Page 2 of 17 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    I'm neither, but for any vegans out there, there is a vegan Hotel opened in Pitlochry.
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Grieves View Post
    Can anyone recommend a good website for quick and tasty veggie recipes?
    You can go onto the BBC website and into the food section, then filter it for vegetarian recipes. Same with BBC GoodFood which I think is their spin-off magazine.

I would also recommend an Australian site, taste.au I think, let me know if that doesn’t work and I will get the right link, it is super fresh and healthy recipes.

Finally, brand websites can be great. One of my favourite and best veg recipes came from Merchant Gourmet. Just google.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by hibbybob View Post
    Asda sell veggie bacon - can't say it one of my favourites tho!
    Most veggie bacon is dreadful.

Must go back to the 13th Note sometime!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Grieves View Post
    Can anyone recommend a good website for quick and tasty veggie recipes?
    I know you asked for a website, but.....

As a good way to try meat free meals, you can adapt many regular family dishes. If you’ve ever made a pot of chilli, replace the meat with beans. If you’re using kidney beans as part of the usual recipe, add black beans to replace the meat and vegetable stock in place of your usual.

If you’re cooking a curry, just replace the meat with potatoes or cauliflower. With both changes, you can reduce the cooking time so that you’re not making soup- beef and chicken take longer to cook.

Both small adjustments and because of the flavours and spices, you won’t miss the meat.
    Having said that, I’m actually having a steak for dinner 😂😂

Mildred’s cook book is worth a look.

Mildred’s is a long standing veggie restaurant in Soho.

Recommend the Mushroom and Ale Pie

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    I'm neither, and currently have no plans on being either.

I do want to increase the number of veggie/vegan meals that I eat though. For health and environmental reasons more than animal welfare or moral issues.

I was actually thinking of starting a thread asking for veggie recipe ideas as I don't really have the knowledge when it comes to using things like lentils and beans etc.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    I'm neither, but for any vegans out there, there is a vegan Hotel opened in Pitlochry.
    Don't want to sound ignorant, but does that just mean all the furniture isn't made of leather or any other animal products? (As well as any restaurant obviously being a vegan one)
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Colr View Post
    Mildred’s cook book is worth a look.

Mildred’s is a long standing veggie restaurant in Soho.

Recommend the Mushroom and Ale Pie
    Great place. Heading along there tomorrow....

Quote Originally Posted by Saturday Boy View Post

As a good way to try meat free meals, you can adapt many regular family dishes. If you’ve ever made a pot of chilli, replace the meat with beans. If you’re using kidney beans as part of the usual recipe, add black beans to replace the meat and vegetable stock in place of your usual.

If you’re cooking a curry, just replace the meat with potatoes or cauliflower. With both changes, you can reduce the cooking time so that you’re not making soup- beef and chicken take longer to cook.

Both small adjustments and because of the flavours and spices, you won’t miss the meat.
    Having said that, I’m actually having a steak for dinner
    To say that you won't miss the meat is pushing it a bit. I've had plenty good vegetable curries, but I much prefer those with meat.

Quote Originally Posted by Saturday Boy View Post

Having said that, I’m actually having a steak for dinner 😂😂
    Good post.

Mushrooms are also a great meat replacement as they have a meaty texture and a bit of umami flavour.
    There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post

I do want to increase the number of veggie/vegan meals that I eat though. For health and environmental reasons more than animal welfare or moral issues.

I was actually thinking of starting a thread asking for veggie recipe ideas as I don't really have the knowledge when it comes to using things like lentils and beans etc.

Don't want to sound ignorant, but does that just mean all the furniture isn't made of leather or any other animal products? (As well as any restaurant obviously being a vegan one)
    If you start the thread I will post a couple of my favourites but in response to your point, things like lentils, split peas and beans are incredibly straightforward once you’ve done them once.

As soon as you have cooked with them, using your own stove and own pans then it becomes very easy.

For beans, best to start with tinned rather than dried. Chickpeas, kidney beans etc etc only need five to ten minutes on the stove top, in a sauce or mix. They can stand up to longer in the oven if you are making some sort of bake.

Lentils and split peas respond best to simmering in stock for about half an hour. I think split peas take longer than lentils and red lentils are quicker than Puy or green lentils but others may disagree. You would want to add flavour and aromatics e.g. I sometimes make a casserole that is sausages (vegetarian or meat, baked in the oven) and green lentils, simmered in some stock and wine, with very finely diced onion, carrot and celery, plus a couple of bay leaves and some garlic, maybe a touch of thyme and a bit of soy or Worcestershire or Tabasco or chilli flakes. Just mix the sausages in at the end and serve with crusty bread.

