George Sq. probably closed tonight cos the locals canny handle a bevvy.
Thread: Only an Excuse
-
-
31-12-2019 05:06 PM #32
I haven't watched it since the McAvennie patter was actually topical!
*Not this millennium
-
31-12-2019 05:19 PM #33
It might be so crap, that the hipster purveyors of opinion will decide it’s good.
-
31-12-2019 05:23 PM #34This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
TV in this country just cant see past its Glasgow centric love in ... for them Glasgow is Scotland, no wonder folk outside of Scotland get a shock when the meet a Scotsman or woman who doesn't sound like Billy Connolly.
-
31-12-2019 05:31 PM #35This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
To be fair, it works for every subject he posts about
For once I agree with him
-
31-12-2019 05:41 PM #36
When you see the offerings on Irish TV, Only an Excuse would actually improve the listings. Eye bleeding.
I’ll predict Hibs won’t be mentioned once. An even number of Old Firm skits peppered with Fergie, Denis Law & Nicola Sturgeon. A random weegie in-joke for Glasgow viewers and a couple of sectarians.
-
31-12-2019 05:44 PM #37This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Even the talking heads are stacked. Watch vox pops from Edinburgh or stock footage when there's a report from there. They go out of their way to show a quiet Princes St with little old ladies, preferably with a shopping trolley. It never shows the city as bustling, busy and dynamic.
-
31-12-2019 05:45 PM #38This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
31-12-2019 06:07 PM #40This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Lovely bit of anti weegie posting there. Heres to more in the new decade 🍻
-
31-12-2019 06:15 PM #41
**** sake. Dinnae watch it then.
It's no the best perhaps but there's always a couple of chortles in there.
-
31-12-2019 06:18 PM #42
Why watch it if you don't like it
-
31-12-2019 07:05 PM #43
Watched it last year and laughed once, its time is done
-
31-12-2019 07:21 PM #44
[QUOTE=Lewis Hazlett;6033398]Why watch it if you don't like it[/QUOTE
Because it's that bad that it's become cult viewing. I'll record it just to see how bad it actually is.
-
31-12-2019 07:32 PM #45
It's really quite easy for BBC Scotland, Scotch and Wry reruns.
-
31-12-2019 08:12 PM #46This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
31-12-2019 08:48 PM #48
-
31-12-2019 08:53 PM #49
-
31-12-2019 09:10 PM #50
Selling Scotland with Jack Docherty on the BBC has been quite amusing so far.
-
31-12-2019 09:22 PM #51This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
-
31-12-2019 09:27 PM #53This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
31-12-2019 09:29 PM #54
-
31-12-2019 09:57 PM #55This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
We do 15 minutes worth of nae medals, Levein on the bog, unfinished stand, 400,000 fans, 12 fingered sister pumping gags. In the interests of fairness we give them 15 minutes to presumably hold up a 5-1 hand gesture. What do they mock us for - upgrading the family car and not “buying British”? Driving said car without driving gloves? Not playing golf? Not even owning a cardigan?
Cracking tv.
For us, anyway.
It would be great to make a programme with the main intention being to alienate Glaswegians - a whole half hour without a thinly-veiled sectarian joke. There will be Old Firm game levels of domestic abuse when it reaches the end without a “whit fit dae ye kick wi” punchline.Last edited by Smartie; 31-12-2019 at 10:00 PM.
-
-
31-12-2019 10:01 PM #57This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
What we got was 30 seconds on OAE with a Trainspotting type hallucination than was as crap as it was predictable. Then it was back to the Celtic, Rangers, Celtic, Rangers, Sturgeon, Celtic, Rangers, token non OF joke, Celtic, Rangers, pop culture, Celtic/Rangers joint joke to finish.
They just aren't interested in looking outside the bubble. It was the same with the whole Hearts/Romanov circus, that could have been about 3 hour long specials alone. It barely got 3 seconds.
-
31-12-2019 10:05 PM #58
-
31-12-2019 10:14 PM #59
It is *****, it wiz ***** and always will be *****. It’s done just can the thing man don’t know a single person who actually likes it
-
31-12-2019 10:22 PM #60
Alex Norton must be short of cash.
As well as being absolute pish this looks like it's been written by someone on mind-altering drugs.