Page 12 of 14 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    Plus our Scottish Cup record and performances have been generally excellent and entertaining in the past several years.
    I agree with this. I've loved our Scottish Cup runs over the last few years and hope that we're able to return to Hampden this year too.

Quote Originally Posted by Vault Boy View Post
    Last 9 years yes. I wasn't making a comparison, I very simply pointed out the factual statement that we have been drawn against the OF once since 2011, I'm happy about that. I don't know why it's been so upsetting to you, by no means does it mean we've had it easy in the Scottish Cup, but we absolutely have gotten some decent draws over the last 9 years, particularly in the latter stages of the competition.

I'd much rather play Hearts at Tynie or Aberdeen than I would Celtic or Rangers prior to the final round and we've done that 8 out of the last 9 years.
    You would much rather play Aberdeen or Hearts at Tynie than The Rangers in most of those years you’re mentioning.? They were rank for at half those seasons.

I’m really not upset but bewildered as to why a Hibs fan would suggest we get an easy time in the Scottish Cup compared to others.

Quote Originally Posted by Roxyhibee View Post
    You would much rather play Aberdeen or Hearts at Tynie than The Rangers in most of those years you’re mentioning.? They were rank for at half those seasons.

I’m really not upset but bewildered as to why a Hibs fan would suggest we get an easy time in the Scottish Cup compared to others.
    I said we have had our share of luck. Didn't once say we have it easy. That should be the end of that.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Before we get too carried away, ICT played well enough to beat Livingston so they could play well enough to beat us.

I said we have had our share of luck. Didn't once say we have it easy. That should be the end of that.
    Ok. End of discussion.

I didn't say we get it easy. I said we've been fortunate not to draw Celtic or Rangers most years. Particularly for a team that has gotten to the semi finals stage so often in recent times.
    You said ‘more so than hearts or Aberdeen’ which comparing all three is hardly any different.

Quote Originally Posted by ABZHFC View Post
    Spot on, I don't know if it stems from (justifiable) anti-Glasgow attitudes, but it really is a very short trip to make.

I live next to Hampden and my preference would be to play Finals at Murrayfield.

I know, wierd

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    At 20ish quid I don’t see us getting over 14k. Think we got close to that against Ayr a couple of years back (with a large away support) but other recent ER quarter finals have been four figure attendances.

I understand why they won’t drop the pricing but we are rarely interested in actually trying to do anything a bit different which frustrates me.
    does the same for me. no initiative, no real alteration or incentive to get more fans in. how about offering a way of giving attendees first chance at an extra semi-final ticket, if we get there? fill the bloody place!

Quote Originally Posted by ABZHFC View Post
    Spot on, I don't know if it stems from (justifiable) anti-Glasgow attitudes, but it really is a very short trip to make.
    a very short distance nowadays. so easy with the new M74 section too. junction 2a Polmadie, and tour there. junct. 2, pint in Rutherglen and walk doon or use yer over 60's bus pass

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Hearts game against Airdrie was the 4th round in the middle of January, at a time that their fans were losing patience with their entire club.

This is a quarter final and I'd expect around 14k depending on when it's played, more if our results running up to the game are decent.

Dropping the price to £12, same as the Duncans' did, won't increase the attendance by a significant number and it certainly won't make financial sense so ICT won't agree anyway.

Hibs have tried lowering prices before, but the bodies haven't turned up.
    This is true. The problem, if you want to call it that, is that the numbers who will turn up whatever the price (within reason) outweigh the people who will become interested when prices are lowered. So the marginal increase in attendance is low.

But that doesn't mean you can't try some other schemes for games like this. Low-price kids tickets, for example, or a 'bring a friend' scheme whereby season tickets can get a second ticket for a fiver, say.

Quote Originally Posted by DstN75 View Post
    This is true. The problem, if you want to call it that, is that the numbers who will turn up whatever the price (within reason) outweigh the people who will become interested when prices are lowered. So the marginal increase in attendance is low.

But that doesn't mean you can't try some other schemes for games like this. Low-price kids tickets, for example, or a 'bring a friend' scheme whereby season tickets can get a second ticket for a fiver, say.
    stuff like that needs tried.

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    stuff like that needs tried.
    Bring a friend was tried years back. Hopeless.
    Definitely an advocate for lower kids pricing, limited and monitored. Cannae have 10,000 wee radges turning up unannounced and pished.

Quote Originally Posted by Iggy Pope View Post
    Bring a friend was tried years back. Hopeless.
    Definitely an advocate for lower kids pricing, limited and monitored. Cannae have 10,000 wee radges turning up unannounced and pished.
    Agree with this. The problem with Hibs giving out free tickets (such as bring a friend) is that we would need to pay ICT half the ticket price, so makes zero sense.
    However agreeing with them to reduce prices to £15 for adults and £5 for senior citizens and kids sounds far more sensible.

