Page 4 of 116 FirstFirst ... 234561454104 ... LastLast
    Farage confirms they'll contest every seat if no pact in place.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Good news. Says he will only do a deal with candidates who reject Boris’s deal. Good news for remain.

Quote Originally Posted by CloudSquall View Post
    Farage confirms they'll contest every seat if no pact in place.
    ... and no pact unless Johnson ditches his deal.

Nice one Nige!

It will be an absolute disgrace if Nigel is not allowed in any debates and not given equal time on the major news networks over the next 6 weeks.

Nigel's inability to avoid the limelight could ironically end Brexit.

That would suit him fine I think. He is only relevant while we are in the EU.

Remember him hiding in the pub in the High Street ?

@hibs.net private member GlesgaeHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post

Needs to translate into movement in the polls for labour. Tories still making gains according to polls out this week.

Hague maybe?

https://youtu.be/qL_p9qjfu5U

Aye when every other 16 year old was going to gigs, trying to get served in pubs and chasing their Nat King he makes a speech at a Tory get together. Wee radge then and not changed much.
    Last edited by southsider; 01-11-2019 at 11:49 AM.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    That would suit him fine I think. He is only relevant while we are in the EU.

This. As much as he carps, getting a hefty MEP salary / pension and keeping himself relevant is very important to Farridge.

SNP.jpg

This will do for me.

Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post
    This. As much as he carps, getting a hefty MEP salary / pension and keeping himself relevant is very important to Farridge.

I don't believe that. He's desperate for us to leave Europe, salary loss or not. He's worth millions and he'll make a lot more with a hard Brexit.

It will be an absolute disgrace if Nigel is not allowed in any debates and not given equal time on the major news networks over the next 6 weeks.

I wouldn’t worry about that! He’ll be on every episode of Question time between now and the election!

Quote Originally Posted by Scorrie View Post
    I wouldn’t worry about that! He’ll be on every episode of Question time between now and the election!
    Isobel oakshot has taken his spot.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    They have used a huge sample size poll (46000 I think) to try and estimate the current position at constituency level. This sort of approach did work well in predicting the 2017 election but it's complicated and people don't necessarily believe that the results are possible when big swings have been happening. For instance, most people were v sceptical about the polling that predicted the SNP 2015 surge before the actual results came in.

What you suggest would be much simpler and probably more effective.
    I recall when the SNP won their Holyrood landslide, John Curtice was predicting a hung parliament. Yet he is held up as some sort of polling god or guru.

I think the last few years have seen a seismic change and I wouldn’t be confident of much from polling.

Ever since 2010 when we ended up with a coalition “that could never happen in Britain” they have been flawed.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Chris Law is being much more direct about independence in his leaflets, but being in the "Yes City" of Dundee it's understandable to go balls to the walls with that strategy

https://twitter.com/stevelonie/statu...23390067609601

ITV is going to have a Boris vs Jeremy debate on Thursday 19th November with a follow up "multi party" debate at a later date.

I know it's going to be either of them as PM in the end but I'm never comfortable with excluding other parties with the risk it can have of swaying voters.

ITV is going to have a Boris vs Jeremy debate on Thursday 19th November with a follow up "multi party" debate at a later date.

I know it's going to be either of them as PM in the end but I'm never comfortable with excluding other parties with the risk it can have of swaying voters.
    The SNP and Libs will be raging. Especially the Libs with them being so close in the polls. I wonder what the law says about broadcasting time and so on?

Bit of backlash now regarding the Greens standing in more than 20 seats (so far).

Pete Wishart (SNP) isn't happy, he has a majority of 21, last election Greens didn't run but took over 1000 votes in the election before that.

I usually like to see as many parties as possible run but they have no chance of winning any seat north of the border in this FPTP system and could in the end save a few seats for the Tories..

Bit of backlash now regarding the Greens standing in more than 20 seats (so far).

Pete Wishart (SNP) isn't happy, he has a majority of 21, last election Greens didn't run but took over 1000 votes in the election before that.

I usually like to see as many parties as possible run but they have no chance of winning any seat north of the border in this FPTP system and could in the end save a few seats for the Tories..
    Why would there be a backlash? And by who? Surely an elected politician doesn’t think somebody else standing against him is some sort of skullduggery?

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar

I know I should know who, but who is the green candidate in Perth and North perthshire? That is my constituency.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    I know I should know who, but who is the green candidate in Perth and North perthshire? That is my constituency.
    It could be you . They’ll tell you later.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    It could be you . They’ll tell you later.
    🤔😂
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

General election 2019

I’m considering giving my 2nd vote to the greens at the next holyrood election. If they cost the SNP a single seat next month they can forget that.

Last edited by Ozyhibby; 01-11-2019 at 06:41 PM.

Why would there be a backlash? And by who? Surely an elected politician doesn’t think somebody else standing against him is some sort of skullduggery?
    SNP MPs (or potential ones) who are at risk of losing out to Tories / Lib Dems by people voting for Greens instead.

I don't think they believe it's skullduggery, more asking what's the point, they don't stand a chance of winning and could open the door to the Tories / Lib Dems.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    SNP MPs (or potential ones) who are at risk of losing out to Tories / Lib Dems by people voting for Greens instead.

I don't think they believe it's skullduggery, more asking what's the point, they don't stand a chance of winning and could open the door to the Tories / Lib Dems.
    Democracy.

Who would have thunk...
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

So they think the Greens should just act like a branch of the SNP? That’s going to go down well with Green Party members.

If they were standing 59 candidates then it’s no problem. All is fair in love and war. That’s democracy. But if they are only standing 20 and in areas that target SNP marginals then that is aggressive towards the SNP and in the spirit of all’s fair in love and war I think SNP voters might think carefully before lending the greens their 2nd vote come the holyrood elections.
    I’m sure Tories will thank them by lending them their 2nd votes instead.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    Democracy.

Who would have thunk...
    It’s only really a democracy when we get rid of this ridiculous FPTP system.

For example in Chippenham I can’t vote Labour, its a straight shootout between the Tories and Lib Dems.

Crazily the Euro elections are the most representative as my vote is lumped into the South West PR vote.