Page 84 of 558 FirstFirst ... 3474828384858694134184 ... LastLast
Results 2,491 to 2,520 of 16724
    Imagine Paul Heckingbottom was lingering about East Mains telling players they wee free to find other clubs etc while Jack Ross was taking training. Bizzare

Surely it is the sporting director's job to deal with severing contracts, and the coach's job to coach? I don't see a problem with Stendhal delegating that, and concentrating his time on the people who are staying.

It seems to me a clique at Tynecastle had had their noses put out of joint, and they are co ordinating their whining.

Quote Originally Posted by Barman Stanton View Post
    This guy is not going to last the season. This cant be going down well with Budge etc. Almost daily stories about the havoc this guy is causing. Pleasing.
    Going by the unanimous love-in for anything and everything Stendel does or says on KB, I don’t think there’s the remotest chance of him getting an early bath. There would be mass fan mutiny. It seems, despite his horrendous record, that, no matter how bad and how long they continue to be, the Muppets are convinced that he has the solution and will come good in due course. Most of them think he will save their skins eventually or, if they go down, he is the man to bring them right back up. With her ridiculous loyalty to Levein et al, and her need to support Stendel, she is between the devil and the deep blue sea.

Quote Originally Posted by Cataplana View Post
    Surely it is the sporting director's job to deal with severing contracts, and the coach's job to coach? I don't see a problem with Stendhal delegating that, and concentrating his time on the people who are staying.

It seems to me a clique at Tynecastle had had their noses put out of joint, and they are co ordinating their whining.
    Not sure I agree at all. Surely its the coaches job to explain why a player is not in his plans. The Sporting Director can then organise the contract side etc.

If Vela is not in Jack Ross's plans, I fully expect he has had that chat with him. Just manners.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    Going by the unanimous love-in for anything and everything Stendel does or says on KB, I don’t think there’s the remotest chance of him getting an early bath. There would be mass fan mutiny. It seems, despite his horrendous record, that, no matter how bad and how long they continue to be, the Muppets are convinced that he has the solution and will come good in due course. Most of them think he will save their skins eventually or, if they go down, he is the man to bring them right back up. With her ridiculous loyalty to Levein et al, and her need to support Stendel, she is between the devil and the deep blue sea.
    Brilliant isnt it. They are clinging there hopes to someone who frankly doesnt have a great record at all. I dont really get it to be honest.

Not sure I agree at all. Surely its the coaches job to explain why a player is not in his plans. The Sporting Director can then organise the contract side etc.

If Vela is not in Jack Ross's plans, I fully expect he has had that chat with him. Just manners.
    Why waste time massaging the ego of someone who you don't need? It's manners but manners doesn't win games, and I'm sure he'd be better using his limited time to concentrate on building the confidence of the people that remain.

The club has someone appointed to manage players going out. He needs to delegate.

@hibs.net private member McSwanky's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bostonhibby View Post
    It would make some half and half scarf to mark the occasion.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post

What a ****ing shambles they are.
    Have they said the press are all out to get them as everyone is running scared of this revolution yet?

Why waste time massaging the ego of someone who you don't need? It's manners but manners doesn't win games, and I'm sure he'd be better using his limited time to concentrate on building the confidence of the people that remain.

The club has someone appointed to manage players going out. He needs to delegate.
    How long does it take to tell a player he is not in your plans. Fair play if you think its fine, I just dont think its a great way to run things. Could also affect the morale of the other players.

Fontaine for example. Cup winning player. You honestly think it would be cool for the coach to just get rid without having a word? Each to their own I guess.

Quote Originally Posted by 90+2 View Post
    Have they said the press are all out to get them as everyone is running scared of this revolution yet?
    They haven’t quite gone full rangers yet, as in “no-one likes us and we don’t care”.

How long does it take to tell a player he is not in your plans. Fair play if you think its fine, I just dont think its a great way to run things. Could also affect the morale of the other players.

Fontaine for example. Cup winning player. You honestly think it would be cool for the coach to just get rid without having a word? Each to their own I guess.
    No I don't think anything at Tynecastle is cool at the moment. I think, if I was Stendhal, I'd be focussing on winning the next two games, as I'm more likely to get the sack for losing them than for failing to be nice to players going out the door.

They've done nothing for them, he doesn't fancy them, do you think an hour discussing why is going to have them agreeing with him?

New manager been told to cut the cloth to get others in. Anybody he does not fancy goes. But should explain to players why. The ex manager telling people they are finished at the back door of a rented training facility is just totally bizarre and unprofessional. That has been Hearts for the last 15 years. Baffling but pleasing.

Under normal circumstances yes, but he was sacked from both roles in October https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/50255905

In my time following football, I can’t think of a similar situation. It’s utterly bizarre.

No I don't think anything at Tynecastle is cool at the moment. I think, if I was Stendhal, I'd be focussing on winning the next two games, as I'm more likely to get the sack for losing them than for failing to be nice to players going out the door.

They've done nothing for them, he doesn't fancy them, do you think an hour discussing why is going to have them agreeing with him?
    No, but I think pulling a player aside and explaining why he is not in his plans is just manners and would prefer Hibs are run that way (which I imagine we are). You dont and thats totally fine, lets leave it at that.