Dried beans or pulses are silly cheap but you do have to soak them the night before. There is something satisfying about that but a tin of chickpeas is fifty pence so it isn’t like you are burning money by buying tinned stuff!

EDIT -I haven’t made anything with split peas other than soup for a couple of years, but the last time I did it was a dhal and the split peas took a lot longer than half an hour IIRC. Hopefully someone who cooks with them more regularly will be able to advise!
    Last edited by Mibbes Aye; 31-08-2019 at 04:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    To say that you won't miss the meat is pushing it a bit. I've had plenty good vegetable curries, but I much prefer those with meat.
    It’s probably because I’ve never been a huge fan Indian food. My favourite Indian is a bowl of Dahl with some naan. I realise that makes me sound a real cheap skate 😂

Anyway, off to season the Aberdeen Angus sirloin for dinner.

I'm starting Monday and will see how it goes. Supermarket tomorrow to buy up all their quorn, hummus and lentils

I will probably last a few days then fall off the wagon! It might take a few attempts to acclimatise; we shall see. If I can stick to it, it will be interesting to discover if I feel better for it.

By the way, where can you buy the veggie black pudding? Man I'm going to miss black pudding

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Much like Pretty Boy, we've been having around 4 nights a week where our evening meal is meat free. My breakfasts rarely include meat (the odd square sausage/bacon roll), and lunches are increasingly always veggie now too (again, the very odd exception where I'll have something with turkey in it).

A large part of the challenge for us is that I'm allergic to mushrooms, so all quorn based substitutes are out for me - as are things like veggie haggis etc...I've become quite adept at cooking things like tofu though, and recently tried both jackfruit and seitan meat replacements - I really enjoyed both!

Reasons are both health and environmental.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I'm starting Monday and will see how it goes. Supermarket tomorrow to buy up all their quorn, hummus and lentils

I will probably last a few days then fall off the wagon! It might take a few attempts to acclimatise; we shall see. If I can stick to it, it will be interesting to discover if I feel better for it.

By the way, where can you buy the veggie black pudding? Man I'm going to miss black pudding
    For me hummus is like coleslaw - you can buy the shop version and it’s great or you can make it at home and it’s great, but they taste completely different from one another.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Much like Pretty Boy, we've been having around 4 nights a week where our evening meal is meat free. My breakfasts rarely include meat (the odd square sausage/bacon roll), and lunches are increasingly always veggie now too (again, the very odd exception where I'll have something with turkey in it).

A large part of the challenge for us is that I'm allergic to mushrooms, so all quorn based substitutes are out for me - as are things like veggie haggis etc...I've become quite adept at cooking things like tofu though, and recently tried both jackfruit and seitan meat replacements - I really enjoyed both!

Reasons are both health and environmental.
    That’s pretty unfortunate with the mushrooms, you have my sympathy.

Aubergine has a meaty texture too. I’m not quite sure about jackfruit yet, think I like it :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post

I’ve went pescatarian recently, been 5weeks I still eat fish and dairy, going well really enjoying the meals we’ve been having. I used to have meat for every meal and so far I’m not missing it at all...other than a couple slices of black pudding for breakfast on a Sunday that’s been my only ‘need’.

Glad I’ve came across this thread could be a good source of information to keep it going and add different meals.

Just for an add on I saw joe wicks had a veggie cook book and it’s half price on amazon this weekend
    Last edited by Dmas; 01-09-2019 at 09:10 AM.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    I've got a decent Lebanese fast food restaurant nearby. The falafel plate is to die for, but going hard core veggie just doesn't appeal to me, I just love my meat too much.

Going to dig out the veggie classics again for the next two months.

I’ve been eating like a pig over the summer and need to get “beach body ready” for my holiday!!

Cheers for the recommendations

Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post

A link to the vegan Hotel

https://www.saorsahotel.com/

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Topical article in this weeks Economist about these guys...if this ain’t the future I don’t know what is!

https://www.intelligentgrowthsolutions.com

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    Topical article in this weeks Economist about these guys...if this ain’t the future I don’t know what is!

https://www.intelligentgrowthsolutions.com
    Put the champagne on ice for a bit..........

Is the World's Largest Vertical Farm Worth the Cost? ... Beyer reported that the AeroFarms building cost an estimated $39 million for what amounted to less than two acres of farm land, noting in contrast that an acre of farmland in Iowa has an average cost less than $8,000.

Trying to have 1-2 days a week where we at least have a meat free evening meal. Made a terrific butternut squash & chickpea bhuna the other week and got a puy lentil bolognese tomorrow. Can’t fail with a good veggie pasta either and so easy to make; peppers, courgette, onion, chillies, chopped tomatoes. And I’d be quite happy to never have meat on a pizza.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HappyAsHellas View Post
    Put the champagne on ice for a bit..........