Quote Originally Posted by DstN75 View Post

Loads of us who don't live in Edinburgh and don't have season tickets will travel for the quarter final. Given that it'll cost a fair amount to get to the game, the ticket price isn't going to stop us going.

Introducing a £5 bring a friend sceme would merely lose Hibs £15 for each of us.

I agree, however, it would be great if something could be done to increase attendances, but we've been wrestling with this since the 70s and 80s when crowds were regularly around 4000.

We tried the £10 a ticket thing for a Saturday league game v ICT once (in 2011) and it did add to the attendance IIRC. This is the only time we’ve trialled it as far as I’m aware so is all the evidence we have? So not sure on what basis folk are arguing to the contrary?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...em/9406146.stm

Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post
    Agree with this. The problem with Hibs giving out free tickets (such as bring a friend) is that we would need to pay ICT half the ticket price, so makes zero sense.
    However agreeing with them to reduce prices to £15 for adults and £5 for senior citizens and kids sounds far more sensible.
    I don't think taking a fiver off the admission would attract an extra 25 people to the game, never mind the 2500 or whatever it would need to make up the financial loss.

I'd imagine Hibs budget with a cup run in mind so that would impact on ticket prices. However, anything more than £20 and £10 for concessions would be extracting the urine if you ask me. Both teams will be benefitting from TV money as well.

When was the last time hibs featured live on tv for every round?

Quote Originally Posted by Gloucester Hibs View Post
    We tried the £10 a ticket thing for a Saturday league game v ICT once (in 2011) and it did add to the attendance IIRC. This is the only time we’ve trialled it as far as I’m aware so is all the evidence we have? So not sure on what basis folk are arguing to the contrary?

The argument is that it doesn't make financial sense to slash prices.

It's also unfair on season ticket holders and has implications for future pricing should reductions happen on more than a one-off basis.

The previous ICT game at ER that season attracted a crowd of 11300 do by cutting the walk up price in half, the crowd increased by 2500.

It's a judgement call as to whether it was worth it for the extra bodies, but we took a hit financially.

We’re happy to write off other revenue streams which probably makes it all the more unlikely that costs will be reduced for the paying supporter.

FWIW, £20 for an adult is fine for a cup quarter final. I think it’s kids pricing they need to look at doing something about. Quite often going to away games they have good family deals on. Maybe because I haven’t had to look I’ve just missed them at Easter Road (I know kids can get decent priced season tickets) but not sure about walk up pricing.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    We’re happy to write off other revenue streams which probably makes it all the more unlikely that costs will be reduced for the paying supporter.

FWIW, £20 for an adult is fine for a cup quarter final. I think it’s kids pricing they need to look at doing something about. Quite often going to away games they have good family deals on. Maybe because I haven’t had to look I’ve just missed them at Easter Road (I know kids can get decent priced season tickets).
    How much are kids tickets?

I thought the session ticket packages were very good.

Think it’s usually £12 for a category B game. Agree on season tickets.

Quote Originally Posted by Gloucester Hibs View Post

...and led to a loss of total income as revenue from additional crowd was insufficient to off-set the loss

Quote Originally Posted by hibbyfraelibby View Post
    ...and led to a loss of total income as revenue from additional crowd was insufficient to off-set the loss
    I was only arguing from the perspective of increased attendance, as others had mentioned reducing prices had no effect which is untrue.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    If ticket price was the only reason fans were giving for not going, then you could see why having a think about pricing would be worthwhile. Problem is that even with “cheap” tickets, there will be many other excuses and reasons for not going along. It’s not a mouthwatering tie as such and it’s unlikely to be at 3pm Saturday, and if it’s on TV them there will be many reasons why tickets won’t be flying out of the shop.

Wee idea, bring a friend could give 10% off a ticket and £5 off a Hibs strip in the shop?

Quote Originally Posted by hibee-boys View Post
    anything more than £20 and £10 for concessions would be extracting the urine if you ask me. Both teams will be benefitting from TV money as well.
    The SFA sets the ticket prices for these matches. If Hibs want to reduce the prices they would need ICT to agree, otherwise £22/£10 it will be.
    The issue I have is Hibs fans blaming the club/Leeann for ticket prices when they may be powerless to reduce these.

The SFA sets the ticket prices for these matches. If Hibs want to reduce the prices they would need ICT to agree, otherwise £22/£10 it will be.
    The issue I have is Hibs fans blaming the club/Leeann for ticket prices when they may be powerless to reduce these.
    That's rubbish.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

They are so good that people buy season tickets for the South Lower that they only intend to use three or four times a season!

For semi final and finals they set them. Never heard of them setting pricing for earlier rounds.