Page 12 of 16 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
    Left by mutual consent! Fife-Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    they can be all things to all people.
    They can't, no party can. We live in uncompromising times. Any party trying to appeal to everyone, ultimately ends up appealing to no one.

Quote Originally Posted by Fife-Hibee View Post
    They can't, no party can. We live in uncompromising times. Any party trying to appeal to everyone, ultimately ends up appealing to no one.
    Eh? The SNP have been the most disciplined Party I can remember for over a decade now despite there being a wide spread of political opinion amongst their ranks. It looks like they have managed to be all things to all people in this case. (As long as you believe in Independence that is. )

Anyway.....back to Jo Swinson.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Eh? The SNP have been the most disciplined Party I can remember for over a decade now despite there being a wide spread of political opinion amongst their ranks. It looks like they have managed to be all things to all people in this case. (As long as you believe in Independence that is. )

Anyway.....back to Jo Swinson.
    The SNP are not all things to all people. If they were, they would have 100% of the vote in Scotland. I agree they have been very diciplined to maintain such a high level of support for so long, but they're far from appealing to everybody up here.

If they tried to be all things to all people, they would be nothing to no one. Just like The Independent Group for Change.

The SNP are not all things to all people. If they were, they would have 100% of the vote in Scotland. I agree they have been very diciplined to maintain such a high level of support for so long, but they're far from appealing to everybody up here.

If they tried to be all things to all people, they would be nothing to no one. Just like The Independent Group for Change.

Of course they won't have 100% support.
    All things to all people is merely a figure of speech meaning they appeal to a very broad spectrum and really isn't to be taken literally. But you know that anyway.

Anyway, back on track........Jo Swinson
    Last edited by marinello59; 06-11-2019 at 03:46 PM.

Back to Jo Swinson , She's willing to launch the nukes..

https://twitter.com/mrpaulaitken/sta...78250085933056

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    Back to Jo Swinson , She's willing to launch the nukes..

https://twitter.com/mrpaulaitken/sta...78250085933056
    For a Lib Dem Jo Swinson seems to have some pretty conservative views. I think she would jump at the chance to go into coalition with the tories if there is a hung parliament.

She comes across as being disingenuous, untrustworthy and out of her depth.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post
    For a Lib Dem Jo Swinson seems to have some pretty conservative views. I think she would jump at the chance to go into coalition with the tories if there is a hung parliament.

Based on her past voting history and the language she is now using, being careful not to say outright she will not go into a coalition with the Tories but completely rules out working together with Jeremy Corbyn's Labour, I think it's pretty obvious she's got her money on Johnson and is hoping to be the king maker.

It is blatantly obvious. But don't you dare point that out to the "middle ground moderates". They don't like that sort of comparison. Even if there is no other comparison to be made.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Based on her past voting history and the language she is now using, being careful not to say outright she will not go into a coalition with the Tories but completely rules out working together with Jeremy Corbyn's Labour, I think it's pretty obvious she's got her money on Johnson and is hoping to be the king maker.
    She's saying the right things to maximise her vote share.

What she will actually do if it comes to it, will depend on the circumstances in which she finds herself.

Corbyn is hated by pretty much every Tory. More than the remainer Tory voters hate Brexit. If she so much as hinted that she would help him become PM, she would immediately close the door to any possible Tory tactical voters.

Labour remainers who might be inclined to vote tactically have heard her saying that she will do everything she can to stop Brexit. She has gone as far as saying that she wouldn't even accept the result of a second referendum if it returned a no vote.

Labour voters would be prepared to put up with a minority Tory government if Brexit was stopped or even if there was a 2nd referendum.

She's saying/not saying things that can come back to bite her on the erse.

When she enters a coalition with the tories, she can simply claim that she never ruled one out with them. We all know how obsessed she is with inflicting austerity on the most vulnerable.

Lib Dem MP stands down and endorses Labour candidate in a marginal seat between Labour and the Tories. Jo Swinson says no and plans to put up a new candidate.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Lib Dem MP stands down and endorses Labour candidate in a marginal seat between Labour and the Tories. Jo Swinson says no and plans to put up a new candidate.

Unless they get a reciprocal deal from Labour then they are quite right.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Unless they get a reciprocal deal from Labour then they are quite right.
    Quite right to stand in a seat they have no chance of winning in a Labour/Tory marginal?

This isn't a game.

But we all know the real reason why. The Lib Dems need brexit to happen to remain relevant.

Hopefully most Lib Dem voters will be savvy enough to vote tactically for the Labour candidate. Farage is helping the Tories, so the progressive parties need to work together in marginal seats too.

@hibs.net private member H18S NX's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Harp Awakes View Post

,,,,Did she not vote with the tories on every austerity bill,sure i read it somewhere,could be wrong though.

Quite right to stand in a seat they have no chance of winning in a Labour/Tory marginal?

This isn't a game.

But we all know the real reason why. The Lib Dems need brexit to happen to remain relevant.
    Have Labour stood down in any of the Tory / Lib marginals that they have no chance of winning? No? Thought not.

Quote Originally Posted by H18S NX View Post
    ,,,,Did she not vote with the tories on every austerity bill,sure i read it somewhere,could be wrong though.
    Nah I think you are right, from what I read she was a true blue during that coalition, until she saw the "Jo Swinson for PM" tagline she was more Tory than most Tory MPs....

