Page 8 of 19 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast
    Massive opportunity missed if this was agreed and the club have gone back on it (I don't know if that is the case).

I would be pretty certain there would be youngsters looking at Easter Road on the tele thinking to themselves "that looks ****ing amazing I want a bit of that". That's how you grow a fanbase. Ultra groups are all the rage. Motherwell are winning fan awards because of theirs, bloody Motherwell.

Like a previous poster said. We really don't help ourselves

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I agree with everything you're saying about atmosphere, however I don't believe that anything was confirmed by the club regarding changing the set-up for Friday's match.

On February 14th Hibs advertised that ST holders could buy their own seats up until Friday 21st. As soon as that was done there was no way that a singing section was going to be accommodated in the FF lower. Anyone who suggests otherwise isn't telling the whole truth IMO.

People then started criticising the club on this thread because of this - that's the only thing to which I was objecting - unfair criticism of the club.
    To be honest the club are fully to blame, why you wouldn't want to take on board the opinions of a group of people who want to create a bit of atmosphere is beyond me. Instead listening to the views of, genuinely, a handful of people in a stadium that's rarely 60/70% full.

This is something the club should have set out a long time ago, never mind now. So i would say they are fully to blame here.

The club should be throwing a bit of weight behind this and partially funding things like displays and tifo's which is going to attract a lot more people to the club, whether they are lifelong fans or visitors its a no brainer. It works for almost every club in Germany and probably most of europe.

You're wrong to blame people in the family section. Their section until informed otherwise by the club- which until now they haven't been.

It's not the fault of those that are there that the place isn't fuller.

Neither is it their fault if they don't waant to take their kids to a behind the goal singing section - that isn't what they bought their tickets for.
    I’m not blaming those in the family section, but less than 100 tickets have been bought for Friday night in this part of the ground. SURELY, for the good of the team, move to the side for one game, and let a group of people determined to sing their hearts out for 90 minutes have that block for one game and see if it has a positive impact, I’m sure it would

Sadly, as I’ve said, the club seem to wilt to a bunch of dinosaurs who refuse to learn what active support actually entails on almost any issue. I’ll repeat again, we need an active support at Easter Road, otherwise - regardless of success on the pitch - the good feeling around Hibs will evaporate when things start to go south

At least then, maybe those who want to make an atmosphere will get free reign over where they want to stand, and we can make Easter Road an intimidating atmosphere once more

So nothing was official, someone complained on the back of a rumour and the club have retracted?

Sounds ridiculous. It’d be more likely that nothing was agreed in the first place.

Quote Originally Posted by ABZHFC View Post
    I have no issue with you defending the club, it’s not the club I’m attacking here, it’s a portion of self-centred, short-sighted fans who do not understand active support culture and are therefore determined to wreck any meaningful attempts of getting it back off the ground at Easter Road

You said it all when you asked why we even need a designated singing section at Easter Road anyway. Have you heard how sterile the atmosphere is at most games these days?
    The Taylor report and the SPL's unforced implementation of it in Scotland scunnered the atmosphere at matches.

I'm all for initiatives to bring the atmosphere back, but it has to be done properly - club & fans hand in hand.

Friday was never happening as proposed in this thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Don’t blame the supporters. It’s not their fault they don’t want seats that some them will have had for 20 years changed.
    For *one* game for the benefit of the atmosphere in a Scottish Cup quarter final tie that won’t have the greatest of attendances anyway?

I despair at the backwardness of this mentality, “it’s ma seat”, it’s a piece of bloody plastic for crying out loud. This was not billed as any sort of permanent move, just a one-off. But of course, the usual voices protest and the club wilts to them, to the detriment of our team’s chances of progressing on Friday night

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    So nothing was official, someone complained on the back of a rumour and the club have retracted?

Sounds ridiculous. It’d be more likely that nothing was agreed in the first place.
    Agree with this. What is also ridiculous though, IMO, is the continual lack of appetite from the club to do anything in that part of the ground where we have problems due to self imposed restrictions.

You're wrong to blame people in the family section. Their section until informed otherwise by the club- which until now they haven't been.

It's not the fault of those that are there that the place isn't fuller.

