View Poll Results: Will Brexit happen on 31st October?

105. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

45 42.86%
  • No

60 57.14%
Page 34 of 272 FirstFirst ... 2432333435364484134 ... LastLast
Results 991 to 1,020 of 8133
    Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Bozo and his Brextremists must be made to face the electorate. He's been caught lying yet again. Get these nutters out of office via a general election; Corbyn must call a vote of no confidence, pre-empting Johnson's contrived election.
    Careful what you wish for. In my particular echo chamber, the remoaners are now considered to be traitors and Boris is the messiah.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    That can't be right. Dominic Cummings is a genius.
    It must be that they've played it well but have been knobbled by collaborators, traitors, quislings and that.
    That's going to be the underlying rhetoric. I'm sure the word Corbynites will also be thrown around and the Boris fan club will lap it up.

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    They’ve agreed a non aggression pact with the tories.
    They’ve proposed one, but only if Johnson commits to no deal.

Doubt the Tories will bite, they’re trying to triangulate Farage out. Also doubt Farage means it, his only real priority is Farage.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Damn, I was watching sky because I was pissed off with the BBC doing it permanently. What did I miss.
    Not much it was pretty short. He said he could have his general election as soon as no deal was taken off the table.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Can Corbyn win?

He would need to come out for a 2nd ref, he would need non aggression pact with the Lib Dem’s, Plaid and SNP and then he would need a coalition with them and even then it would be close.

Under FPTP he has a chance. In the heat of a GE a good bit of the Green and Lib vote will melt away.

Another hung parliament wouldn’t surprise me tbh.

Quote Originally Posted by JeMeSouviens View Post
    They’ve proposed one, but only if Johnson commits to no deal.

Doubt the Tories will bite, they’re trying to triangulate Farage out. Also doubt Farage means it, his only real priority is Farage.
    Possibly, but if he really wants brexit a deal with the tories is his best chance.

United we stand here....

I read a quote earlier that brexit was closely linked to English nationalism and there might be some truth in that.
    It's worse than you think, apparently we're still at war with Germany and this is just Hitler's long game playing out. I don't know what's in the water south of the Tweed, but it's potent stuff.

Possibly, but if he really wants brexit a deal with the tories is his best chance.
    He’d much rather be still in the game with a fresh betrayal narrative, imo.

Not much it was pretty short. He said he could have his general election as soon as no deal was taken off the table.
    Thanks.

IDS feeling peckish

https://twitter.com/BorisJohnson_MP/...gS1CJgqIX-A4d0

the dirty runt

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Thanks.
    I saw it and he was making a point of the popular vote in Scotland being against Brexit and he needed to stand up for those voters, which isn’t unreasonable. While it is true in very broad terms, it is a wee bit cheeky as there were significant numbers in Scotland and indeed the SNP who voted for Leave. It is an uncomfortable truth for the SNP and indeed for Scottish Remain voters that a lot of people wanted Brexit.

But that’s politics and if I was in his shoes I would no doubt play it the same way.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Careful what you wish for. In my particular echo chamber, the remoaners are now considered to be traitors and Boris is the messiah.
    Aye right . Well, I don't have an echo chamber, Bozo has always been a James Hunt and still is. I'm appalled by the right wing populism of him and the Brexit movement. I voted against independence in the last referendum but would vote in favour in another vote. Scotland in the EU is so much better than Brexit Britain. This is a shambles, all because of Cameron thinking the way to stop the Tories losing votes to UKIP was to offer an EU referendum. I've had enough of being a plaything of political elites who have no brains but huge hubris. It's all related to class and the absence of true democracy. Public schoolboys are playing their power games, with no thought to the lives of millions. No more.

Bojo trying his best to be Britain’s answer to trump is laughable, no amount of chest beating and hollering is going to appeal to the wider public at large, it’s already turning his own party members against him and I feel personally he’s believed his own hype to the point of no return

Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post
    I saw it and he was making a point of the popular vote in Scotland being against Brexit and he needed to stand up for those voters, which isn’t unreasonable. While it is true in very broad terms, it is a wee bit cheeky as there were significant numbers in Scotland and indeed the SNP who voted for Leave. It is an uncomfortable truth for the SNP and indeed for Scottish Remain voters that a lot of people wanted Brexit.

