Page 14 of 38 FirstFirst ... 4121314151624 ... LastLast
    I'm off to Ascot this weekend for their 1st jumps meeting of the year.

Ascot is a bit OTT and I'd say I prefer York, Cheltenham and both Newmarket courses to it when it comes to the big guns. However the King Edward VII Enclosure is fantastic; right up on the 4th floor of the grandstand so the view of the track is spectacular. Sodexo Gold Cup is the feature race of the day and it's a decent field. I'd usually look out for the Nicholls horses at the big Saturday meeting but he's had a relatively slow start to the season so I may look elsewhere.

Magical and Ten Sovereigns become the latest big names to be retired.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 01-11-2019 at 08:03 AM.

Ascot is a bit OTT and I'd say I prefer York, Cheltenham and both Newmarket courses to it when it comes to the big guns. However the King Edward VII Enclosure is fantastic; right up on the 4th floor of the grandstand so the view of the track is spectacular. Sodexo Gold Cup is the feature race of the day and it's a decent field. I'd usually look out for the Nicholls horses at the big Saturday meeting but he's had a relatively slow start to the season so I may look elsewhere.
    Enjoy and be sure to post any strong tips

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Enjoy and be sure to post any strong tips
    Ecco will be a short price but, I thought it looked like a horse with a big future ahead of it when it won at Wincanton a couple of Thursdays ago. One of PB's Nicholls horses too.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Ecco will be a short price but, I thought it looked like a horse with a big future ahead of it when it won at Wincanton a couple of Thursdays ago. One of PB's Nicholls horses too.
    I shall take a look, mate

I see it's odds on, I'll not be bothering.

Might still be worth being part of an acca? A win is a win.

I dinnae get involved in racing accas, good luck though.

6/5 on Betfair
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 02-11-2019 at 08:04 AM.

Its worth getting down in amongst the stable hands and those who work with the horses to see if you can glean any information. They're the ones in the know.

I happened to do just that a number of years ago now and after getting into a conversation with one of the stable hands I was told there was a horse that was being prepared for the 1000 guineas set for a few months later that was virtually unbeatable.

The guy seemed brand new and I put a wedge on at 10/1 and won a packet when it galloped home.

These guys know the horses better than anyone.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Today was a great example of why I love horse racing. Turned on Sky Sports Racing, the bumper at Uttoxeter was almost ready to start. Horse's name came up on the screen - Jack Valentine - my old man's name. 8/1, I'd never heard of it and it hadn't raced for over 500 days.

Stuck a fiver on it and it came in

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Today was a great example of why I love horse racing. Turned on Sky Sports Racing, the bumper at Uttoxeter was almost ready to start. Horse's name came up on the screen - Jack Valentine - my old man's name. 8/1, I'd never heard of it and it hadn't raced for over 500 days.

Superb!

Great stuff mate.

For it to be 8/1 and been out for that length of time it must have had some decent form prior?

Quote Originally Posted by Frankhfc View Post
    Great stuff mate.

For it to be 8/1 and been out for that length of time it must have had some decent form prior?
    Had one run in Ireland previously, unplaced. Bought by Venetia Williams' syndicate recently. Never had time to do any research on why it was absent for so long. Was a weak race today.

Must have been fancied by those in the know with a wee nibble on to be 8/1 with no form and to be out for so long.

But hey just glad you had a few quid on mate.

Well done

Must have been fancied by those in the know with a wee nibble on to be 8/1 with no form and to be out for so long.

But hey just glad you had a few quid on mate.

Well done
    Cheers 👍

6/5 on Betfair
    Continues to drift, almost 6/4 on Betfair now.

Magical and Ten Sovereigns become the latest big names to be retired.
    Coolmore is all about breeding stallions. Really annoyed they have been retired though. No reason to retire magical as she's a mare and ten sovereigns could have been superb as a four year old if he got rattling good ground. I'm a huge fan of all things ballydoyle but in this instance no happy at all. Hopefully Japan runs as a four year old as he should be even better than this season as he had a troubled training regime and missed weeks

Continues to drift, almost 6/4 on Betfair now.
    Won at nearly 13/8 on Betfair.

Nice one. You must have had a few quid on?

Believe it or not, I ended up not backing it! 😠

Believe it or not, I ended up not backing it! ��
    Fair do's mate. I've done it myself, tipping horses that's subsequently won to others while not personally having a penny on them. Its easy done but hopefully someone on here noted it down and won a few quid.

Aye, my old man!

Envoi Allen

I have to say after watching it’s 1st run over hurdles last weekend I’m feeling quite happy that after last seasons festival I’ve had 27 £5 free bets on at at Skybet on him to win “any race” at next years big meeting.10-1 8-1 and mostly at 6’s,in my opinion it would be a shoe in for the Ballymore but at this stage seems happy to stick to 2m,anyone got any fancy ante post slips on for next year yet?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs1972 View Post
    I have to say after watching it’s 1st run over hurdles last weekend I’m feeling quite happy that after last seasons festival I’ve had 27 £5 free bets on at at Skybet on him to win “any race” at next years big meeting.10-1 8-1 and mostly at 6’s,in my opinion it would be a shoe in for the Ballymore but at this stage seems happy to stick to 2m,anyone got any fancy ante post slips on for next year yet?
    Not next year, but I put 100 on Altior for the Boxing Day King George at 5/2.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs1972 View Post
    Which horse?

It's in bold, Hutchy - Envoi Allen

Not next year, but I put 100 on Altior for the Boxing Day King George at 5/2.
    By no means a certainty but it has a definite chance. Hope it wins for you.

Nothing is certain, we've seen both Enable and Stradivarius beaten in recent weeks, which cost me a pretty penny. Hopefully the great chaser won't make it a hat-trick of upsets.