Neither is it their fault if they don't waant to take their kids to a behind the goal singing section - that isn't what they bought their tickets for.
    There is still absolutely nothing about this area being a family section for Fridays game, and like I said I’d imagine a majority of kids will be like my own, and myself back in the day whereby the singing section is a huge reason behind them wanting to keep coming back. Sitting in a quiet stand, in the freezing cold/pishing rain is not going to make them want to come back.

I have it on good authority that this move was verbally agreed by the club for a one-off and it has now been reversed because of the complaints made from a handful of supporters. It was going to happen, it now isn’t. And when we are kicking towards less than a 1,000, lifeless fans in the second half on Friday, I’ll know exactly which section of our support the blame lies with
    What was verbally agreed though? That there would be a lift of the accompanying child restrictions in the FF lower? When had the club planned on announcing this? The game is in four days time and tickets have already been on sale for three days.

IMO there's no way that the club ever agreed to lift any ticket restrictions for this match. What most likely happened is the singing section approached them after initial ST sales window ended (when this thread was posted) and said to the club, we're going to move down to FF lower, to which the club probably said 'Aye on you go'. (nothing to stop them so long as there's an accompanying child).

If ticket restrictions were going to be lifted there's no way the club would do this halfway through ticket sales and it would have been communicated well in advance. I don't think they ever agreed to it.

We are in danger of alienating an entire generation of young football supporters in Edinburgh if we carry on listening to the demands of a vocal minority that have a backwards attitude to active support. Let’s be serious here, we are not Barcelona, we will not attract young kids to Easter Road through stunning, trailblazing football. It is things like ultra scenes and tifo displays that will attract youngsters away from watching football on their TV screens and into the stadium.

And what does our club do to facilitate that? Nothing. Because a handful of stubborn people have got it in their heads that any help given to Since 1875 is “preferential treatment” and somehow unfair. These people are genuinely damaging the standing of our club, and I really hope there comes a day when Hibs stop listening to them.

A few seasons ago, our atmosphere was the envy of most clubs in Scotland. Now, it is disjointed and piss poor most weeks. I don’t care if you’re not bothered by it, the status quo doesn’t help the team, we NEED to make Easter Road as atmospheric as possible.

So for everyone who complained, well done, if we’re outsung by 400 Caley fans (as I expect we will be) and shooting towards a 10% full FF lower in the second half (as I expect we will be), then you know who to blame, it’s yourselves.
    What would stop a group of fans buying where ever in the ground and singing if they wanted to do that if sales are so low?

You couldn’t make it up.

Fans precious about their seats in a near empty FF stand denying fellow fans a chance to come and help the team progress to a semi final.

The club and staff should get criticism as they are clueless how to engage with the support at times and move with the times.

The ST renewals will be going out again soon and I hope they have thought what the plan is for the singing section as the current location isn’t working and ignoring it won’t fix it.

Also ignoring the fact the FF is always empty for cup games and nearly 50% full for most home games except Hearts when it still isn’t full even though is supposedly sold out isn’t right. Change is required.

Don’t blame the supporters. It’s not their fault they don’t want seats that some them will have had for 20 years changed.
    It’s a piece of plastic inside of a stadium that is a hangover from a badly put together Taylor Report, which was created with the intention of absolving negligent police officers and gentrifying football for good.

How I wish we could return to the days where “your seat” was not a thing, and you simply sat/stood wherever you fancied. Did you notice that the atmosphere was better then too? That’s not a strange coincidence, there’s a direct correlation.

Aberdeen last month allowed their Merkland (family) end to be turned into a one-off ‘red shed’, with unallocated tickets and standing allowed. The result? A vastly improved atmosphere for a game between Aberdeen and Dumbarton. Hopefully, Ron Gordon will take a leaf out Cormack’s book and realise that upsetting a few .net overthinkers is a price worth paying for improving the Easter Road atmosphere.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post
    You couldn’t make it up.

Fans precious about their seats in a near empty FF stand denying fellow fans a chance to come and help the team progress to a semi final.

The club and staff should get criticism as they are clueless how to engage with the support at times and move with the times.

