Page 28 of 29 FirstFirst ... 1826272829 LastLast
    Left by mutual consent! calumhibee1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SingHibs View Post
    Hearts crucial game was against East Fife not Stenhousemuir. Ours was against Abroath. I would to see the new players developing and back the team in a crucial rather than the family picnic at Murrayfield. I put Hibs first not being overcharged for a flat friendly with nothing at stake where I have no emotional interest.
    You seem utterly convinced that a huge portion of the Hibs fans that went yesterday did so at the expense of going to a Hibs game? Every Hibs fan I know that was there yesterday is going to the Newcastle game on Tuesday and they’ve also been at the LC games. It’s not one or the other.

Attached Images Attached Images

And after all the posts about how there’d be nobody there tonight due to Sunday’s game.. the crowd was actually pretty decent.

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    And after all the posts about how there’d be nobody there tonight due to Sunday’s game.. the crowd was actually pretty decent.

Quote Originally Posted by Ringothedog View Post
    Down to away end being full.

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    But it wasn't, top tier only 1/3rd full, but a good 2500 Geordies there.

And not the 10000 Hibs fans? Biggest turnout for a friendly i can remember

Wrong again

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    Wrong again
    Looking at the attendances for comparable games for the home section cup ties of 17/18 and 19/20 they are pretty much in line. Despite no glamour game at Murrayfield in 2017/18. Also, there were nearly twice as many at last night's friendly against a major EPL side. I agree that the glamour game had no impact on gates or income. Clearly there is a hard core who will watch Hibs no matter what - I am one. The majority of support want to see top level games or meaningful games. The Cup knock out game against Morton I am sure will attract more than the two home section games. There are many among us who have no time for the EPL nevermind a meaningless friendly where several top players are missing. That is our choice as is those who choose to go to such games. Anyway on to Saturday for a game that really counts and here's to what we all hope will be a good season for us. GGTTH .

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Full? 😂

Quote Originally Posted by Frazerbob View Post
    Full? 😂
    See previous post🙄

Looking at the attendances for comparable games for the home section cup ties of 17/18 and 19/20 they are pretty much in line. Despite no glamour game at Murrayfield in 2017/18. Also, there were nearly twice as many at last night's friendly against a major EPL side. I agree that the glamour game had no impact on gates or income. Clearly there is a hard core who will watch Hibs no matter what - I am one. The majority of support want to see top level games or meaningful games. The Cup knock out game against Morton I am sure will attract more than the two home section games. There are many among us who have no time for the EPL nevermind a meaningless friendly where several top players are missing. That is our choice as is those who choose to go to such games. Anyway on to Saturday for a game that really counts and here's to what we all hope will be a good season for us. GGTTH .
    That’s all good and well however your previous post stated that the crowd was only as big as it was due to the “away end being full” which it quite clearly wasn’t and it should have been the 10k Hibs fans that were praised for turning up

The last bit is totally understandable about having no time for the EPL. I don’t care much for it either to be honest but I went on Sunday (and last night of course) and enjoyed it.

People took issue with the idea that Hibs fans were cheating Hibs out of money/fans by going to this game/taking kids to see the European Champions. Some posters were weirdly that pissed off about it that they were hoping all the Hibs fans going had a crap day. Which was shown to be as ridiculous as it sounded after last nights attendance.

Quote Originally Posted by calumhibee1 View Post
    Agree decent turnout for what was a very watchable game.

See previous post🙄
    I see it. Doesn’t mention anything about you making up nonsense about the away end being full though.

The post acknowledges a good turn out for Newcastle game. On my wee phone lying in bed in the remote north of the Philippines in the early hours of the morning I could not see the full upper tier of the South. It looked full from what I could see. I am asking for your forgiveness, understanding and mercy in this matter.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Full? 😂
    It wasnt far off being full

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    I demand an apology😀

Quote Originally Posted by BoomtownHibeys View Post
    That’s all good and well however your previous post stated that the crowd was only as big as it was due to the “away end being full” which it quite clearly wasn’t and it should have been the 10k Hibs fans that were praised for turning up
    You don't get it, do you? Hibs.net is supposed to be a place to moan and moan and moan about Hibs. So don't give us any of these positive facts whatever you do. That's a slippery slope that could lead to happy clapping.
    Last edited by Paisley Hibby; 31-07-2019 at 10:10 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by allant1981 View Post
    Just about 40% 😂

Can we get picture evidence please. This is not the place for wild claims.

Are we still talking about this? …. Its done now. The EPL fanboys have had their fix and if they are really lucky this will become a 'thing' and they will get to watch a game of proper football again next year, maybe Tottenham v Benfica or some such glamour friendly

Quote Originally Posted by NAE NOOKIE View Post
    Are we still talking about this? …. Its done now. The EPL fanboys have had their fix and if they are really lucky this will become a 'thing' and they will get to watch a game of proper football again next year, maybe Tottenham v Benfica or some such glamour friendly
    Did you say Benfica are coming. Defo go to that. My mothers home team and my second favourite team. Do you think there will be special scarves. I can cheer the team bus in and pay over the odds. Oh I hear Harry Kane has called off already. Never mind it is still Spurs.

The post acknowledges a good turn out for Newcastle game. On my wee phone lying in bed in the remote north of the Philippines in the early hours of the morning I could not see the full upper tier of the South. It looked full from what I could see. I am asking for your forgiveness, understanding and mercy in this matter.
    Does you being in the Philippines mean you won't be there to support the team for our crucial season-opener on Saturday?

Tut.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Just about 40% 😂
    Wont let me attach the screen shot but I'm sure there is a pic on the match thread clearly disputing that
    Attached Images Attached Images

Did you say Benfica are coming. Defo go to that. My mothers home team and my second favourite team. Do you think there will be special scarves. I can cheer the team bus in and pay over the odds. Oh I hear Harry Kane has called off already. Never mind it is still Spurs.
    Take this in the spirit it’s intended - you don’t half spout some pish.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    I would be absolutely delighted to go and see Tottenham play Benfica in Edinburgh next summer, make it happen

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    It may be pish but unfortunately it will be reality or something close to it. I forgot we have no sense of humour here and don't do sarcasim or irony. We just insult people when faced with an argument. When the argument is lost the loser resorts to insults which are actually a self reflection of the insulter.

If this discussion was a political event it would be Brexit. Suez maybe.

He will still claim a hat trick though.