Page 137 of 558 FirstFirst ... 3787127135136137138139147187237 ... LastLast
Results 4,081 to 4,110 of 16724
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    I came across a Hearts fan the other day who said they wouldn't change the Romanov era due to their success.
    Exactly they won trophies that otherwise they wouldn’t of won I can see the logic in that They don’t care who didn’t get paid what was due them They were happy to ride the bandwagon while it lasted

Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    I came across a Hearts fan the other day who said they wouldn't change the Romanov era due to their success.
    Neither would I if it happened to us. Two cups and a decent recovery. This current season is independent of the Romanov years.

Aye, I'm sure if you could guarantee the same outcome most **** fans would do it all over again. But a 2 trophy return in exchange for the entire existence of your club being dependent on the whim of Lithuanian creditors and whether they can be hoodwinked as to the true value of your assets? No thanks.

@hibs.net private member Heisenberg's Avatar
    Hamilton boy has had his red card rescinded. Damage already done and could end up costing them their place in the league.

Quote Originally Posted by 04Sauzee View Post
    A couple of Jambos at work were telling me that thwy helped fund the development work at Herriot Watt to the tune of £2.5m and in return they got a 25 year lease. I didnt know this
    That was the original development pre administration. They still have the lease but there's only 10 years left on it.

Quote Originally Posted by Gloucester Hibs View Post
    Aye, I'm sure if you could guarantee the same outcome most **** fans would do it all over again. But a 2 trophy return in exchange for the entire existence of your club being dependent on the whim of Lithuanian creditors and whether they can be hoodwinked as to the true value of your assets? No thanks.
    You forgot the part where they got off with it relatively unscathed, until this point in time where the reason they’ve gone backwards is nothing to with administration/relegation, but through chronic mismanagement of funds.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    You forgot the part where they got off with it relatively unscathed, until this point in time where the reason they’ve gone backwards is nothing to with administration/relegation, but through chronic mismanagement of funds.
    They did aye but and it's easy to look back now with the benefit of hindsight but at the time they were literally on the brink or at least very close to it. I stand by my original point; 2 trophies is a pish return for putting your club in such jeopardy. Their financial doping didn't even allow them to mount a decent title challenge FFS.

Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Hamilton boy has had his red card rescinded. Damage already done and could end up costing them their place in the league.
    Yep. Like I said, spawny bassas.

They did aye but and it's easy to look back now with the benefit of hindsight but at the time they were literally on the brink or at least very close to it. I stand by my original point; 2 trophies is a pish return for putting your club in such jeopardy. Their financial doping didn't even allow them to mount a decent title challenge FFS.
    How close did they get to the brink though? They got off fairly lightly and even went into admin when they did so they wouldn’t get relegated the previous season, how they got away with shafting the league like that and waiting until the season was over is bonkers too.

@hibs.net private member Hibernianinc's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Diclonius View Post
    Neither would I if it happened to us. Two cups and a decent recovery. This current season is independent of the Romanov years.
    Isn't there a genuine question over cheating though?

If we're happy that the ends justify the means, then we'd have to accept everything Rangers (IL) did was just an effort to play the system, and if players can go down like a sack of tatties in the box and con the ref then that's good game management?

Allisbarry already bumming up the next Hawrts super kid.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...atford-1848757

I wonder if he'll be worth as much as Cockring...

Quote Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
    Jammy Jambos. A bad refereeing decision on Saturday has given a three point swing in their favour, then on Friday they face St Mirren who had to play extra time yesterday evening.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post

Brilliant! They've managed to find something where they're above us.

Apparently this season they've had 311 attempts at goal whereas we've only managed 290.

Is that us dead as a club again?

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.c...1883594?page=1

Apparently this season they've had 311 attempts at goal whereas we've only managed 290.

Kick outs by their goalie really shouldnae count as shots though...

The only stay that matters is we're 17 points above them

I was playing snooker the other night, bloody lost again but I definitely hit loads of balls loads of times.

Do I win a coconut?

The Lithuanian creditors basically told by Edinburgh establishment there would be no planning permission for house or supermarket development. Why they took £2.25 million. Though some developers were looking at doubling that amount and take the risk they would get the planning permission. Hearts sailed close to the wind.

I think they have a possibly soon to be resident of Saughton to thank for not getting liquidated.

I agree in principle, but I don’t think you’d find many hearts fans who would.

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    I think they have a possibly soon to be resident of Saughton to thank for not getting liquidated.
    Mr Fish. Took a fishy wee trip out there for the liquidation. Stinks.

Knew before opening the link the article would be by one of the EEN's resident Jambos.

The spirit of Cathro is alive and kicking.

@hibs.net private member Kojock's Avatar

311 shots produced 27 goals. Their strikers must be on fire lol.Naismith top of the pile with a grand total of 4 followed by Clare, Meshino and Walker on 3 apiece.

The cadence of which Banderson writes his Jambo articles, I just picture him being a type of person who wofts his own farts into his face for enjoyment.

Good old Barry.

Of course Hearts are desperate not to hype this kid too much, so they instruct their loyal propaganda man to write an article about him.

Quote Originally Posted by EdinMike View Post
    The cadence of which Banderson writes his Jambo articles, I just picture him being a type of person who wofts his own farts into his face for enjoyment.
    Probably has the same effect as his articles.

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    I agree in principle, but I don’t think you’d find many hearts fans who would.
    You're right, generations have seen them do it with other people's money, often misappropriated. They can't or won't get their head round how it could be done without really slurring the club's reputation.

The stigma of bumping the Lady Haig poppy fund and their own charities is not a smell I'd want following Hibs around in exchange for a couple of trophies. Much better to do it the way we did in 2016

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernianinc View Post
    Isn't there a genuine question over cheating though?

If we're happy that the ends justify the means, then we'd have to accept everything Rangers (IL) did was just an effort to play the system, and if players can go down like a sack of tatties in the box and con the ref then that's good game management?
    Rangers and Hearts are very different cases. The old Rangers deliberately gave their players 2nd contracts and concealed these from the SFA and HMRC. These were both illegal in law and against the SFA’s own rules and would normally result in forfeiting any game these players played in. Only the collusion with the SFA saved them from having titles stripped. Our very own Rod Petrie was part of the cover up.
    Hearts didn’t break any football rules until the day they went into admin. They then were punished for it.
    Scottish football still has no FFP rules because Sevco could not survive without the constant over spending.
    Why clubs like Hibs give them a free pass all the time remains a mystery to me.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Rangers and Hearts are very different cases. The old Rangers deliberately gave their players 2nd contracts and concealed these from the SFA and HMRC. These were both illegal in law and against the SFA’s own rules and would normally result in forfeiting any game these players played in. Only the collusion with the SFA saved them from having titles stripped. Our very own Rod Petrie was part of the cover up.
    Hearts didn’t break any football rules until the day they went into admin. They then were punished for it.
    Scottish football still has no FFP rules because Sevco could not survive without the constant over spending.

in a nutshell- I'm sure I've agreed with you before on this

@hibs.net private member Hibernianinc's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

Agreed. My point is cheating is cheating. Whether it's the blatant and systemic approach by R(IL), or the consequence of herts largess leading to Admin and subsequent punishment.

We shouldn't be saying it's ok to do this and win trophies assuming we 'get away with it', just because herts effectively have and, you could argue, so have The Rangers.

i'm still p'd off at an InAdmin Livi beating us in 2004 with players they couldn't afford.