The ST renewals will be going out again soon and I hope they have thought what the plan is for the singing section as the current location isn’t working and ignoring it won’t fix it.

Also ignoring the fact the FF is always empty for cup games and nearly 50% full for most home games except Hearts when it still isn’t full even though is supposedly sold out isn’t right. Change is required.
    I take it you're not criticising the club here either?

Makes a change eh?

You couldn’t make it up.

There’s nothing stopping anyone coming - there just won’t be any organised fun for them.

And there’s nothing to say the club agreed it and others are “stopping” the organised fun.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    What would stop a group of fans buying where ever in the ground and singing if they wanted to do that if sales are so low?
    You can’t buy a ticket in the FFL without purchasing a child’s ticket

I take it you're not criticising the club here either?

Makes a change eh?
    I’m criticising it here as it’s another missed opportunity.

This is my view and you are in the minority so give it a rest or please give solutions and stop trolling folk on this thread.

You don’t know it’s a minority and someone disagreeing with you doesn’t make them a troll.

For *one* game for the benefit of the atmosphere in a Scottish Cup quarter final tie that won’t have the greatest of attendances anyway?

I despair at the backwardness of this mentality, “it’s ma seat”, it’s a piece of bloody plastic for crying out loud. This was not billed as any sort of permanent move, just a one-off. But of course, the usual voices protest and the club wilts to them, to the detriment of our team’s chances of progressing on Friday night
    I agree with the principle, but others will argue that they want to sit where they’ve always sat. I’ve suggested solutions to this issue on other threads about giving them first dibs to relocate elsewhere in the stadium and rip the seats out of the FFL, so I’m not here defending the mentality, I’m saying that these kinds of things really should trialled pre season, or maybe give it over entirely to the cup competitions.

With you on this one. Sounds like a rehashed attempt of the previous failed attempt to hijack the FFL by a small, vocal and opinionated group which ultimately backfired and led to the current ban on buying singles for adults or upgrading kids tickets to the detriment of the wider support.

If KP, who is actually a director of the club, has not been able to confirm what must have been a board or at least CEO approved decision I'll treat claims that this was agreed then pulled after complaints with a sizable pinch of the old Saxa.

Quote Originally Posted by mcohibs View Post
    What was verbally agreed though? That there would be a lift of the accompanying child restrictions in the FF lower? When had the club planned on announcing this? The game is in four days time and tickets have already been on sale for three days.

IMO there's no way that the club ever agreed to lift any ticket restrictions for this match. What most likely happened is the singing section approached them after initial ST sales window ended (when this thread was posted) and said to the club, we're going to move down to FF lower, to which the club probably said 'Aye on you go'. (nothing to stop them so long as there's an accompanying child).

If ticket restrictions were going to be lifted there's no way the club would do this halfway through ticket sales and it would have been communicated well in advance. I don't think they ever agreed to it.
    You’re naïve in the extreme if you think the club relay everything to the wider fanbase first before doing it . I’m sure I’ve read on here before that they and the group have had meetings where stuff like this gets discussed.

Also, this idea that each member of the singing section were going to have to take a child in with them? 😂 It’s not a mascots in the tunnel situation and I’m confident in saying that the club were going to overlook it.

Something obviously needs to be sorted out, but for the start of next season.

Anything sooner isn't going to happen.

No a minority view. It looks as though the singing section have decided to move down to FF lower after the ST priority window and after tickets had already went on general sale on Friday.

Something like this needs to be planned well in advance to give the club the opportunity to accommodate and explore lifting ticket testrictions in that area. That takes a lot of planning through Ticketmaster etc.

Not the club's fault if the decision for singing section to relocate for this game was sprung on them.

You don’t know it’s a minority and someone disagreeing with you doesn’t make them a troll.
    The majority on this thread want action. More want action than don’t.

Anyway hopeful change can happen for next season as this season we have missed the boat again trying to improve ER match day experiences.

Something obviously needs to be sorted out, but for the start of next season.

Anything sooner isn't going to happen.
    By which point we’ll have alienated another 50 or so young fans who are fed up of trying their best to create an atmosphere at Easter Road only to run into endless brick walls in doing so.