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    I think is amusing that we have a whole thread with a whole lot of posts that are critical of Jo Swinson.

I am a member of a different party so I don’t have any allegiance to her.

The folk who post that she voted for this and that - of course she did, she was whipped as part of the coalition agreement. She was obliged to vote that way as a result of the quid pro quo, the LibDems banked heavily on Alternative Vote, which failed at referendum. Voting for short term Tory policies was a gamble on changing the electoral system and ensuring a left-centrist lock on government.

The anti-Jo Swinson stuff tends to be weak, and at times, from some posters, rather misogynistic.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I think is amusing that we have a whole thread with a whole lot of posts that are critical of Jo Swinson.

I am a member of a different party so I don’t have any allegiance to her.

The folk who post that she voted for this and that - of course she did, she was whipped as part of the coalition agreement. She was obliged to vote that way as a result of the quid pro quo, the LibDems banked heavily on Alternative Vote, which failed at referendum. Voting for short term Tory policies was a gamble on changing the electoral system and ensuring a left-centrist lock on government.

The anti-Jo Swinson stuff tends to be weak, and at times, from some posters, rather misogynistic.
    I tend to agree, whether you think she's in it for herself or whatever, the one thing it's not fair to pull her up on is voting in line with 'her' government of the day.

Have Labour stood down in any of the Tory / Lib marginals that they have no chance of winning? No? Thought not.

Feel free to point out these Tory/LibDem marginals where Labour should step down.

Fact is, the Lib Dem MP who stood down, did so because he knew it made sense. Pretty poor way for the party to treat one of their own by simply replacing him.

https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/p...icies-lib-dems

Vice gets it spot on.

Voted against increasing benefits in line with inflation.

Voted 25 times against against increases in welfare spending.

Voted 11 times for the bedroom tax.

But hey, she was whipped and we all hate women.

Get tae ****.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    IMG_0937.jpg

Wasn't just a few times she voted for them, it was more than Gove and Hunt, nothing to do with her sex, I just think she's a total ********

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    IMG_0937.jpg

Wasn't just a few times she voted for them, it was more than Gove and Hunt, nothing to do with her sex, I just think she's a total ********

Swinson is a careerist first and foremost and if she's calculated that Brexit will serve her career better in the long run by giving her and the party something to continually "fight against". She'll be hoping for a comfortable tory majority to push brexit through.

Feel free to point out these Tory/LibDem marginals where Labour should step down.

Fact is, the Lib Dem MP who stood down, did so because he knew it made sense. Pretty poor way for the party to treat one of their own by simply replacing him.

Would this count?

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    https://www.vice.com/en_uk/article/p...icies-lib-dems

Vice gets it spot on.

Voted against increasing benefits in line with inflation.

Voted 25 times against against increases in welfare spending.

Voted 11 times for the bedroom tax.

But hey, she was whipped and we all hate women.

Get tae ****.
    The snp seem to have hit upon a worthwhile policy idea on that subject with the universal basic income (UBI) which would eventually scrap the benefits system altogether.

Would this count?
    It would if the Lib Dems actually wanted to win enough seats to be in a position of major influence. But then that would mean sticking to their fake promises. A situation they'll really want to avoid.

It generally makes no difference if Zac Goldsmith or Sarah Olney wins that particular seat, as the main aim over England as a whole, is to take votes away from Labour, but not so many votes that they actually risk winning too many seats.

It would if the Lib Dems actually wanted to win enough seats to be in a position of major influence. But then that would mean sticking to their fake promises. A situation they'll really want to avoid.

It generally makes no difference if Zac Goldsmith or Sarah Olney wins that particular seat, as the main aim over England as a whole, is to take votes away from Labour, but not so many votes that they actually risk winning too many seats.
    It makes a big difference and everyone knows it. To have half a chance of forming a govt, Labour need to stop the Tories going above 320 seats.
    Without an alliance they have no chance.

It makes a big difference and everyone knows it. To have half a chance of forming a govt, Labour need to stop the Tories going above 320 seats.
    Without an alliance they have no chance.
    There is no alliance though, that's the problem. Neither Labour or the Lib Dems have any motivation to work together. Labour don't trust the Lib Dems and working with Labour would be counter productive to the true motives of the Lib Dem hierarchy. Their motive isn't to work with remainers, it's to work against them while making it appear that they're trying to avoid brexit, while actually doing everything to ensure that it happens.

They'll continue their "we're the only party that can stop brexit" rhetoric, knowing full well that it will ultimately result in a tory majority. They're even spewing the same rhetoric in Scotland in the hope that the tories take some marginal seats away from the SNP.
    Last edited by Fife-Hibee; 12-11-2019 at 10:49 PM.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Frankhfc View Post
    The snp seem to have hit upon a worthwhile policy idea on that subject with the universal basic income (UBI) which would eventually scrap the benefits system altogether.
    Don't you mean the snp has agreed with the Scottish Green Party 😉
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Don't you mean the snp has agreed with the Scottish Green Party 😉
    Indeed, it’s been a Green policy for longer than it’s been an SNP one.