can see them

Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Nope. I am too haha

@hibs.net private member surreyhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolm View Post
    Yes but did that not involve some forward thinking clever marketing - to know for sure the teams at letter A that were 2-2 at half time did you not have to buy a program? I’m all nostalgic about but not hankering for the good old days of waiting for a pink paper van outside the newsagent on a Saturday night to read reports and scores or standing outside the window of the tv shop to see the scores flash across the teleprinter on screen.

the pink was a lifeline for news as there was very little on TV, and I remember standing outside Radio Rentals in Musselburgh looking for the results!

changed days...
    Alcohol IS the answer, but I forget the question...

In EPL games you can hear the crowd "ooh'ing and ahh'ing" at replays of near misses just after its happened.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    Don't they show replays of home goals at Ibrox?
    No. Just the live feed only.

@hibs.net private member Hibernian Verse's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenworld View Post
    Did ron say screen or screens I'm hoping 2 screens at least so all fans can see them

1 screen which IMO is all we need.

Because I sit in the West

Left by mutual consent! KingPat4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Would rather go back to the cave, pre seating. Bring back the slope and Turnbull's Tornadoes.

Glad I'm an auld git, don't want to watch inside a giant pinball machine.

Most of the state of the art English stadia, screens, beer, et al, are soulless bunkers with less atmosphere than the moon.

However, I do get that I'll be in a minority and probably rightly so.

I wouldn't have given the away fans those bloody waterproof ponchos either.

Quote Originally Posted by surreyhibbie View Post

the pink was a lifeline for news as there was very little on TV, and I remember standing outside Radio Rentals in Musselburgh looking for the results!

changed days...
    Used to love reading the HIBS line up in the reserve league:

Newman Trialist and Newman A N Other Trialist and Newman Davidson Junior Blair Trialist and Newman
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 27-02-2020 at 09:16 AM.