Read up on the Red Ultras at Aberdeen if you don’t believe me, obstinance from boards and fans alike kills active support, and I would not blame the folk in Since1875 if they gave up before long

We have to start treating those who want to make an atmosphere at Easter Road as a priority, and I know that will irk those of you who think “but singing doesn’t make you a better fan” or “I used to sing back in the day”, however it’s a harsh truth. The way football is going, we need all the vocal backing we can get, and the fact even a one-off trial is met with this level of resistance from some is an absolute embarrassment, in my eyes

Quote Originally Posted by May2116 View Post
    Hearts games should be treated as a totally desperate entity, it’s going to sell out so we need to have a priority window of some sort.

In smaller games where the majority of the stadium lies empty, and 10% or less take up the option of their own seat/discount then we need to look at other ways to group everyone together and create an atmosphere, to me that is closing top sections of the ground until they are needed to open.

I’m fed up sitting in a soulless atmosphere for smaller cup games just for the sake of some wee guy getting to sit in the west upper corner on his own, when reality is he would probably have absolutely no issue sitting in the lower tier.
    There's absolutely no chance of that happening.

"I realise you and your mates have had a ST in that seat for many years, but you're going to have to sit in the last row of the lower tier."

"Aye, well you can stick next year's season tickets where the sun doesn't shine".

That would be totally self defeating.

I agree with the principle, but others will argue that they want to sit where they’ve always sat. I’ve suggested solutions to this issue on other threads about giving them first dibs to relocate elsewhere in the stadium and rip the seats out of the FFL, so I’m not here defending the mentality, I’m saying that these kinds of things really should trialled pre season, or maybe give it over entirely to the cup competitions.
    How can you work out if its going to work or not over 1 or 2 games though? especially in a pointless friendly against Swansea or some pish like that? or Forfar in the league cup.

This needs to be trialled for a season and hopefully next, ideally safe standing in the FF Lower, the club properly throwing their weight behind it, engaging with the fans that want to carry out displays and partially funding them.

to the 10 or 15 people that might have a problem with this to the extent they feel the need to send a strongly worded email to the club then tough. find a new seat. would rather look over the that part of the ground and see it absolutely bouncing than how its been since it was built.

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    You can’t buy a ticket in the FFL without purchasing a child’s ticket
    Is that still the case or have they changed it ?

Quote Originally Posted by HFCEighteen75 View Post
    You’re naïve in the extreme if you think the club relay everything to the wider fanbase first before doing it . I’m sure I’ve read on here before that they and the group have had meetings where stuff like this gets discussed.

Also, this idea that each member of the singing section were going to have to take a child in with them? 😂 It’s not a mascots in the tunnel situation and I’m confident in saying that the club were going to overlook it.
    'This idea' is the current regulations when buying a ticket in the FF lower. What makes you confident that the club were planning to overlook it? When were they going to announce this? When were they planning to overwrte Ticketmaster's block on purchasing single seat tickets in that section? The game is in four days time with tickets on sale three days ago.

By which point we’ll have alienated another 50 or so young fans who are fed up of trying their best to create an atmosphere at Easter Road only to run into endless brick walls in doing so.

Read up on the Red Ultras at Aberdeen if you don’t believe me, obstinance from boards and fans alike kills active support, and I would not blame the folk in Since1875 if they gave up before long

We have to start treating those who want to make an atmosphere at Easter Road as a priority, and I know that will irk those of you who think “but singing doesn’t make you a better fan” or “I used to sing back in the day”, however it’s a harsh truth. The way football is going, we need all the vocal backing we can get, and the fact even a one-off trial is met with this level of resistance from some is an absolute embarrassment, in my eyes
    How do you feel about alienating all the parents and their children?

There's a lot more of them than 50.

Also, in terms of the “don’t blame the club” line, I think our board have done many great things (most recently the greenest club in Scotland initiative - which I think is fantastic!) but they are due criticism on this specific issue, and they have been due it for several years now. They are absolutely determined to turn a blind eye to it, kick it into the long grass and just hope the status quo remains. Surely it can’t go on for any longer, especially when so many fans agree something HAS to be done to address the poor atmosphere at Easter Road