Quote Originally Posted by FilipinoHibs View Post
    New manager been told to cut the cloth to get others in. Anybody he does not fancy goes. But should explain to players why. The ex manager telling people they are finished at the back door of a rented training facility is just totally bizarre and unprofessional. That has been Hearts for the last 15 years. Baffling but pleasing.
    Thats how I see it as well. Could be a 5 minute conversation. Getting sacked at a back door by someone who wont know why is just pretty humiliating really. Baffling any non Hearts fans see it as fine to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by HFC93 View Post
    Under normal circumstances yes, but he was sacked from both roles in October https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/50255905

In my time following football, I can’t think of a similar situation. It’s utterly bizarre.
    I don't blame Stendhal for leaving sorting the mess to the people who created it.

There is another employee at the club whose job is to get players out of the door.
    Last edited by Cataplana; 15-01-2020 at 09:29 AM.

This guy is not going to last the season. This cant be going down well with Budge etc. Almost daily stories about the havoc this guy is causing. Pleasing.
    With the wages he's rumoured to be on the 'Big team' simply couldn't afford to bullet him !

Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    They haven’t quite gone full rangers yet, as in “no-one likes us and we don’t care”.
    Give it time. It’s always someone else’s fault with them.

No, but I think pulling a player aside and explaining why he is not in his plans is just manners and would prefer Hibs are run that way (which I imagine we are). You dont and thats totally fine, lets leave it at that.
    Especially a younger player.

Quote Originally Posted by GreenCastle View Post
    Sounds professional. Back door of Oriam while students walk past. I guess that’s what happens when you rent a training pitch.

Maybe the BBC documentary captured the moment.

Keena is crap - watched him play quite a few times and thinks he is better than he is.

I would be embarrassed if I was Anderson publishing these articles. Had to get the ‘Hearts Big team’ into the article.

The ongoing thread on kickback about the pitch is hilarious - they can’t get their head round the fact they wasted to much money on a pitch which is worse than a public park.
    They've been profiting from playing on a pitch smaller than a public park for many years. It perfectly suits their hoofball, 2nd ball, long throw, tactics. A proper size pitch with an excellent surface would have seen them found out years ago.

Left by mutual consent! KingPat4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DickieDastardly View Post
    Her first major project since the Edinburgh Trams.... 😀

Quote Originally Posted by HFC93 View Post

The key words in that article from Budge are "Craig will not return to his previous director of football role and, that being so, will step down from the board."

As you say, bizarre. The implication was he was simply going to run down his contract with minimal involvement until the summer yet he seems to be playing an integral role in the club's future. You'd think this would require an explanation, but it just seems to be accepted that his sacking didn't really happen. As I've said earlier it wouldn't surprise me if Budge announces in the summer that he's staying on - and who knows, if Stendel gets punted before then we might even seem him back as manager!!

Stendel is not the first team coach, he is the manager. It is therefore his job to manage the players and explain tactics and if necessary tell them they are no longer required.
    Say what you like but a good manager will do the dirty work as well. Not doing it and sending a message to a player, especially a young one, that he is required at the back door to be given the news from someone else would earn you no respect.
    The remaining players will note how he treats others.
    It won't help the harmony within the club.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    What else do they have to hang onto ? Their club is a basket case from top to bottom. Stendal is the only thing not party to their spectacular collapse, so he is the only one left to play the role of white knight. Their problems really begin if he turns out to be a dud. Like their songbook post 2016, they have no plan B. They would be left praying for some mysterious benefactor to bail them out again.

Said it before but Stendel is their Fenlon. I wanted Fenlon to succeed so badly after the bore fest that was Calderwood to the point I couldn't/refused to see his flaws. It's easy to like a guy that throws their arms around a lot on the sidelines

Quote Originally Posted by Since452 View Post
    Said it before but Stendel is their Fenlon. I wanted Fenlon to succeed so badly after the bore fest that was Calderwood to the point I couldn't/refused to see his flaws. It's easy to like a guy that throws their arms around a lot on the sidelines
    Fenlon far to nice to be compared to the Gorgie Messiah. I think he is more their Butcher to be honest. 1980s approach to man management, inability to win any games etc. Hoping for the same outcome as well.

Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Stendel is not the first team coach, he is the manager. It is therefore his job to manage the players and explain tactics and if necessary tell them they are no longer required.
    Say what you like but a good manager will do the dirty work as well. Not doing it and sending a message to a player, especially a young one, that he is required at the back door to be given the news from someone else would earn you no respect.
    The remaining players will note how he treats others.
    It won't help the harmony within the club.
    Look at it from another perspective, if he is telling the club captain you're no longer required, other players will be bricking it and will be trying their hardest to make sure they're not next!!!!
    Could work, Maybees Aye Maybees Naw, but it will have sent a rocket up the a***s of some of their underachievers!!!!
    As for having a word with them about no longer being required, he's not got 5 minutes to spare for each of them as they are in deep s**t and all their time will be better spent digging in the latrines!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    Look at it from another perspective, if he is telling the club captain you're no longer required, other players will be bricking it and will be trying their hardest to make sure they're not next!!!!
    Could work, Maybees Aye Maybees Naw, but it will have sent a rocket up the a***s of some of their underachievers!!!!
    As for having a word with them about no longer being required, he's not got 5 minutes to spare for each of them as they are in deep s**t and all their time will be better spent digging in the latrines!!!!
    The rocket up the arse only works for players whose contract is close to run down and whose agent can't line them up a move.

If he really wanted to make a statement he'd make chocolate knees Naismith train with the reserves and insist he only wanted guys that trained more that twice a week and were fit playing for him.

Maybe in the past, but players are more powerful than they used to be and alienating senior players rarely ends well. I wouldn’t be surprised if Berra outstays Stendel at Hearts.