Is the World's Largest Vertical Farm Worth the Cost? ... Beyer reported that the AeroFarms building cost an estimated $39 million for what amounted to less than two acres of farm land, noting in contrast that an acre of farmland in Iowa has an average cost less than $8,000.
    I'm pretty sure that in the pioneering phase of any form of emerging technology, these sorts of figures aren't unusual and tbh they are often the biggest hurdle that the emerging technology must overcome.

It normally sounds hilarious a few decades later.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I'm pretty sure that in the pioneering phase of any form of emerging technology, these sorts of figures aren't unusual and tbh they are often the biggest hurdle that the emerging technology must overcome.

It normally sounds hilarious a few decades later.
    Well indeed.

Human genome is a perfect example.

Cost of the first whole sequencing..$2.6bn

Cost now..$1,000.

The economist article is here:

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.e...rming-stack-up

First Team Regular GORDONSMITH7's Avatar
    I have been Vegan for over 25 years now. Woke up one day thinking why the **** am I supporting the slaughter of animals and the equally brutal dairy egg and milk production indusries. The idea of millions of unwanted male chicks, in the egg producing, firing down shutes and liquidised for dug food was not appealing either.
    One of the two early pioneer's of quality Vegan food were Mono and Sterio, both in Glasgow, which I would go to before Hibernian played the Ugly sisters and sometimes go back after the games as both had free live bands at night. Now in most Scottish cities there are great Vegan/Vegetarian eateries everywhere. I live in EH6 in Leith where within 15 minutes I can eat Vegan food . Harmonium in Henderson street is my favourite Vegan eaterie, though I had a terrific pizza in Oragano in Leith Walk the other day. I sometimes get the Vegan option at ER, a packet of plain crisps.
    By the way the renowned Perthshire farmer /butcher Simon Howie apart from the usual stuff makes slendid Vegan/Vegetarian haggis and (Lorne)square sausage. Vegan black pudding can be had at Real Foods. Some folk have said to me you really should not eat substitute meat, etc whilst they stuff themselves with bits of slaughtered animals. Fact is no human is born V. The vast majority ate meat and dairy before taking the big jump. If the killing of no animal is involved I am delighted.
    I have had my two 15 year auld grandkids in my house before attending ER with them,giving them Vegan burgers, with Vegan Mayo, salad on a bun, Vegan pizza with grated Vegan cheese melted, didnae have a clue and lapped them up. As my house is 10 minutes from ER it makes sense when it is £4 for an unappetizing looking half pizza.
    I am delighted that since I joined the Vegan Society all those years ago, the numbers have grown dramatically particularly in the past period, I guess the factors are animal welfare, environmental concerns and health.
    I am also glad that personalities likes of Tobey Maguire,Brad Pitt,Joaquin Phoenix, Benedict Cumberbatch,Lewis Hamilton and many others, have and promote a Vegan plant based diet.
    One of my favourites is Alex Baldwin who was the voice on this......

Warning not for minors or squeamish.

https://youtu.be/ykTH_b-cXyE

BIG G
    Last edited by GORDONSMITH7; 02-09-2019 at 03:41 AM.

A question for vegans, do you wear wool?

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    A question for vegans, do you wear wool?
    Not a vegan , but those I know don’t wear wool - Or any animal products ...

Quote Originally Posted by bigwheel View Post
    Not a vegan , but those I know don’t wear wool - Or any animal products ...
    A pal of mine has been vegan for 38+ years (as long as I've known him). He has no problem with wool.

I've massively cut down my meat consumption but couldn't go full vegan/veggie. For evening meals i'm trying to go for one poultry meal, one meat, 2 fish and 3 "veggie" for the week. Because i'm eating less i can justify/afford the extra for a decent free range organic option.

Quite liking the look of the meat free burgers coming out, they're getting great reviews. Price is a tad expensive when you can get angus burgers for half the price but they should hopefully come down when the market grows and there is more competition out there.

For vegan's and vegetarians on here. Alot of you will go down that ethical route for animal welfare reasons. Do you you apply the same ethics when buying vegetarian options? Was reading the Independent last week and there was an article about the scale of slave labour for workers in the agricultural industry all over the world. Is it worse to eat meat reared by a responsible company, with the animal cared for and killed humanely, than it is to eat veg picked by someone working 17 hours a day for pennies? Not fishing btw, just interested.
    Last edited by Antifa Hibs; 02-09-2019 at 08:56 AM.