But that’s politics and if I was in his shoes I would no doubt play it the same way.
    Fair enough, but I'm fairly confident he feels he's speaking for the majority of Scots.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Corbyn now has the luxury of being able to call an election at a time of his choosing. He should wait and leave Johnson in position but not power for a while. No point rushing it when every day will show his weakness more and more.

It's worse than you think, apparently we're still at war with Germany and this is just Hitler's long game playing out. I don't know what's in the water south of the Tweed, but it's potent stuff.
    The fourth reich awaits us if we don’t leave on October 31st.
    Last edited by lord bunberry; 03-09-2019 at 11:11 PM.

United we stand here....

If Corbyn is smart he waits until the Oct 31 deadline has passed and we are still in the Eu. That keeps the Brexit Party in play against the Tories.

Self-entitled **** holds us in contempt on the front bench as tonight's vote is held. This is a farce, we need a semblance of sanity.

If Corbyn is smart he waits until the Oct 31 deadline has passed and we are still in the Eu. That keeps the Brexit Party in play against the Tories.

We won't be. We will have left with no deal, unless there is a general election first.

Tomorrow a bill will be passed compelling the govt to ask for an extension? Johnson will have to comply with the law.

PSN ID: maxsharktooth
    Tomorrow a bill will be passed compelling the govt to ask for an extension? Johnson will have to comply with the law.

Can the house of lords stop it though?

Quote Originally Posted by 1875godsgift View Post
    Can the house of lords stop it though?
    Yes they can and there’s already 80 amendments to the bill, they could try and fillybuster the bill.

United we stand here....

Yes they can and there’s already 80 amendments to the bill, they could try and fillybuster the bill.
    So what happens then?

It’s unlikely to be successful, but if it is then the bill wouldn’t pass. I think it would then pass back to the House of Commons again. After that I’ve no idea as it wasn’t a government bill so it would probably take another vote in the House of Commons again.

United we stand here....

It’s unlikely to be successful, but if it is then the bill wouldn’t pass. I think it would then pass back to the House of Commons again. After that I’ve no idea as it wasn’t a government bill so it would probably take another vote in the House of Commons again.
    Thanks, I've always been confused by their purpose and powers, it seems strange having an un-elected body of rich people as a potential spanner in the works.

Also, what was the point of Jacob Rees-Mogg's comatose posturing?

I think it was obviously stage-managed, the guy is a complete bell-end but has a modicum of intelligence and would have been aware of the potential reaction?
    Last edited by 1875godsgift; 04-09-2019 at 12:29 AM.

Thanks, I've always been confused by their purpose and powers, it seems strange having an un-elected body of rich people as a potential spanner in the works.

Also, what was the point of Jacob Rees-Mogg's comatose posturing?

I think it was obviously stage-managed, the guy is a complete bell-end but has a modicum of intelligence and would have been aware of the potential reaction?
    He doesn’t care what people think of him, he’ll be alright no matter what the outcome of all this is.

United we stand here....

Quote Originally Posted by Ryan91 View Post
    Not Corbyn, popular alternatives seem to be Ken Clarke or Yvette Cooper, Jo Swinson probably thinks she's in with a shot, but she'll find herself being ignored by everyone else.
    Can’t see it being Clarke. Too pro-EU.
    Letwin? He would keep the rebel Tories on board.

Blair (joking)!!

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    With 21 less Tory mp’s then we could have a new govt by tomorrow if mp’s wanted it.
    There has to be a general election first.
    Not necessarily. A vote of no confidence in the current government allows the house of commons to try to come up with an alternative government. If an alternative government can be shown to command a majority, Betty gives the go-ahead for it to crack on.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mibbes Aye View Post

IMHO all MPs should be representing their constituencies, and in Scotland every constituency voted remain. Yes, MPs are whipped to toe the party line but if they have a conscience then they represent their constituencies.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.